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INTRODUCTION

The State of Washington has four programs to assist individual homeowners with payment of
property taxes and/or special assessments.

e Property Tax Exemption Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons

e Property Tax and Special Assessment Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled
Persons

e Property Tax Deferral Program for Homeowners with Limited Income

e Grant Assistance Program for Widows and Widowers of Veterans

This manual has been prepared to serve as a training guide for those who administer these
programs and it is intended for practical use. Every attempt has been made to cover the majority
of the general laws, rules, duties, procedures, forms in general use, and miscellaneous
information which is pertinent to the Assessors in Washington when administering the property
tax relief programs for individuals.

FOR GENERAL INFORMATION pertinent to laws or rules governing these programs, refer
to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) and the Washington Administrative Code (WAC).

FOR ASSISTANCE OR ADVICE concerning problems that may arise in the assessor's office,
contact the Property Tax Division, Department of Revenue, 1025 Union Avenue Southeast, Suite
200, Olympia, Washington 98504. Telephone (360) 534-1400.
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ALLOWABLE | APPLICATION PROGRAM BENEFITS
PROGRAM | AGE/DISABILITY RESIDENCY INCOME DEDUCTIONS YEAR
Property 61 years of age by Must occupy $40,000 CDI | Non-reimbursed | Same as Freezes value as of 01/01/1995 or
Tax December 31 of property as principal | for 2016 taxes | costs for: assessment year; | 01/01 of assessment year in which
Exemption filing/assessment place of residence. and forward *care received at | i.e., application applicant first qualifies.
year OR disabled and | Must own in total or home, or in a due 12/31/15 for .
unable to pursue be purchasing. (Life nursing, tax relief in 2016 Exempt from excess levies.
gainful employment | estate, lease for life | CDI is boarding, or $-0- to $30,000 - exempt from
Application OR a veteran entitled | qualify. Trusts MAY | defined in adult family regular property tax on greater of
Z&r—rgo% , to and receiving VA | qualify as “life RCW home; $60,000 or 60% of value.
- disability at a total estate”). 84.36.383 *prescription $30,001 to $35,000 — exempt from
disability rating for a drugs; _ regular property tax on greater of
Renewal form # | Service-connected *Medicare Title $50,000 or 35% of value, not to
64-0020 disability OR XVIII insurance exceed $70,000.
surviving spouse or premiums
domestic partner who $35,001 tO. $40,000 —exempt on
is 57 years or older in excess levies only.
the year of death.
Leasehold SAME Leased property SAME SAME SAME Same percentage of exemption as
Tax Credit owned by a for real property tax exemption -
Application government entity calculated using average levy rates
form # 64-0082 and used as a by county for the previous year.
primary residence.
Deferral for | 60 years of age by Must occupy $45,000 CDI | SAME Application year | Payment of property taxes and
Senior December 31 of property as principal | RCW is the year the tax | special assessments, including prior
Citizens and | filing year OR place of residence. 84.36.383 or assessment is years if requested.
Disabled disabled and unable Must own in total or due. Income from
Persons to pursue gainful be purchasing. (Life | (If income is the preceding year
o employment OR estate, lease for life, | $40,000 or used to determine
g?ﬁqlliaémon surviving spouse or | & revocable trusts less, applicant eligibility.
—— | domestic partner who | do not qualify. must file for Application due
Renewal form# | 1S 57 years or older in | Irrevocable trust exemption.) 30 days before tax

64-0019

the year of death.

MAY qualify.)

due date — accept
late applications.



http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200002%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200020%20unprotected.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200082%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200011%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200019%20unprotected.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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Deferral for | No age or disability | Must have owned $57,000 CDI | SAME Application year | Payment of 2" half property taxes
Homeowners | requirement. property for 5 years. | RCW is the year the and special assessments billed on
with Limited Must occupy as 84.36.383 tax/special annual tax statement and due on
Income principal residence as assessment is due. | October 31 — current year only.
Aoglicat of 01/01 of Income from the
pplication application year. Life preceding year is
form # 64-0105 estate, lease for life, used to deérmine
Renewal form # & revocable trusts do eligibility.
64-0025 not qualify.
Irrevocable trust Application due
MAY qualify. by September 1.
Widow or 62 years old by Must occupy $40,000 CDI | SAME Application year | Pays regular and excess property tax
Widower of | December 31 of property as principal | as defined in is the year the tax | due on difference between taxable
Qualifying filing year OR place of residence. RCW is due. Income value exempted under the
Veteran disabled and unable Must own in total or | 84.36.383 from the Exemption Program and the first:
Application to pursue gainful be purchasing preceding yearis | e $100,000 of value for CDI of $-
203”8‘0*; 3 employment. property. (Life estate used to determine 0- to $30,000.
_— and lease for life do eligibility. e $75,000 of value for CDI of
not qualify. Application due $30,001 to $35,000.
Irrevocable trust 30 days before tax | ¢  $50,000 of value for CDI of
MAY qualify.) due date. $35,001 to $40,000.
Homes for 61 years old by Resident of a non- Fluctuates See RCW Application year | Non-profit exemption applies to pro-
the Aging December 31 of profit Home for the | each year 84.36.041 —only | is the same as the | rated portion of the property
filing year OR Aging as of January | based on allowable costs | assessment year. occupied by eligible residents.
Incomme survivir_mg spouse or 1 of the assessment _median are in-home care Inc_ome _
Eligibility domestic partner who | year. income as or treatment in a | verification forms
Application Is 57 years or older determined by | nursing home must be submitted
form # OR disabled and DOR — Uses to the assessor's
64-0043 unable to pursue RCW office by July 1 of
gainful employment. 84.36.041 the assessment

year.



http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200105%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200025%20unprotected.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/63%200023%20unprotected.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/NonProfHomeAging.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
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2015 PROPERTY TAX CALENDAR
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year for tanes due and payabie in the following tan year RCW 84 36 005 and 415|6)7|8[9[10
el 11{1213[14[i5)16/17

Persoral proparty ksting forms aro malled (RCW BA.40.0401.
f0n or bafora tareary 1) The Department wall mail an annual renowal reminder 18119120121122123 124
postcard to nongrofits (ROW BA3S.E00).
County asessor deltvers tax roll to county teasurer and provides county audior 25(26|27|28|29(30(31
with an sbatract of the tax mils showing total amount of tases coectible In asch

taming disirict (ROW 84,52 080(.

Also i January

»  Property s can be paid oncs the traasurer has provided notification that tha
tax roll (basod on kst yoar's sssosments) has boon complistod (ROW B4 56.000).
Remewaks for daforral partiapants who recetved deferral In previous year are
misiled . Deforral for Senior CRtrens and Dissblod Persons 3nd Defarral Program
for Hormeownars with Limited incoens (ROW 84.37.050 and RCW S438.0500.
DOR mails renawals fior prior year partidpants in the Property Tax Assistance
Prograe for Widow/Widowers of Dualfiad Vetarans (ROW B4.39.000).

Ossnunnv

Amahmhmwwﬂunwﬁmm 112]3]14(5]16]7
Resaarch and Logtiative Aralysts Division: 8|9 [10[11]12|13)14
+ X0 (Assassment Year) Asssssmants and Lavies Dus In VYT (Tax Yaar
+ County Sentor Citzsn Relisf 15|16(17]18]19(20|21
+ Final State Froparty Tax Levy Values
* Tasdng District Lavy Computation Workshoats form REV &4 DOOT) 22|23)24{25)26 2?1@

1" Trazsurer submits the County Proparty Tax Callections (Cakendar Year) report to
DOR Resazrch and Lagtstative Analysts Division.

* 5 A DUE OATE FALLS OM & SATLIROAY SUMDAY, 0N LEOM FOLIDAT, THE DUE OWTE CFAMOET 70 THE MEXT BUSMLSS DAY BOW 1. 1107
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PUD Privilege Tax Annual Aeports am dus (ROW 54280304

Nonprofit property tax axemption sppliGtions are dus. Peraitios apply.

(ROW BA36.815; 825).

Property tax asststance clatms for widows/ widowers of qualfied veterans o due
RCW 84.30.020¢.

Non profit property tax axamption renews! deciarations are due ROW 3436815).

23|24(25|26|27 (28
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—
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Also in Masch
Assessors subenit County Statistics for Compartson Report to DOR Property Tax
Division (form REV 64 0106).

/' PRIL -

1 Rafroad company statement of private rall car milles dus (RCW B4.16.030).
£5) Persoral proparty listing forms are due to the county aswessor (RCW 84.40.020, 516(71|8|9([10M

040, 060 and 130},
£0) First ha¥f taees e due if tases 200 loss than $50, full payment is due Second half 12113114151 16]17118
paymant & dus Octobor 31 (ROW 84560201 19(20(21|22|23|24|25

£ (Priorto May 1) PUD Privilege Tax bilings am issuad [RCW 54.28.040)

26|27|28|29|30|

@Y SMTWTES

©  Fro yar sobcations for forest land designation are considsred spproved @ -
unless assewor has notthed the owner otherwsse (ROW B4.32.130) 314|1516171819
Prior curont uso farm and agricuitural and applcations am considerad
R 10[11[1213)1s)1516
Private ril car company anreal statoment due (RCW 84.16.020).
o it vt o i At 17(18{19|20|21|22|23
added later inew construction and mobile homes) aher gving weittennoticeto | 24|25 2627 |128|29|30
the taxpayer (ROW B4.40.040). @

Also i May
«  Persoral proparty lstings recetved after the due date (Apnl 30) are subject
to a panalty of an additional 5 percant per month - not 10 axceed $50 por
calendar day ¥ less than one month - 10 3 maximum 25 percant of the tax
due ROW BA.L0130) 2

*1F ADUS DATE FALLS ON A SATURDAY, SUNDAY, Of LEOAL MOLIDAY, THE DUE DATE CHMANIES TO THE MEXT DUSINESS DAY JACW 1.12.07)
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5

Theee percant ponalty assessad on the curent year's delinguent tases

[RCW B4.56 0200

PUD Priviloge Tax Is dup (ROW 54 28.040).

10n or bofora) DOR prapares stumpage vakues for July through Decamber 2013
[RCW B433.007)

DOR dotermines value of state asewed proparty and sends Tentative Valuo
Notices (RCWS84.12.2700

&0 ©

)

16

@y

) Appesis 10 the County Bosed of Equakzation must ba fiked by today or withn 30
days of notiction. County legslative suthoenty may axtend the daadiing up to
&0 days by adoption of local ordinance/nde ROW 84 40.038)

&) 10n or bufora second Monday) County affictals and local taxing districts bagin
proparing estimated budgets for subwmission to county audior, or f in 3 charter
county, chief finandal officar. Esimated budgets are dus August 10th
RCW 36400100

@ Assessor cartfies the assessment roll 10 the County Board of Equalzation
ROW S4.40.3200

E aswssors Conficate of Amosment ol to County Board of Equakzation
RCW 84.40.320) submittad 1o DOR Froperty Tax Division.

5 County Boards of Equakztion mest In an open session. MinkTm session |s these
days: maximum session & four weoks (ACW 8448010

(B mint10working days of Ady) Requests for hearings on state assessed public
utfity proparty (RCW 84123401

@ [Hoven business days after June 30} Hearings on state assessment of public
utiity proparty bagin, continuing theough July 29 (RCW 84.12.340).

@ Assessmant date for new construction (RCW 36.21.080).

® |(=)

2
9110

12

19

20

15}i6)17

24

26

27

B8 |G
|

1\ UGUST

Y Mot taxing district boundaries, iInduding school districts, establishod for levy
, Coliection naxt year (RCW 84.09.030)

Y Nonprofit property tax axamption determination completed by DOR
(RCW B4363300

{10 10n or before the scond Manday) Estimated budgets from county offictals must
be submitted to county auditor or - € in 3 charter county - chiaf financial officar
(RCW 36400100 (AUGUST CONTINUED)

3

4

9 [igIn

15

16

17

18

22

23

24

25

29

SuE

3

15 ADUS DATE FALLS ON A SATURDAY SUNDAY, OR LEQA. MOLIDAY, THE DUS OATE CMANOES 70 THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY JCW 1.12.00%
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74y 10n or befors) Ainal values of state assessod properties ssued

(WAC £58-50-07047)
20" DOR estimates the rmiier of acres of public forest lind avatabls for tmbee @

Parvest for aach county and for @ach taxing district RCW $4.33.08%. 2131als]sl7 8—
£0° Treasurer sbmits End of Fiscal Year Recap for the State Lovy Report o DOR

Busness and Fnancal Services Dvidon 9 [19{11{12[13]14]15
3 befor) notifies assassors of from =
Y nsnan, | ThnTRm————— hevehe a2
£1)  New construction placed on current assemmant roll at the vahation assesod July =

31 (RCW 36.21.070 through 3621 .000) 23|24|25|26/27) 2829
24 Asmassors submt Taxing District Boundsry Report (Tax Code Arsa Changes) to @

DOR Proparty Tax Division |[WAC 458.12-140).

©rrEmBER S MTWTF S

Apphcations for imitad iIncome defarrals are due (ROW B4.37.040) @

-
L
w
s
w

Boundaries for Mo2quito Districts must bo estabitshed for kevy callction nextyear | 6 9l1o[1112

s
ROW 17.28.253).
Boundaries of school districts that recaie or annax teeritory due to an nsohvant 13 ‘4®‘6 17]118)19

TR RS 20(21)22|23|24| 25|26
(On or before the first Tuesday) County sudtors peliminary budgets are dus to
Boards of County Commissionars (ROW 36 40.050). 27|28 29@
(The first Monday) DOR determines the indicated ratio for aach county
(RCW BA4S.07S).
Assassor submits the following reports to DOR Proparty Tax Devesion:

+ Cartficate of New Construction Value (form REV 64 0059)

« Rual Property Sales Study
Desgnated forest bind composite tax rate s due 1o DOR Forest Tax Division.
(Price to October 1) Timber Assessad value (TAV) calculated for aach county
(RCW 8433.035)

600 0 00

80

Also i September

«  DOR oqualtzes taees to be collected for state purposes (RCW 84.48.080)
Assassors sand cartfication of assowad valuations to taang districts
ROW B4 48130}

DOR carttfies its 2ssessments of public utfity operating properties to county
amessors aftor fral ratios have boen cartfiod RCW B4.12.370).

4

5 ADUS DATE FALLS ON A SATURDAY, SUNDAY, Of LEDAL MOLIDAY, THE DUS OATE OANDES 70 THE NEXT SR2SINE 55 DAY (RCW 112079
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(8)cToBER

&) On or belfore) Essental Government Sanvices apphcation and rencwals e dus @ 2|3
froen tha tribes (RCW B4 36010, a @ sl71al9 o
&) applications for spactal valustions on historic properties for 2014 ar due
PN Frweiem 11}12[13[34)15)16/17
Boundartes for newly Incorporated port and regonal fire protection senvice e
authorty must be sot for levy taxation purposes (RCW B4.09.030 [11b0 18(19|20]|21|22|23|24
) st anday in October) Scards o County Commesonses bogn beamgicn 1952612712829 30[31)
county budgets [RCW 16.40.000). However, budget hearings may bo held on frst
Maondzy of Decamber (RO 36.40.071).
tL!  (Priorio October 15) Counties’ annual reports on revakuation progress are dus
(ROW B4.41.130)

second haff of property tases due (RCW BAS6.020).
Assomor submits Abstract of Assessad Values Raport to DOR Resaandch and
Logisiative Anabysts Devision.

Also i Octobar
County lagsiatve authortty adopts budget by resclution after budget
hearing is conchded. (RCW 36, 40,080} Board of County Commissionars f
neccassry lovies (RCW 36.40.090).

Qovemeex

€e

1(2]|3]|4|5(6]7

EL) Cryand other taxing district budgsts are dus to the county legidathvs authority 14

T 8 [9]1011)12)13
EL/ The county kegisative authority and counctl of cies/towe:s with population 15l16117118/19]20]21

grater than 300,000 must cortFy the amount of taes levied to the county

assessor (ROW 84520700 22|23|24|25/|26/27|28

Abso in Movember 29@

. Treasurer submits Refund Lovy Report 1o DOR Ressarch and Logidative Analyss

Devesion.

0 JECEMBER 2] ]4]s}
% Penalty of sight percent assessed on the curment years deliquent taxes 6 @ 891011112

FCWBLIGGR. 13{14{15]|16/17|18]|19
I FirstMonday in December) Boands of County Commissioners may meet 1o hold

budget haarngs provided for In ROW 36 40,070 (ROW 36,0071 20|121|22|23|24|25|26

L (Onor befors) DOR prapares stumpage values for anuny through June 2013
RCWB4 31097, (DECEMBER CONTINUED) 27(28|29 30@

*IF A DUE DATE FALLS 0N A SATUINDAY TONDAY, Ol LEOM FOLIDAT, THE DUE DATE CFANCET 70 THE MEXT BUSIMESS DUEY IO 1. 1207
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(DECEMBER CONTINUED)

£y Application duo date for sondor citten and deabled parson property tax asemption

for coming year (ROW 8436 385)

£5) Current Use Program and Desigrated Forest Land applications are due for

chassfication in the naxt assessmont year [RCW 84331300

Alzo In Decamber

«  Interest rate apphcable to farm and agricuitural land values set by DOR for the

2015 assesmment year (ACW 8434 065 and WAC 458-30.262).

DOR datermenes value of each grade of forest land and cortfes values to

county assessors (ROW 8433340

6 (7] 8|9|10/11]12
13)14]15)16[17[18]19
20(21(22/23|2425|26
27(28(29

AR
&

Cafendar revtsed 9/12/2014

{3015 ONGOING DUE DATES
Exemptions for Improvement Sentor citizens and disabled Contact information
Improverments made to 2 sngle persons defarrals Propaerty Tax Dovision
family dweling can bo axemgn for Serdor dittzers and disabled persons PO Box 474N
throo yuars after comglation. dakming defarment of special Olympta, WA 98504 . 7471
Taxpayors mest file 3 notice of intent  2ssossments andlor real property Phone [360) 534 -1400
0 construct with the assessorprior  taxes mest file with the assessor no Fax (360) 534 - 1380
to complation of the improvement  [ater than 30 days before the tax or http-//idor wa.gov
(RCW B4.36.400). asemment Is due (ROW BA3R040).

For Information concarming
Taning district annaxations of Tasparyers mest file an appeal on vesually imguaired, call (3604 705 - 6715
changes must bo submitted 10 DOR  lovies to DOR no later than 10 days Tolotype users call (360) 705 - 6718
within 30 days of receipt aftor lovias o made
(WAC 458.12-140(5]. ROW BADS. 1401
Dastroyed Proparty Real property assessment changes
The vakue of destroyed ral or Notice of 3 change In the value of
personal property may be reduced  mal proparty must be gven by the
the yoar destruction ocowrs. Clatms 2ssessor 10 the taxpayer within 30
must bo submittod to the asesor days of apprasal. Excoption: no
wethin three years of destruction notices may be maded batween
(Chapter ROW 84.70). Sarwgary 15 and Fobruary 15 (ROW

84.80.045).

6

* 15 ADUS DATE FALLS ON A SATURDAY, SUNDAY, OR LEOAL MOLIDAY, THE DUS DATE CMANDOES 70 THE MEXT DUSINESS DAY JACW 1. 1200
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Senior and Disabled Person Property Tax Relief Programs
Research Division Data Uses

- Legislative Analysis

e Number of applicants - how many will be affected

e How many could be affected
- Calculate Fiscal Impact of Program

e Shift in taxes

e Affect on other property owners in the county

e Affect on the state levy

e Affect on local rates
- Outside Requests

e Local governments
- Reports

e Property Tax Statistics

e Tax Exemptions Report

e Tax Reference Manual
- Concerns

e Uniformity among counties

e Updated valuations

e Reliability of data

2015 Deferral — | Deferral— | Grant -
Exemption** Sen/Dis LI W/W
Active
. 106,076 1,348 168 40

Participants
Relief $160,500,000 | $1,2325185 | $161,964 | $10,731
Provided
Accounts
Receivable N/A $13,921,734 | $672,689 N/A
as of 06/30

** The number of active participants and the amount of relief
provided are estimates. Final numbers were not available when this

manual was published.
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SENIOR CITIZEN PROPERTY TAX RELIEF LEVIES DUE IN 2014

The property tax exemption for senior citizens provides tax relief for homeowners who qualify on the basis of age
or disability and disposable income.
*  The program provided $155 million in relief for 107 399 participants in 2014

Too be eligible for tax relief, a homeowner must be 61 in the year the claim is filed or retired by reason of physical
disability. Tax relief is provided in the following incre ments:

*  Households with a combined disposable income of 35,000 or lass
o A fullexemption from excess property taxes, along with a freeze on assessad valuation on January 1
of the initial application vear.
*  Households with a combined disposable income of betwaen 25,001 and $30,000
o Exemption from all regular property taxes on the greater of $50,000 or 35 percent of the value of the
msidence, not toexcaad $70,000
*  Households with a combined disposable income of 25,000 or lass
o Exemption from all regular property taxes on the greater of $60,000 or 60 percent of the value of
the residence

SENIOR CITIZEN PROPERTY TAX RELIEF, 1987-2014

Year Levies  Approved Total Relief Average
Due Applicants Ralief
24 107,350 §154,767,720 §1,441
2013 112,733 155,238,001 §1,377
2012 112,874 160,863,559 1,425
2011 114,800 175,512,451 1,520
2010 114,359 173,844 936 1,520
200 113,239 176,066,722 1,535
003 113,948 180,895,710 1,588
2007 114,862 168,383,834 1,466
2006 115,801 161,494,134 1,395
2005 109,926 150,015,797 1,365
2004 112,587 120,099,341 1,067
2003 112,671 121,315,779 1,077
2002 116,197 112,313,715 &7
001 122928 112,498 359 913
20 126,914 117,387 875 925
1999 128,686 113,706,693 8R4
1998 131,924 80,614,683 611
197 135,742 81,077 359 s
1996 136,036 79,043,697 381
1995 130,650 73,191,817 60
1994 126,641 67,368,802 332
1993 120,413 61,854,086 il
1992 103,024 32,184,342 496
1991 91,505 39,164,183 428
1990 93,392 36,390,308 3490
198D 90,773 35,646,066 KL
1988 E7.004 26,997,527 30

1987 B3 428 27142744 mw
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Table 18
Property Tax Relief Programs for Households:
Impact of Senior Citizen Property Tax Relief on Levies Due in 2014

Total  Component 1: Frozen Value' Component 2: Exempt Property ~ Total Levy Relief:

Partic-  Value Untaxed due Tax Savings from Tax Savings on Tax Savings on Regular, Excess, &

County ipants  to the Value Freeze” the Value Freeze Regular Levies Excess Levies from Value Freeze
Adams 311 $5,665,900 $76,408 $113,315 $99,548 $289,271
Asotin 1,008 32,872,337 391,181 562,925 396,355 1,350,461
Benton 1,762 32,485,495 386,822 612,047 806,050 1,804,918
Chelan 1,799 62,387,555 696,342 779,091 807,800 2,283,233
Clallam 2,720 45,780,956 504,415 1,342,328 862,768 2,709,511
Clark 6,156 112,516,748 1,538,857 3,032,331 4,677,145 9,248,333
Columbia 205 5,805,530 64,827 72,440 39,953 177,220
Cowlitz 2,881 39,740,648 454,010 965,523 1,056,971 2,476,503
Douglas 883 24,072,600 281,623 329,015 426,462 1,037,101
Ferry 362 7,507,200 70,865 138,167 43,102 252,134
Franklin 690 13,193,800 173,878 206,431 436,194 816,503
Garfield 74 1,712,451 16,752 17,678 10,606 45,035
Grant 1,950 28,241,635 381,942 703,766 693,649 1,779,357
Grays Harbor 2,749 33,458,049 419,966 1,042,329 1,102,723 2,565,018
Island 1,649 49,888,831 456,145 882,658 945,145 2,283,948
Jefferson 1,051 27,592,802 276,321 565,735 311,223 1,153,279
King 17,755 901,944,060 9,828,758 11,580,585 16,061,547 37,470,890
Kitsap 3,398 77,753,253 972,310 1,726,456 2,142,265 4,841,032
Kittitas 683 16,008,361 162,719 250,387 286,820 699,926
Klickitat 798 20,870,566 - 300,310 206,167 506,477
Lewis 1,648 33,118,356 364,820 668,259 459,747 1,492,826
Lincoln 429 4,860,880 55,695 127,010 116,962 299,667
Mason 2,466 64,232,545 741,562 1,110,680 1,049,528 2,901,770
Okanogan 1,406 27,332,800 297,666 403,746 350,569 1,051,981
Pacific 1,221 17,844,070 244,232 525,590 495,956 1,265,778
Pend Oreille 691 18,972,983 172,029 220,624 119,071 511,724
Pierce 11,509 (40,592,557) 62,048 5,982,613 11,819,823 17,864,484
San Juan 383 15,030,656 104,966 256,333 117,617 478,916
Skagit 2,661 51,704,858 612,694 1,176,846 1,741,158 3,530,698
Skamania 331 8,440,700 85,299 154,817 91,043 331,160
Snohomish 7,245 196,548,849 3,672,617 7,184,068 5,673,688 16,530,372
Spokane 10,229 155,759,340 2,943,197 3,674,812 6,279,518 12,897,527
Stevens 1,847 39,063,630 374,049 612,845 442,580 1,429,474
Thurston 4,682 86,317,189 1,136,795 2,009,120 2,977,029 6,122,944
Wahkiakum 202 2,603,400 24,419 61,436 57,931 143,786
Walla Walla 1,454 39,685,600 526,798 522,710 747,298 1,796,805
Whatcom 4,460 140,732,918 1,627,647 1,997,185 2,622,391 6,247,223
Whitman 564 12,955,785 188,719 174,370 229,010 592,099
Yakima 5,087 77,286,179 976,353 2,236,031 2,275,952 5,488,337
TOTAL 107,399 $2,491,396,958 $31,365,745 $54,322,611 $69,079,364 $154,767,720

! The value prior to the freeze minus the frozen value is the untaxed value; multiplying by the rate yields component 1 tax

savings.

“Negative values indicate the total current value is less than the total frozen value
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Table 18, cont.

Property Tax Relief Programs for Households:
Deferral of Property Taxes

Calendar Year 2013
Senior Citizens/Disabled Persons Limited Income Households?
Amount Deferred in Amount Deferred

County # of Participants 2013 # of Participants in 2013
Adams 0 0 0 0
Asotin 0 0 0 0
Benton 3 2,274 0 0
Chelan 0 0 0 0
Clallam 9 18,655 1 600
Clark 50 101,678 14 21,428
Columbia 0 0 0 0
Cowlitz 7 5,109 0 0
Douglas 0 0 0 0
Ferry 0 0 0 0
Franklin 0 0 0 0
Garfield 0 0 0 0
Grant 1 717 0 0
Grays Harbor 30 38,999 0 0
Island 16 39,287 2 2,370
Jefferson 2 936 2 3,507
King 238 841,496 16 30,393
Kitsap 25 42,378 4 10,129
Kittitas 0 0 0 0
Klickitat 0 0 0 0
Lewis 5 4,775 0 0
Lincoln 0 0 0 0
Mason 3 10,099 0 0
Okanogan 0 0 0 0
Pacific 1 682 1 1,393
Pend Oreille 0 0 0 0
Pierce 79 262,013 6 8,574
San Juan 4 9,909 0 0
Skagit 14 32,890 2 3,395
Skamania 0 0 1 943
Snohomish 25 61,693 8 16,502
Spokane 4 16,703 3 3,095
Stevens 3 2,910 0 0
Thurston 15 27,382 5 3,741
Wahkiakum 1 580 0 0
Walla Walla 2 9,310 0 0
Whatcom 28 54,827 2 4,194
Whitman 0 0 0 0
Yakima 1 757 0 0

TOTAL 566 1,586,060 67 110,262

'RCW 84.38.030 ’RCW 84.37.030
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Table 18, cont.

Property Tax Relief Programs for Households:
Selected Other Programs Benefiting Households

Calendar Year 2013
Widow/Widower of Veterans Assistance Home Improvementsz‘3
Approved
Application Value Exempted
County # of Participants  Assistance Paid in 2013 S in 2013
Adams 0 0
Asotin 0 0
Benton 2 414 0 0
Chelan 0 0 1 30,204
Clallam 0 0 0 0
Clark 1 0 6 131,548
Columbia 0 0
Cowlitz 0 0
Douglas 0 0
Ferry 0 0
Franklin 0 0
Garfield 0 0
Grant 1 288
Grays Harbor 0 0 3 62,205
Island 0 0
Jefferson 1 242
King 3 448 1,275 56,180,325
Kitsap 0 0 13 614,211
Kittitas 0 0 0 0
Klickitat 0 0 0 0
Lewis 1 237 2 272,800
Lincoln 0 0
Mason 0 0 0 0
Okanogan 0 0
Pacific 0 0 2 51,100
Pend Oreille 0 0
Pierce 28 8,050 40 1,564,986
San Juan 0 0 2 72,840
Skagit 1 0
Skamania 0 0 0 0
Snohomish 1 40 7 146,400
Spokane 2 731 0 0
Stevens 2 500
Thurston 8 1,460 12 252,910
Wahkiakum 0 0
Walla Walla 1 219
Whatcom 1 235 5 129,274
Whitman 0 0
Yakima 0 0 1 68,850
TOTAL 53 $12,865 1,369 $59,577,653

'RCW 84.39.010  *RCW 84.36.400

® Some counties are unable to provide home improvement exemption data, so blank cells do not

indicate zero applications or zero value exempted.
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Courtesy of King County Assessor
http://www.kingcounty.gov/depts/assessor/Reports/annual-reports/2015.aspx

SIGNIFICANT EVENTS IN THE HISTORY OF PROPERTY TAX IN WASHINGTON STATE

1863 - Temzorial government estadished; all taxes to be asseszed uniformiy;
exemption for property of the Unted States. churches and benevoient
Insttutions.

1889 - State Constumion adoptied — property 10 be assessed uniformiy.
Legisiature may grant exemplions.

1829 - 14th Amendment %o state consttution: ciassification of property allowed.
Al real estate i3 one Class; taxes 10 be un¥orm on the same Class of property.

1835 - Revenue Act exempted 3 @oods and effects.

1044 - 17th Amendment to state consttution: added 40 mll limRs. Property to
be assessed at SO% of true and fair value.

1966 - Property revaiuation Cycie estabiished — & year interval.

1966 - 4Tt Amendment 1 he state constitution 3lows senior CRzen exemption.

1967 — Senior citizens exempt from first $50.00 of real property tax. Barow v.
Knnear provided the state with assessment equaization power.

1968 - Current use assessment provided for open space, Imber and agriculturyl
lands.

1969 ~ State revaiuation pian insttuted 10 reaiize e 1355 revaluation act.
Cartonen v. Wiliams mandated 3 S0% ratio of assessed o market value.

1971 - $50.00 senior clizen exermplion replaced by varying exemption fom
special levies depending on Income. Annual increase in reguiar ievies of taxing
gistricts limited to 105% of the largest prior levy. Annual update of values
permized

1972 - Home improvement exemption created. ConstRuional limit of 1% of
market value enacied for 3 reguiar ievies.

1973 - Azsessment ievel ncreased fom S0% 1o 100% of true and far vaiue, %or
1575 tawes.

1874 - Ten year phase-out of ty tax on

1076 - 100% assessment ratio Impiemented. Statutory rate Imit reguced to
$5.15 per §1,000 assessed value. Defemal of property taxes and special
aszessments aliowed for senior cRizens with ncome o less than §8,000.

1878 - 54th Amendment o state constRution permits school disricts 10 seek
voler approval of two year special ievies.

1978 - Seamie School District v. State requires %l state funding of K-12
education.

1879 ~ State Jevy for common 3Choo! support subject 0 108% Iimitason.

19881 - interest rate on deinguent property taves ncreased from % to 12%.
New penalty of 11% for first year deinguencies.

1882 - Prysical Inspection may take six years, If values updated annually.

1883 - Business inventones eiminated Yom property tax and assessment roiis,
eflective in 1583 for 1584 collectons.

1884 - Legal requirements ‘%or payment of penaities and interest on delinquent
taxes relayed. Serior Citizen Exemption qualfications revised.

1986 - Provision made for special valuation of eligibie historic property. Benefit
ratng system suthorzed.

1888 - Limited walver of the 106% Im2 may be piaced before the voters. Levies
for schoo! capial purposes may be made for up 10 § years wih volter approval.

1987 - Interest rates on property tax refunds increased.

1888 - New construction valuation date of July 31 upheld. State school levy
removed from $3.15/51,000 imRaton for proration purposes. Local appeai date
set at July 1. Personal property afMdave fiing deadine set at April 30.

1889 - Business personal property exemption raised to §3.000. Deadine

changed for getermining boundaries of newly incorporated cities. Washington

1990 - Regular levy imEation of §5.55/1,000 of assessed valuation increased o

$5.30/1,000 and proration proceckres modified. Personal property equalized
baszed on assessment level of preceding year.

1892 - Appedants may appeai drectly to State Board of Tax Appeals, bypassing
local sppeais board.  Manifest errors no longer reviewed by the county Boara
Aszessor may stipuiate 1o value of appeaied property with concurrence of
appeiiant. Four-year renewa! required for Senicr Citizen exemption.

1983 - Voter-approved reguiar ievy for icw-ncome housing authorized for cties
and counties (above statutory and §5.30 imits ).

1884 -Tax bil required to show percent of voted and non-voted tax. Certan
deadines for providing Information in valuaton appea's altered.

1996 - Cenior citizen Income limR ralsed; values frozen as of 1/1/9S. Deferral
income, age and parce! size imRs ¢ New created for mul-
unit dwellings In designated urban centers,

18948 - Revaluations cut-of-Cycie and emor comections alowed %or value-affecting
changes in iand use restrictons.

1887 - Al intangidie personal property made tax- A wo
€0 cays after notfication of value change. Referendum 47 Imposes addBonal
requrements on the 105% Imit.

1888 - The value ging o 47 I3 ruled unconstitutional
by the Washington State Supreme Court. Senlor exemption eigiity and
berefts were ibernized.
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SIGNIFICANT EVENTS IN THE HISTORY OF PROPERTY TAX IN WASHINGTON STATE

2000 - I-722 passed In November mandating a roll back of assessed values 10
January 1, 1953 levels and Imiting future Increases of taxable value 10 2% per
year. It also imited taxing district non-voted property tax increases o 2%, and

unconstitutional on Septemder 20, 2001.

2001 - |-747 passed In November which resiricts taxing districts 10 3 1%
monetary aggregats Increase over thelr prior highest awful levy. Effective for the
2002 tax year.

2002 - Annexations by petition ruled unconsitutional in March 2002 by the State
Supreme Court. The Dasic metnod by which cities may annex temtory is now Dy
£i2c10n — Dy approval of the voters In the area proposed for annexation.

2004 - Senior citizen and disadled iIncome Imits raised; alowadle expenses for
senlors/disabled Includes adust family care faciiities and boarding homes; afows
Meadicars part 8 Insurance premiums as a deduction against

Income. Mental as well as physical Included in program. Timber
assessed values Include pubicly as well 3s privately owned forest land.

2005 - Effective 7/24/05, veterans with 100% service connected disablities are
Inciuded In the SeniorDisabled Exemption Program. Certification of bungeuto
the county legisiative authority changed from November 15 to November 30
Veterans assistance tommmmmummnm
estabished. Effective 7/24/05 a 10-year special tax exemption for nightciubs that
Instal a sprinkler Exemptions for wicows/widowers of honoradly
mammmmeumgwmem
became effective for the 2006 tax year. An Increase In the maximum denefit
assessment charge for conservation districts from $5 to $10 in counties greater
than 1.5 milion In poputation became effective for the 2006 tax year. Fire
protection district can Impose up to a total of 25 cents of Its property tax levy
mumsssomnmnmwxmnmmsmymu
otherwise prorated. Personal property tax exemption repealed for famm
machinery used In buming effective for the 2007 tax year.

2006 - Establishment of Reglonal Fire Protection Service Authorties for

for the tax and benefit charge. Property Tax Deferral Program: bill changes the
mmmpwmmmmmbmmmm
m.mmm.mmmim%mmmm
wih disposable incomes of $40,000 o Iess have defermed property taxes and
3pply 1o 1axes and speclal assessments deferred after January 1, 2007. Local
Infrastructure Financing Tool (LIFT). Investments in pubic Infrastructure to
mmmmwmmbymmamm
of local excise tax and local property tax (use of new construction dollars),
effective Juty 1, 2006 and expiring June 30, 2039. Personal Property Head of
Famiy Tax Exemption: Amendment of the W State Constitution to
change the exemption from $3.000 to $15,000 for a head of family who owns,

operates, and Is a sole proprietor of a business that meets cartain qualifications,

effective January 1, 2007. Property Tax Exemptions and Deferrais for Senior
memﬂm"mdmt Increases the one- acre
limitation on residence size ‘up to’ five acres If the larger parcel size Is what is
required by local zoning for the Senior Cltizen and Disabled personal
Program and the Widows/Widowers of Veterans Property Tax Assistance
Program.
2007 - Modified forest fire protection fiat fee assessment from $14.50 to $17.50
wmmmmmmmmmxmn
27 cents on each acre 50 acres. Lid Iits: allows all taxing @istricts to
Impose a §d it In which the levy may exceed the 101% imitation In each of up to
6 consecutive years. This bill extends the authority to ail taxing districts, not just
counties, cities and towns whom have had the ability to exceed that limit since
2003. Taxing district boundaries: The date for the estadlishment of
district boundaries changed from March 1 10 August 1 of the year In which the
tax levy Is made. New have been estadlished related 10 the
%amw»mmmammumm
annexed 10 3 city or town. Also, new City and town notification requirements
pertaining 10 annexation of proparty within a fire or library district are estadlished.
School District Capttal Project Funds for Technology: Schood Districts are
allowed 10 Impose 2-year through -year levies 1o fund costs associated with the
application and modemization of techn These levies arz in
aodition to other maintenance and Operation Ievies Imposad by the school district
and are not subject to the imitation founding RCW 84.52.053.

2008 - RCW B4.55.050 — Levy llg Ms. Makes single year and muitiple year Iid
IIfts temporary uniess the basiot
permanent. Afer the iid IRt ends,
It had never occumed and the district had levied at the maximum rates alowed,
uniess the ballot proposition states otherwise. RCW 84.09.030 reguires nealy
Incorporated port districts and regional fire protection service authority disincts 1o
have their boundaries 2stadlished by Octoder 1% If their boundarnes are
coterminous with the boundanes of another taxing district or gistricts as they
existed the first day of August. If the boundaries for the newly Incorporatad port
district and regional fire protection service authorty district are not coterminous
with another taxing Gistrict, then the boundanes must be establisned by August 1.
RCW 17.28.253 aistricts to have their boundares estadlished
by September 1. SB £350, Section 510 gives the county treasurers authority to
grant an extension for the due dates of any propeny tax payabie under RCW
84.56.020, for taxes extended upon the tax rolls of the county, when a state of

has been deciared by the govemor. E2SHB 3186 authorizes the
creation of beach districts that are similar to lake m,

purpose of controling and removing aquatic plants
1149 removed the requirement for an advance tax to be pald prior 1o the
recording of 2 binding site plan with the county auditor.
2008 - Property tax resulting from levy lid Iifts can be used to supplant existing
funcs beginning with levies submitted/approved by voters after July 26, 2003 In
counties with 3 population of j26s than 1.5 milion. In countiss with a population
of 1.5 millon or more, property tax levy lid Iift funds can be used fo supplant
existing funds for levies approved by the voters after July 26, 2003 and through
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2011. The maximum rate of county ferry @stricts was changed from
$0.75 to $0.075 per thousand dolars of 3sses5ed value In counties with a
poputation of 1.5 milllon or more. A new transit levy was creatad In counties with
a poputation of 1.5 million or more to expand transit capacity along State Route
520 and other transit-refated . The levy Is subject to the ievy mit in
RCW 84.55.010 after the first tax levy has been Imposed and is subject to the
constitutional one percent limit and excluded from the $5.50 levy Imitation.

2010 - A new community faciity district may be formed 20 provide voluntary
financing for community faciities and local, sub regional and regional
Infrastructure. The Doard of supervisors of such district may Impose a special
assessment on the Reglonal Transit Authority (RTA) — when an area
MMNRTASMI’JWNMWWMMW
of an RTA, the annexed area Is simultaneously Includged within the boundaries of
the RTA. Annexation Indebtedness — all property located within the boundares
of a city, partial city, or town annexing Into a fire protection district and which Is
subject o the excess levy by the city or fown for the repayment of debt incurred
for fire protection reiated capital Improvements that was Incurred prior to the
annexation Is exempt from voter-approved property taxes levied by the annexing
fire protection district for the repayment of indedtadness Issued peor to the
effective date of the annexation. Fire protection districts may be authonzed in
areas both Inside and outside of cities and towns. Also a city or town adjacent to
a fire @istrict may be annexed Into such a fire district provided the population of
the city or town does not exceed 300,000. School districts may retum to voters
after they have recelved voter approval for an MAO levy requesting aoditonal
levy authority If the district's levy base or maximum levy percentage has
Increased since the Intial levy. This law allows 3 school gistrict 10 have multiple
MEO levies at one time.

2011 - A property owner has the right to appeal their property valuation even
though the value did not change If the property was within 3 revaluation area and
the taxpayer was not sent a notice of value change. The measure provides that a
county board of equalization must walve the appeal deadline, If 3 request is fied
within 3 reasonable ime after the appeal deadine, If the taxpayer's property was
In the cument revaluation area, the property value gid not change, the taxpayer
Wwas not sent a notice, and the taxpayer did not flle an appeal prior to July 1 of the
assessment year. The bill will take effect July 22, 2011, anad wil apply to property
taxes levied for cofiection In 2012 and thereafter.

Ammwmuammmmmmu
adjacent reglonal fire protection senvics authonty. The annexation must be
Wwammmmmumnummm

fire protection senvice authonty sets the property tax levy rate, the
mmmmummmmmmmmayw The bl
Is effective July 22, 2011.

Protection of the King County fiood control Zone district from a potential loss of
revenue due 1o proration of Iis levy should the aggregate local reguiar levy
exceed $5.90. The disirnict was provided limited protection of the regular propesty
tax levy from proration In a county with a population of 775,000 or more and
whose boundaries are coexiensive with the county. For those aistricts, $0.25 of
their reguiar property tax levy is outside of the $5.50 imit. The bill changes the

Mummnmmmmymms&wmumr
1000 control district Ievies and junior taxing dsiricts. The protected portion of the
levy of the flood control district is 52 within the one percent Iimit and would be
the frst levy prorated If the 3goregate of all levies exceeds e one percent Imit.
The unprotected portion of the food control district levy and levies of other food
controf zones would continue to be subject to proration. It Is effectve July 22,
2011, and applles to property taxes levied for coliection in 2012 through 2017.
The bl expires January 1, 2018

Leglsiation, for propenty 1ax purposes, makes technical changes to clartty the
eligiblity requirements for veterans with a service connectad disability 1o quality
for the senior citizen and disabied person property tax exemption. Also comectsd
are requirements for the 36828507 10 NOLTY PErsONs recelving the senlor
exemption from four to six years to coincide with the lagisiation passed In 2010.
Both changes go into effect on July 22, 2011.

memmnummmmmg Plerce, and

Snohomish Counties with a tax increment financing program to fund
Infrastructure improvements. To quaify, cities must participate In 3 transfer of
development rights program and meet certain requirements. A portion of
Incremental Increases In regular property tax revenue of 3 spoNsorng clty and
the county In which the city resides 3s a result of new consirction in a specified
area are used by the city to fund the local public Infrastructure
projects In that same area. Taxing districts other than the cties and counties are
not Impacted. The bil also provides for the transfer of development rights from
rural iand 10 cities 10 be usad within the Infrastructurs project area.

A DI to aliow familles 10 farm o grow and harvest trees on contiguous

as 3 single operation and Nave Me |and value basad on curment use rather than
market value was passed Dy the Legisiature. The bil expands the dgefinition of
“same " to Inciude parcels owned Dy different people that are managed
as a single operation and owned dy: (1) Members of the same family, 3s definad
In the bIE; (2) Legal entities whoily owned by members of the same family; or (3)
An Individual who owns at least one of the parcels and/or a legal entity of entities
that own the other parce! or parcels If the entity or entities are wnolly owned by
that individual, members of his or her family, or that Inghvidual and members of
his or her famity. The bill 30ds the definition of *CoNtigUOUS” to the designated
forest land program. The bill Is effective July 22, 2011.

A DIl to ciarfy that the City of Miiton or any fire district or other qualified district
that Inciuges the City of Milion can Impose an emergency medical service levy of
S0 cents throughout the city despite the clty being located in both King and
Plerce Counties was passed by the legisiaturs. Aaditionally, the bil is Intended 10
ensure that the owners of property in the King County portion of the City of Miton
will not have to pay for two EMS ievies that could result from the layenng of the
King County EMS levy and a City of Milton (or fire district) levy. The bill provides
tat, for purposes of Impesing a medical emergency property tax levy, the
boundary of a county with a population greater than 1,500,000 goes not inciuge
the area iocated within 3 ity that has a boundary In two counties. The localy
assessed value of 3l the property In the area of the city within the county with 3
popuiation greater than 1,500,000 must de less than $250,000,000.
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1965

1967

1971

1972

1973

1974

1975

1977

1979

1980

1983

HISTORY OF THE SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED PERSONS
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS

Constitution amended to allow property tax relief for retired homeowners (HJR 7,
approved November 1966).

Senior citizen exemption set at $50, must live in residence for 5 years, or 1 year if a 10-
year resident, be 65 if male and 62 if female, and have combined income of $3,000.

$50 senior citizen exemption replaced by exemption from special levies: Income of
$4,000 = 100% exemption; income from $4,001 to $6,000 = 50% exemption. Must live
in residence 2 years, or 1 year if a 3-year resident. Exemption limited to 1 acre.

Residence must only be occupied on January 1st if a 3-year resident. Mobile homes
added. Only 2/3 of social security income counted.

Only 2/3 of federal civil service retirement and railroad retirement pensions counted.

For special levies, income of $5,000 = 100% exempt; $5,001 to $6,000 = 50% exempt;
for regular levies, incomes $4,000 exempt on first $5,000 of residential value. Age
changed to 62 or older on January 1 in the year the taxes were due.

Senior citizens with income of $8,000 may defer taxes beginning in 1976. Income for
deferral program indexed to CPI after 1976.

Senior citizen exemption income limits increased by $2,000.

Households with incomes of $11,000 exempt from all special levies; those with incomes
of $7,000 exempt from regular levies on first $15,000 value of residence. Eligibility for
occupying residence for 2 years and 3-year resident requirement removed. Life estates
added. Surviving spouse qualifies if 57 years old. Confinement to a nursing home does
not disqualify.

Disposable income defined. 1/3 exclusion for Social Security is eliminated, but income
levels are increased by $3,000 to $14,000 for special levies and to $10,000 for regular
levies; leases for life added.

For 1984, maximum income increased to $15,000, regular levy residential value
exemption increased to $20,000; starting in 1985, two-step regular levy exemption
depending upon income: If income is $9,001 to $12,000, exemption = $20,000 or 30% of
valuation, not to exceed $40,000; if income is $9,000 or less, exemption = $25,000 or
50% of valuation. Nursing home care costs added as allowable deduction and military &
veteran benefit payments for attendant-care medical-aid not counted. One-time
application instituted.
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1984

1987

1991

1992

1993

1995

1998

2004

Eligibility for the deferral program tied to eligibility for senior citizen exemption
program.

For 1989, maximum income increased to $18,000; Regular levy valuation exemption
amounts increased: if income is $12,001 to $14,000, exemption = $24,000 or 30% of
valuation, not to exceed $40,000; if income is $12,000 or less, exemption = $28,000 or
50% of valuation.

For 1991, eligible income level for deferral increased to $30,000. For 1992, maximum
income for exemption increased to $26,000; Regular levy valuation exemption amounts
increased: if income is $15,001 to $18,000, exemption = $30,000 or 30% of valuation,
not to exceed $50,000; if income is $15,000 or less, exemption = $34,000 or 50% of
valuation. Capital gains from the sale of the residence excluded from income and in-
home care expenses added as allowable deduction.

Income verification required. Renewal applications required every 4 years and may be
required by assessors upon change in income limits. Disposable income of person
widowed in preceding year based on retirement income after death of spouse.

Exemption not lost if the residence is rented for the purposes of paying hospital or
nursing home costs.

For 1996, eligible income for exemption increased to $28,000 and prescription drug costs
are deductible. Use of current year income instead of preceding year income. Valuation
is frozen at the assessed value on January 1, 1995, or January 1 of the year the person
first qualifies, whichever is later. Eligible income for deferral program is increased to
$34,000 and taxes on up to 5 acres may be deferred if zoning requires larger size.

For 1999, maximum income for exemption increased to $30,000; Regular levy valuation
exemption amounts increased: if income is $18,001 to $24,000, exemption = $40,000 or
35% of valuation, not to exceed $60,000; if income is $18,000 or less, exemption =
$50,000 or 60% of valuation. Vetoed was an extension of the exemption program to 5
acres if zoning required a larger size, a deduction for health care insurance payments, and
an exclusion of veterans’ benefits for disabilities related to military duty.

Beginning in 2005, maximum income threshold for exemption increased to $35,000;
Regular levy valuation income thresholds and exemption levels increased: if income is
$25,001 to $30,000, exemption = $50,000 or 35% of valuation, not to exceed $70,000; if
income is $25,000 or less, exemption = $60,000 or 60% of valuation. Income threshold
for deferral program is increased to $40,000. Persons may reside in an adult family home
or an assisted living facility (boarding home) that provides specialized care without
losing property tax relief. Assisted living facility (boarding home) or adult family home
costs and Medicare insurance premiums under Title XVII may be deducted from income
beginning with 2004 income year. Disability tied to federal social security definition.
(HB 5034)
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2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

Exemption extended to veterans of any age with 100% service-connected disability (HB
1019). New program to provide property tax assistance in form of grant to
senior/disabled widows and widowers of qualifying veterans — to be administered by
DOR. Widow/widower must be 62 or disabled in filing year; must not have remarried;
must own/occupy residence, income $40,000 or less; veteran died of service-connected
disability OR was 100% disabled per VA for 10 years prior to death OR was 100%
disabled per VA for 1 year prior to death and a former POW OR died in active duty or
training status (HB 1509).

Effective in 2007, exemption program and grant assistance program limitation on parcel
size extended to include up to 5 acres if local zoning and land use regulations require the
larger parcel size (SB 6338). Interest rate on deferrals for senior citizens and disabled
persons was reduced to 5% for deferrals made on or after January 1, 2007 (SHB 2569).

Acceptable signatures for Proof of Disability include certified physician assistants and
certified osteopathic physician assistants (HB 1966). In 2007 Special Session, created
new deferral program for homeowners with limited income — county assessors
approve/deny — DOR administers payments/receivables. No age or disability
requirement; income limit is $57,000; must own home for at least 5 years and occupy as
of January 1 of application year; deferral limited to 2™ half tax and first half must already
be paid; limited to 40% of applicant’s equity (SB 6178).

For 2008 income to qualify for 2009 property tax relief, excluded veterans benefits and
dependency indemnity compensation paid by Veterans Administration (SSB 5256).
Expanded rights and responsibilities of “domestic partners” — to be treated as “spouse” or
“surviving spouse” for exemption and deferral programs — applies to exemptions and
deferrals but not grant assistance program (2SHB 3104).

E2SHB 1208 — This legislation changed the way refunds are administered. Prior to
passage, applicants could request refund of taxes within three years of the date the taxes
were paid. Effective July 26, 2009, refunds must be submitted within three years of the
date the taxes were due.

E2SSB 5688 - The bill provided general definitions that apply to all of Title 84 RCW and
requires that the terms “spouse,” “marriage,” “marital,” “husband,” “wife,” “widow,”
“widower,” “next of kin,” and “family” apply equally to state registered domestic
partnerships and state registered domestic partners as well as to marital relationships and
married persons. In 2008, 2SHB 3104 was enacted that provided the same rights and
responsibilities for state registered domestic partners as for a spouse. However, those
changes did not include all programs. By creating a general definition that applies to all
of Title 84, all property tax programs that use the terms “spouse,” “marriage,” “marital,”
“husband,” “wife,” “widow,” “widower,” “next of kin,” and “family” in their governing
statutes must now provide the same rights and responsibilities for a state registered
domestic partner as for a spouse. The effective date for this legislation is July 26, 2009.

99 ¢ 99 ¢

29 ¢¢

29 ¢
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2010

2011

2012

2013

E2SHB 1597 - This bill changes the renewal requirement for property tax exemptions
from four years to six years. The effective date is July 1, 2010.

SHB 2962 — This legislation allows county treasurers to accept electronic bill payments
on a monthly or other type of period basis. Prepayments must be paid in full by the
applicable due dates. For example, if someone makes monthly electronic bill payments
on the first installment of taxes, that first installment must be paid in full by the due date
— April 30. The effective date is July 1, 20009.

SB 6379 — For both deferral programs, terminology changed from “certificate of
ownership” to “certificate of title” for manufactured homes. Requires payment of all
taxes prior to transfer of ownership for a manufactured home; instructs Department of
Licensing to notify assessor of change in ownership or location for any manufactured
home. This bill was a technical correction bill for Department of Licensing. The
corrections made should correct the statute to accurately reflect business practices and
should have no real impact. The effective date is July 1, 2011.

SSB 5167 — technical corrections — clarifies definition of “disabled veteran” and changes
assessor requirement to notify exemption participants of requirement to renew, per 2010
legislative changes extending renewal cycle to 6 years.

HB 1649 - Legislation providing a comprehensive change to the RCW to treat “state
registered domestic partner” as spouse under law, extends reciprocity to same-Sex
marriages formed in other jurisdictions.

2ESHB 2048 temporarily increased the low income housing assistance surcharge
included in fees for document recording. From July 1, 2009, through August 31, 2012,
and from July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2017, the surcharge is $30.00 (total recording fee
$62.00). From September 1, 2012, through June 30, 2015, the surcharge is increased to
$40.00 (total recording fee $72.00).

SHB 2056 replaces the term “boarding home” with the term “assisted living facility”
throughout the RCW to update the statutes to the newer terminology. The definition,
nature, and licensing of these facilities did not change.

ESSB 6470 allows, for the purposes of enhancing fire protection services, a city or town
to fix and impose a benefit charge on personal property and improvements to real
property located in the city or town if the city or town is conducting an annexation of, or
has annexed since 2006, all or part of a fire protection district. The bill provides for a
partial exemption for taxpayers who qualify for exemption under RCW 84.36.381.

EHB 1421 clarifies existing language to protect the state’s interest in collecting deferred
property taxes and special assessments and grants the Department authority to charge off
past-due deferrals when they are deemed uncollectible. Proceeds from the sale of
property acquired by a county due to property tax foreclosure (tax title property) must
first be applied to reimburse the county for foreclosure and sale costs and then to pay the
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Department for taxes deferred under the senior and limited-income property tax deferral
programs. The Department may charge off past-due obligations from the senior and
limited-income deferral programs as uncollectible if the Department determines that there
are no cost-effective means of collecting the amounts due.

EHB 1493 allows the landlord of a manufactured/mobile home park to submit a signed
affidavit to the county assessor to seek removal of any outstanding taxes, penalties, and
interest under specific circumstances. The affidavit must indicate that the landlord has
taken ownership of a manufactured/mobile home with the intent to resell or rent. The
manufactured/mobile home must have been abandoned or awarded to the landlord as part
of a final court judgment for restitution of the premises, and the title must have been
transferred to the landlord. In addition, the most current assessed value of the
manufactured/mobile home must be less than $8,000. The county treasurer, after
notification by the county assessor, must remove from the tax rolls any outstanding taxes,
interest, and penalties on the manufactured/mobile home or park model trailer. After
outstanding taxes, interest, and penalties are removed from the tax rolls, all future taxes
are the responsibility of the owner of the manufactured/mobile home.

HB 1576 authorizes assessors to use electronic means to send assessments, notices, or
other information that they would otherwise be required to send, or would customarily
send, by regular mail. To send notice electronically assessors must receive authorization
from the recipient and use methods reasonably designed to protect confidential
information. Information obtained by the assessor for providing electronic notice and
protecting taxpayer information, such as taxpayer e-mail addresses, waivers, or
passwords, is not subject to disclosure under the Public Records Act.

SSB 5444 eliminates the requirement for assessors to determine the value of publicly
owned property that is not subject to property tax. This bill also eliminates the credit for
certain leasehold interests for the amount that the leasehold excise tax exceeds the
property tax applicable if the property were privately owned. However, the leasehold
excise tax credit for taxpayers who qualify for property tax exemption as a senior citizen
or disabled person still applies.

SSB 5705 allows the county treasurer to authorize payment of past due property taxes,
penalties, and interest on a monthly basis by electronic funds transfer. If a taxpayer is
successfully participating in a payment agreement, the county treasurer may not assess
additional penalties on delinquent taxes included in the payment agreement. Payments
on past due taxes must include collection of taxes, including interest, from the oldest
delinquent year within a 12-month period. A county treasurer may add a delinquent tax
collection charge for costs incurred by the treasurer. A county treasurer may assess and
collect tax foreclosure avoidance costs. Tax foreclosure avoidance costs are defined to
include certain costs specifically identified with the administration of properties subject
to, and prior to, foreclosure. Proceeds from the collection of tax foreclosure avoidance
costs must generally be credited to the county treasurer service fund.

2014 2ESHB 1117 allows the transfer of real property by a “transfer on death” deed which
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takes effect upon the grantor’s death. A “transfer on death” (TOD) deed must contain
essential elements a deed, must state that transfer is to occur at the transferor's death, and
must be recorded prior to the transferor's death. A TOD deed is revocable during
transferor's lifetime and beneficiaries have no interest in the property until the TOD deed
takes effect at the transferor's death. A certified copy of the death certificate is recorded
to perfect title. Beneficiaries need not be notified of the pending interest during the
transferor's lifetime in order for the TOD deed to be effective. At the transferor's death,
the transferor's interest in the property passes automatically to the beneficiary, subject to
applicable taxes and all other interests in the property including liens, mortgages, and
other encumbrances. Beneficiaries may disclaim the interest if they do so in writing
within nine months of the interest becoming effective. If the beneficiary fails to survive
the transferor, the interest lapses. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

HB 2446 simplifies procedures for obtaining a property tax refund. This bill relieves
property owners of the necessity to file a claim for refund when the refund is the result of
a Board of Equalization, State Board of Tax Appeals, or Court decision, or decisions
made by the county treasurer or assessor within 3 years of the tax due date. The refund
can also be made without a claim when the county assessor or Department of Revenue
approves a property tax exemption authorized under chapter 84.36 RCW within 3 years
of the tax due date. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

ESSB 5875 amends RCW 36.22.179 and provides that the local homeless housing and
assistance surcharge no longer applies to documents recording a state, county, or city lien
or satisfaction of lien.

SSB 6333 includes technical corrections for clarification. Section 407 (RCW 84.40.038)
- In addition to the July 1 and 30 days after mailing deadlines, a taxpayer can appeal a
decision 30 days after information was transmitted or made available electronically to be
accessed. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

HB 2195 increases the Washington state heritage center surcharge included in recording
fees from $2 to $3. Total fees for recording deferral liens/releases will increase from $32
to $33. Effective October 9, 2015.

SSB 5186 provides that all combined disposable income thresholds are increased by
$5,000 for the Property Tax Exemption Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled
Persons and for the Property Tax Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled
Persons. The increase is effective for the 2015 income year and for taxes levied for
collection in 2016 and forward.

SSB 5275 provides tax statute clarifications, simplifications, and technical corrections to
existing laws to clarify statutes and/or improve the tax administration. Sections 102
through 104 update language related to annual revaluation and 6-year re-inspection cycle.
Sections 312 through 314 clarify that “disability” is not only “physical”. Sections 315
and 316 clarify that deferral balances included on a Certificate of Delinquency need not
be collected when the property is not sold and deferral amounts have not become payable
under RCW’s 84.37.080 and 84.38.130. Effective date July 24, 2015.
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SSB 5276 allows county legislative authorities to authorize a refund on a claim filed
more than three years after the payment due date if the claim is for taxes paid as a result
of a manifest error in the description of the property. The purpose is to provide an
avenue for taxpayers to request a refund when manifest errors, which are corrections
without the need of appraisal judgment, are discovered more than three years after the
due date of the tax. Effective date July 24, 2015.

SB 5768 provides clear authority for county treasurers to use electronic media, including
the internet, and electronic funds transfers to conduct public auctions of county-owned
property, and privately-owned real or personal property seized or foreclosed upon for
delinquent taxes. Effective date July 24, 2015.
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SENIOR CITIZEN / DISABLED PERSONS
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of the exemption program is to allow senior citizens and/or disabled persons the
ability to remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. The exemption program
“freezes” the assessed value of the applicant’s primary residence and reduces the tax amount due
based on the applicant’s level of income. The exemption program is a “gift” and the recipient
does not have to repay these taxes. The exemption results in a tax shift to other taxpayers. The
statutes and rules for this program can be found in RCW 84.36.379 through RCW 84.36.389 and
WAC 458-16A-100 through WAC 458-16A-150.

THE APPLICANT

Only one person in the household must meet the age/disability requirement and this person is the
applicant. See RCW 84.36.381 and WAC 458-16A-130.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 61 by December 31 of the assessment year.
-OR -

The applicant must be the surviving spouse or domestic partner of someone who was receiving
the exemption at the time of his or her death. The surviving spouse or domestic partner must
apply to continue the exemption, must have been at least 57 years old in the calendar year the
claimant dies, and must otherwise qualify for the program.

-OR -

The applicant must be a veteran of the armed forces of the United States entitled to and receiving
compensation from the United States Department of Veterans’ Affairs at a total disability rating
for a service-connected disability. Veterans are men and women who served in the U.S. Armed
Forces during World War 11, the Korean War, the Vietnam War era, the Gulf War era, and all
other service periods. A service-connected disability is a health condition or impairment caused
or made worse by military service. A veteran who meets this eligibility requirement does NOT
have to meet the Social Security definition of “disabled”.

-OR -

The applicant must be disabled. A disabled person may be any age and must be disabled at the
time of filing (when the application was due — 12/31 of the assessment year). The definition of


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
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disability in RCW 84.36.383(7) has been linked to the definition used for Social Security
purposes (U.S.C. Sec. 423(d)(1)(A)). The disability must be such that the applicant is unable to
pursue substantial gainful employment and the condition must either be expected to result in
death or must have lasted, or be expected to last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months.
The disability need not be permanent. Annually, the Social Security Administration determines
the amount a claimant may earn without being considered “gainfully employed”. There are
separate limits for those who are blind. You can find annual limits for allowable earned income
in the Disposable Income section of this manual or at the Social Security website at
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html.

OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be owned by the applicant at the time the application is filed, or should have
been filed. This means the applicant must have had an ownership interest in the property as of
December 31 of the assessment year for tax relief in the following year. See RCW 84.36.381(2)
and WAC 458-16A-130(4).

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple, contract purchase, life estate and lease for life. There
is no provision for ownership through a trust, however, a trust may meet the ownership
requirement if it creates a life estate for the applicant. See WAC 458-16A-100(21) for the
definition of “life estate”. For more detail, see the “Ownership and Residency” section of this
manual.

RESIDENCY

RCW 84.36.381 says the "property taxes must have been imposed upon a residence which was
occupied by the person claiming the exemption as a principal place of residence as of the time of
filing." Since the “time of filing” is the date the application was due, this means the applicant
must have occupied the residence as of December 31 of the assessment year, the year before the
taxes are actually due. WAC 458-16A-100(25) says that "principal residence™ means the
claimant owns and occupies the residence as his or her principal or main residence. It does not
include a residence used merely as a vacation home. For purposes of continuing this exemption,
the claimant must occupy the residence for more than six months each year going forward.

WAC 458-16A-135(5) says that a claimant must present documents deemed necessary by the
Assessor to demonstrate that the claimant is eligible for the exemption, including documents
demonstrating that the property is the claimant's principle residence.

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family
home will not disqualify the applicant when the principal residence is:

e temporarily unoccupied;

e occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another person who is financially
dependent on the applicant;

e occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house; or

e rented for the purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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The Department of Social and Health Services maintains a list of licensed facilities (hospitals,
nursing homes, assisted living facilities or boarding homes, and adult family homes) on their
website at http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/.

What is “temporarily unoccupied”?

The Department opinion on this issue is that “Senior citizens always intend to return home
regardless of the length of time they are incarcerated in a hospital, assisted living facility
(boarding home), adult family home or nursing home.”

Notice — there is nothing in law or rule saying that the stay in the facility must be
temporary. The only use of the word “temporary” is in reference to the status of the residence,
i.e. “temporarily unoccupied”.

This means that if the residence is occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another person
who is financially dependent on the applicant; occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for
watching the house; or rented for the purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility, the word
“temporary” is not even a consideration.

In the case where the residence is “temporarily unoccupied”, there is no specific definition in the
law about the upper range of "temporary" or when the line is crossed and “temporarily
unoccupied” becomes “permanent”.

Our staff attorney found that in federal and state court cases it appears that "intent" has been held
to be the real determinant in other states. Does the occupant of the residence "intend" to return to
the exempt residence?

If the residence is unoccupied and there is a clear situation where the senior/disabled participant

specifically expresses the intent to not return to the residence even when/if they are able, then the
property would no longer qualify for the exemption.

THE RESIDENCE

The exemption applies to the primary residence of the applicant and one acre of land surrounding
the residence, or, up to five acres if the excess acreage is required by local land use regulations —
RCW 84.36.383(1) and WAC 458-16A-100(28). To receive an exemption for more than one
acre surrounding the residence, the larger parcel size must be required under local land use
regulations.

The residence may be a single-family dwelling, one unit of a multi-unit dwelling, cooperative
housing, or a mobile home.


http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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If the residence is a share ownership in a cooperative housing association, cooperative housing

corporation, or cooperative housing partnership, the person claiming exemption must establish

that his or her share interest in the cooperative housing represents the specific unit or portion of
the structure in which he or she resides.

Manufactured homes

In order to meet the “residence” definition under this program, a mobile home must have
substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by being fixed in location and placed on a
foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer, water or other utilities.
Whether it is listed as “real” or “personal” property on the assessment roll has no bearing, nor
does the assessed value.

WAC 458-16A-100(28) Residence. "Residence” means a single-family dwelling unit
whether such unit be separate or part of a multiunit dwelling and includes up to one acre
of the parcel of land on which the dwelling stands, and it includes any additional property
up to a total of five acres that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations
require this larger parcel size. The term also includes:

(c) A mobile home which has substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by being
fixed in location upon land owned or rented by the owner of said mobile home and placed
on a foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer, water or other
utilities even though it may be listed and assessed by the county assessor as personal
property. It includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on which a mobile home is
located if both the land and mobile home are owned by the same qualified claimant and it
includes any additional property up to a total of five acres that comprises the residential
parcel if land use regulations require this larger parcel size.

Applying the exemption correctly to manufactured homes may require administrative seg

Prior to title eliminations, in order to correctly apply the exemption, you may need to create an
administrative parcel for "taxing purposes only" and then apply the exemption. You can move
the manufactured home value to the land parcel and flag the personal property account as
“inactive” until the exemption is removed. This will ensure that the taxpayer receives the full
exemption to which he/she is entitled, at the same time preventing a “double” exemption on two
accounts.

Which manufactured homes and trailers meet the definition of “residence”?
The laws and rules say that to meet the definition of “residence” a mobile home must have
substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by being fixed in location and placed on a

foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer, water or other utilities.

This includes “park model” homes, but not “travel trailers”. According to the following
definitions, it seems like the big differences between the “travel trailer” and “park trailer” are the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 32
Section Il « Senior Citizen and Disabled Persons Exemption Program

chassis and utility hookups. A “travel trailer” has a single chassis and is designed to be self-
contained.

RCW 84.36.595 Motor vehicles, travel trailers, campers, and vehicles carrying
exempt licenses.

(1) (b) "Travel trailer" has the meaning given in RCW 46.04.623. However, if a park
trailer, as defined in RCW 46.04.622, has substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by
virtue of its being permanently sited in location and placed on a foundation of either posts
or blocks with connections with sewer, water, or other utilities for the operation of
installed fixtures and appliances, it will be considered real property and will be subject to
ad valorem property taxation imposed in accordance with this title, including the
provisions with respect to omitted property, except that a park trailer located on land not
owned by the owner of the park trailer will be subject to the personal property provisions
of chapter 84.56 RCW and RCW 84.60.040.

RCW 46.04.622 Park trailer.

"Park trailer" or "park model trailer" means a travel trailer designed to be used with
temporary connections to utilities necessary for operation of installed fixtures and
appliances. The trailer's gross area shall not exceed four hundred square feet when in the
setup mode. "Park trailer" excludes a mobile home.

RCW 46.04.623 Travel trailer.

"Travel trailer" means a trailer built on a single chassis transportable upon the public
streets and highways that is designed to be used as a temporary dwelling without a
permanent foundation and may be used without being connected to utilities.

What is a dwelling unit?

Short answer...

A dwelling unit should have space for living, sleeping, and cooking at the very least. That does
not mean there has to be separate rooms and there is no requirement in law for water, sewer, and
electricity. Conceivably, a dwelling unit could be one room with a chair, a bed, and a woodstove
for heat and cooking.

Long answer...

On this one, we really have to go to the definition of a “residence” and this is one of those
situations where “it depends” on the specific circumstances. In the end, this one is really going
to boil down to a judgment call on your part, balancing ensuring that each eligible applicant
receives the property tax relief to which he/she is entitled, while not applying the benefit of the
exemption to land and buildings that should not be included.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.595
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.04.622
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.04.623
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The Department’s long-standing policy in the past, since at least 1980, has been to advise that a
“residence” includes:

“improvements typically found on a residential parcel be included in the
exemption including (but not limited to) detached garages, wood sheds, pump
houses, outhouses, a swimming pool... The key question here is — what is typical
for your area?”

The preceding excerpt is taken from a 1980 memo. Notice the reference to the word
“outhouses”... Granted, the memo is from 1980 but even in 1980 most folks had indoor
plumbing. The logical conclusion based on this memo is that there really is no requirement for a
“residence” to have running water, indoor plumbing, or even electricity.

In the case of the senior/disabled exemption, we fall back on the definitions of “residence”,
“principal residence”, and “family dwelling unit” found in WAC 458-16A-100.

(28) Residence. "Residence" means a single-family dwelling unit whether such unit
be separate or part of a multiunit dwelling and includes up to one acre of the parcel of
land on which the dwelling stands, and it includes any additional property up to a total of
five acres that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations require this larger
parcel size. The term also includes:

(a) A share ownership in a cooperative housing association, corporation, or
partnership if the person claiming exemption can establish that his or her share represents
the specific unit or portion of such structure in which he or she resides.

(b) A single-family dwelling situated upon leased lands and upon lands the fee of
which is vested in the United States, any instrumentality thereof including an Indian tribe,
the state of Washington, or its political subdivisions.

(c) A mobile home which has substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by being
fixed in location upon land owned or rented by the owner of said mobile home and placed
on a foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer, water or other
utilities even though it may be listed and assessed by the county assessor as personal
property. It includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on which a mobile home is
located if both the land and mobile home are owned by the same qualified claimant and it
includes any additional property up to a total of five acres that comprises the residential
parcel if land use regulations require this larger parcel size.

(25) Principal residence. "Principal residence” means the claimant owns and occupies
the residence as his or her principal or main residence. It does not include a residence
used merely as a vacation home. For purposes of this exemption:

(a) Principal or main residence means the claimant occupies the residence for more
than six months each year.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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(17) Family dwelling unit. "Family dwelling unit" means the dwelling unit occupied
by a single person, any number of related persons, or a group not exceeding a total of
eight related and unrelated nontransient persons living as a single noncommercial
housekeeping unit. The term does not include a boarding or rooming house.

So, based on the rules for this program, the “residence” has to be a noncommercial housekeeping
unit occupied by a single family. Now, all we have to do is define “housekeeping unit”!

The following are definitions for “dwelling unit” from the State Fire Protection section of the
RCW and from a Georgia Superior Court case.

RCW 43.44.110(5)(a) "Dwelling unit" means a single unit providing complete,
independent living facilities for one or more persons including permanent provisions for
living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation; (State Fire Protection)

“Dwelling unit” is defined as one or more rooms including kitchen designed as a unit for
occupancy by one family for the purpose of cooking, living and sleeping. Greene County
v. N. Shore Resort, 238 Ga. App. 236, 237 (Ga. Ct. App. 1999) (definitions.uslegal.com)

Based on those definitions, the “housekeeping unit” must include provisions for living, sleeping,
and cooking at the very least. I suppose “sanitation” could be covered by the “outhouse” facility.

Also, in our opinion, under the laws and rules governing the exemption program, there is no
requirement that the dwelling structure be permitted. Although it is certainly preferable for
property owners to obtain legally required permits and live in a home with modern conveniences,
the assessor must value and assess property whether or not that is the case. On the other hand, if
the building department were to use condemnation power to declare the structure uninhabitable
as a dwelling unit, that would be a different situation.

The assessor has the authority to administer this program in a fair and uniform manner that is

consistent with the laws and rules. This is one of those situations that is in a “gray area” and will
require a judgment call based on a particular set of circumstances for an “outlier”.

INCOME REQUIREMENTS

Determining eligibility and level of exemption requires the calculation of combined disposable
income. For income years 2014 and prior (affecting taxes levied for collection in 2015 and
prior), combined disposable income must not exceed $35,000. For income years 2015 and
forward (affecting taxes levied for collection in 2016 and forward), combined disposable income
must not exceed $40,000 — RCW 84.36.381(5).

When the applicant’s financial circumstances change and income is reduced for two or more
months during the assessment/income year, the assessor must calculate combined disposable
income by multiplying the average monthly combined disposable income during the months after
the change in circumstances by twelve. RCW 84.36.381(4)



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.44.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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For more details on the disposable income and combined disposable income calculations, see the
Combined Disposable Income Section in this manual.

Combined disposable income includes the income of the applicant, his/her spouse or domestic
partner, and any co-tenants, less any allowable deductions.

A co-tenant is a person who has an ownership interest in the residence and resides in the
residence. The definition of cotenant, as used in this program, is found in RCW 84.36.383(6)
and WAC 458-16A-100(7).

Joint or co-owners: In general, a person who is not a spouse or domestic partner and has an
ownership interest in the residence but does not live in the residence need not report his/her
income for purposes of this program. The applicant will receive the exemption based only on
his/her income but it will apply only to his/her percentage of ownership interest in the property.

Why do we include income for other household residents who have no ownership interest?

When a person with no ownership interest is living in the residence with the applicant as part of a
family unit, the exemption is allowed on the entire residence. Include the applicant's income and
include only the portion of the other person's income that is contributed to the running of the
household (rent, utilities, groceries, etc.).

When a person with no ownership interest is living in the residence with the applicant and is
renting a room, that portion of the residence that is exclusively used by the “tenant” cannot be
included in the exemption because that portion of the home is used for commercial purposes and
not as a personal residence by the applicant. The definition of “residence” only includes a single
noncommercial housekeeping unit and specifically excludes property used as a boarding or

rooming house.

Our definition of “disposable income” begins with “adjusted gross income” as determined under
IRS rules.

Under IRS rules, income includes expenses paid by a tenant and/or property or services received
as rent instead of money. Even when the taxpayer does not report that income to IRS for income
tax purposes, we include it in our calculation for disposable income.

The following excerpts are from IRS Publication 17, pages 68 and 70. You can find this
publication at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p17.pdf.

Property or services. |l you receive property
or services, instead ol money, as rent, include

Expenses paid by tenant. If your tenant pays
any of your expenses, the payments are rental
income. Because you must include this amount
in income, you can deduct the expenses if they
are deductible rental expenses. See Hental £x-
penses, later, for more information.

the fair market value of the property or services
in your rental income.

It the services are provided at an agreed
upon or specified price, that price is the fair
market value unless there Is evidence to the
contrary.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p17.pdf
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Renting Part of
Property

I you rent part of your property, you must divide
cerain expenses between the part of the prop-
erty used for rental purposes and the part of the
property used for personal purposes, as though
gmlyhodmsepamc picces of prop-

You can deduct the expenses related to the
part of the property used for rental purposes,
MBWWMMM
gage insurance premiums, and real estate
taxes, as rental expenses on Schedule E (Form
1040). You can also deduct as rental expenses
a porton of other expenses that normally are
nondeductbic personal expenses, such as ex-
penses for clectricity or painting the outside of
your house.

There is no change in the types of expenses
deductbie for the personal-use part of your
property. Generally, these expenses may be
deducted only # you temize your deductions on
Schedule A (Form 1040).

You cannot deduct any pan of the cost of
the first phone inc even if your tenants have un-
imited usc of it.

You do not have to divide the expenses that
beiong only to the rental pant of your property.
For exampie, f you paint a room that you rent,
or if you pay premiums for hability insurance in
conncction with renting a room in your home,
your entire cost is a rental expense. If you install
a second phone linc stictly for your tenants’
use, all of the cost of the second ine is deduct-
ble as a rental expense. You can deduct depre-
ciavon, discussed later, on the part of the house
used for rental purposes as well as on the furni-
ture and cquipment you use for rental purposes.

How to divide expenses. If an cxpense is for
both rental use and personal use, such as mon-
gage interest or heat for the entire house, you
must divide the expense between the rental use
and the personal use. You can use any reason-
able method for dividing the expense. It may be
reasonable 1o divide the cost of some items (for
cxample, water) based on the number of peopie
using them. The two most common methods for
dividing an expense are based on (1) the num-
ber of rooms in your home, and (2) the square
footage of your home.

Not Rented for Profit

If you do not rent your property to make a profit,
you can deduct your rental expenses only up to
the amount of your rental income. You cannot

deduct a loss or carry forward to the next year
any rental expenses that are more than your
rental income for the year. For more information
about the rules for an activity not engaged in for
profit, see Not-for-Profit Activities in chapter 1 of
Publication 535.

Where to report. Report your not-for-profit
rental income on Form 1040, line 21. For exam-
ple, you can include your morngage interest and
any qualified mortgage insurance premiums (if
you use the property as your main home or sec-
ond home), real estate taxes, and casualty los-
ses on the appropriate lines of Schedule A
(Form 1040) if you itemize your deductions.

If you itemize your deductions, claim your
other rental expenses, subject to the rules ex-
plained in chapter 1 of Publication 535, as mis-
cellaneous itemized deductions on Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 23. You can deduct these ex-
penses only if they, together with certain other
miscellaneous itemized deductions, total more
than 2% of your adjusted gross income.
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DETERMINE THE PERCENTAGE OF EXEMPTION

The following guidelines will help you decide the correct percentage of exemption:

e Marital Community or Domestic Partnership: Allow the full exemption and include the
income of both spouses/domestic partners. You may be able to exclude the income of a
spouse/domestic partner who is not living in the residence when:

>

>
>

the couple is legally separated or divorced or the domestic partnership has been legally
dissolved, or

one spouse/domestic partner is “absent” as defined under WAC 458-16A-120(2)(a), or

the couple is living “separate and apart”.

e Co-tenants: If both parties live in the house and both have an ownership interest, then the
exemption is granted on the entire parcel. Be sure to include 100 percent of everyone’s
disposable income.

e Co-tenants with two residences:

Example: A mother and daughter have equal ownership interests (50-50) in a 2 acre
parcel with two residences. The mother occupies one residence on half of the property
and the daughter lives in the other residence on the other half of the property. Both
mother and daughter meet all of the eligibility requirements for the exemption. The
mother receives a full exemption on her dwelling unit and 1 acre of the land and the
daughter receives a full exemption on her dwelling unit and 1 acre of the land. For the
mother’s exemption include her income only and for the daughter’s exemption include
only her income. Basically, this is treated similar to a “share ownership in cooperative
housing”. Each owner has a “share interest” that represents her primary dwelling unit.

e Joint tenants: If more than one person has an ownership interest but only the applicant lives
in the residence, the exemption is allowed on just the residing person's percentage of
ownership. Include only the residing person's disposable income. Do not include the non-
residing person's income.

Example: Two sisters have equal ownership interests (50-50) in the family home
inherited from their parents. Sister A occupies the family home as her primary residence
while Sister B lives elsewhere. Sister A meets all of the eligibility requirements for the
exemption program. Sister A receives a full exemption on 50% of the value of the home.

e Joint tenants with right of survivorship: JTWROS is treated like a marital community. The
applicant receives the full exemption but do not include the income of the other owners
unless they are living in the residence.

Example 1: Two brothers hold ownership as Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship.
Brother A occupies the home as his primary residence while Brother B lives elsewhere.
Brother A meets all of the eligibility requirements for the exemption program. Brother A
receives a full exemption on 100% of the value of the home and only his income is
included when determining combined disposable income.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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Example 2: Two brothers hold ownership as Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship.
Both brothers live in the residence. Brother A meets all of the eligibility requirements for
the exemption program. Brother A receives a full exemption on 100% of the value of the
home and the income for both brothers is included when determining combined
disposable income.

FILING THE APPLICATION

The application is due December 31 of the assessment year and, if approved, will affect the taxes
due in the following tax year (i.e. application due 12/31/15 affects taxes due in 2016). RCW
84.36.385(1) and (3) and WAC 458-16A-135(2).

The application is made in the assessment year based on the anticipated income that will be
received that year. The assessor may require confirming documentation of actual income prior
to May 31 of the year following application. The exemption is effective in the year following the
year of application.

Example: In 2015, the applicant files an application estimating his/her 2015 income.
The applicant qualifies for the exemption and receives the reduction on taxes payable in
2016. The assessor may require income documentation prior to May 31, 2016.

The assessor also has the authority to accept late applications “for good cause”. Many assessors,

for taxpayer convenience and to streamline business practices, regularly accept late applications
and request that taxpayers wait until income documentation is available to submit applications.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

Assessors are directed to publicize the qualifications and application process through local media
and through information included on or with property tax statements and revaluation notices
(RCW 84.36.385(6)).

The assessor reviews applications and supporting documents and has the authority to grant or
deny claims for exemption. The Department of Revenue cannot tell you whether to grant or
deny an exemption. Each county assessor has that authority.

Upon approval, the assessor freezes the assessed value, determines the level of exemption for the
applicant, and notifies the applicant of approval.

RCW 84.36.385(5) directs the assessor to deny an exemption if the applicant does not meet the
qualifications as set forth in RCW 84.36.381. The assessor must give the applicant written and
dated notification of any denial. The notification should include the reason the exemption was
denied and should explain the applicant’s right to appeal.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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At least once every six years, the assessor must notify participants of the obligation to file a
renewal. If an applicant received an exemption in prior years based on erroneous information,
taxes must be collected, subject to penalties as provided in RCW 84.40.130, for a period not to
exceed five years. RCW 84.36.385.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RESPONSIBILITIES

DOR provides forms and acts in an advisory role.

If the assessor chooses to adapt a form specific to his/her county, the forms must be submitted to
DOR for approval prior to use as provided in WAC 458-16A-135(5).

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must provide documentation requested by the assessor. See WAC 458-16A-
135(5)(e)(vii).

An applicant must notify the assessor when there is a change in status that may affect his or her
exemption and must file a renewal at least once every six years as requested by the assessor. See
RCW 84.36.385(1) and (2) and WAC 458-16A-150.

According to RCW 84.36.385(5) and WAC 458-16A-150, when there is a change in status
affecting the exemption and the taxpayer fails to notify the assessor, the application information
formerly relied upon becomes erroneous for the period(s) following the change. When the
assessor discovers a change in status that was not reported, property taxes must be re-calculated
to reflect the newly discovered status for a period not to exceed five years.

FRAUDULENT FILINGS

RCW 84.36.385(5) says, “If the assessor finds that the applicant does not meet the qualifications
as set forth in RCW 84.36.381, as now or hereafter amended, the claim or exemption shall be
denied but such denial shall be subject to appeal under the provisions of RCW 84.48.010(5) and
in accordance with the provisions of RCW 84.40.038. If the applicant had received exemption in
prior years based on erroneous information, the taxes shall be collected subject to penalties as
provided in RCW 84.40.130 for a period of not to exceed five years.

RCW 84.40.130(2) provides that, “If any person or corporation shall willfully give a false or
fraudulent list, schedule or statement required by this chapter, or shall, with intent to
defraud, fail or refuse to deliver any list, schedule or statement required by this chapter,
such person or corporation shall be liable for the additional tax properly due or, in the case
of willful failure or refusal to deliver such list, schedule or statement, the total tax properly
due; and in addition such person or corporation shall be liable for a penalty of one
hundred percent of such additional tax or total tax as the case may be. Such penalty shall be
in lieu of the penalty provided for in subsection (1) of this section. A person or corporation
giving a false list, schedule or statement shall not be subject to this penalty if it is shown that the
misrepresentations contained therein are entirely attributable to reasonable cause. The taxes and



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.48.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.038
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
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penalties provided for in this subsection shall be recovered in an action in the name of the state
of Washington on the complaint of the county assessor or the county legislative authority and
shall, when collected, be paid into the county treasury to the credit of the current expense fund.
The provisions of this subsection shall be additional and supplementary to any other provisions
of law relating to recovery of property taxes.”

RCW 84.36.385(3) requires each person who receives the exemption to inform the assessor of
any change in status that may affect the exemption.

RCW 84.36.387(4) says that “any person signing a false claim with the intent to defraud or evade
the payment of any tax is guilty of perjury under chapter 9A.72 RCW.”

WAC 458-16A-150(3)(e) says, “If the claimant fails to submit the change in status form, the
application information relied upon becomes erroneous for the period following the change in
status. Upon discovery of the erroneous information, the assessor determines the status of the
exemption and notifies the county treasurer to collect any unpaid property taxes and interest from
the claimant, the claimant's estate, or, if the property has been transferred, from the subsequent
property owner. The treasurer may collect any unpaid property taxes, interest, and penalties for a
period not to exceed five years as provided for under RCW 84.40.380. In addition, if a person
willfully fails to submit the form or provides erroneous information, that person is liable
for an additional penalty equal to one hundred percent of the unpaid taxes. RCW
84.36.385. If the change in status results in a refund of property taxes, the treasurer may refund
property taxes and interest for up to the most recent three years after the taxes were due as
provided in chapter 84.69 RCW.”

RCW 84.40.380 Loss of exempt status — When taxes due and payable — Dates of
delinquency — Interest.

All taxes made payable pursuant to the provisions of RCW 84.40.350 through 84.40.390
shall be due and payable to the county treasurer on or before the thirtieth day of April in
the event the date of execution of the instrument of transfer occurs prior to that date
unless the time of payment is extended under the provisions of RCW 84.56.020. Such
taxes shall be due and payable on or before the thirty-first day of October in the event the
date the property lost its exempt status is subsequent to the thirtieth day of April but prior
to the thirty-first day of October. In all other cases such taxes shall be due and payable
within thirty days after the date the property lost its exempt status. In no case, however,
shall the taxes be due and payable less than thirty days from the date the property lost its
exempt status. All taxes due and payable after the dates herein shall become delinquent,
and interest at the rate specified in RCW 84.56.020 for delinquent property taxes shall be
charged upon such unpaid taxes from the date of delinquency until paid.

Before you proceed any further, you should answer the following question.

e Can you show (meaning prove through documentation) that this applicant signed a
false claim with the “intent” to defraud or evade paying property tax?


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.387
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.72
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.56.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.56.020
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If the answer is “yes”, then you and your treasurer have the authority under the statutes and rules
to collect any property taxes due for a period not to exceed five years, and, in addition, the
applicant is liable for the additional 100 percent penalty.

You should contact your county’s prosecuting attorney to determine whether or not the evidence
and documentation you have is sufficient to prove “intent to defraud and evade”. If the answer
IS yes, your attorney will advise you on how to proceed and how, or whether or not, to proceed
with a perjury charge.

100 percent penalty

This is fairly new territory in regards to the Property Tax Exemption Program. Our legal staff
has advised that you should pursue the additional 100 percent penalty through a court action, in
the same manner you would for a false or fraudulent personal property listing.

RCW 84.36.385 provides for removal of the exemption when the assessor discovers the
participant no longer meets the program requirements and WAC 458-16A-150 explains more
about how and when to implement the removal. According to WAC 458-16A-150(3)(e), the
treasurer may collect any unpaid property taxes, interest, and penalties for a period not to exceed
five years as provided for under RCW 84.40.380. However, according to the WAC rule, the 100
percent penalty is applied “in addition” when a person provides erroneous information or
willfully fails to submit a change in status form. RCW 84.36.385 refers to RCW 84.40.130 for
the penalty assessment.

RCW 84.40.130(2) provides that, “If any person or corporation shall willfully give a false or
fraudulent list, schedule or statement required by this chapter, or shall, with intent to defraud, fail
or refuse to deliver any list, schedule or statement required by this chapter, such person or
corporation shall be liable for the additional tax properly due or, in the case of willful failure or
refusal to deliver such list, schedule or statement, the total tax properly due; and in addition such
person or corporation shall be liable for a penalty of one hundred percent of such additional tax
or total tax as the case may be. Such penalty shall be in lieu of the penalty provided for in
subsection (1) of this section. A person or corporation giving a false list, schedule or statement
shall not be subject to this penalty if it is shown that the misrepresentations contained therein are
entirely attributable to reasonable cause. The taxes and penalties provided for in this subsection
shall be recovered in an action in the name of the state of Washington on the complaint of the
county assessor or the county legislative authority and shall, when collected, be paid into the
county treasury to the credit of the current expense fund. The provisions of this subsection shall
be additional and supplementary to any other provisions of law relating to recovery of property
taxes.”

The following WAC rule explains how to pursue imposition of the 100 percent penalty
referenced in RCW 84.40.130(2).

WAC 458-12-110(4) Penalty for willfully providing a false or fraudulent listing of
taxable personal property. If a person willfully provides the assessor with a false or



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-12-110
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fraudulent listing of taxable personal property, or, with the intent to defraud, fails or
refuses to provide a listing of taxable personal property as required by chapter 84.40
RCW, the person is subject to a penalty of one hundred percent of the tax properly due. A
false or fraudulent listing may arise because it does not include all of the taxable personal
property in the ownership, possession, or control of the person making the listing, or
because it contains false information relating to the proper value of the personal property
listed. A person is not liable for the penalty provided in this subsection (4) if the failure to
list or the false listing was the result of negligence, inadvertence, accident, or simple
oversight rather than willfulness or an intent to defraud. Likewise, a person making a
false listing will not be subject to the penalty provided in this subsection (4) if it is shown
that the misrepresentations made by the person are entirely attributable to reasonable
cause. The penalty imposed under this subsection (4) is in lieu of the penalty imposed
under subsection (3) of this rule.

(a) How is the penalty imposed? The assessor does not impose the penalty provided in
this subsection (4). Rather, the penalty provided for in this subsection along with any tax
properly due are to be recovered in a lawsuit brought in the name of the state of
Washington on the complaint of the county assessor or the county legislative authority.
The provisions of this subsection (4) are in addition to any other provisions of law
relating to the recovery of property taxes.

(b) How is the penalty distributed? When collected, the penalty imposed under this
subsection (4) and the tax to which it was added must be paid into the county treasury to
the credit of the current expense fund.

PRIOR YEAR APPLICATIONS

Applicants may apply for an exemption for previous years and receive a property tax refund for
taxes paid. The application for a refund must be submitted within three years of the date the
taxes were due. (Prior to passage of E2SHB 1208 in 2009 (effective date July 26, 2009) the
refund had to be submitted within three years of the date the taxes were paid.)

The only limitation on applying for prior years is the 3-year limitation on refunds. There is
no statute of limitations for relief from unpaid property taxes for previous years. If there
are 10 years of delinquent taxes, the taxpayer can apply for exemption for all ten years and
receive adjustments on the taxes due for those years.

An applicant may also apply for prior years for the purpose of establishing the frozen value
“of the residence on the later of January 1, 1995, or January 1st of the assessment year the
person first qualifies under this section.” See RCW 84.36.381(6) and WAC 458-16A-135(2).

Usually, the foreclosure proceedings prompt the application once the taxpayer becomes aware of
the exemption program. Because the tax has not yet been paid, the assessor can adjust the
assessment and notify the treasurer of the change. The treasurer then adjusts the tax amount and
notifies the taxpayer of any taxes still owing on the account. If the taxes are left unpaid, the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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treasurer has no choice but to pursue foreclosure unless the applicant is eligible to apply for the
Deferral Program.

When applying for prior years, the applicant must file an application for each year that an
exemption is requested. Just as if the application had been filed timely, the applicant must meet
all of the qualifications in place for that time period.

Even though an applicant may be ineligible to receive a refund, it may be beneficial to apply for
a prior year in order to establish the lowest possible frozen value. See WAC 458-16A-135(2).

HB 2446 was passed in 2014 and became effective June 12, 2014. This legislation is intended to
simplify the refund process for taxpayers, assessors, and treasurers. Under the new legislation,
the property owner is no longer required to “file a claim for a refund” under the following
circumstances.

e the refund is the result of a Board of Equalization, State Board of Tax Appeals, or Court
decision, or

e the refund is a result of decisions made by the county treasurer or assessor within 3 years
of the tax due date, or

e the refund is a result of an approval by the assessor or DOR for property tax exemption
under RCW 84.36.

APPEALS

An applicant may appeal an exemption denial to the county Board of Equalization (WAC 458-
16A-140(6)) before July 1* of the year of determination, or within 30 days of the date the
determination, or within a time limit of up to 60 days adopted by the county legislative authority,
whichever is later. The taxpayer should use Form 64 0090 to submit the appeal.

Either party may appeal the Board of Equalization decision at the State Board of Tax Appeals
(WAC 458-14-056).

An applicant may also appeal if he/she disagrees with the level of exemption as determined by
the assessor. In effect, when the assessor approves the application for exemption at a specific
level based on the applicant’s income, the assessor has denied the exemption at the other levels.

The same holds true when the applicant disagrees with the assessor’s determination regarding
exclusion of a portion of the property. For example, the assessor determines that a portion of the
residence is used commercially or determines that certain outbuildings that are not considered to
be part of the residence should be excluded from the exemption.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/TxpyrPetnCoBOERevwSnrCitzDsbldPrsnExemp.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-14-056
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FROZEN VALUE

Value is frozen as of January 1, 1995, or January 1 of the assessment year the person first
qualifies, whichever is later, RCW 84.36.381(6).

Effective date — For qualified applicants who were already receiving the exemption at the time
this legislation passed in 1995, values were frozen as of January 1, 1995. All other applicants
will have their values frozen January 1 of the assessment year they first enter the program.

The things to remember about the frozen value are:

e The value is frozen based on the January 1 assessed value in the
assessment/income/application year the taxpayer first qualifies for the exemption.

e The frozen value is not adjusted unless property is removed from the exemption or added
to the exemption. For example:

o A portion of the property is sold or used for business or there is a change in
zoning changing the amount of land that can be included.

o The residence is an older single-wide mobile home and is replaced with a new
double-wide.

o Zoning changes to allow inclusion of additional acreage.

o “New construction” type improvements are made to the property.

o Property is destroyed.

o “Destroyed property” is replaced and/or reconstructed — see Destroyed Property.

o |If the market assessed value of the residence and/or land falls below the frozen value, the
exemption is applied to the lower of the two values so that the taxpayer always receives
the greater benefit.

o If the taxpayer is ineligible for one year due to high income, the original frozen value is
reinstated when the taxpayer re-qualifies in the following year. If the taxpayer is
ineligible for more than one year due to high income, the frozen value must be re-
established.

e |f the taxpayer is ineligible for one year or more for any reason or than high income, the
frozen value must be re-established.

RCW 84.36.381(6)(a) For a person who otherwise qualifies under this section and has a
combined disposable income of thirty-five thousand dollars or less, the valuation of the
residence is the assessed value of the residence on the later of January 1, 1995, or January
1st of the assessment year the person first qualifies under this section. If the person
subsequently fails to qualify under this section only for one year because of high income,
this same valuation must be used upon requalification. If the person fails to qualify for
more than one year in succession because of high income or fails to qualify for any other
reason, the valuation upon requalification is the assessed value on January 1st of the



http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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assessment year in which the person re-qualifies. If the person transfers the exemption
under this section to a different residence, the valuation of the different residence is the
assessed value of the different residence on January 1st of the assessment year in which
the person transfers the exemption.

(b) In no event may the valuation under this subsection be greater than the true and
fair value of the residence on January 1st of the assessment year.

(c) This subsection does not apply to subsequent improvements to the property in the
year in which the improvements are made. Subsequent improvements to the property
must be added to the value otherwise determined under this subsection at their true and
fair value in the year in which they are made.

Valuation notices for program participants should be sent out as usual and should include both
the market value and the frozen value (this may actually reflect the value that was established in
an earlier year).

If an applicant exceeds the maximum income level for one year, he or she will be removed from
the exemption program for that year and the property taxes will be calculated on the market
value. If the applicant re-qualifies for the exemption program again in the year immediately
following, the previously used frozen value can be reinstated and the property taxes will again be
calculated on that prior frozen value.

If an applicant is ineligible due to any reason other than high income, or if the applicant is
ineligible for two or more years in a row due to high income, there is no option for reinstating the
prior frozen value once the applicant re-qualifies. The applicant can re-apply for the program as
soon as he/she is eligible but frozen value must be re-established.

Transferring the exemption — the value of the replacement residence is frozen as of January 1 of
the year in which the transfer takes place. WAC 458-16A-150(5)

New construction is added at its full value to the existing frozen value and a new frozen value is
established.

If, during the revaluation cycle, the value of the property drops below the frozen value, the
applicant will only pay taxes on the lower of the market value or the frozen value. The frozen
value is set aside until such time as the market value once again exceeds the frozen value. At
that time, the frozen value would again be used to compute the taxes.

SB 6338 — Property exceeding one acre

This legislation was passed in 2006 so 2007 is the first year acreage in excess of one acre became
eligible for exemption. At that time, if an applicant had an existing exemption on 1 acre and had
additional acreage that became eligible under the new legislation, the new frozen value
consisted of the already existing frozen value of the residence and 1 acre — plus the January 1,


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
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2006, value of the additional acreage now included in the exemption. The new frozen value
carried forward to future years.

NOTE: This also applies to future changes in local land use/zoning.

Example 1:

Joe Smith owns five acres. He has had an exemption since 2007. Until March 2015, the local
land use regulations only required one acre per residence so his exemption only covers his
residence and one acre. In March 2015, the local planning commission changed the zoning
where he lives due to water restrictions. Now, local land use regulations require five acres per
residence. Beginning with the 2016 tax year, he can receive relief under the exemption program
for his residence and the entire five acres. The new frozen value is the original frozen value for
the home and one acre, plus, the January 1, 2015, market value of the additional four acres.

Example 2:

John Jones owns five acres. He has had an exemption since 2007. Until March 2015, the local
land use regulations required five acres per residence so his exemption covered his residence and
all five acres. In March 2015, the local planning commission changed the zoning where he lives
to encourage development. Now, local land use regulations require one acre per residence.
Beginning with the 2016 tax year, he can receive relief under the exemption program for his
residence and one acre. The additional four acres must be removed from the exemption program
and the frozen value must be recalculated to exclude the January 1, 2006, value of the excluded
four acres.

Current Use Property

A senior citizen can qualify for a property tax exemption, based on their income, while
continuing to use their property in a manner consistent with statutory provisions for classification
in a current use program or as designated forest land (DFL). The use of the parcel determines
whether it qualifies, or continues to qualify, under current use or DFL.

For property in a Current Use Program, the current use value is used to set the frozen value. The
current use value is, technically, the “value in use” and “the taxable value”. As such, this is the
value that should be used to set the frozen value for property that is in a Current Use Program at
the time the taxpayer becomes eligible for the Exemption Program.

Example: A taxpayer had property in a Current Use Program beginning in 2000. In
2001, the taxpayer became eligible for the Exemption Program. The frozen value will be
the current use value of the residence and the one-acre homesite as of January 1, 2001.

The property is located in an area that requires five acres per residence according to local
land use and zoning requirements. With passage of SB 6338, the new frozen value for
2007 taxes is the already existing frozen value plus the January 1, 2006, current use value
of an additional four acres. This newly established frozen value will carry forward to
future years.
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The taxpayer is taxed on the lower of the frozen value, the current use value, or the market value.

If the taxpayer decides they no longer want to participate in the current use program, the frozen
value must be reset to reflect the value that would have been frozen if the taxpayer had not
participated in the current use program.

Example: The taxpayer in our previous example decides to withdraw from the current
use program. The frozen value becomes the market assessed value of the residence and
one acre as of January 1 of the first exemption application year plus the market assessed
value of the additional four acres allowable under SB 6338. The newly established
frozen value is the market assessed value for the residence and one acre as of January 1,
2001 plus the market assessed value as of January 1, 2006, for the additional 4 acres.

In addition, the taxpayer may have rollback taxes. Rollback taxes should be calculated
on the difference between what the taxpayer actually paid and what the taxpayer would
have paid if he/she had not participated in the current use program.

For 2000, prior to being in the Exemption Program, the taxpayer would pay rollback
taxes on the difference between the current use value and the market assessed value.

For 2001 and forward, the taxpayer would pay taxes on the difference between the value
actually taxed (the lower of the frozen, current use, or market value) and the new value
(the lower of the frozen or market value), with the exemption applied to the new taxable
value.

Destroyed Property

Under the destroyed property statute, the assessed value for destroyed property is the value
remaining after destruction, unless new construction takes place. For properties in the senior
citizen exemption program, the frozen value is compared with the true and fair value after
destruction. The property owner pays tax on the lower of those two values. In essence, the
senior citizen/disabled person pays tax on the lowest value authorized by law, the lower of
the frozen value or the true and fair value after destruction.

Note: The form you have for calculating rebates for “destroyed property” will not
calculate correctly when there is an exemption in place. The problem came to our attention
when Kittitas County had a situation with property destroyed in the month of January. The
Department added a note to that form to alert you to not use the form if you are calculating a
destroyed property rebate/refund calculation for a parcel that is in either the exemption program
or the current use program.

Once the home is repaired or replaced, a new frozen value is established. The land value would
remain frozen at the previous frozen value. The value of new construction is added to the senior
citizen/disabled person’s frozen value to the extent that the new construction increased the true
and fair value of the property prior to destruction. If the property owner replaced the destroyed
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property and the true and fair value of the property is no more than the true and fair value prior to
destruction, the frozen value would not be affected. Only the value of repairs or replacements
that exceeds the original true and fair value would be added to the frozen value.

Once that is determined, the assessor must also determine if the home is the principle residence
of the taxpayer in order to continue the exemption on the property. If the taxpayer has
temporarily relocated due to the destruction and will move back into the home before the end of
the year, you can safely say the home remains the principal residence of the applicant.

If you determine the property will not be the principal residence of the applicant, the exemption
must be removed.

Adjusting Frozen Value After Reconstruction
The new frozen value depends on whether the value of the reconstructed residence exceeds the
value of the residence prior to destruction.

e |f the true and fair value of the property after reconstruction is less than or equal to the
true and fair value prior to destruction, then the frozen value will not change.

e |f the true and fair value after reconstruction exceeds the former true and fair value, the
difference (increase) in value should be added to the frozen value.

You will need to compare the “market assessed value” prior to destruction to the “market
assessed value” after reconstruction, then adjust the frozen value to the extent that the new value
exceeds the true and fair value prior to destruction. This applies to a house or a manufactured
home, regardless of whether the replacement has the same footprint.

Calculating the Rebate/Refund and Establishing a New Frozen Value

Following is an example of how to calculate the rebate/refund and how to establish a new frozen
value after the property is repaired.

e Destruction date = January 7

e The taxable value for regular levies only is $32,450, with a regular levy rate of
$5.5155624, for a total of $178.98.

e $178.98 equals a tax per day of $.49 ($178.98/365).

e Therefore, the property tax for the portion of the year prior to destruction is $2.94 (6 x
$0.49).

e The assessed value after the destruction is less than the $50,000 reduction for the mid-
level exemption, thus, the taxpayer is not liable for any property taxes for the remaining
359 days of the year.
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Since the original property tax was $178.98 and the new total is $2.94, the taxpayer should

receive a rebate of $176.04.

Based on Frozen

Based on Frozen

Value Prior to Value After
Destruction Destruction

Land 27,300 27,300
Imps 55,150 10,680
Total Value 82,450 37,980
Exemption Applied — Greater of
35% or $50,000 50,000 50,000
Taxable Value 32,450 -0-
Regular Levy Rate 5.5155624 5.5155624
Regular Tax (32,450 x
.0055155624) $178.98
Regular Tax Before Destruction of
Property (32,450 x .0055155624 / $2.94
365 days in the year x 6 taxable '
days prior to destruction)
Regular Tax After Destruction of
Property (-0- x .0055155624 / 365 $0.00
days in the year x 359 days after '
destruction)
Total Regular Tax for Year with $2.94
Destroyed Property '
Abatement or refund amount $176.04

($178.98 - $2.94)
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Land Value Improvement Value Total Value

Market Value Before Destruction S100.000 250,000 350,000
Frozen Value Before Destruction 570,000 200,000 $5270.000
Market Value Destroved $250.000 $250.000
Market Value After Destruction S100.000 30 S100.000
Frozen Value After Destruction 570,000 S0 570,000

Example 1: Replacement with true and fair value of S200.000

Market Value After Replacement S100.000 5200000 300,000

Frozen Value After Replacement 570,000 SZUOzOOUF §270.000 |Replacement value does not
excead prior market value - prior

frozen value is reinstated.

Example 2: Replacement with true and fair value of S250.000

Market Value After Replacement S100.000 5250000 5350000

Frozen Value After Replacement $70,000 $200.000  $270.000 |Replacement value does not
exceed prior market value - prior

frozen value is reinstated.

Example 3: Replacement with true and fair value of S275.000

Market Value After Replacement S100.000 5275000 5375.000

Frozen Value After Replacement $70,000 $225.000  $295.000 |= Orignal Frozen +
(Replacement True&Fair -

Original Market TruegFair)

REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES

Regular property taxes can be reduced under the exemption program and may be deferred under
the deferral program.

Regular property taxes are those resulting from levies authorized by the Legislature (see RCW
84.04.140) and in most cases do not require voter approval. Regular levies are subject to the
$5.90 aggregate limit (see RCW 84.52.043 and .050), and the 1 percent constitutional limit (see
Article VII, Section 2 of the Washington Constitution), plus levies imposed for state school levy,
ports, public utility districts, EMS levies, affordable housing, conservation futures levies, county
ferry districts, criminal justice, and transit levies.

1. The 1 percent Constitutional limit applies directly to taxes paid by individual
property owners and, in most case, may be exceeded if approved by 60 percent of
the voters voting on the proposition. It is based on “true and fair value”.

2. The Levy Limit calculation limits the total tax revenue collected by a taxing
district and not to an individual taxpayer’s bill. It does not apply to excess levies.

3. The $5.90 limit is imposed by state law and applies to most regular levies.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.04.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.04.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.043
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.050
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EXCESS LEVY (SPECIAL LEVY) (see RCW 84.52.052, .053, & .056)

Qualified exemption program participants are exempt from all excess levies.

Excess levies are taxes in excess of the Constitutional 1% limit and they are approved by voters
at special or general elections. These are voted-approved levies in specific amounts for a
specific duration of time. Not all voter-approved levies are excess levies.

Three examples of excess levies are:

1. Operations Levies — such as school M & O levies;
2. Levies for Capital improvements (such as construction and/or
modernization/remodeling) and Transportation; and
3. Bond levies.
TYPES OF ASSESSMENTS

Local Improvement Assessments

e Charges made by districts formed to provide specific public improvements that will benefit
only that property within their boundaries.

e Cannot be exempted

e Can be deferred

e RCW 84.34.310(4)

“Local improvement district” means “any local improvement district, utility local improvement
district, local utility district, road improvement district, or any similar unit created by a local
government for the purpose of levying special benefit assessments against property specially
benefited by improvements relating to such districts.”

A local improvement district (LID) is a district that charges a fee or assessment for public
improvements (sidewalks, curbs, sewer, lighting, etc) that is not based on the value of the
property. The charge is levied against a parcel of real estate to defray the cost of a public
improvement that presumably will benefit only the properties it serves.

These are districts set up for specific improvements such as sewer improvements, water systems,
roads, lighting, sidewalks, etc. Financing of the project is usually through Local Improvement
District Bonds. A one-time charge is levied against the property, generally with the option for
installment payments, for a specific length of time, with an annual due date, a specified penalty
interest rate, delinquent interest rate, and bond interest rate.

The property tax exemption program does not apply to LID’s. However, these assessments may
be deferred.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.052
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.52.053
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.056
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.34.310
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Other Benefit Assessments

e Charges made by districts formed to provide a specific service or benefit to properties within
their boundaries.
> RCW 84.34.310(7)
» Charges are based on benefit to the property, rather than the value of the property.
» May be billed on the property tax statement.

e Only Fire Protection Benefit Assessments/Charges can be exempted.
> WAC 458-16A-140(2)

e Can be deferred

"Special benefit assessments" are special assessments levied in any local improvement district or
by a local government to pay for all or part of the costs of a local improvement and which may
be levied only for the special benefits to be realized by property by reason of that local
improvement.

Benefit Assessment Districts are formed to provide a specific service or benefit to property
contained within its boundaries. The charges made by Benefit Assessment Districts are based on
benefit rather than value and generally cover things like fire protection, diking, drainage,
flooding, and weed control. A charge is levied annually to the property owner.

The property tax exemption program does not apply to special benefit assessments except for
Fire District Benefit Assessments. However, these assessments may be deferred.

Fire Protection Benefit Charges — See WAC 458-16A-140(2)

This exemption does not reduce or exempt an owner's payments for special assessments against
the property. The only exceptions related to this program are for benefit charges made by a fire
protection district, a regional fire protection service authority, or by a city or town for
enhancement of fire protection services. Fire protection benefit charges are reduced twenty-five,
fifty, or seventy-five percent depending upon the combined disposable income of the claimant.
RCW 52.18.090, 52.26.270, and 35.13.256.

For 2015 and prior year assessments:
-0- - $25,000 — exempt from 75% of the charge
$25,001 - $30,000 — exempt from 50% of the charge
$30,001 - $35,000 — exempt from 25% of the charge

For assessments levied for collection in 2016 and forward:
-0- - $30,000 — exempt from 75% of the charge
$30,001 - $35,000 — exempt from 50% of the charge
$35,001 - $40, 000 — exempt from 25% of the charge



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.34.310
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.18.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.26.270
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=35.13.256
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LEASEHOLD EXCISE TAX CREDIT

RCW 82.29A.120 provides for a credit for lessees and sublessees who would qualify for a
property tax exemption under RCW 84.36.381 if the property were privately owned. For the
qualified taxpayer, the leasehold excise tax is reduced by a percentage equal to the percentage
reduction in property tax that would result from the property tax exemption under RCW
84.36.381.

In order to apply for the credit, the taxpayer must complete an application for exemption (REV
64 0082) and a worksheet used to calculate the credit (REV 86 0072). The assessor approves or
denies the application for exemption and completes the “County Use Only” section. The
taxpayer is responsible for completing the worksheet and submitting copies of both documents,
along with his/her Leasehold Excise Tax Return and a check for the total tax due.

Forms, worksheets, and additional information are available here:
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/othertaxes/tax leasehold.aspx.

Because Leasehold Excise Tax is calculated annually, taxpayers should apply or renew the
application for exemption on an annual basis. Questions should be directed to Leasehold Excise
Tax at (360) 534-1503.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.29A.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/othertaxes/tax_leasehold.aspx
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TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2016

1.

o &~ N

The application should/would have been filed in 2015
Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2015 income
Have combined disposable income of no more than $40,000 in 2015

The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2015
The applicant must have owned and resided in the house at the time of filing

TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2015

1.

a &~ N

The application should/would have been filed in 2014

Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2014 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than $35,000 in 2014

The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2014

The applicant must have owned and resided in the house at the time of filing

TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2014

1.

g~ DN

The application should/would have been filed in 2013

Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2013 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than $35,000 in 2013

The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2013

The applicant must have owned and resided in the house at the time of filing

TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2013

1.

o &~ P

The application should/would have been filed in 2012

Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2012 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than $35,000 in 2012

The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2012

The applicant must have owned and resided in the house at the time of filing
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2016 THROUGH ?7??7? TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, OR UP TO FIVE
ACRES IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL ZONING

$30,000 OR LESS

$30,001 TO $35,000

$35,001 TO $40,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

2007 THROUGH 2015 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, OR UP TO FIVE
ACRES IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL ZONING

$25,000 OR LESS

$25,001 TO $30,000

$30,001 TO $35,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES
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2005 THROUGH 2006 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$25,000 OR LESS

$25,001 TO $30,000

$30,001 TO $35,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

1999 THROUGH 2004 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$18,000 OR LESS

$18,001 TO $24,000

$24,001 TO $30,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100%
EXCESS LEVIES.

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$40,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $60,000 PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES
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1996 THROUGH 1998 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$15,000 OR LESS

$15,001 TO $18,000

$18,001 TO $28,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$34,000 OR 50% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$30,000 OR 30% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $50,000 OF
VALUATION

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

1992 THROUGH 1995 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$15,000 OR LESS

$15,001 TO $18,000

$18,001 TO $26,000

EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$34,000 OR 50% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$30,000 OR 30% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $50,000 PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES
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List of Questions to Ask Applicants
(Originally provided by Dave Cook, Yakima County Assessor, and updated
by DOR in 2015)

e Were you at least 61 years of age or older by 12/31 of the year before the tax is due, or are
you disabled? If disabled, are you “unable to pursue gainful employment” OR are you a
veteran receiving VA disability at a total disability rating?

e Do you have a driver’s license or ID card that shows your birthday and address? It should
match the situs address of parcel or they should be able to explain when they moved in.

e Do you own other property here in this county?

e Do you own other property in any other County in Washington or any other state?

e If you own other property, are you receiving any type of exemption on any of that property?
e Have you sold a property here, or in any other County or State?

e How long have you lived in your house?

e Are you married or have a significant other?

e Does anyone live with you?

e Is your household income under $40,000?

e Inthat income do you receive money that is non-taxable, L&I, DSHS (money, food stamps),
Native American Allotment money, Foster, Marital Support, etc... Note: Do not include
money received for care of dependent children in the income calculation.

e Do you pay for your prescription drugs out of pocket, co-pays?

e Do you have any nursing home or in-home care expenses that we could use to deduct from
your income?

e Do you pay for any type of Medicare health insurance — Parts A, B, C, or D?
e If you have no income, how are you able to pay your bills?
e Does anybody help you out by paying your bills, utilities, taxes etc...?

e If you have other adults living in the home do they help contribute to the home expenses and
if so how much?

e If you are disabled, we will need a copy of your Notice of Award Letter from Social Security
OR the Department of Veterans’ Affairs OR a Proof of Disability form signed and returned
by your doctor.
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“QUICK REFERENCE”
Subject RCW 84.36 WAC 458-16A
Absent Spouse/Domestic Partner 120(2)
Application Procedures 385(1) 135
Assessor’s Authority 385 140(3)
385(2) & (5)
, RCW 84.40.350
Cancellation through 150(3)
RCW 84.40.390
Confidentiality 389
Deductions 383(4) 100(6)
Home Health Care 100(18)
Definitions 383 100
Department’s Authority 389
865
381(6)
Frozen Value RCW 84.40.178 140(7)
Income (General Definitions)
Annuity 383(5) 100(2)
Adjusted Gross 115
Averaging 383(4
Combined Disposable 383(4) 100(6)
Disposable 383(5) 100(12)
Gross 110
Limits 381(5) 130(1) & (3)
One Acre — Five Acre Limit 383(1) 100(28)
Ownership 381(2 100(22
Lease for Life/Life Estate/Trust 381(2) 100(19) & (21) & (22)
Marital community/Domestic Partnrshp 381(2) 100(23)
Cooperative Housing 381(2) 100(28)
Co-tenant 383(6) 100(7
Conveyance by Deed RCW 64.04.010
Deed Requirements RCW 64.04.020
Acknowledgement RCW 64.08.010
e s 100(10) & (11)
Qualifications — Age/Disability 381(3) 130(2
Refunds RCW 84.69.030 140(4)
Residence % 100(28)
: 100(25)
Residency 381(1) 130(4)
Transfer 381 150(5



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.865
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.178
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
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SENIOR CITIZENS / DISABLED PERSON
EXEMPTION RCW’s

RCW 84.36.379 Residences - Property tax exemption - Findings.

RCW 84.36.381 Residences - Property tax exemptions - Qualifications.

RCW 84.36.383 Residences - Definitions.

RCW 84.36.385 Residences - Claim for exemption - Forms - Change of Status -
Publication and Notice of Qualifications and Manner of Making
Claims.

RCW 84.36.387 Residences - Claimants - Penalty for Falsification - Reduction by
Remainderman - Perjury.

RCW 84.36.389 Residences - Rules and Regulations - Audits - Confidentiality -

Criminal Penalty.

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES:

RCW 64.04.010
RCW 64.04.020
RCW 64.08.010
RCW 84.40.130

RCW 84.40.178

RCW 84.40.350
RCW 84.40.360

RCW 84.40.370
RCW 84.40.380

RCW 84.40.390
RCW 52.18
RCW 84.69.030

Conveyances and encumbrances to be by deed.
Requisites of a deed.
Who may take acknowledgements.

Penalty for failure or refusal to list — False or fraudulent listing,
additional penalty.

Exempt Residential Property--Maintenance of Assessed
Valuation--Notice of Change.

Assessment and taxation of property losing exempt status.

Loss of exempt status — Property subject to pro rata portion of
taxes for remainder of year.

Loss of exempt status — Valuation date — Extension on rolls.

Loss of exempt status — When taxes due and payable — Dates of
Delinquency — Interest.

Loss of exempt status — Taxes constitute lien on property.
Benefit Charges
Procedure to obtain order for refund.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.379
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.387
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.178
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.360
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.370
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.18
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
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WAC 458-16A-100

WAC 458-16A-110

WAC 458-16A-115

WAC 458-16A-120

WAC 458-16A-130

WAC 458-16A-135

WAC 458-16A-140

WAC 458-16A-150

SENIOR CITIZENS / DISABLED PERSON

EXEMPTION - WAC

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Definitions.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Gross income.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Adjusted gross income.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Determining combined disposable income.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Qualifications for exemption.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Application procedures.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Exemption described - Exemption granted -
Exemption denied - Freezing Property values.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and one hundred percent disabled
veteran exemption - Requirements for keeping the exemption.
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http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 62
Section 111 ¢ Property Tax Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons

Section 111

Senior Citizen
and
Disabled Persons
Deferral
Program
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SENIOR CITIZEN / DISABLED PERSONS
DEFERRAL PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this deferral program is to allow senior citizens and/or disabled persons the
ability to remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. RCW 84.38.010. This program
works in conjunction with the exemption program and the applicant must meet all requirements
for an exemption under RCW 84.36.381 other than the age and income limits.

If eligible, the applicant must also apply for the property tax exemption. WAC 458-18-020(4).

The exemption program is a gift. The deferral program is simply a postponement of the taxes.
The State of Washington pays the taxes for the applicant. The taxes plus accrued interest are
repaid to the State out of the estate when the applicant passes away or out of the proceeds of sale
if the property is transferred. The lien created by the deferral program can only be assumed by a
surviving spouse or domestic partner.

The interest rate on deferrals made prior to January 1, 2007, is eight percent (8%). Deferrals
made on or after January 1, 2007, accrue interest at the rate of five percent (5%).

The deferral program is applicable to both property taxes and special assessments. Special
assessments are physical improvements that specially benefit a piece of property. Examples are
improvements for water, sewer, roads, sidewalks, curbing, etc.

Current and delinquent property taxes and special assessments may all be included on one
application. There no limit on the number of years we can pay but the applicant has to have had
an ownership interest in the years the taxes were actually levied.

Like the exemption, the deferral applies only to the taxes or assessments for the residence and up
to one acre of land, or up to five acres depending on local zoning/land use. Tax on excess
acreage (more than one acre and up to five acres) is eligible for deferral if local zoning
regulations require the excess acreage.

Because the applicant must meet the requirements for an exemption under RCW 84.36.381, other
than the age and income requirements, the program qualifications are very similar. However,
there are some important differences.

THE APPLICANT

Only one person in the household must meet the age/disability requirement and this person is the
applicant. This person must also have an ownership interest in the property and the property
must be the applicant’s primary residence. The combined disposable income for the applicant
and the applicant’s spouse or domestic partner and any co-tenants must not exceed $40,000 for
2015 deferral applications or $45,000 for 2016 deferral applications. See RCW 84.38.030.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
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AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 60 by December 31 of the application year.
-OR -

The applicant must be the surviving spouse or domestic partner of someone who was receiving a
deferral at the time of their death. The surviving spouse or domestic partner must be at least 57
years old in the year the original participant passed away and must otherwise qualify for the
program. RCW 84.38.150

-OR-

The applicant must be disabled. The definition of disability in RCW 84.36.383(7) has been
linked to the definition used for Social Security purposes (42 U.S.C. 423, Section 223(d)(1)(A)).
The disability must be such that the applicant is unable to pursue substantial gainful employment
and the condition must either be expected to result in death or must have lasted, or be expected to
last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months. The disability need not be permanent.
Annually, the Social Security Administration determines the amount a claimant may earn
without being considered “gainfully employed”. There are separate limits for those who are
blind. You can find annual limits for allowable earned income in the Combined Disposable
Income section of this manual or at the Social Security website at
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html.

NOTICE: Unlike for the Exemption Program, there is no provision for qualification based
solely on status as a disabled veteran.

RESIDENCY AND OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be the applicant’s principal home. As with the Exemption Program, the
taxpayer may still be eligible while confined to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility
(boarding home), or adult family home as provided in RCW 84.36.381(1).

The applicant must have an ownership interest in the property. To qualify for a deferral in the
current year, the applicant must have had an ownership interest prior to January 1. Example: To
qualify for deferral in 2016, the applicant must have had an ownership interest by December 31,
2015.

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase contract or deed of
trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative housing, a life estate, a lease for
life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership requirement. RCW 84.38.030(4).

An irrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualification. The trust must be expressly not
revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant must have a



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
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life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust containing the residence
(i.e. the trust estate containing the residence).

For the Deferral Program, we have to make sure that the applicant has a vested interest in the
property because, in effect, the interest in the real property is being used as collateral for a
“loan”. With respect to most private trusts, the trustee holds legal title to the trust property, is the
representative or agent of the trust, and has the capacity to sue and be sued on behalf of the trust.
The beneficiaries of a trust are the persons with equitable ownership of the trust assets, although
legal title is held by the trustee.

Watch for clauses that prevent the trustee and/or beneficiary from encumbering the trust
property.

When someone defers property tax, the State has to encumber the property in the form of a lien
filed against that property. If there is a type of “spendthrift” clause that prevents encumbrance,
we will not be able to pay the property tax because we cannot file the lien against the property to
secure the state’s interest.

If the property is in a trust, in order to qualify for both the exemption and deferral programs
simultaneously:

the trust must be expressly not revocable, and,
the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary, and,

the applicant must have a beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust
containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the residence), and,

o either the trust must terminate on the claimant’s death OR the claimant must have been
given a life estate in the property, and,

o the trust must not include a spendthrift clause prohibiting encumbrance of the property.

INCOME

The maximum amount of combined disposable income the applicant, spouse, domestic partner
and co-tenants may receive and still be eligible for this program is $40,000 for 2015 deferrals
and $45,000 for 2016 deferrals. RCW 84.38.030(3).

Those applicants who meet the age and income requirements for the exemption program must
first apply for the exemption. These taxpayers will receive the benefit of the exemption first,
thereby reducing the amount of taxes they will later repay to the state under the deferral program.
WAC 458-18-020(4).

Applications are filed in the year the taxes are due and income from the preceding year is used to
determine eligibility. To calculate income, follow the same rules and procedures as for the
exemption program. See RCW 84.36.383, WAC 458-16A-100, and the Combined Disposable
Income section of this manual.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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TO QUALIFY FOR DEFERRAL ON TAXES OR SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS
PAYABLE IN 2015

1. The application is due 30 days before the tax or special assessment due date. Similar to the
Exemption Program, late applications are accepted and, typically, applications for this
program are received year-round.

2. Applicants must be at least 60 years of age by 12/31/2015 or must have been disabled as of
12/31/2014.

3. Applicants should declare their 2014 income.
4. Combined disposable income must be no more than $40,000 in 2014.
5. The applicant must have owned & resided in the house as of December 31, 2014.

6. The applicant may apply for payment of prior year taxes on the same application as long as
he/she had an ownership interest in the property in the prior years.

TO QUALIFY FOR DEFERRAL ON TAXES OR SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS
PAYABLE IN 2016

1. The application is due 30 days before the tax or special assessment due date. Similar to the
Exemption Program, late applications are accepted and, typically, applications for this
program are received year-round.

2. Applicants must be at least 60 years of age by 12/31/2016 or must have been disabled as of
12/31/2015.

3. Applicants should declare their 2015 income.
4. Combined disposable income must be no more than $45,000 in 2015.
5. The applicant must have owned & resided in the house as of December 31, 2015.

6. The applicant may apply for payment of prior year taxes on the same application as long as
he/she had an ownership interest in the property in the prior years.
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EQUITY

The maximum dollar amount of deferred taxes allowable on a parcel is limited by the applicant’s
equity in that property.

Equity is the amount by which the market assessed value of the property exceeds all liens and
encumbrances against the property. Liens and encumbrances include mortgages, IRS liens, the
unpaid balance on special assessments, any balance due the Department of Social and Health
Services, HUD, etc. WAC 458-18-010(7).

In order to include the value of the dwelling in the equity calculation, insurance must be
maintained on the residence to protect the interest of the state and the State of Washington
Department of Revenue must be named as loss payee on the insurance policy. When insurance
is not maintained OR the State of Washington is not named as loss payee on the policy, the
maximum amount of taxes that can be deferred is reduced since only the value of the land
can be included in the equity calculation.

An applicant who does not carry fire insurance is limited to 100 percent of the equity in the land
value only. This means that if the applicant has a mortgage or any other liens on the home, the
amount of the mortgage (and other liens) will be deducted from the land value to determine
equity.

Applicants who carry fire insurance on their homes and who have listed the State as loss payee
on the policy can include the value of the residence (the assessed value or the insured value,
whichever is lower) and are limited to a maximum of 80 percent of their equity in the aggregate
value of the home and land.

EQUITY CALCULATION

With Co-Tenants

For the deferral programs, we can pay the entire tax bill and the equity calculation will be based
on the total assessed value. To calculate the equity, use the total assessed value minus ALL of
the liens and encumbrances.

With Co-Owners

For the deferral programs, we can still pay the entire tax bill but the equity calculation will be
based only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership share. To calculate the equity, use
the applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens and encumbrances.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
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With Insurance

To calculate the equity when the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the house and
lists the State as a loss payee on the policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property - land and
improvements. Use the "true and fair" value as of January 1 of the current year.

Note: Before the current year valuation notices are mailed, you will actually be
using last year’s value. As soon as the current year valuation notices are mailed,
you should be using the new value because that is now the most current value.

Do not use the frozen value, current use value, or a private fee appraisal value. For the
dwelling, use the assessor’s market value or the dwelling coverage amount on the
insurance policy, whichever is lower.

2. Determine the total of all the liens and obligations against the property — except any
existing deferral account balance.

3. Verify that the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the home and has listed the
State as a loss payee on the policy. Note: In no case shall the deferred amount exceed the
amount of the insured value of the improvement plus the value of the land.

4. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair value
of the property (land and improvements).

5. Multiply the balance, (if any), by 0.80 to arrive at 80 percent (80%) of equity. The
claimant may then defer up to this amount. If the claimant has an existing deferral
account balance, subtract that balance to determine the amount still available for deferral.

Without Insurance

When the claimant has no insurance OR does not list the State as a loss payee on the
policy:
1. Determine the market assessed value of the land only (do not include the value of any
improvements).

2. Determine the sum of all of the liens and obligations against the property.

3. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair value
of the land only (the improvement value is not included).

4. The claimant may defer up to this amount. When establishing a claimant’s equity using
only the land value, 100 percent (100%) of the equity is used rather than 80 percent
(80%). If the claimant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract that balance to
determine the amount still available for deferral.
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Equity Calculation Example: Ins/State Listed No Ins/State Not Listed
Land Value: $250,000 $250,000
Improvement Value: $350,000 $350,000
Insurance: Dwelling Coverage $400,000 $400,000
State as Loss Payee? Yes No

Value to Include in Calculation $600,000* $250,000
Total Liens and Encumbrances $225,000 $225,000
Equity $375,000 $ 25,000
Percent of Equity Allowed 80% 100%
Auvailable for Deferral $300,000 $ 25,000
Existing Deferral Balance $ 15,000 $ 15,000
Remaining Amount Available $285,000 $ 10,000

*Use the improvement value or the dwelling coverage value — whichever is lower.

APPLICATION PROCESS

A signed application form must be filed each year that an applicant wants to defer taxes.
Applications are filed at the county assessor’s office in the county where the property is located.
Only the assessor has the authority to grant or deny a deferral.

The application is due 30 days prior to the date the tax or special assessment is due. An
application may be filed after that date for good cause shown. For this program, late applications
are always accepted.

The application must contain the following information (WAC 458-18-030(2)):

X/
°

Name and mailing address of applicant

Proof of age or disability statement

Names of spouse, domestic partner, and cotenants

County parcel number

Property information — acreage, zoning requirements, etc.

Mobile home title if applicable (lien must be filed with DOL if title has not been
eliminated)

Legal description

Property taxes and special assessments requested to be paid

Balance of mortgages, liens, and encumbrances against the property
Homeowner’s insurance policy information

Prior year income

Special assessment information, if applicable

Signature of mortgage holder (if the mortgage contract requires a reserve account for
payment of the property taxes)

Signature of the applicant

Names and signatures of all other owners

e

AS

X/
X4

L)

e

AS

X/
X4

L)

e

AS

e

AS

K/ X/
LR X4

7/
X

7/ K/
SR XA X )

K/

25

7/ K/
X GIR X 4


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
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DELINQUENT FILINGS FOR THE DEFERRAL PROGRAM FOR SENIOR CITIZENS
AND DISABLED PERSONS

Delinquent Property Taxes and Special Assessments

Applications to defer property taxes and special assessments that are already delinquent may be
accepted if the claimant qualifies for the deferral in the current year. Unlike the exemption
program, the applicant is not required to meet the age, disability, residency, and income
qualifications for the years that the taxes or special assessments are delinquent. We can pay the
delinguent taxes as long as the applicant had an ownership interest during the back years in
question, currently meets the age or disability, income, and residency qualifications, and has

enough equity.

The Department will pay the property taxes for the prior years, as well as interest, penalties, and
foreclosure costs. The applicant should specify on the application which years’ taxes and/or
special assessments he/she is seeking to defer.

If the applicant was qualified for the exemption program in the delinquent years, the applicant
must also apply for an exemption for those years (WAC 458-18-020(4)).

The Department made the decision to accept applications for prior year taxes in the deferral
program even when the claimant did not meet the age, disability, residency, and income
requirements in prior years when the legislature changed RCW 84.64.050. At one time this
statute read in part: “The county treasurer shall not issue certificates of delinquency upon
property owned and occupied as a principal place of residence by a person sixty-two years of age
or older.” When people began to use this provision to withhold payment of taxes, the legislature
changed the sentence to read: “the county treasurer shall not issue certificates of delinquency
upon property which is eligible for deferral of taxes under chapter 84.38 RCW but shall require
the owner of the property to file a declaration to defer taxes under Chapter 84.38 RCW.” At that
time, we received a number of requests for deferral on delinquent taxes when the claimant did
not qualify for the deferral for prior years.

If the taxes are delinquent and the applicant refuses to apply for the deferral program, the county
treasurer's office can begin the foreclosure process.

LIENS ON REAL PROPERTY

The assessor’s office generally provides the Department of Revenue (DOR) with a legal
description of the property. DOR files a lien with the county auditor to show as a public record
that the state has an interest in this property. In a situation involving excess acreage not eligible
for deferral, it is the responsibility of the applicant to provide a legal description of the residence
and the portion of land that will be included in the deferral. If the applicant chooses not to do
this, DOR files the lien on the entire property even if the state is only paying the taxes on a
portion of the land.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
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LIENS ON MOBILE HOMES

When an applicant has a manufactured home that is licensed through Department of Licensing,
such as a manufactured home on a rented lot in a park, the Department must have the
manufactured home title information in order to record the state as a lien-holder on that title.

Unless the title has been eliminated, when a deferral includes a mobile home the Department is
required by law to file a lien on the mobile home (See RCW 84.38.100).

DOR files an “Application for Certificate of Title” with the Department of Licensing to show the
State of Washington, Department of Revenue, as a lien-holder even when the Department is also
filing a lien on the real property.

Before the lien can be recorded, the title must be in the applicant’s name. For any change in the
“registered owner”, the Department of Licensing considers the transaction to be a change in
ownership and requires original documents. Since DOR rarely receives original documents for
deferral applications, in order to meet the ownership requirement, the title for a manufactured
home must show the applicant as the registered owner.

When you forward the deferral application to the Department, please include documentation
showing that the applicant is the registered owner and include the standard info on the
manufactured home (size, manufacturer, year, VIN, plate, etc...).

APPEALS

If an application is denied, the claimant may appeal to the county Board of Equalization. The
decision by the county Board of Equalization is final. There is no provision for appeal to the

State Board of Tax Appeals. If the applicant is notified of a denial subsequent to July 15, the
department may reconvene the Board of Equalization if requested to do so by the assessor or

claimant. WAC 458-18-090.

PROPERTY TAXES AND SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS ELIGIBLE FOR DEFERRAL

Both property taxes and special assessments may be deferred under this deferral program. See
page 52 in this manual for more information on special assessments.

REPAYMENT OF DEFERRED TAXES

LaRetta Martin and Mark Baca, the Deferral Administrators, will provide repayment figures
upon request. LaRetta can be reached at (360) 534-1426 or at LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov. Mark
can be reached at (360) 534-1409 or at MarkB@dor.wa.gov.



http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
mailto:LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov
mailto:MarkB@dor.wa.gov
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Payments are made to the Washington State Department of Revenue and may be made in either a
lump sum amount or partial payments. Partial payments are applied to the oldest interest first,
then applied to the oldest taxes.

No payments are required as long as the applicant remains eligible for the program, but the
applicant can make payments at any time he/she chooses in order to reduce the account balance.

The deferred taxes plus interest must be repaid to the state when the:

% property’s ownership is transferred;

/7
A X4

applicant ceases to reside permanently on the property;

% applicant fails to keep adequate fire insurance with state listed as loss payee and there is
insufficient equity in land only;

% applicant passes away (unless a qualifying spouse or domestic partner elects to continue
in the program); or

%+ property is condemned.
Under the laws and rules, these are “canceling events” and repayment must be completed

within three years of the date of the canceling event. Failure to make complete repayment
within the three years will result in the county treasurer foreclosing on the property.

INTEREST RATES

The interest rate on deferrals made prior to January 1, 2007, is eight percent (8%). Deferrals
made on or after January 1, 2007, accrue interest at the rate of five percent (5%).

The interest is “simple” interest and only accrues on the principal balance. No interest accrues
on the interest portion of a deferral account balance.

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:
> Provide documentation requested by the assessor.

» Notify insurance company of requirement to add State of Washington Department of
Revenue as “loss payee” and provide documentation either with application packet or
directly to the Department.

> Notify the assessor and the Department when there is a “canceling event”.

> File a renewal application for each year in which they wish to defer taxes and/or special
assessments.
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>

Provide a legal description for the residence and the portion of land eligible for deferral.
This applies when the parcel includes excess acreage or improvements not eligible for
deferral and the applicant wishes to exclude the ineligible acreage or improvements from
the lien filed by the Department.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The assessor must:

>

>

Mail renewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who received a
deferral the previous year.

Determine each year if each claimant filing a declaration to defer shall be granted a
deferral. The authority to grant or deny each deferral or deferral renewal lies with the
assessor.

Notify the claimant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must be in
writing and should include information about appeal rights and procedures as well as the
reasons for the denial.

Obtain tax and/or special assessment statement(s) showing the amount to be paid.
Interest should be calculated through the last day of the month in which the application is
approved by the assessor.

Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the department, with the legal
description, tax or special assessment statement(s), and insurance documentation (unless
the insurance documentation is being sent directly to the Department).

Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the county treasurer or respective
treasurers of local improvement districts. Local improvement districts are directed to
verify the special assessment figures supplied by the applicant and notify the assessor of
the correct figures if those supplied were inaccurate.

Notify the county treasurer and the respective treasurers of the local improvement
districts of which claimants and properties have qualified for deferral and the amount that
will be paid by the state treasurer on behalf of the claimant.

Compute the dollar tax rates under the provisions of chapter 84.52 RCW as if the
deferrals did not exist.

Notify the county treasurer and the department immediately upon occurrence of any
canceling event as set forth in RCW 84.38.130 and WAC 458-18-100(1).

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:


http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.52
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
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>

Notify the county assessor as soon as possible if any factor appears to disqualify the
claimant. The department may audit any "declaration to defer" and/or "declaration to
renew deferral” it deems necessary.

File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to show
the state's lien on the certificate of title of a mobile home.

Certify to the state treasurer the amount due the respective treasurers for any special
assessments and/or real property taxes deferred for that year. The state treasurer pays the
amounts certified by the Department to the county treasurers or the treasurers of the local
improvement districts. The amount paid is distributed to the districts which levied the
taxes or assessments.

Maintain the deferral accounts receivable by posting payments and providing account
information upon request.

Make collection arrangements for accounts with canceling events or refer the account to
the county treasurer for collection.

PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS

The duties of the county assessor can be found in RCW 84.38.110 and WAC 458-18-070.
Keeping in mind that each assessor’s office probably has a little bit different way of
administering the program, the following is a general guide.

1.

In January of each year, mail renewal declarations to each claimant who received a
deferral in the previous year.

Review the applications received and work with the taxpayer to gather any missing
documents or make any necessary corrections, administrative segs, or adjustments to the
tax roll based on exemption status.

v" In the area “to be completed by the Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1, enter
the “Application number”. This is the applicant’s deferral account number.

» The deferral number must be in the following format for our software
Systems: #H-#tt.

» The first 2 digits are your county code. The county codes are 01 — 39, in
alpha order (i.e. Adams is 01 and Yakima is 39).

» The last 4 digits are the next consecutive deferral number in your county
(0001 —9999). If you have trouble finding that number, please contact us and
we will try to help.

> If you are in a county where you have deferrals for this program
(senior/disabled) and for the program for homeowners with limited income,
you can also add an alpha code at the end of the number if it will help you
differentiate between the two programs (i.e. ##-####-S or something similar).


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
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v

Make sure it’s clear which taxes/special assessments are being deferred (i.e. the
year(s) to be paid are listed and the box or boxes are checked indicating property
taxes and/or special assessments. Make sure the due date for special assessments is
provided — i.e. the month and day the special assessments are due.

Verify age, disability, ownership, residency, and income the same way you would for
an exemption.

Verify that all other sections have been completed correctly.

Verify that the application is signed by the applicant, the applicant’s spouse or
domestic partner, and any other owners of interest. If the application is not signed,
DOR will need to return it so you can obtain signatures.

Verify that the application is signed by the lender/mortgage company if the
applicant’s mortgage contract “requires the accumulation of reserves for the payment
of property taxes”. Make sure the applicant checks the appropriate box in Part 2 and
make sure the mortgage company representative has completed Part 5.

Verify that the applicant has listed the January 1 balance for all liens and mortgages
and that the amounts listed are correct by looking at mortgage statements or other
documents provided by the applicant.

Verify the insurance information. The insurance amount we need is the amount of
“dwelling coverage” listed on the policy. Make sure the applicant reads and
understands the part about listing DOR as a “loss payee” on the policy. If DOR is
NOT listed as a “loss payee”, as far as we are concerned there IS no insurance
because the policy will not protect the State’s interest in the property. Make sure the
applicant understands that the value of the dwelling cannot be included in the equity
calculation unless the State is listed as “loss payee”.

In the area “to be completed by the Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1, enter
the most current market value available. If you have already mailed valuations
notices, you should be using the new value for the current assessment year.

Do a preliminary equity calculation. If, for some reason, the equity requirement is
not met, DOR will return the application to you for denial.

Verity the parcel size and zoning/land use requirements. If it’s more than one acre,
verify whether the larger parcel size is required by local zoning. Make sure this part
of the application is completed (under Part 3). Taxes can be paid for up to 5 acres
as long as the larger parcel size is required by local zoning.

Complete any necessary administrative segs or combos prior to approval so you can
include a correct tax parcel number, tax/assessment statement, and legal description
with the application packet when you send it to DOR.

Make sure the applicant has applied for an exemption if eligible.

Complete any necessary corrections to the tax roll as a result of a new exemption or a
change in status for an existing exemption. Include the corrected tax statement when
you send the application packet to DOR.
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3.

v Approve or deny the deferral.

If the application is denied, notify the applicant in writing and include the reason for
denial. The denial should include notification of appeal rights and procedures for
submitting an appeal. Form 64 0090 is the correct appeal form to use.

If the application is approved, enter the approval date in the area “to be completed by the
Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1.

v’ Please do not approve the application and send it to DOR until all administrative segs
and/or adjustments for exemption status are completed.

v Request a copy of the tax and/or special assessment statement(s) to include with the
application packet when you send it to DOR.

s IMPORTANT: If the deferral includes delinquent taxes/special assessments,
the laws and rules allow DOR to pay penalties and interest through the last
day of the month in which the application is approved by you. Make sure the
statement(s) show interest calculated through the appropriate date.

s IMPORTANT: If there are multiple years of delinquent tax, DOR requires a
breakdown by year in order to issue payment. Make sure the breakdown by
year is included on the statement(s).

Send the approved application to DOR, keeping either the original or a copy for your
files. You can send the application packet by regular mail or via email in pdf format.

v If you send the packet via email, make sure the scanned copy is legible. You may
need to adjust the dpi setting on your scanner. If you can’t easily read it after
scanning, we will not be able to either.

v Do not send the verification documents (income, age, disability, etc.).

v" Include the tax and/or special assessment statement(s) with the application
packet.

v" Make sure to include the legal description for new deferral applicants — not
necessary for renewals. DOR must file a lien before issuing payment. Include the
legal description required for recording a valid lien against the subject property. You
may need to include a copy of a prior deed if you only have the abbreviated legal.

v Include the insurance documentation if it has been provided.

v Include mobile home information for new deferral applicants — not renewals - if
the title has not been eliminated.

v" Use the checklist on the following page to make sure everything is complete and
ready to go.

When DOR requests payment by the State Treasurer, we will send you a copy of the
report showing the payments that we requested. We usually do two requests each month.
We also send a copy of the report to your treasurer and/or special district along with the


http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/TxpyrPetnCoBOERevwSnrCitzDsbldPrsnExemp.doc

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 77
Section 111 ¢ Property Tax Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons

tax and/or special assessment statements. Your treasurer will also receive notice from the
State Treasurer of a pending EFT (Electronic Fund Transfer) and the deposit will be
available to your treasurer within a couple of days after that notice.

7. If you receive notification of a sale of property, death of a claimant, move to a new
residence, etc. for someone who has an active deferral account, notify DOR as soon as
possible so we can contact the new owner, estate representative, etc. You can call or fax
or send a hardcopy — or — just send an email with as much information as you have (i.e.
date of sale, date of death, new address for the claimant, address for new owner, etc.).

8. Inearly January, you will receive a set of reports from DOR.

% List of active deferral accounts - Review this list to make sure all of the applicants
listed in your county still own and reside at the property where the tax was
deferred.

++ List of accounts paid and closed — These accounts were paid and closed during the
previous year. If any of these applicants re-apply, you will need to assign a brand
new deferral account number and treat the application like any other new deferral.

.,

¢ List of participants who deferred taxes in the prior year - You can use this list as
your mailing list to send renewals.
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SENIOR CITIZENS AND DISABLED PERSONS
CHECKLIST FOR DEFERRAL APPLICATIONS

COUNTY
ASSESSOR’S DEPUTY:
PH: () - FAX: () -
EMAIL:
TAXPAYER’S NAME:
DEFERRING: TAXES SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS

FOR YEAR(S):

APPLICATION (DEFERRAL NUMBER):

VERIFICATION AND ACTIONS COMPLETED:

AGE/DISABILITY/OWNERSHIP STATUS VERIFIED:
PARCEL SIZE/ZONING REQUIREMENTS VERIFIED:
MORTGAGE AND OTHER LIENS VERIFIED:
EXEMPTION APPLIED IF ELIGIBLE:
ADMINISTRATIVE SEG COMPLETE IF NEEDED:

ATTACHMENTS INCLUDED WITH APPLICATION:

INSURANCE: WITH STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE:

WITHOUT STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE:

LEGAL DESCRIPTION:

MOBILE HOME INFO IF TITLED WITH DOL.:

TAX/SPECIAL ASSESSMENT STATEMENT(S):
WITH INTEREST CALCULATED THROUGH:

NOTES:
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SENIOR CITIZEN / DISABLED PERSON DEFERRAL

“QUICK REFERENCE”

SUBJECT RCW 84.38 WAC 458-18
Appeals 040 090
Assessor Duties / Authority 110 070
County Foreclosure RCW 84.64.050
Definitions 020 010
Department Duties / Authority 080
Equity % %
030 010
Fire and Casualty Insurance 020
100
Five Acre Limit 020 010
Income Limit 030 020
Ownership 030 020
Quialifications 030 020
Refunds 210
Renewals 050 050
Repayment % 100
Residence 020 010
Residency 070 100
Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner 150 100



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
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RCW 84.38.010

RCW 84.38.020

RCW 84.38.030

RCW 84.38.040

RCW 84.38.050

RCW 84.38.060

RCW 84.38.070

RCW 84.38.080

RCW 84.38.090

RCW 84.38.100

RCW 84.38.110

RCW 84.38.120

RCW 84.38.130

RCW 84.38.140

RCW 84.38.150

RCW 84.38.160

RCW 84.38.170

RCW 84.38.180

RCW 84.64.050

SENIOR CITIZENS / DISABLED PERSONS

DEFERRALS
Legislative finding and purpose.
Definitions.

Conditions and qualifications for claiming deferral.

Declaration to defer special assessments and/or real property taxes

- Filing - Contents - Appeal.

Renewal of deferral - Forms - Notice to renew - Limitation upon
special assessment deferral amount.

Declaration of deferral by agent, guardian, etc.

Ceasing to reside permanently on property subject to deferral
declaration.

Right to deferral not reduced by contract or agreement.

Procedure where residence under mortgage or purchase contract.

Lien of state, mortgage or purchase contract holder - Priority -
Amount - Interest.

Duties of county assessor.

Payments to local improvement or taxing districts.
When deferred assessments or taxes become payable.
Collection of deferred assessments or taxes.

Election to continue deferral by surviving spouse.
Payment of part or all of deferred taxes authorized.
Collection of personal property taxes not affected.
Forms - Rules and regulations.

Certification of County — Foreclosure — Notice — Sale of Certain
Residential Property Eligible for Deferral Prohibited.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.170
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.180
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
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SENIOR CITIZENS/DISABLED PERSONS DEFERRALS

WAC 458-18-010

WAC 458-18-020

WAC 458-18-030

WAC 458-18-040

WAC 458-18-050

WAC 458-18-060

WAC 458-18-070

WAC 458-18-080

WAC 458-18-090

WAC 458-18-100

WAC 458-18-210

WAC 458-18-215

WAC 458-18-220

WAC 458-18-500

WAC 458-18-510

WAC 458-18-520

WAC 458-18-530

WAC 458-18-540

WAC 458-18-550

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Definitions

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Qualifications for deferral.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to defer - Filing - Forms.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Lien of
state - Mortgage - Purchase contract - Deed of trust.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to renew deferral - Filing - Forms.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Limitations
of deferral - Interest.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the county assessor.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the department of revenue - State treasurer.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Appeals.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - When
payable - Collection - Partial payment.

Refunds — Procedure — Interest.

Refunds — Payment under protest requirements.
Refunds — Rate of interest.

Deposit of moneys, assessments or taxes - Purpose.
Definitions.

Agreement.

Prohibition of deposit.

General provisions.

Expenditure of funds.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-215
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-500
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-510
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-520
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-530
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-540
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-550

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 82
Section IV & Property Tax Deferral Program for Homeowners with Limited Income

Section 1V

Deferral Program
For
Homeowners with
Limited Income
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HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME
DEFERRAL PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this deferral program is to provide a property tax safe harbor for families in
economic crisis and prevent existing homeowners from being driven from their homes because
of rising property taxes. See RCW 84.37.010(2).

Deferral programs are a postponement of the taxes. The State of Washington pays the taxes for
the applicant and files a lien to secure the State’s interest in the property. The taxes, plus accrued
interest, must be repaid to the State when there is a “canceling event”. The lien created by the
deferral program can only be assumed by a surviving spouse or domestic partner.

This deferral program is only applicable to property taxes and special assessments billed on the
regular annual tax statement.

Under the program laws, the applicant can request payment of the second half of the regular
property tax installment due in October.

THE APPLICANT

The applicant must have an ownership interest in the property and the property must be the
applicant’s primary residence. Combined disposable income for the applicant and the
applicant’s spouse or domestic partner and any co-tenants must not exceed $57,000.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

There is no age or disability requirement for this program.

OWNERSHIP AND RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

This deferral applies only to the taxes or assessments on the applicant’s primary residence and up
to one acre of land, or, up to five acres if the excess acreage is required by local zoning/land use
regulations.

The residence must be the applicant’s principal home. The taxpayer may still be eligible while
confined to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family
home as provided in RCW 84.36.381(1).



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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Under the laws and rules for this program, taxes cannot be deferred in the first five calendar
years of ownership. This means, in order to qualify for deferral in 2016, the applicant must have
acquired the property prior to December 31, 2011.

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase contract or deed of
trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative housing, a life estate, a lease for
life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership requirement. RCW 84.37.030(5) and
RCW 84.38.030(4) .

An irrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualification. The trust must be expressly not
revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant must have a
life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust containing the residence
(i.e. the trust estate containing the residence).

For the Deferral Program, we have to make sure that the applicant has a vested interest in the
property because, in effect, the interest in the real property is being used as collateral for a
“loan”. With respect to most private trusts, the trustee holds legal title to the trust property, is the
representative or agent of the trust, and has the capacity to sue and be sued on behalf of the trust.
The beneficiaries of a trust are the persons with equitable ownership of the trust assets, although
legal title is held by the trustee.

Watch for clauses that prevent the trustee and/or beneficiary from encumbering the trust
property.

When someone defers property tax, the State has to encumber the property in the form of a lien
filed against that property. If there is a type of “spendthrift” clause that prevents encumbrance,
we will not be able to pay the property tax because we cannot file the lien against the property to
secure the state’s interest.

INCOME

The maximum amount of combined disposable income the applicant, spouse, domestic partner,
and co-tenants may receive and still be eligible for this program is $57,000. RCW 84.37.030(2).

Applications are filed in the year the taxes are due and income from the preceding year is used to
determine eligibility. Include the income of the applicant, the applicant’s spouse or domestic
partner, and any co-tenants. To calculate income, follow the same rules and procedures as for
the exemption program. See RCW 84.36.383, WAC 458-16A-100, and the Combined
Disposable Income section of this manual.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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TO QUALIFY FOR DEFERRAL ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2016
1. The application must be filed by September 1, 2016.

2. Applicants must declare 2015 income and combined disposable income must not exceed
$57,000 in 2015.

4. The applicant must have owned the home since at least December 31, 2011.

5. The applicant must live in the home as of January 1, 2016 and must live there for more than
six months in 2016.

6. The applicant must pay the first half taxes due April 30, 2016.

7. The applicant must have and maintain sufficient equity to protect the interest of the State of
Washington in the residence.

8. The applicant may not apply for deferral under this program and the deferral program for
senior citizens and disabled persons in the same tax year.

EQUITY

As with the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons, the maximum dollar
amount of deferred taxes allowable on a parcel is limited by the applicant’s equity in the

property.

Equity is the amount by which the market assessed value of the property exceeds all liens and
encumbrances against the property. See WAC 458-18A-010(7). Liens and encumbrances
include mortgages, IRS liens, the unpaid balance on special assessments, any balance due the
Department of Social and Health Services or HUD, etc., and any other obligations constituting a
lien against the property.

In order to include the value of the dwelling in the equity calculation, insurance must be
maintained on the residence to protect the interest of the state and the State of Washington
Department of Revenue must be named as “loss payee” on the insurance policy. When
insurance is not maintained OR the State of Washington is not named as “loss payee” on
the policy, the maximum amount of taxes that can be deferred is reduced since only the
value of the land can be included in the equity calculation.

An applicant who does not carry fire insurance is limited to 100 percent of the equity in the land
value only. This means that if the applicant has a mortgage on the home, or any other liens, the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
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amount of the mortgage (and other liens) will be deducted from the land value to determine
equity.

Applicants who carry fire insurance on their homes and who have listed the State as loss payee
on the policy can include the value of the residence (the assessed value or the insured value,
whichever is lower) in the equity calculation. Deferrals under this program are limited to a
maximum of 40 percent (40%) of the aggregate equity value of the home and land.

EQUITY CALCULATION

With Co-owners

For this deferral program, we can pay the entire second half tax bill due in October but the equity
calculation will be based only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership share. To
calculate the equity, use the applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens and
encumbrances.

With Insurance

To calculate the equity when the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the house and
lists the State as a loss payee on the policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property - land and
improvements. Do not use the frozen value, current use value, or a private fee appraisal
value. For the dwelling, use the assessor’s market value or the dwelling coverage
amount on the insurance policy, whichever is lower. Note: Before the current year
valuation notices are mailed, you will actually be using last year’s value. As soon as the
current year valuation notices are mailed, you should be using the new value because that
IS now the most current value.

2. Determine the total of all the liens and obligations against the property — except any
existing deferral account balance.

3. Verify that the applicant has fire and casualty insurance on the home and has listed the
State as a loss payee on the policy. Note: In no case shall the deferred amount exceed the
amount of the insured value of the improvement plus the value of the land.

4. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the market assessed
value of the property (land and improvements).

5. Multiply the balance, (if any), by 0.40 to arrive at 40 percent (40%) of equity. The
applicant may then defer up to this amount.

6. If the applicant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract that balance to
determine the amount still available for deferral.
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Without Insurance

When the applicant has no insurance OR does not list the State as a loss payee on the
policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property - land and
improvements.

2. Determine the sum of all of the liens and obligations against the property.

3. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair market

assessed value of the land only (the improvement value is not included).

4. The applicant may defer up to this amount. When establishing an applicant’s equity

using only the land value, 100 percent (100%) of the equity is used rather than 40 percent

(40%).

5. If the claimant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract that balance to
determine the amount still available for deferral.

Example: Ins/State Listed No Ins/State Not Listed
Land Value: $250,000 $250,000
Improvement Value: $350,000 $350,000
Insurance: Dwelling Coverage $400,000 $400,000
State as Loss Payee? Yes No

Value to Include in Calculation $600,000* $250,000
Total Liens and Encumbrances $225,000 $225,000
Equity $375,000 $ 25,000
Percent of Equity Allowed 40% 100%
Auvailable for Deferral $150,000 $ 25,000
Existing Deferral Balance $ 15,000 $ 15,000
Remaining Amount Available $135,000 $ 10,000

*Use the improvement value or the dwelling coverage value — whichever is lower.
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APPLICATION PROCESS

A signed application form must be filed each year that an applicant wants to defer taxes.
Applications are filed at the county assessor’s office in the county where the property is located.
Only the assessor has the authority to grant or deny a deferral.

The filing deadline is September 1. An application may be filed after that date for “good cause”.

For purposes of this program, “good cause” means “factors peculiar to each claimant. Ata
minimum, the applicant must be able to demonstrate that factors outside of his or her control
were the cause for missing the statutory deadline. This includes factors which would effectively
prevent a reasonable person facing similar circumstances from filing a timely application, such
as acting or failing to act based on authoritative written advice received directly from persons
upon which a reasonable person would normally rely, severe weather conditions preventing safe
travel to the point of filing, incapacity due to illness or injury, and other factors of similar
gravity. Inadvertence or oversight is not a basis for a "good cause" extension of the filing
deadline.” See WAC 458-18A-010(9).

The application must contain the following information:

R/
A X4

Name and mailing address of applicant

Phone number and email address if applicable

Names of spouse, domestic partner, and cotenants

County parcel number

Property information — purchase date, occupancy date, acreage, zoning requirements, etc.
Mobile home title if applicable (if title has not been eliminated lien needs to be filed with
DOL)

Mobile home title elimination if applicable

Legal description

Property tax year

Property Tax Statement

Balance of mortgages, liens, and encumbrances against the property

Homeowner’s insurance policy/declaration information

Prior year income

Names and signatures of all other owners

Signature of the applicant and date signed

X/
X4

L)

X/ R/ X/ R/
LX IR X IE X IR X 4

X/
X4

L)

e

AS

X/
X4

L)

e

AS

X/
°

e

AS

X/
°

e

AS

X/
°

DELINQUENT FILINGS FOR THE LIMITED INCOME DEFERRAL PROGRAM

There is no provision for payment of delinquent taxes and assessments. Under this program,
only the second installment of taxes due in October of the current tax year is eligible for deferral.
The first half of the property taxes due in April of the current tax year must already be paid.

Prior year delinquencies do not prevent deferral in the current year but DOR cannot pay the prior
year taxes.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
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LIENS ON REAL PROPERTY

The assessor’s office generally provides the Department of Revenue (DOR) with a legal
description of the property. DOR files a lien with the county auditor to show as a public record
that the state has an interest in this property. In a situation involving excess acreage not eligible
for deferral it is the responsibility of the applicant to provide a legal description of the residence
and the portion of land that will be included in the deferral. If the applicant chooses not to do
this, DOR files the lien on the entire property, even when the state is only paying the taxes on a
portion of the land.

LIENS ON MOBILE HOMES

When an applicant has a manufactured home that is licensed through Department of Licensing,
such as a manufactured home on a rented lot in a park, the Department must have the
manufactured home title information in order to record the state as a lien-holder on that title.

Unless the title has been eliminated, when a deferral includes a mobile home the Department is
required by law to file a lien on the mobile home (See RCW 84.37.070).

DOR files an “Application for Certificate of Title” with the Department of Licensing to show the
State of Washington, Department of Revenue, as a lien-holder even when the Department is also
filing a lien on the real property.

Before the lien can be recorded, the title must be in the applicant’s name. For any change in the
“registered owner”, the Department of Licensing considers the transaction to be a change in
ownership and requires original documents. Since DOR rarely receives original documents for
deferral applications, in order to meet the ownership requirement, the title for a manufactured
home must show the applicant as the registered owner.

When you forward the deferral application to the Department, please include documentation
showing that the applicant is the registered owner and include the standard info on the
manufactured home (size, manufacturer, year, VIN, plate, etc...).

APPEALS

If an application is denied, the claimant may appeal to the county Board of Equalization. The
decision by the county Board of Equalization is final. There is no provision for appeal to the

State Board of Tax Appeals. If the applicant is notified of a denial subsequent to July 15, the
department may reconvene the Board of Equalization if requested to do so by the assessor or

claimant. WAC 458-18-090.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
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REPAYMENT OF DEFERRED TAXES

LaRetta Martin and Mark Baca, the Deferral Administrators, will provide repayment figures
upon request. LaRetta can be reached at (360) 534-1426 or at LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov. Mark
can be reached at (360) 534-1409 or at MarkB@dor.wa.gov.

Repayments should be made directly to the Washington State Department of Revenue and may
be made in either a lump sum amount or partial payments. Partial payments are applied to the
oldest interest first, and then applied to the oldest taxes.

No payments are required as long as the applicant remains eligible for the program, but the
applicant can make payments at any time he/she chooses in order to reduce the account balance.

The deferred taxes plus interest must be repaid to the state when the:

X/
X4

L)

property’s ownership is transferred;

applicant ceases to reside permanently on the property;

applicant fails to keep adequate fire insurance;

applicant passes away (unless a qualifying spouse or domestic partner elects to continue
in the program; or

property is condemned.

X/ R/
L X EIR X 4

e

*

R/
A X4

Repayment must be completed within three years of the “canceling event”. Failure to make
complete repayment within the three years will result in the county treasurer foreclosing on the

property.

INTEREST RATES

Under this program, the interest rate is a variable rate defined in RCW 84.37.070 as the “average
of the federal short-term rate as defined in 26 U.S.C. Sec. 1274(d) plus two percentage points.”

The following table shows the historic rates to date.

Tax Year Interest Rate
2008 7%
2009 5%
2010 3%
2011 3%
2012 2%
2013 2%
2014 2%
2015 2%
2016 2%



mailto:LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov
mailto:MarkB@dor.wa.gov
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://uscode.house.gov/uscode-cgi/fastweb.exe?getdoc+uscview+t26t28+947+0++%28%29%20%20AND%20%28%2826%29%20ADJ%20USC%29%3ACITE%20AND%20%28USC%20w%2F10%20%281274%29%29%3ACITE%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20
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APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:
> Provide documentation requested by the assessor.

» Notify insurance company of requirement to add State of Washington Department of
Revenue as “loss payee” and provide documentation either with application packet or
directly to DOR.

> Notify the assessor when there is a “canceling event”.

> File an application or renewal application by September 1 for each year in which deferral
of taxes and/or special assessments is desired.

> Provide a legal description for the residence and the portion of land eligible for deferral.
This applies when the parcel includes excess acreage not eligible for deferral and the
applicant wishes to exclude that acreage from the lien filed by the Department.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The duties of the county assessor can be found in RCW 84.38.110 (per RCW 84.37.090) and
WAC 458-18A-070.

The assessor must:

» Mail renewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who received a
deferral the previous year.

> Determine each year if each claimant filing a declaration to defer shall be granted a
deferral. The authority to grant or deny each deferral or deferral renewal lies with the
assessor.

> Notify the claimant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must be in
writing and should include information about appeal rights and procedures as well as the
reasons for the denial.

> Notify the county treasurer of which claimants and properties have qualified for deferral
and request a tax statement for the second installment property taxes and special
assessments due in October.

» Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the department, with the legal
description, tax statement, and insurance documentation (unless the insurance
documentation is being sent directly to the Department).

> Notify the county treasurer and the department immediately upon occurrence of any
repayment condition set forth in WAC 458-18A-100(1).



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
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DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:

>

Notify the county assessor as soon as possible if any factor appears to disqualify the
claimant. The department may audit any "declaration to defer” and/or "declaration to
renew deferral” it deems necessary.

File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to show
the state's lien on the certificate of title of a manufactured home.

Certify to the state treasurer the amount due the respective treasurers for any special
assessments and/or real property taxes deferred for that year. The state treasurer pays the
amounts certified by the Department to the county treasurers and the amount paid is then
distributed to the districts which levied the taxes or assessments.

Maintain the deferral accounts receivable by posting payments and providing account
information upon request.

Make collection arrangements for accounts with canceling events or refer the account to
the county treasurer for collection.

PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS

Keeping in mind that each assessor’s office probably has a little bit different way of
administering the program, the following is a general guide.

1.

In January of each year, mail renewal declarations to each claimant who received a
deferral in the previous year.

Review the applications received and work with the taxpayer to gather any missing
documents or make any necessary corrections, administrative segs, or adjustments to the
tax roll based on exemption status.

v" In the area “to be completed by the Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1, enter
the “Application number”. This is the applicant’s deferral account number.

» The deferral number must be in the following format for our software
Systems: #H-#tt.

» The first 2 digits are your county code. The county codes are 01 — 39, in
alpha order (i.e. Adams is 01 and Yakima is 39).

» The last 4 digits are the next consecutive deferral number in your county
(0001 —9999). If you have trouble finding that number, please contact us and
we will try to help.

> If you are in a county where you have deferrals for this program and for the
deferral program for senior citizens and disabled persons, you can also add an
alpha code at the end of the number if it will help you differentiate between
the two programs (i.e. ##-####-L or something similar).
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<

v

Verify ownership, residency, and income the same way you would for an exemption.
Verify that all other sections have been completed correctly.

Verify that the application is signed by the applicant, the applicant’s spouse or
domestic partner, and any other owners of interest. If the application is not signed,
DOR will need to return it so you can obtain signatures.

Verify that the applicant has listed the January 1 balance for all liens and mortgages
and that the amounts listed are correct by looking at mortgage statements or other
documents provided by the applicant.

Verify the insurance information. The insurance amount we need is the amount of
“dwelling coverage” listed on the policy. Make sure the applicant reads and
understands the part about listing DOR as a “loss payee” on the policy. If DOR is
NOT listed as a “loss payee”, as far as we are concerned there IS no insurance
because the policy will not protect the State’s interest in the property. Make sure the
applicant understands that the value of the dwelling cannot be included in the equity
calculation unless the State is listed as “loss payee”.

In the area “to be completed by the Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1, enter
the most current market value available. If you have already mailed valuations
notices, you should be using the new value for the current assessment year.

Do a preliminary equity calculation. If, for some reason, the equity requirement is
not met, DOR will return the application to you for denial.

Verity the parcel size and zoning/land use requirements. If it’s more than one acre,
verify whether the larger parcel size is required by local zoning. Make sure this part
of the application is completed (under Part 3). Taxes can be paid for up to 5 acres
as long as the larger parcel size is required by local zoning/land use regulations.

Complete any necessary administrative segs or combos prior to approval so you can
include a correct tax parcel number, tax/assessment statement, and legal description
with the application packet when you send it to DOR.

Complete any necessary corrections to the tax roll as a result of a new exemption or a
change in status for an existing exemption. Include the corrected tax statement when
you send the application packet to DOR.

Approve or deny the deferral.

3. If the application is denied, notify the applicant in writing and include the reason for
denial. The denial should include notification of appeal rights and procedures for
submitting an appeal. Form 64 0090 is the correct appeal form to use.

4. 1If the application is approved, enter the approval date in the area “to be completed by the
Assessor’s Office” at the bottom of Page 1.

v

Please do not approve the application and send it to DOR until all administrative segs
and/or adjustments for exemption status are completed.


http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/TxpyrPetnCoBOERevwSnrCitzDsbldPrsnExemp.doc
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5.

8.

v Request a copy of the tax statement to include with the application packet when you
send it to DOR.

Send the approved application to DOR, keeping either the original or a copy for your
files. You can send the application packet by regular mail or via email in pdf format.

v"If you send the packet via email, make sure the scanned copy is legible. You may
need to adjust the dpi setting on your scanner. If you can’t easily read it after
scanning, we will not be able to either.

v Do not send the verification documents (income, age, disability, etc.).

<

Include the property tax statement with the application packet.

v Make sure to include the legal description for new deferral applicants — not
necessary for renewals. DOR must file a lien before issuing payment. Include the
legal description required for recording a valid lien against the subject property. You
may need to include a copy of a prior deed if you only have the abbreviated legal.

v Include the insurance documentation if it has been provided.

v Include manufacture home information for new deferral applicants — not
renewals - if the title has not been eliminated.

v" Use the checklist on the following page to make sure everything is complete and
ready to go.

When DOR requests payment by the State Treasurer, we will send you a copy of the
report showing the payments that we requested. We usually do two requests each month.
We also send a copy of the report to your treasurer and/or special district along with the
tax and/or special assessment statements. Your treasurer will also receive notice from the
State Treasurer of a pending EFT (Electronic Fund Transfer) and the deposit will be
available to your treasurer within a couple of days after that notice.

If you receive notification of a sale of property, death of a claimant, move to a new
residence, etc. for someone who has an active deferral account, notify DOR as soon as
possible so we can contact the new owner, estate representative, etc. You can call or fax
or send a hardcopy — or — just send an email with as much information as you have (i.e.
date of sale, date of death, new address for the claimant, address for new owner, etc.).

In early January, you will receive a set of reports from DOR.

¢ List of active deferral accounts - Review this list to make sure all of the applicants
listed in your county still own and reside at the property where the tax was
deferred.

¢+ List of accounts paid and closed — These accounts were paid and closed during the
previous year. If any of these applicants re-apply, you will need to assign a brand
new deferral account number and treat the application like any other new deferral.

+¢ List of participants who deferred taxes in the prior year - You can use this list as
your mailing list to send renewals.
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HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME
CHECKLIST FOR DEFERRAL APPLICATIONS

COUNTY

ASSESSOR’S DEPUTY:

PH: ( ) - FAX: ( ) -

EMAIL:

TAXPAYER’S NAME:

DEFERRING 2"° HALF TAX DUE OCTOBER 31 FOR TAX YEAR:

APPLICATION (DEFERRAL NUMBER):

VERIFICATION AND ACTIONS COMPLETED:

OWNERSHIP STATUS VERIFIED:

PARCEL SIZE/ZONING REQUIREMENTS VERIFIED:
MORTGAGE AND OTHER LIENS VERIFIED:
ADMINISTRATIVE SEG COMPLETE IF NEEDED:

ATTACHMENTS INCLUDED WITH APPLICATION:

INSURANCE: WITH STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE:

WITHOUT STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE:

LEGAL DESCRIPTION:
MOBILE HOME INFO IF TITLED WITH DOL:
TREASURER’S TAX STATEMENT:

NOTES:
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DEFERRAL PROGRAM

HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOMES

“QUICK REFERENCE”

Subject RCW 84.37 WAC 458-18A
Administration 040 030
Appeals 040 090
Assessor Duties/Authority 040 070
Definitions 020 010
Department Duties/Authority 080
Equity % %
010
Fire and Casualty Insurance 020
100
Good Cause 040 010(9)
Income 030 020
Lien and Interest Rate 070 %
Ownership 030 020
Quialifications 030 020
Renewals 050 050
Repayment 080 100
Residence 010
Residency % %
Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner 080 100



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
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RCW 84.37.010 Findings — Intent.

RCW 84.37.020 Definitions.

RCW 84.37.030 Deferral program qualifications.

RCW 84.37.040 Deferral program administration.

RCW 84.37.050 Renewals — Requirement to reside on property.
RCW 84.37.060 Right to defer not reduced by contract or agreement.
RCW 84.37.070 State lien on property.

RCW 84.37.080 Conditions under which deferment ends.

RCW 84.37.090 Applicable statutory provisions.

RCW 84.37.900

Severability — 2007 sp.s. ¢ 2.

RCW 84.37.901 Application -- 2007 sp.s. c 2.
RCW 84.37.902 Review by the joint legislative audit and review committee.
RCW 84.37.903 Effective date -- 2007 sp.s. ¢ 2.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.900
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.901
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.902
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.903
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WAC 458-18A-010 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Definitions

WAC 458-18A-020 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Qualifications for deferral.

WAC 458-18A-030 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to defer - Filing - Forms.

WAC 458-18A-040 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Lien of
state - Mortgage - Purchase contract - Deed of trust.

WAC 458-18A-050 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to renew deferral - Filing - Forms.

WAC 458-18A-060 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Limitations
of deferral - Interest.

WAC 458-18A-070 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the county assessor.

WAC 458-18A-080 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the department of revenue - State treasurer.

WAC 458-18A-090 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Appeals.

WAC 458-18A-100 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - When

payable - Collection - Partial payment.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
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GRANT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
FOR
WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS OF VETERANS

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this program is to provide assistance to widows or widowers of qualified veterans
so they can remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. This program is not a true
exemption or a deferral. For the qualified applicant the state pays, in the form of a grant, a
portion of the property taxes levied. There is no shift of the property tax burden to other
taxpayers and there is no requirement for repayment unless the applicant ceases to occupy the
home as a primary residence prior to December 15 in the year the assistance was paid.

THE APPLICANT

The applicant must meet the age/disability requirement, must have an ownership interest in the
property, and the property must be the applicant’s primary residence. The applicant must be the
widow or widower of a qualifying veteran and must not have remarried or entered into a state
registered domestic partnership.
A qualifying veteran is one who:

e Died as a result of a service-connected disability; OR

e Was rated as 100 percent disabled by the Veteran’s Administration for the 10 years prior
to his or her death; OR

e Was a former prisoner of war and was rated as 100 percent disabled for one or more
years prior to his or her death; OR

e Died on active duty or in active training status.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 62 by December 31 of the application year.
-OR -
The applicant must be disabled. The definition of disability in RCW 84.36.383(7) has been

linked to the definition used for Social Security purposes [U.S.C. Sec. 423(d)(1)(A)]. The
disability must be such that the applicant is unable to pursue substantial gainful employment and



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
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the condition must either be expected to result in death or must have lasted, or be expected to
last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months. The disability need not be permanent.
Annually, the Social Security Administration determines the amount a claimant may earn
without being considered “gainfully employed”. There are separate limits for those who are
blind. You can find annual limits for allowable earned income in the Combined Disposable
Income section of this manual or at the Social Security website at
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html.

RESIDENCY AND OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be the applicant’s principal home. He/she must live in the home for more
than six months each year. The home may be temporarily unoccupied while the applicant is in a
hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family home as
provided in RCW 84.36.381(1).

The applicant must have had an ownership interest in the property as of December 31 of the
assessment year for tax relief in the following year.

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase contract or deed of
trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative housing, a life estate, a lease for
life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership requirement. RCW 84.39.010(4).

An irrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualifications. The trust must be expressly not
revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant must have a
life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust containing the residence
(i.e. the trust estate containing the residence).

The assistance applies to the primary residence and one acre, or up to five acres if the larger
parcel size is required under local land use regulations. The residence may be a single-family
dwelling, one unit of a multi-unit dwelling, or a manufactured home.

TO QUALIFY FOR ASSISTANCE ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2016
The application is due 30 days before the tax due date.
Applicants must declare 2015 income.
Combined disposable income must not exceed $40,000 in 2015.

DD

The applicant must be at least 62 years of age by December 31, 2016, or must have been
disabled as of December 31, 2015.

5. The applicant must own the home as of December 31, 2015, and must reside in the home for
at least six months in 2016.



http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
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INCOME REQUIREMENTS

The combined disposable income for the applicant and any co-tenants must not exceed $40,000.

Applicants should also apply for the exemption program in order to receive the maximum
amount of property tax assistance.

FILING THE APPLICATION

The application is due 30 days before the taxes are due. Applications are submitted directly to
the Department of Revenue. In order to continue receiving assistance, the participant must
submit an annual renewal application.

APPEALS

When an application is denied, it may be appealed to the State Board of Tax Appeals within 30

days of the date the determination was mailed.

ASSISTANCE LEVELS

To receive the maximum amount of assistance, applicants who are qualified must also apply for
the Exemption Program. When an application is approved, the assistance from the grant
program is equal to the regular and excess property taxes that are due on the difference between
the value of the residence that is eligible for relief under the Exemption Program and:

e The first $100,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a combined
disposable income of $30,000 or less;

e The first $75,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a combined
disposable income of $30,001 to $35,000;

e The first $50,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a combined
disposable income of $35,001 to $40,000.

Example: If the value of the residence is $200,000 and the CDI is $32,000, under the
Exemption Program the applicant is eligible for an exemption on regular property taxes on
$70,000 in value and 100 percent of taxes due on excess levies. Under the Grant Assistance
Program, the applicant is eligible for additional assistance in the amount equal to the taxes on an
additional $5,000 in value. Whether or not the applicant applies for the Exemption, under the
Grant Assistance Program he/she will still only receive assistance for taxes on the additional
$5,000 in value.
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REPAYMENT OF ASSISTANCE

If the applicant moves to an alternate residence, all or part of the assistance received by the
applicant may have to be repaid if the applicant ceases to occupy the property prior to December
15 of the year in which assistance is received. In this case, the amount of assistance is prorated
from the date the applicant moved out. A lien may be placed on the property until repayment of
the assistance has been completed.

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:

Provide documentation requested by the department.

Notify the department if the home is no longer used as a primary residence.

File a renewal application for each year in which they wish to receive assistance.
Provide a legal description for the residence and the portion of land eligible for
assistance.

YV VY

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:

» Mail renewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who received

assistance the previous year.

> Determine each year whether the applicant is eligible for assistance and determine the
assistance amount. The authority to grant or deny claims for assistance under this
program lies with the Department.
Notify the claimant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must be in
writing and include information about appeals rights and procedures as well as the
reasons for the denial.
Issue payment to applicant or applicant’s mortgage company as requested by applicant.
Make collection arrangements for any prorated amount in the case where an applicant
vacates the primary residence prior to December 15 in the year the claim is paid.
Maintain the accounts receivable by posting payments and providing account information
upon request.
File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to show
the state's lien on the certificate of title of a manufactured home if necessary for
collection of repayments.

A\

Y WV VYV

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The assessor must:
» Provide application forms and publications for taxpayers who may qualify for the
program.
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» Provide information requested by the department via automated email, i.e. property

information, value, levy rates, and exemption level. Following is a sample email request.

| have received an application for the Property Tax Assistance Program for Widows or
Widowers of Veterans on parcel number(s) #########, owned by Applicant Name.

Under this program, assistance may be provided for payment of taxes on the primary
residence and up to one acre, or up to five acres if local zoning and land use regulations
require the larger parcel size. (Example: If local zoning requires 5 acres per residence
and an applicant owns 1 acre, the exemption would apply to 1 acre. If local zoning
requires 2 acres per residence and an applicant owns 5 acres, the exemption would apply
to 2 acres. If the zoning requirement is 10 acres per residence and an applicant owns 10
acres, the exemption would apply to 5 acres.)

Please provide the following parcel data for tax year 2016:
This property includes: (check all that apply)

____ More than one residence and/or additional improvements that are not normally
part of a residence.

__ More than one acre of land. If yes, provide the following:
Total lot or parcel size:
Minimum parcel size per residence required by local zoning:

Assessed Value: Frozen Value or Market Value
(Please provide the frozen or market value, as applicable.)

Exempt Value:
(Provide the dollar amount of the frozen value actually exempt from taxes through the
Senior/Disabled Exemption Program.)

Taxable Value:
(Provide the value actually taxable after the exemption is applied.)

Regular Levy Rate:

Excess Levy Rate: (Voter approved levies)

Total Combined Levy Rate:

If this parcel is currently subject to an exemption under the Senior Citizen/Disabled
Person Exemption Program, what is the Combined Disposable Income level of the
applicant?

_ $0t0$30,000 _ $30,001 to $35,000 __ $35,001 to $40,000 __Not Exempt
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Please reply via e-mail or fax; and feel free to contact me with any questions or
concerns.

| thank you in advance for your prompt response to this request.
Sincerely,

Grant Administrator

Property Tax/DOR

Phone 360-534-1409
Fax 360-534-1380
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GRANT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM FOR WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS OF VETERANS

“QUICK REFERENCE”

Subject RCW 84.39
Appeals 020
Assessor/Treasurer Duties 060
Definitions 010
Department Duties / Authority 060
Documentation 020
Filing Requirements 020
Income Limit 010
Qualifications for Applicant 010
Quialifications for Deceased Veteran 010
Renewals 030
Repayment 050



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.050
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REVISED CODE OF WASHINGTON

RCW 84.39.010 Exemption authorized -- Qualifications.

RCW 84.39.020 Filing claim for exemption -- Requirements.

RCW 84.39.030 Continued eligibility -- Renewal forms.

RCW 84.39.040 Agent or guardian filing claim on behalf of claimant.
RCW 84.39.050 Failure to reside on property -- Repayment.

RCW 84.39.060 Determination of assistance -- Biennial budget request.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
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RESIDENCY AND OWNERSHIP
RESIDENCY

RCW 84.36.381 says the "property taxes must have been imposed upon a residence which was
occupied by the person claiming the exemption as a principal place of residence as of the time of
filing."

The “time of filing” is when the application was due had it been filed on time — i.e. December 31
of the year before the tax to be exempted is due. So, to receive exemption on the 2016 taxes, the
applicant must occupy the residence as of 12/31/2015.

WAC 458-16A-100(25) says that "principal residence” means the claimant owns and occupies
the residence as his or her principal or main residence. It does not include a residence used
merely as a vacation home. For purposes of continuing these programs, the claimant must
occupy the residence for more than six months each year. That means the applicant must meet
the “more than six months” requirement in each year going forward in order to continue
uninterrupted participation in the program.

Examplel: The applicant purchases the home in December and, literally, moves in on
December 31. He/she still meets the initial application requirement for that first
“claimed” exemption. However, after that, he/she has to live there for more than 6
months each year in order to continue the exemption.

Example2: The applicant is a “snowbird” and travels to a warmer and dryer location
during the wettest and coldest months. The applicant lives in the residence from March
through October and then flies south for November through February. He/she is still
considered to be occupying the residence as the primary residence as of December 31
because he/she is still living in the home for more than six months each year.

WAC 458-16A-135(5) says that a claimant must present documents deemed necessary by the
Assessor to demonstrate that the claimant is eligible for the exemption, including documents
demonstrating that the property is the claimant's principle residence.

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult
family home

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family
home (whether the confinement is short-term or long-term) will not disqualify the applicant
when the principal residence is:

e temporarily unoccupied,;

e occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another person who is financially
dependent on the applicant;

e occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house; or

¢ rented for the purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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The Department of Social and Health Services maintains a list of licensed facilities (hospitals,
nursing homes, assisted living facilities or boarding homes, and adult family homes) on their
website at http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/.

What is “temporarily unoccupied”?

The Department opinion on this issue is that “Senior citizens always intend to return home
regardless of the length of time they are incarcerated in a hospital, assisted living facility
(boarding home), adult family home or nursing home.”

Notice — there is nothing in law or rule saying that the stay in the facility must be
temporary. The only use of the word “temporary” is in reference to the status of the residence,
i.e. “temporarily unoccupied”.

There is no specific definition in the law about the upper range of “temporary"” or when the line
is crossed and “temporarily unoccupied” becomes “permanent”.

Our staff attorney found that in federal and state court cases it appears that "intent" has been held
to be the real determinant in other states. Does the occupant of the residence "intend" to return to
the exempt residence even though it is currently “temporarily unoccupied”?

If the residence is unoccupied and there is a clear situation where the senior/disabled participant

specifically expresses the intent to not return to the residence even when/if they are able, then the
property would no longer qualify for the exemption.

OWNERSHIP

Examine documents carefully to determine ownership of the property.

When you are determining ownership for the purposes of these programs, you should look at all
pertinent documents. Review the ownership documents to determine whether the applicant has
sole ownership, joint tenancy, joint ownership, or life estate, etc. Determine whether this is the
applicant's sole and separate property. In some cases, there may be a percentage of ownership
agreement between two or more parties and that percentage may be equal or unequal, divided or
undivided. Determine whether the applicant has a life estate in the property. If ownership is
through a trust, determine whether the trust is revocable or irrevocable and whether the elements
contained in the language of the trust meet the definition of “life estate” for purposes of meeting
the ownership requirement for the exemption program. See WAC 458-16A-100(21).

Always keep a copy of unrecorded ownership documents with the applicant's file. Your
authority to retain a copy of unrecorded ownership documents can be found in WAC 458-16A-

135(5)(e)(i).



http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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Deeds

A “deed” is a written document that conveys an interest in the property, is signed by the party
conveying the interest, and properly acknowledged by someone authorized to take
acknowledgment of deeds. Typically, acknowledgment is by a notary public or a county auditor.

A deed does not have to be recorded to be a valid deed but there must be some form of
acknowledgment.

A lease for life or life estate is a real property interest and must be conveyed by deed.

See RCW 64.04.010, 64.04.020, and 64.08.010.

Know the definitions of terms you use.

Keep in mind that the terms used to describe ownership interest are generally not
interchangeable. For instance, joint tenancy and joint tenancy with rights of survivorship are not
the same. Black's Law Dictionary is an excellent reference source for definitions of terms not
specifically defined in the applicable RCW or WAC rules. You can also ask your county
prosecutor if you need clarification.

Review the ownership requirements for the program.

The ownership requirements are different for each program. Make sure your decision complies
with the applicable laws and rules for the program.

TYPES OF OWNERSHIP

Exemption Program — Qualifying ownership includes fee simple, contract purchase, life estate
and lease for life. A trust may meet the ownership requirement if it creates a life estate for the
applicant. RCW 84.36.381 and WAC 458-16A-100(21).

Deferral and Grant Assistance Programs - A claimant who has only a share ownership in
cooperative housing, a life estate, a lease for life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the
ownership requirement. Irrevocable trusts may qualify. The trust must be expressly not
revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant must have a
life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust containing the residence
(i.e. the trust estate containing the residence). RCW 84.37.030(5); RCW 84.38.030(4); RCW

84.39.010(4).



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
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Community Property

WAC 458-16A-100(23) Ownership by a marital community or domestic partnership.
"Ownership by a marital community or domestic partnership™ means property owned in common
by both spouses or domestic partners. Property held in separate ownership by one spouse or
domestic partner is not owned by the marital community or domestic partnership. The person
claiming the exemption must own the property for which the exemption is claimed.

Example: A person qualifying for the exemption by virtue of age, disability, or one
hundred percent disabled veteran status cannot claim exemption on a residence owned by
the person’s spouse or domestic partner as a separate estate outside the marital
community or domestic partnership unless the claimant has a life estate therein.

Joint Tenancy — or — Tenants in Common

A joint tenant or tenant in common has only a share interest. The share interest may be the same
“size” as that of the other joint tenants, or the ownership share may be a specified percentage.
Upon the death of one of the joint tenants, that share passes to the deceased tenant’s heirs. The
exemption and grant assistance apply only to the taxes attributable to the share interest owned by
the applicant.

For the exemption program, that means you will also have a percentage share of the exemption
unless the co-owners actually live in the residence with the applicant. See FAQ’s for examples.

For the deferral programs, we can pay the entire tax bill but the equity calculation will be based

only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership share. To calculate the equity, use the
applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens and encumbrances.

Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship

A joint tenant with rights of survivorship holds an undivided interest in the entire property, and
upon the death of one of the joint tenants, the surviving joint tenant(s) continues to hold the
property in fee, or in JTWROS. This type of ownership is treated similar to a marital community
ownership. Since there is an undivided ownership interest in the entire property, the
tenant/applicant is entitled to “undivided” (full 100%) property tax relief.

For example, Mr. Smith and Ms. Doe own a property via JTWROS. When Mr. Smith
applies for exemption, he is entitled to a full exemption on the entire property. When Mr.
Smith passes away, Ms. Doe has an undivided interest in the property and Mr. Smith’s
heirs do not inherit.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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Lease for Life/Life Estates

A lease for life or life estate is a real property interest and must be conveyed by deed. Deeds
must be acknowledged. Therefore, we cannot accept proof of lease for life or life estate unless it
is by deed and so acknowledged.

See WAC 458-16A-100(19) and (21) for definitions of Lease for Life and Life Estate.

RCW 64.04.010 - “Every conveyance of real estate, or any interest therein, and every contract
creating or evidencing any encumbrance upon real estate, shall be by deed....”

RCW 64.04.020 — “Every deed shall be in writing, signed by the party bound thereby, and
acknowledged by the party before some person authorized by this act to take acknowledgments
of deeds.”

RCW 64.08.010 — “Acknowledgments of deeds ... may be taken in this state before a justice of
the supreme court, or the clerk thereof, or the deputy of such clerk, before a judge of the court of
appeals, or the clerk thereof, before a judge of the superior court, or qualified court
commissioner thereof, or the clerk thereof, or the deputy of such clerk, or a county auditor, or the
deputy of such auditor, or a qualified notary public, or a qualified United States commissioner
appointed by any district court of the United States for this state, and all said instruments
heretofore executed and acknowledged according to the provisions of this section are herby
declared legal and valid.”

Trusts
Beneficiary — the one who benefits from the trust.

Irrevocable Trust — a trust which may not be revoked after its creation as in the case of a deposit
of money by one in the name of another as trustee for the benefit of a third person (beneficiary).
A testamentary trust is a trust specified in a person’s will and it becomes a legal entity upon the
death of the testator. When the creator of the trust has passed away the will, and therefore the
trust, cannot be changed. Therefore, the testamentary trust is irrevocable once the testator has
passed away.

Living Trust - usually, the beneficiary does not benefit during the lifetime of the trustee if the
trustee is the same as the trustor. So, if the beneficiary is the applicant then they would not meet
the ownership requirement until the trustee dies.

Revocable Trust — a trust in which the settlor reserves the right to revoke.

Trustee — the one who holds legal title to the property in order to administer it for the beneficiary
— the agent for the trust.

Trustor — the one who creates the trust - also called the settlor or creator.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 114
Section VI ¢ Residency and Ownership

Revocable vs. Irrevocable — It is the general rule that, in the absence of an express reservation, a
trustor cannot revoke a trust without the consent of the trustee and all beneficiaries. The general
rule then, is that if there is no language reserving the right to revoke in the trust, the trust is
irrevocable. There is an exception to that general rule to allow a trust to be revoked if the trustor
is the sole beneficiary. However, for purposes of qualifying for the Deferral and Grant
Assistance Programs, the trust must be expressly irrevocable.

v If the trust is expressly revocable, the trustor may meet the ownership requirements for the
Exemption Program.

v If the trust does not contain language regarding revocability and the trustor is the sole
beneficiary then the trust is revocable and the trustor may meet the ownership requirements
for the Exemption Program.

v If the trust does not contain language regarding revocability and the trustor is not the sole
beneficiary then the trust is irrevocable. The trust may meet the requirements for the
Exemption Program.

v If the trust is expressly irrevocable, and the applicant is the trustee or beneficiary, then the
applicant may be eligible for the Deferral and Grant Assistance Programs. The applicant
may also meet the requirement for the Exemption Program.

v If the trust is expressly irrevocable and the claimant is the beneficiary with a beneficial
interest in the primary residence that lasts at least as long as the applicant’s lifetime, the
applicant may be eligible for all four programs.

DETERMINING WHETHER OR NOT A TRUST MEETS THE OWNERSHIP
REQUIREMENT FOR THE EXEMPTION PROGRAM

RCW 84.36.381(2) says that, in order to qualify for the exemption, the applicant must have
owned the residence at the time of filing "in fee, as a life estate, or by contract purchase"”. It also
says that a lease for life shall be deemed a life estate.

For the Exemption Program, there is no provision in the statute for ownership through a trust. In
order to satisfy the ownership requirement, the trust must create a life estate for the applicant.

WAC 458-16A-100(21) defines a "life estate" as:

(21) Life estate. 'Life estate’ means an estate whose duration is limited to the life of the party
holding it or of some other person.

(a) Reservation of a life estate upon a principal residence placed in trust or transferred to
another is a life estate.

(b) Beneficial interest in a trust is considered a life estate for the settlor of a revocable or
irrevocable trust who grants to himself or herself the beneficial interest directly in his or


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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her principal residence, or the part of the trust containing his or her personal residence,
for at least the period of his or her life.

(c) Beneficial interest in an irrevocable trust is considered a life estate, or a lease for life,
for the beneficiary who is granted the beneficial interest representing his or her principal
residence held in an irrevocable trust, if the beneficial interest is granted under the trust
instrument for a period that is not less than the beneficiary's life.

Therefore, in order to qualify as a life estate for this program:

(@) The applicant must have reserved a life estate when the property was put into the
trust;

OR

(b) The applicant must be the "settlor” or creator of the trust (either revocable or
irrevocable) and must grant to himself/herself a beneficiary interest in the principal
residence or that specific portion of the trust and that beneficiary interest must last for at
least the person’s lifetime.

OR
(c) The trust must be irrevocable and the person must be the beneficiary and have been

granted the beneficial interest in the principal residence portion of the trust for at least the
person's lifetime.

TRUSTS —STEP BY STEP

When | analyze a trust document, | treat it like a multiple-choice quiz — process of elimination.

1. Did the applicant reserve a life estate (or have a life estate reserved for them by someone
else) on the deed when the property was transferred to the trust? If the answer is yes,
stop here. The applicant meets the ownership requirement for the exemption program
and you do not need to go any further. If the answer is no, go to step 2.

2. Isthe trust revocable? If the answer is yes, go to Step 3. If the answer is no, go to Step
4,

3. Revocable - Is the applicant the “settlor” or “creator” of the trust? If the answer is no,
you can stop here because the applicant does not qualify. If the answer is yes, go to Step
5.

4. Irrevocable — Is the applicant the “settlor” or “creator” of the trust? If the answer is yes,
go to Step 5. If the answer is no, go to Step 6.
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5. Revocable or Irrevocable - has the applicant granted to himself/herself a beneficiary
interest in the primary residence that lasts for at least his/her lifetime? If the answer is
no, the applicant does not qualify. If the answer is yes, the applicant meets the ownership
qualification.

6. Irrevocable — Is the applicant the beneficiary and has he/she been granted the beneficial
interest in the principal residence portion of the trust for at least his/her lifetime. If the
answer is no, the applicant does not meet the ownership requirement. If the answer is
yes, the ownership requirement is met.

There will still be times when you find it difficult to determine whether there is a “beneficial
interest in the primary residence” and whether that interest lasts for at least the period of the
applicant’s lifetime.

Remember, if you have trouble making a determination, you have resources. You can contact
your county legal resources or you can ask for help from the Department of Revenue.

IMPORTANT: Usually trusts are not recorded and your records reflect ownership by the trust
— or by the trustee/agent on behalf of the trust. That means that you should keep a copy of the
trust in your files to show why you granted an exemption to someone who is not reflected as the
property owner on your records.
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DOCUMENTATION AND RECORDS RETENTION

SIGNATURES

All applications or renewals, for any of the programs, must be signed by the applicant or the
applicant’s duly authorized agent, or by a guardian or other person who is responsible for the
care of the person or property of the applicant. See WAC 458-16A-135(5), WAC 458-18-
030(1), WAC 458-18A-030(1), and RCW 84.39.020(2).

In commercial law, an “agent” is a person Who is authorized to act on behalf of another to create
a legal relationship with a third party. For purposes of these programs, the “agent” must have
legal authority, such as power of attorney, to act on behalf of the applicant.

For exemptions, the application or renewal must also be signed by two witnesses or by the
assessor’s deputy. If the applicant lives in a cooperative housing unit, the authorized agent for
the cooperative housing association, cooperative housing corporation, or cooperative housing
partnership must also sign the application.

See RCW 84.36.387(1).

For the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons, the application or
renewal must also be signed by the lien holder if the property is subject to a deed of trust,
mortgage, or purchase contract requiring accumulation of reserves to pay property taxes.

In addition, for deferrals, the application or renewal must be signed by the spouse, domestic
partner, cotenant, and anyone else with a legal interest in the property. WAC 458-18-030(2) and
WAC 458-18A-030(2) say the deferral declaration must list everyone with an interest in the
property and that all of those parties must sign the application. Although it may seem like an
extra step, believe it or not, it is actually a help when there is a canceling event and it’s time to
collect the deferral balance. We have had surviving spouses tell us they were not aware of the
deferral, but when we look back at the application forms, we are able to show that he/she
actually signed the forms in prior years.

DOCUMENTATION

The assessor determines which documents are necessary to demonstrate that the claimant
qualifies for the exemption and the deferral programs. See WAC 458-16A-135(5).

Documents that may be required include:
» Copies of any legal instruments demonstrating the claimant’s interest in the property.
» Documents demonstrating the property is the claimant’s principal residence.

» Copies of legal identification showing the claimant’s age.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.387
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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> For aclaim based on a disability, either a physician’s affidavit or copies of written
acknowledgment or decision by the Social Security Administration or the Veterans
Administration. With passage of HB 1966 in 2007, signatures of certified physician
assistants and certified osteopathic physician assistants are acceptable on the Proof of
Disability Affidavit.

> Copies of documents showing earned income for the claimant, spouse, domestic partner and
cotenants.

» Federal statements showing Social Security paid.

> Federal statements showing railroad retirement benefits.

> Federal income tax returns with supporting forms, schedules, and worksheets.
» Copies of invoices for non-reimbursed nursing home and in-home care.

> Copies of checks or other payment statements for non-reimbursed prescription drugs IF the
amount claimed exceeds five hundred dollars.

> If no federal returns were filed or received, copies of documents demonstrating income for
the claimant, spouse, domestic partner, and cotenants. These include W-2’s, 1099’s,
checking account registers, bank statements, public assistance check stubs, etc. The claimant
must produce copies of documents demonstrating the source of the funds they are living on
and using to pay the bills for maintaining the claimant and the residence.

» Any other copies of documents the assessor requires in his or her discretion to
demonstrate the claimant qualifies for the property tax relief program.

RECORDS RETENTION

WAC 458-16A-140(3) explains the application review process and the rule directs the assessor
to destroy or return any supporting documents used to verify age or income after the application
review is complete.

WAC 458-16A-140(3) Processing exemption applications. County assessors process
applications for the senior citizen or disabled person exemption. The assessors grant or deny the
exemption based upon these completed applications.
(a) Application review. The county assessor reviews a completed application and its
supporting documents.
The assessor:
(i) Notes on a checklist for the claimant's file the supporting documents received,;
(i) Reviews the supporting documents;
(iii) Records relevant information from the supporting documents into the claimant's file.
In particular, the assessor records into the file the claimant's age and a summary of


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
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the income information received; and
(iv) After reviewing the supporting documents, must either destroy or return the
supporting documents used to verify the claimant's age and income.

That means, after the review cycle ends on May 31%, any documentation used to verify age or
income should be returned or destroyed each year. As stated in the WAC rule, you should be
using Income Checklists to record which income documents were reviewed each year.

Documents that are not used to verify either age or income fall under the regular records
retention schedule. Your county should have an existing records retention schedule that will tell
you how long you need to save the income checklists, applications, and other documents for the
exemption and deferral programs.

For your convenience, following is a link to the RCW governing records retention: RCW
40.14.070. If your county does not have an approved records retention schedule, before
destroying any documents you should contact the Local Records Committee.

Proof of Disability, Trust documents, Life Estate/L ease for Life documents, and
unrecorded deeds

In order to avoid having to request the taxpayer to provide these documents again, you should
retain any of these necessary records if they still apply — or apply for any years that might still be
adjusted. For instance, once you have documentation that the participant has met the age
requirement for more than 6 years, you could purge the disability information. The same thing
applies to the ownership documents.

IMPORTANT: Usually trusts are not recorded and your records reflect ownership by the trust
— or by the trustee/agent on behalf of the trust. That means that you should keep a copy of the
trust in your files to show why you granted an exemption to someone who is not reflected as the
property owner on your records.

Until the participant is reflected on the assessor’s records as the actual owner of record for more
than 6 years, you should keep the documents showing why that person is eligible for property tax
relief even though he/she is not the owner of record.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=40.14.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=40.14.070
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CALCULATING COMBINED DISPOSABLE INCOME
FOR THE
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS

INTRODUCTION

Combined disposable income is used to determine eligibility for all of the property tax relief
programs for senior citizens and disabled persons and for the deferral program for homeowners
with limited income. The exemption, deferral, and grant programs all use the same calculation.
A similar calculation is used for determining eligibility for residents in nonprofit Homes for the
Aging.

Note: Do not use this calculation for nonprofit Homes for the Aging! You can find the
calculation for the nonprofit Homes for the Aging at: RCW 84.36.041.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

At the end of this section in your manual, the following additional information has been
provided.

% Worksheets for calculating installment sales and capital gains.

% A list of possible expense items used to determine the basis of the asset sold when added
to or subtracted from the original cost of the asset.

%+ Sample letter and questionnaire to use when an applicant reports -0- income.

%+ Sample worksheet to calculate CDI — this is the worksheet | use because it makes the
calculation quick and easy.

% Decoding SS Claim Numbers — to determine the meaning of the claim number in Box 8
of the SS statement.

%+ 1099-R with instructions — useful to determine the meaning of the codes used in Boxes 5
and 7.

s 4506-T — you can use this form to request a transcript of an applicant’s actual IRS tax
return — or confirmation that one was not filed. You can also use it to request a transcript
of the applicant’s 1099’s etc.

%+ SSA Press Release date July 2014 — advises local offices will continue to provide income
verification documents.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
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SSA ANNUAL LIMITS FOR SUBSTANTIAL GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT PER SOCIAL

SECURITY WEBSITE AT: Substantial Gainful Activity

Income SSA Monthly Earned Income Limit
Year Non-Blind Blind
2015 $1,090 $1,820
2014 $1,070 $1,800
2013 $1,040 $1,740
2012 $1,010 $1,690
2011 $1,000 $1,640
2010 $1,000 $1,640
2009 $980 $1,640
2008 $940 $1,570
2007 $900 $1,500
2006 $860 $1,450
2005 $830 $1,380
2004 $810 $1,350

Definition Effective June 10, 2004 (SB 5034)

MID-YEAR CHANGES IN INCOME

What happens when an applicant has a mid-year change in income because of retirement, the

death of a spouse or domestic partner, or other circumstances?

According to RCW 84.36.381(4), if the applicant’s income changed for two or more months of

the assessment year and the change is likely to continue for an indefinite period of time, the

combined disposable income must be calculated by determining the average monthly combined
disposable income after the change and multiplying by twelve.

Notice, this is not optional. The statute says income MUST be calculated this way in this

situation.

Example 1: One spouse passed away in August. Prior to passing, he received a
retirement pension and social security and he was in an assisted living facility and was
taking multiple medications. When calculating income for the exemption level for the

surviving spouse, you should use her average monthly income beginning in September.
You should not include the deceased spouse’s income or the costs of his medications and
facility care. The idea behind using the “averaging” method is to calculate income based

on the average income the applicant receives during the months after the change in

circumstances occurred.


http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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Example 2: An applicant retired two months before the end of the year but was retained
on a call-in per diem basis and has continued to work on a part-time basis. The
applicant’s income was substantially reduced for the last two months of the year due to
retirement but he/she still received wages of $1,790 over the two-month period. In
addition, he/she began receiving Social Security of $1,200 per month and had
prescription drug costs in the amount of $180 for the 2-month period.

To calculate income in this case, you would include the $1,200 per month in SS; plus
$895, the monthly average of the earnings ($1,790 divided by 2); minus $90, the monthly
average of the allowable deductions ($180 divided by 2); for a total average monthly
combined disposable income of $2,005. Then, multiplying by 12, we can estimate annual
income of $24,060.

Example 3: An applicant retires at age 62 and starts collecting Social Security

benefits. Income averaging is used to estimate income and an exemption is approved. At
age 65, the applicant decides to return to work because he/she can now collect full Social
Security regardless of the amount of wages earned. The applicant files a Change in Status
and the exemption is removed because the income limit is exceeded. At age 70, the
applicant retires again and reapplies for the exemption, requesting that the Assessor use
income averaging and exclude the wages earned up to the date of the second retirement.

Under RCW 84.36.381(4), when the applicant is retired for two or more months of the
assessment/income year, the assessor must use income averaging to calculate combined
disposable income.

Sometimes, as in Example 2, you can estimate income for the first exemption year but you may
not be confident that you can rely on that estimate on a continuing basis, especially if you use a
six-year renewal cycle. In Example 2, because the taxpayer is working part-time, it would be
wise to flag this account for a follow-up so you can base the ongoing exemption on a full income
year.

DISPOSABLE INCOME

The starting point to determine the applicant’s disposable income is Adjusted Gross Income
(AGI) as defined by the Internal Revenue Service. Many applicants file an IRS Form 1040 with
the Internal Revenue Service. Adjusted gross income is on the last line of page one of Form
1040.

In the laws and rules, disposable income is defined as “adjusted gross income” as defined by the
Internal Revenue Service, plus the following items to the extent they were not included in, or
were deducted from, income used to determine adjusted gross income:

e Capital Gains (except the capital gain resulting from the sale of a primary residence if the
gain was re-invested in a replacement primary residence prior to the sale or within the same
calendar year as the sale)
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e Amounts deducted for losses (including capital losses and penalties on early withdrawal of
savings)

e Depreciation

e Pension and annuity receipts

e Military pay and benefits (except attendant-care and medical-aid payments)

e Veterans benefits (except attendant-care and medical-aid payments AND beginning with the
2008 income year, disability compensation and dependency and indemnity compensation)

e Social Security and railroad retirement benefits

e Dividends

e Interest on state and municipal bonds

If the applicant did not file a federal tax return, you must first determine adjusted gross income
prior to determining disposable income. Remember that most of the items listed on lines 23
through 35 on Form 1040 are legitimate adjustments to gross income and should still be
deducted when determining adjusted gross income, even when the applicant does not file a
federal return.

WAC 458-16A-110 and WAC 458-16A-115 provide additional information and assistance in
determining gross income and adjusted gross income when no tax return was filed.

CALCULATING DISPOSABLE INCOME

Begin by obtaining a copy of the federal income tax returns for the claimant, the claimant’s
spouse or domestic partner, and any cotenants. If no income tax return is provided, the assessor
must calculate disposable income from copies of other income documents (W-2’s, 1099’s, etc.).
Be sure to use the Income Checklist to document which records were reviewed since you cannot
retain permanent copies of income documents for the files.

CAPITAL GAINS

Lines 13 and 14 on Form 1040 are both used for capital gain reporting. Line 13 is used to report
capital gains reported on a Schedule D and Line 14 is used to report capital gains reported on a
Form 4797. If the applicant filed a Schedule D or Form 4797 to report capital gains, you should
examine those forms to discover any other gains not taxable for IRS purposes. You should also
check for gains that are offset by losses.

In the disposable income calculation, capital gains may only be excluded from the applicant’s
income if the gain is from the sale of the applicant’s primary residence and the applicant re-
invests the gain in a replacement primary residence. Only the portion that is re-invested in
another principal residence can be excluded.

Under current IRS rules, taxpayers are no longer required to report the gain on the sale of a
personal residence if the home was owned and lived in as a primary residence for two or more


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
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years and the gain is less than $250,000 ($500,000 for a married couple). Although the applicant
may not be required to report this income to the Internal Revenue Service, it must be reported to
the assessor’s office for determining eligibility in the exemption program.

CAPITAL GAIN CALCULATION EXAMPLE

Selling Price of Old Home $500,000
Minus: Selling Expenses 40,000
Amount Realized on Sale $460,000
Basis of Old Home — Purchase Price 100,000
Plus Improvements +40,000
Adjusted Basis of Old Home 140,000
Gain Realized 320,000
Cost of New Home 310,000
Amount Not Re-Invested $10,000

Since all but $10,000 was re-invested in a replacement residence, only the $10,000 not re-
invested would be included as disposable income.

At the end of this section you can find worksheets to use for calculating capital gains and for
determining how much disposable income to include for receipts from installment sales.

AMOUNTS DEDUCTED FOR LOSS

Why do we add back losses? In theory, the most important reason is that we cannot ask other
taxpayers to subsidize personal losses. In practice, we add back losses because the RCW says
that we must. No matter how much we sympathize with the plight of someone who had a stock
loss or a farm loss that offsets their other income, it is our job to apply the laws we were given by
the legislature in a manner that is as uniform, fair, and equitable as possible.

An important thing to remember is that losses cannot be used to offset other income. WAC
458-16A-120(2)(d)(iii). If the applicant’s Schedule D shows a short-term loss of $5,000 and a
long-term gain of $4,000, the $4,000 gain must be included in disposable income even though
the net effect is a loss of $1,000. While many applicants will argue that they have a legitimate
loss, the Legislature chose not to allow that deduction for the purposes of determining eligibility
for property tax relief.

Losses can be found in many different areas of a return. Most commonly, you will find losses on
Form 1040 on:

Line 12, Business Losses Schedule C Line 17, Rental Losses Schedule E

Line 13, Capital Loss Schedule D & Form 8949 | Line 18, Farm Losses Schedule F

Line 14, Other Losses Form 4797 Line 21, NOL (Net Operating L0ss)



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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For the detail on gains and losses, and to determine whether any loss offsets other income,
vou will need to review the individual forms and schedules that provide the details.

e Schedule C — may include Form 8829

e Schedule D - may include Forms 2439, 4684, 4797, 6252, 6781, 8824, 8949, Sch K-1
e Schedule E — may include Forms 4835, 8582, Schedule K-1

e Form 4797 — may include Forms 4684, 6252, 8824, Schedule K-1

DEPRECIATION

Depreciation is a method accountants use to allocate the cost of an asset over a stated period of
time. Like losses, the Legislature chose not to allow this deduction as an expense when
computing disposable income. Depreciation in and of itself does not show up on Form 1040. It
is necessary to look at the supporting schedules to determine if depreciation was a deduction.

You will find it on several different schedules and, usually, you will see a Form 4562 which

shows the actual depreciation schedule for the taxpayer. The depreciation expense is usually
carried through from the Form 4562 to one of the business income/loss schedules. The most
common are:

Line 13, Business Income Schedule C

Line 20, Rental Income Schedule E

Line 16, Farm Income Schedule F

Line 28, Employee Business Expense Form 2106

Line 29, Expenses for Business Use of Your Home Form 8829

If the schedule shows a net income, simply add back the depreciation.

Making the adjustment to add back depreciation is especially tricky when the depreciation
expense is deducted on a schedule where the end result was a net loss.

If the schedule shows a net loss, you will need to add back the net loss first, and then recalculate
the Net Profit or Loss excluding the deduction for depreciation. If there is still a net loss, you do
not need to do anything more. If you now have a net income, you need to add that net income to
disposable income.

Remember, on a Schedule E, calculate the income or loss on each rental property separately.

Following are three examples of what to do when there is depreciation expense reported on a
Schedule C.
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Example #1 — Business with net income. Shortcut — add back the depreciation and you are

finished.
On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss $2,000
Adjusted Gross Income $32,000

1. Look at the Schedule C.

On the Schedule C

Business Income $30,000

Depreciation Expense $10,000

Other Expenses 18,000

Total Expenses -28,000
Net Income $2,000

2. Now add back the depreciation expense to determine disposable income.

Disposable Income
AGI $32,000
Depreciation Expense $10,000
Disposable Income $42,000
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Example #2 — Business Loss — Depreciation deduction smaller than loss amount. Shortcut -
simply add back the loss and you are finished.

On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss ($20,000)
Adjusted Gross Income $10,000

1. First, add back the business loss to disposable income.

Preliminary Disposable Income

AGI $10,000
Business Loss $20,000
Disposable Income $30,000

2. Next, look at the Schedule C.
On the Schedule C

Business Income $30,000

Depreciation Expense $5,000

Other Expenses 45,000

Total Expenses -50,000
Net Loss ($20,000)

3. Recalculate the profit or loss excluding the depreciation expense.

Profit or Loss Without Depreciation

Business Income $30,000
Total Expenses excluding Depreciation Expense 45,000
Net Loss ($15,000)

4. Since there is still a loss, you can stop here. The disposable income would be the figure
calculated in Step 1.
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Example #3 — Business Loss — Depreciation deduction larger than loss amount. Shortcut —
add back the loss, then add the difference between the loss and the depreciation expense.

On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss ($2,000)
Adjusted Gross Income $28,000

1. First, add back the business loss to disposable income.

Preliminary Disposable Income

AGI $28,000
Business Loss $2,000
Disposable Income $30,000

2. Next, look at the Schedule C.

On the Schedule C

Business Income $30,000

Depreciation Expense $5,000

Other Expenses 27,000

Total Expenses -32,000
Net Loss ($2,000)

3. Recalculate the profit or loss excluding the depreciation expense.

Profit or Loss Without Depreciation

Business Income $30,000
Total Expenses without Depreciation 27,000
Net Income $3,000

4. In this example, when the depreciation expense is excluded, the loss is eliminated. To
determine disposable income, add the net business income after excluding the
depreciation expense.

Disposable Income
Preliminary Disposable Income From Step 1 $30,000
Business Income $3,000
Disposable Income $33,000
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PENSION AND ANNUITY RECEIPTS

Generally speaking, you will find these amounts reported on Lines 16a and 16b of Form 1040.
Any pension or annuity that the applicant, spouse, domestic partner, or co-tenant receives is
counted as disposable income. Some pensions and annuities are included in adjusted gross
income and some are not. Many pensions are only partially taxable because the recipient paid
tax on the contribution at the time it was made. For purposes of determining eligibility in this
program, all of the pension or annuity must be counted.

An IRA, or Individual Retirement Arrangement, is NOT considered to be a pension or annuity.
In general, you should only include the taxable portion of an IRA.

Disability payments, unemployment compensation, and public assistance are all examples of
annuity payments that must be included in income.

An annuity is defined in WAC 458-16A-100(2) as follows.

(2) Annuity. "Annuity" means a series of payments, fixed or variable, under a contract or
agreement. An annuity may be paid as the proceeds of a life insurance contract (other than as
a lump sum payment), unemployment compensation, disability payments, or welfare receipts.
It does not include payments for the care of dependent children.

(@) Annuity distributions must be included in "disposable income," as that term is defined
in subsection (12) of this section, whether or not they are taxable under federal law. A one-
time, lump sum, total distribution is not an "annuity" for purposes of this section, and only
the taxable portion that would be included in federal adjusted gross income should be
included in disposable income.

(b) Disability payments include, but are not limited to, payments made by such agencies
as the federal Department of Veterans Affairs for service-connected disabilities, the federal
Social Security Administration, and the Washington state department of labor and industries.

(c) A "series of payments" means at least one payment per period over more than one
period, where a period can be a week, month, or year. Payment amounts do not have to be
equal. Annuity distributions may fluctuate based on the age of the individual, the
performance of the investment options, etc. Payment periods do not have to be consecutive.
For example, if a distribution is made one year and four years pass before another
distribution is made, this can still qualify as an "annuity" for purposes of this section.

A “fixed sum of money” is not necessarily a fixed dollar amount. The “fixed sum” may be a
percentage of the total investment or some other calculation. There are “fixed” and “variable”
annuities.

Annuity contracts are financial contracts in the form of an insurance product. Under the contract
terms, the seller (issuer) — typically a financial institution such as a life insurance company —
agrees to make a series of future payments to a buyer (annuitant) in exchange for the immediate
payment (or investment) of a lump sum (single-payment annuity) or a series of regular
payments (regular-payment annuity), prior to the onset of the annuity distributions.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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Annuities that make payments in fixed amounts or in amounts that increase by a fixed percentage
are called fixed annuities. Variable annuities, by contrast, pay amounts that vary according to the
investment performance of a specified set of investments, typically bond and equity mutual
funds.

Variable annuities are used for many different objectives. One common objective is to postpone
recognition of taxable gains for federal tax purposes. Money deposited in a variable annuity
grows on a tax-deferred basis, so that taxes on investment gains are not due until a withdrawal is
made. Variable annuities offer a variety of funds (“"subaccounts™) from various money managers.
This gives investors the ability to move between subaccounts without incurring additional fees or
sales charges.

Whether the annuity is “fixed” or “variable,” it is still an annuity.

You may need to review the annuity contract to determine whether it fits our definition of
“annuity”.

Remember — if it a one-time, lump-sum, total distribution, it does not meet our definition of

“annuity”.

MILITARY PAY AND BENEFITS OTHER THAN ATTENDANT-CARE AND
MEDICAL-AID PAYMENTS

Any military pay or benefits that do not represent attendant care or medical-aid payments must
be added to adjusted gross income to determine disposable income. If any portion of the pay or
benefit has already been included in AGI, only the portion not included must be added.

If the RAS (or DFAS) statement shows Gross Pay reduced by a VA Waiver, the information on
the statement reflects the gross retirement pay and the tax-exempt portion calculated by applying
a formula as determined by VA. For disposable income, we should include the gross pay
amount.

Combat Related Special Compensation (CRSC) is actually military retirement that is dependent
on years of service rather than disability. When a veteran is receiving VA disability benefits and
is also receiving military retirement, the military retirement is sometimes reduced, or “offset”, by
all or a portion of the VA disability benefits. If the VA disability is combat-related, the veteran
can then apply for CRSC and reduce that offset amount. In other words, he/she receives less of a
reduction in the military retirement — but it is still part of the military retirement and not the VA
disability benefit. CRSC must be included in disposable income.

The following information is from the Military.com website at
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-
compensation.html.



http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
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Combat Related Special Compensation

Military.com

Combat-Related Special Compensation (CRSC) provides military retirees a monthly
compensation that replaces their VA disability offset. This means that qualified military retirees
with 20 or more years of service that have "combat related" VA-rated disability will no longer have
their military retirement pay reduced by the amount of their VA disability compensation. Instead
they will receive both their full military retirement pay and their VA disability compensation. The
following is a summary of Combat-Related Special Compensation:

e Combat-Related Special Compensation Eligibility
e The Value of the CRSC Benefit
e The Application Process

Unlike Concurrent Retirement and Disability Pay (CRDP), CRSC will not be phased in over ten
years. Once a military retiree has been determined to be qualified they will receive their regular
retirement pay plus an additional sum based on their VA disability rating.

Combat-Related Special Compensation Eligibility
The following CRSC eligibility requirements apply:

Retired veterans with combat-related injuries must meet all of the following criteria to apply for
CRSC:

1. Active, Reserve with 20 years of creditable service or * Chapter 61 medically retired with less
than 20 years.

2. Receiving military retired pay

3. Have 10% or greater VA rated injury

4. Military retired pay is reduced by VA disability payments (VA Waiver)

*CRSC Updates: The 2008 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) was signed into law on
January 28, 2008. It expanded the eligibility of CRSC to include anyone receiving military retired
pay. This includes: Medical Chapter 61, Temporary Early Retirement Act (TERA) and Temporary
Disabled Retirement List (TDRL) retirees. These new eligible components for CRSC went into
effect January 1, 2008. Medical and TERA retirees must still provide documentation that shows a
causal link between a current VA disability and a combat related event.

AND? must be able to provide documentary evidence that your injury was a result of one of the
following:

e Training that simulates war (e.g., exercises, field training)

e Hazardous duty (e.qg., flight, diving, parachute duty)

e An instrumentality of war (e.g., combat vehicles, weapons, Agent Orange)
e Armed conflict (e.g., gunshot wounds [Purple Heart], puniji stick injuries)


http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
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The Value of the CRSC Benefit:

The 2008 CRSC monthly payment ranges from $117 to over $2772. The amount you receive
depends on your disability rating, number of dependents, and other factors. CRSC payment
mirrors the VA Disability Compensation payment rates.

Back to Top

The CRSC Application Process:

To receive Combat Related Special Compensation you must submit your application (DD form
2860), through your parent military service branch. Each service branch has the authority to
determine your eligibility.

VETERAN’S BENEFITS OTHER THAN ATTENDANT-CARE, MEDICAL-AID
PAYMENTS, DISABILITY COMPENSATION, AND DEPENDENCY AND
INDEMNITY COMPENSATION

The excludable VA benefits changed with passage of SSB 5256. Prior to this legislation, any
veteran’s benefits that did not represent attendant-care or medical-aid payments had to be added
to adjusted gross income in order to determine disposable income.

Beginning with the 2008 income year, we can exclude the following benefits paid by the
Department of Veterans’ Affairs:

o attendant-care payments;

e medical-aid payments;

o disability compensation (VA disability), as defined in Title 38, part 3, section 3.4 of
the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008; and

e dependency and indemnity compensation (DIC), as defined in Title 38, part 3, section
3.5 of the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008.

Any other veterans’ benefits must be included in disposable income.

Note: No matter the percentage of disability, VA disability income is excluded from the
disposable income calculation.

FEDERAL SOCIAL SECURITY ACT AND RAILROAD RETIREMENT BENEFITS

All of the social security paid to the applicant, spouse, domestic partner, or co-tenant must be
reported as income. The only means of truly identifying the amount is to review the statement
sent by the Social Security Administration. Usually, a portion of the social security payment is
taxable for federal income tax purposes. Only that portion not already included in AGI must be


http://www.military.com/benefits/veteran-benefits/va-compensation-tables
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation#Top
https://www.hrc.army.mil/site/crsc/documents/ClaimForm.pdf
https://www.hrc.army.mil/site/crsc/documents/ClaimForm.pdf
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added to determine disposable income. Many claimants will argue that we are taxing their social
security when in reality we are only determining their eligibility for property tax relief.

Railroad retirement benefits are like a composite of a pension and social security. Again, some
of the benefit may be included in AGI if it is taxable for income tax purposes. Any portion not
already included in AGI must be added to determine disposable income.

A husband or wife can also receive just the spouse’s benefit at any age if he or she is caring for
their child who is also receiving benefits. The spouse would receive these benefits until the child
reaches age 16. At that time, the child’s benefits continue, but the spouse’s benefits stop unless
he or she is old enough to receive benefits based on their age. This is sometimes called the
“Mother’s Benefit”, and would be included in the disposable income calculation regardless of
whether or not the child is claimed as a dependent on the tax return.

DIVIDEND RECEIPTS

Most dividend receipts are taxable for federal income tax purposes but some are not. You will
need to look at Schedule B Part Il for non-taxable distributions. If any non-taxable amounts are
reported, they should be added to the adjusted gross income.

Note: The “qualified dividends” reported on Line 9b of Form 1040 are already included in
the amount reported on Line 9a. Do not add them twice!

INTEREST RECEIVED ON STATE AND MUNICIPAL BONDS

This type of interest is not subject to federal income tax so it will not be included in AGI.
Generally, you will find this income on Line 8B of Form 1040. However, there may be other tax
exempt interest income reported here that is not identified in our state statute as an added item.

Only add the nontaxable interest received on state and municipal bonds!
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COMBINED DISPOSABLE INCOME

Combined disposable income means the disposable income of the applicant, plus the disposable
income of his or her spouse or domestic partner, plus the disposable income of any cotenant(s)
who occupied the residence during the assessment (income) year, less any amounts paid by the
applicant or his or her spouse or domestic partner for allowable deductions to income.

Remember, when the applicant’s financial situation changed during the year and the change
reduced income by two or more months during the assessment/income year, you must use the
income averaging method to calculate combined disposable income. Also see pages 123-124.

RCW 84.36.381(4) The amount that the person is exempt from an obligation to pay is
calculated on the basis of combined disposable income, as defined in RCW 84.36.383. If
the person claiming the exemption was retired for two months or more of the assessment
year, the combined disposable income of such person must be calculated by multiplying
the average monthly combined disposable income of such person during the months such
person was retired by twelve. If the income of the person claiming exemption is reduced
for two or more months of the assessment year by reason of the death of the person's
spouse or the person's domestic partner, or when other substantial changes occur in
disposable income that are likely to continue for an indefinite period of time, the
combined disposable income of such person must be calculated by multiplying the
average monthly combined disposable income of such person after such occurrences by
twelve. If it is necessary to estimate income to comply with this subsection, the assessor
may require confirming documentation of such income prior to May 31 of the year
following application;

A “co-tenant” is a person who has an ownership interest in the home and lives in the home.

If a person lives in the home but does not have any ownership interest, only the amount of
income contributed to the running of the household should be included.

Income of an absent spouse or domestic partner may be excluded if the couple is divorced,
legally separated, or living separate and apart.

Validly executed divorce, separation and/or property settlement agreement
If there is a validly executed separation and/or property settlement agreement, either of which
separates the income of one spouse or domestic partner from the other, then the income of the
spouse or domestic partner not occupying the residence should not be included.

Absent spouse or domestic partner

Income of an “absent spouse or domestic partner” may also be excluded. According to WAC
458-16A-120(2)(a), “when a spouse or domestic partner has been absent for over a year and the
claimant has no knowledge of his/her spouse's or domestic partner's whereabouts or whether the
spouse or domestic partner has any income or not, and the claimant has not received anything of
value from the spouse or domestic partner or anyone acting on behalf of the spouse or domestic
partner, the disposable income of the spouse or domestic partner is deemed to be zero for



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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purposes of this exemption. The claimant must submit with the application a dated statement
signed by the applicant under the penalty of perjury. This statement must state that more than
one year prior to filing this application:

(i) The claimant's spouse or domestic partner has been absent;

(if) The claimant has not and does not know the whereabouts of the claimant's spouse or
domestic partner;

(iii) The claimant has not had any communication with the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner;

(iv) The claimant has not received anything of value from the claimant’s spouse or
domestic partner or anyone acting on behalf of the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner.”

The statement must also agree to provide this income information if the claimant is able to obtain
it anytime prior to the next renewal cycle.

Separated spouse or domestic partner

The income of a “separated” spouse or domestic partner might also not be included in the
situation described in RCW 26.16.140, which states as follows: When spouses or domestic
partners are living separate and apart, their respective earnings and accumulations shall be the
separate property of each. . . . As explained by case law, “living separate and apart” means the
couple must be living separately — maintaining separate residences and keeping money and
assets separate.

The intent is to avoid “punishing” the spouse who may be in the process of obtaining a legal
separation or divorce and, at the same time, avoid aiding those who are simply trying to avoid
paying property tax so caution should be taken. In these cases, it is necessary to verify that the
“separate” spouse has no ownership interest in the residence to be exempted, and that all income,
banking accounts, living expenses, etc., are truly separate.

If both are on title for the residence, they file a joint tax return, and there is no property
settlement agreement or legal separation, in the Department’s opinion you would have to include
both incomes because we cannot say they are “maintaining separate residences and keeping
money and assets separate”.

The things you want to look at include (but are not necessarily limited to):

e Ownership of any assets — the home, vehicles, bank accounts, investments, business
enterprises, etc.

e Income sources — does either spouse receive income from the other
e Living expenses — who is paying — utilities, mortgages, insurance, medical, etc.
e Tax return — status should be “married filing separately”

Because any exemption results in a shift of the tax burden to other taxpayers, it is important that
we follow the rules of strict construction and not inadvertently expand an exemption beyond the
scope originally intended. Each set of circumstances is different and in each scenario we have to


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.16.140
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look at the details before making a decision. Typically, when one spouse is supporting or paying
expenses for the other spouse, the income of the absent spouse must be included.

ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS TO INCOME

There are four types of expenses that may be deducted from combined disposable income. These
include out-of-pocket costs for:

(1)  Medicare insurance premiums paid under Title XVI11 of the Medicare Insurance Act. At
this time, other insurance premiums are not deductible. Deductible premiums include
Medicare Parts A, B, C, and D. Parts A and B are typically included in the premium
shown on the annual Social Security statement. Medicare Part D is a Medicare
prescription drug program and Medicare Part C is the MedicareAdvantage program.
Most MedicareAdvantage plans include Medicare Part D for prescription drugs and some
plans include extra coverage like vision, dental, and health and wellness programs. To
determine whether a particular plan is an approved Medicare Advantage plan (Medicare
Part C), go to the Medicare website at https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-
plan/questions/home.aspx. (See the instructions on the page 122.)

2 Nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family home costs. This
deduction is for the actual non-reimbursed costs of care and these costs may be deducted
from income in the year the costs are incurred.

3) Cost for care or treatment received in the home. These costs are for care or treatment a
person receives in the home that is similar to nursing home care. For example, therapy or
nursing care received in the home, meals on wheels, attendant care, in-home hospice
care, etc. Special needs equipment and/or furniture is also included. See WAC 456-16A-
100(18) for more details.

4) Non-reimbursed costs for prescription drugs.

PART C MEDICARE/ADVANTAGE PLANS vs. SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICARE PLANS

The statute, RCW 84.36.383(4)(c), says that “health care insurance premiums for Medicare
under Title 18 of the SSA” should be deducted when calculating combined disposable income.
Health care insurance premiums under Title 18 of the SSA include:

Part A—Hospital Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,

Part B—Supplementary Medical Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,
Part C—Medicare + Choice Program — also called Medicare Advantage, and
Part D—Voluntary Prescription Drug Benefit Program


https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx
https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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A Medicare Advantage Plan (like an HMO or PPQ) is another Medicare health plan choice you
may have as part of Medicare. Medicare Advantage Plans, sometimes called “Part C” or “MA
Plans,” are offered by private companies approved by Medicare.

e If you join a Medicare Advantage Plan, the plan usually provides Part A (Hospital
Insurance) and Part B (Medical Insurance) coverage. Medicare Advantage Plans may
offer extra coverage, such as vision, hearing, dental, and/or health and wellness
programs. Most include Medicare prescription drug coverage (Part D).

e Medicare pays a fixed amount for care every month to the companies offering Medicare
Advantage Plans. These companies must follow rules set by Medicare. However, each
Medicare Advantage Plan can charge different out-of-pocket costs and have different
rules for how you get services (like whether you need a referral to see a specialist or if
you have to go to only doctors, facilities, or suppliers that belong to the plan for
non-emergency or non-urgent care). These rules can change each year.

Original Medicare pays for many, but not all, health care services and supplies. Medicare
supplemental, or Medigap, policies are sold by private insurance companies and can help cover
some of the health care costs that Medicare doesn’t cover, like copayments, coinsurance, and
deductibles. A Part C MedicareAdvantage plan premium is an allowable deduction.
Medicare supplemental or Medigap premiums are not.

Instructions to use the link for the Medicare Advantage plan website:
https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx

1. Click on the link and when the webpage loads, enter the zip code for the taxpayer’s
residence and click on “Find Plans”.

2. In Step 1, choose “I don’t know” for both of the questions shown and click on “Continue
to Plan Results”.

3. In Step 2, click on “I don’t want to add drugs now” and then choose “Skip Drug Entry” in
the pop-up box.

4. In Step 4, choose which summary results you want to see and click on “Continue to Plan
Results”. If you are looking for health plans, just choose those options. For instance, if |
was searching for approved Medicare Advantage plans in my zip code, | would choose
the bottom two options because then 1 only have 18 plans to scroll through rather than
48. (Hint: Usually you will be looking for health plans. Prescription drug plans are
usually pretty easy to verify without going through these steps. You can simply ask the
applicant to show you their prescription drug card and if it’s a Medicare plan, somewhere
on the card it should say “Medicare Part D.)


http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#hmo
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#ppo
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-a
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-a
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-b
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-d
https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx
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Select Available Plans Based On Your Filters: 48 Provider Choice
Al

& },'r"',‘,':‘l:‘,’,:" Monthly [ Prescription Drug Plans (with Original Choose Any Doctor/Any Hospital
Medicare)[?] 6]
30 plan(s) available
+. Limit Your Annual Drug
Deductible
Medicare Health Plans with drug coverage[?] May Have Doctor/Hospital Network
+ Select Drug Options 12 plan{s) available 7]

+, Select Plan Ratings

Medicare Health Plans without drug coverage May Have Doctor/Hospital Network
+, Select Coverage Options el 2]

6 plan(s) avadable
+ Select Special Noeds Plans
+ Change Health Status " Continue To Plan Results B

+ Select Plans By Company

Update Plan Results

5. This site will show the plans in the groups shown above. First, you’ll see “Original
Medicare”. You can click on the “minus” sign next to “Original Medicare” to collapse
that section. The next section will show Medicare plans with drug coverage and the last
section will show Medicare plans without drug coverage. If you have more than 10
listings, you should change how many are “viewed”. The webpage defaults to “View 10”
so if there are more than 10, you won’t see the whole list. If there are more than 10
listings, I change the “View” option first and then I change the sort option to “Plan
Name” to make it easier to find the plan.

6. Caution: If you change the view and the sort in the first group, it does not change the
view and the sort in the next group. Each group, or section, is viewed and sorted on its
own. The default view is “10” and the default sort is “Lowest Estimated Annual Health
and Drug Cost”.

If you find the taxpayer’s plan on this website, the plan is an approved Part C, Medicare
Advantage, plan and the premium is an allowable deduction.

If you do not find it here, the plan is most likely a supplemental or Medigap plan and the
premium would not be an allowable deduction.

MEDICAL MARIJUANA

Medical marijuana is a legitimate prescription drug under RCW 69.51A. Now that marijuana is
also legal for recreational use, we will need to differentiate between these two types of use when
determining allowable out-of-pocket costs for prescription drugs.
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Under this chapter, the person who has a prescription must have “valid documentation”.

RCW 69.51A.010(7) ""Valid documentation® means:

(a) A statement signed and dated by a qualifying patient's health care professional written on
tamper-resistant paper, which states that, in the health care professional's professional opinion,
the patient may benefit from the medical use of marijuana; and

(b) Proof of identity such as a Washington state driver's license or identicard, as defined in
RCW 46.20.035.

RCW 69.51A.010(5) ""Tamper-resistant paper’ means paper that meets one or more of the
following industry-recognized features:

(a) One or more features designed to prevent copying of the paper;

(b) One or more features designed to prevent the erasure or modification of information on the
paper; or

(c) One or more features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit valid documentation.

HOMEOPATHIC DRUGS

Unfortunately, we usually cannot allow a deduction for the cost of “naturopathic medicines”
because these are typically vitamin and mineral supplement compounds rather than “prescription
drugs”. These types of supplements would be similar to vitamins, aspirin, etc., that are
considered “over the counter” medications rather than “prescription drugs”.

NOTE: A naturopath does have authority to prescribe medical marijuana, as well as
codeine and testosterone products. Those prescriptions would be an allowable deduction.

If the applicant is under a physician’s care and can provide documentation that the “naturopathic
medicines” were prescribed as part of a specific course of treatment for an illness, the Assessor
might be able to allow some or all of the deductions under the “home health care” category.

According to RCW 84.36.383(4)(a) we can allow a deduction for “drugs supplied by prescription
of a medical practitioner authorized by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction to issue
prescriptions”.

RCW 84.36.383(4) ""Combined disposable income™ means the disposable income of the
person claiming the exemption, plus the disposable income of his or her spouse or
domestic partner, and the disposable income of each cotenant occupying the residence for
the assessment year, less amounts paid by the person claiming the exemption or his or her
spouse or domestic partner during the assessment year for:

() Drugs supplied by prescription of a medical practitioner authorized by the laws of
this state or another jurisdiction to issue prescriptions;



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.20.035
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 142
Section VIII ¢« Combined Disposable Income

WAC 458-16A-100(20) Legally prescribed drugs. "Legally prescribed drugs” means
drugs supplied by prescription of a medical practitioner authorized to issue prescriptions
by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction.

WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(vi)(E) If the claimant indicates that the non-reimbursed
prescription drug expenses for the claimant and the claimant's spouse or domestic partner
for the period under review exceeds five hundred dollars, copies of checks or other
payment statements (i.e., pharmacy printout of payments for purchases) showing amounts
paid for non-reimbursed prescription drug expenses;

The Washington State Healthcare Authority rules for prescription drug programs in WAC

bh 1Y

182.50, provides definitions for the terms “drug”, “practitioner”, and “prescription.”

WAC 182.50.005 Definitions.

(3) "Drug" means the term as it is defined in RCW 69.41.010 (9) and (12).

(5) "Practitioner" means a health care provider, except a veterinarian, as defined at
RCW 18.64.011(24).

(8) "Prescription™ has the meaning set forth in RCW 18.64.011(25).

RCW 69.41.010 Definitions.

(9) "Drug" means:

(a) Substances recognized as drugs in the official United States pharmacopoeia, official
homeopathic pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official national formulary, or any
supplement to any of them;

(b) Substances intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or
prevention of disease in human beings or animals;

(c) Substances (other than food, minerals or vitamins) intended to affect the structure or
any function of the body of human beings or animals; and

(d) Substances intended for use as a component of any article specified in (a), (b), or (c)
of this subsection. It does not include devices or their components, parts, or accessories.

(12) "Legend drugs™ means any drugs which are required by state law or regulation of the
state board of pharmacy to be dispensed on prescription only or are restricted to use by
practitioners only.

RCW 18.64.011(24) "'Practitioner™ means a physician, dentist, veterinarian, nurse, or
other person duly authorized by law or rule in the state of Washington to prescribe drugs.

RCW 18.64.011(25) ""Prescription' means an order for drugs or devices issued by a
practitioner duly authorized by law or rule in the state of Washington to prescribe drugs



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50-005
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.41.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.41.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
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or devices in the course of his or her professional practice for a legitimate medical
purpose.

The scope of practice for a licensed naturopath is in chapter 18.36A RCW.

RCW 18.36A.040 Scope of Practice.

Naturopathic medicine is the practice by naturopaths of the art and science of the
diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of disorders of the body by stimulation or support, or
both, of the natural processes of the human body. A naturopath is responsible and
accountable to the consumer for the quality of naturopathic care rendered.

The practice of naturopathic medicine includes manual manipulation (mechanotherapy),
the prescription, administration, dispensing, and use, except for the treatment of
malignancies, of nutrition and food science, physical modalities, minor office procedures,
homeopathy, naturopathic medicines, hygiene and immunization, contraceptive devices,
common diagnostic procedures, and suggestion; however, nothing in this chapter shall
prohibit consultation and treatment of a patient in concert with a practitioner licensed
under chapter 18.57 or 18.71 RCW. No person licensed under this chapter may employ
the term "chiropractic™ to describe any services provided by a naturopath under this
chapter.

RCW 18.36A.020(10) ""Naturopathic medicines™ means vitamins; minerals; botanical
medicines; homeopathic medicines; hormones; and those legend drugs and controlled
substances consistent with naturopathic medical practice in accordance with rules
established by the board. Controlled substances are limited to codeine and testosterone
products that are contained in Schedules 11, 1V, and V in chapter 69.50 RCW.

HOME HEALTH CARE

Remember - Only the Assessor has the authority to make the determination regarding what can
be allowed in a specific situation and only the Assessor has the authority to approve or deny a
claim for exemption.

“Home health care” is defined in WAC 458-16A-100(18).

(18) Home health care. "Home health care™ means the treatment or care of either the
claimant or the claimant's spouse or domestic partner received in the home. It must be
similar to the type of care provided in the normal course of treatment or care in a nursing
home, although the person providing the home health care services need not be specially
licensed. The treatment and care must meet at least one of the following criteria. It must
be for:

(a) Medical treatment or care received in the home;

(b) Physical therapy received in the home;



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.57
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.71
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16a-100
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(c) Food, oxygen, lawful substances taken internally or applied externally, necessary
medical supplies, or special needs furniture or equipment (such as wheel chairs, hospital
beds, or therapy equipment), brought into the home as part of a necessary or appropriate
in-home service that is being rendered (such as a meals on wheels type program); or

(d) Attendant care to assist the claimant, or the claimant's spouse or domestic partner,
with household tasks, and such personal care tasks as meal preparation, eating, dressing,
personal hygiene, specialized body care, transfer, positioning, ambulation, bathing,
toileting, self-medication a person provides for himself or herself, or such other tasks as
may be necessary to maintain a person in his or her own home, but shall not include
improvements or repair of the home itself.

Cateqgories (a) and (b)

(a) Medical treatment or care received in the home;
(b) Physical therapy received in the home;

The first two types of care under (a) and (b) are pretty straightforward. These include
any type of medical treatment or care or physical therapy received in the home. This
would include physical therapy as well as any nursing or medical care where the
practitioner actually goes into the home.

Category (c) Food, oxygen, lawful substances taken internally or applied externally, necessary

medical supplies, or special needs furniture or equipment (such as wheel chairs, hospital beds, or

therapy equipment), brought into the home as part of a necessary or appropriate in-home service
that is being rendered (such as a meals on wheels type program)

Some items that might be included in category (c) in addition to the items listed - i.e.
oxygen, wheel chairs, hospital beds, therapy equipment, meals on wheels — are diabetic
supplies.

Supplies for diabetics fall into this category because even though “insulin” is a
prescription drug, the syringes and testing materials are not prescription drugs.

This does not mean that we allow a deduction for daily multi-vitamins but it could mean
that we could allow a deduction in some cases when the situation is similar to that of
necessary supplies for diabetics.

Following are some other examples.

e A taxpayer requires oxygen. We can allow a deduction for the delivery
equipment and for the oxygen.

e A taxpayer had blood tests indicating anemia and the doctor directed that person
to take an iron supplement for a month or two as part of a “course of treatment”.

e A taxpayer is undergoing chemo and is instructed to use “Ensure” as a dietary
supplement during the course of the chemo.
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A taxpayer uses “life alert” or a similar type of service in case of falls or medical
emergencies.

A taxpayer uses a walker or wheelchair and has installed a moveable ramp to get
in and out of the house. The cost to build a permanent ramp is not deductible
since that falls under “improvements or repair of the home itself”.

Portable bath furniture is purchased for the bathroom. Costs for a bathroom
remodel are not deductible since those would fall under “improvements or repair
of the home itself”.

Service dogs — The cost of acquisition for the dog falls under “special needs
equipment”. There is no allowance for ongoing care and maintenance for any
type of special needs equipment so the cost of care for the dog (including food,
veterinary care, etc.) would not be an allowable deduction.

Category (d) Attendant care to assist the claimant, or the claimant's spouse or domestic partner,

with household tasks, and such personal care tasks as meal preparation, eating, dressing, personal
hygiene, specialized body care, transfer, positioning, ambulation, bathing, toileting, self-
medication a person provides for himself or herself, or such other tasks as may be necessary to
maintain a person in his or her own home, but shall not include improvements or repair of the

home itself

These types of services might also include the following.

Light housekeeping
Yard maintenance — including lawn care — when the applicant is unable to
maintain his/her own yard
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WORKSHEET TO CALCULATE CAPITAL GAIN OR LOSS
ON THE SALE OF A PRIMARY RESIDENCE

Disposable income includes capital gains, except for the gain from the sale of a principal
residence to the extent such gain is reinvested in a replacement principal residence either prior to
the sale or within the same calendar year. RCW 84.36.383(5)(a) and WAC 458-16A-100(12)(a).

Capital gain is the difference between the cost of the real property plus the cost of improvements,
and the selling price of the property less any sales expenses. See WAC 458-16A-100(4).

PART | — Calculating the Gain

(A)  Selling Price of Old Home $

(B)  Enter all allowable sales expenses $
(Sales commissions, etc.)
(See IRS Pub 523 for a list of allowable expenses)

(C) (C=A-B) Proceeds from sale of old home $

(D)  Purchase Price of Old Home $
(The price paid for it at the time
it was purchased)

(E)  Enter the cost of any improvements $
to the old home (These costs must be documented
and verifiable with receipts — See Page 127 in your
manual and IRS Pub 523)

(F) (F=D+E) Adjusted basis of old home $

(G) (G=C-F) Capital Gain or Loss (If -0- or less $
then there is no capital gain and you can stop here)

PART |l — Determining the Portion of the Gain to Include in Disposable Income

(H) Cost of new home $

(D (I = G - H) Amount of Gain Not Re-invested $

If the amount on Line | is -0- or less, then the entire gain has been reinvested. The purchase
price of the new home exceeds the amount of capital gain realized from the sale of the old home
and there is nothing to report as income. Any amount on Line | that is greater than -0- must be
included in disposable income. This represents the portion of the capital gain that was not re-
invested in the replacement residence.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html
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DETERMINING ADJUSTED BASIS AND GAIN OR LOSS ON SALE

See IRS Publication 523 for additional assistance.
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html#d0e566

Selling expenses. Selling expenses include:

Commissions,
Advertising fees,
Legal fees, and

Loan charges paid by the seller, such as loan placement fees or “points.”

Examples of Increases and Decreases to Basis

Increases to Basis

Decreases to Basis

Capital improvements:
Putting an addition on your home
Replacing an entire roof
Paving your driveway
Installing central air conditioning
Rewiring your home

Assessments for local improvements:
Water connections
Sidewalks
Roads

Casualty losses:
Restoring damaged property

Legal fees:
Cost of defending and perfecting a title

Zoning costs

Exclusion from income of subsidies for
energy conservation measures

Casualty or theft loss deductions and
insurance reimbursements

Credit for qualified electric vehicles
Section 179 deduction

Deduction for clean-fuel vehicles and
clean-fuel vehicle refueling property

Depreciation

Nontaxable corporate distributions


http://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html#d0e566
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INSTALLMENT SALE WORKSHEET

Step 1:  First, determine the capital gain or loss on the installment sale. If there is a loss, you
will simply exclude the loss. If there is a gain, you can use this worksheet to determine how
much of the annual receipts should be included in disposable income.

Gain on the Sale $

Step 2:  Calculate the percentage of profit.

Divide the gain  ($ )
by the sales price ($ ) toarrive at the
percentage of profit ( %)

Step 3:  Subtract the interest received from the total payment amount received.

$ (Total amount received in the income year)
- (Interest portion of the amount received)
$ (Portion attributed to principal)
Step 4:  Multiply the principal portion of the amount received (from Step 3) by the percentage

of profit (from Step 2) to determine how much of the principal received is a capital gain that
must be included in the disposable income calculation.

$ (Step 3 Answer)
X (Step 2 Answer)
$ (Capital Gain)

The payments received from the contract sale that represent interest (Step 3) and capital
gain (Step 4) must be included as income in the year the income is actually received.
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SAMPLE LETTER AND QUESTIONAIRE FOR
TAXPAYERS WHO REPORT -0- INCOME
DATE

Name
Address
Address

Dear :

We have received your application for property tax exemption (or deferral) for taxes due in 2016.
You stated on the application that your income for 2015 was zero. Your combined disposable
income is an important factor is determining whether you meet the requirements for this
program. Having zero income raises some questions in our minds, and we want to be sure this
information has been reported accurately.

It is very unusual for an applicant to receive no income. The income that must be reported for
determining eligibility in this program is unique. Some applicants may be receiving income that
should be reported on this application even though it is not generally viewed by other
organizations as income. Consequently, these income amounts may have inadvertently been
excluded when you were completing your application.

We know there are expenses connected with maintaining and operating a home, and expenses
associated with daily living, but you have not listed any income sources on your application. To
ensure that we are approving your application based on accurate information, we are asking you
to answer the questions on the following page regarding your income information for 2015.
Please return the signed document to me as soon as possible.

Be assured your answers will be held in strict confidence. The information you provide will be
used only to approve or deny your claim for property tax exemption (or deferral). Your
signature attesting to your 2015 income is subject to the penalty of perjury contained in chapter
9A.72 of the Revised Code of Washington.

Sincerely,

Name

Title

Office

Phone number
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Taxpayers Name
Mailing Address

Property Address

1. Did you receive any type of payments of money from any of the following income sources

in 2015?

¢

L R 2R 2R 2 2 2N I I R R R R 2

Social security

Disability

Pension

Wages

Railroad Retirement

Military or veterans retirement or disability benefits
Trust, royalties, partnership or estates

Public assistance, alimony, or unemployment benefits
Interest or dividend receipts

Business or farm income

Rental Income

Capital gains

Annuities

Gifts

If yes, please identify the sources and amounts.

2. If the answer to Question 1 is no, what is your income source for food, utilities, and daily
living expenses?

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing is
true and correct.

(Signature)

(Date and place of signing)
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Combined Disposable Income Worksheet

Income:

A.

B.

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) from Federal Income Tax Return. Enter -0- if no
return was filed.

Capital Gains not reported on the tax return. Do not add the gain from the
sale of a primary residence if the entire gain was used to purchase a
replacement residence in the same year. Do not use losses to offset gains.

. Amounts deducted for Losses (including capital losses). Losses must be

added back to the extent they were used to offset/reduce income. (Ex: On
Schedule D, a ($10,000) loss was reported but the loss was limited to
($3,000), shown on Line 13 of the 1040. Add the ($3,000) loss used to
offset/reduce income.) (Ex: There are two Sch C’s — one with a ($10,000)
loss and one with a $5,000 net income. A net loss of ($5,000) was reported
on the 1040, Line 12. Add back the ($10,000) loss.)

. Amounts deducted for Depreciation. That expense must be added back to_

the extent the expense was used to reduce income. (Ex: Net loss reported: If
depreciation was deducted as a business and/or rental expense that resulted
in a loss, recalculate the net income/loss without the depreciation expense. If
there is still a net loss enter -0- here, if there is net income enter the net
income here.)

. Dividends or Interest income. Report nontaxable interest or dividends and

any other interest or dividends not reported on the tax return (including interest
on State and Municipal bonds).

. Nontaxable Pension and Annuity income or income from these sources not

reported on the tax return. Report the amounts here. (Ex: You received
$10,000 in pensions and annuities. The taxable amount was $6,000. Report
the nontaxable $4,000 here.) Do not include non-taxable IRA distributions.

. Military Pay and Benefits that were nontaxable or were not reported on the

tax return. Report that income here, including CRSC. Do not include attendant
care and medical-aid payments.

. Veterans Pay and Benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs that

were nontaxable or were not reported on the tax return. Report that income
here. Do not include attendant-care and medical-aid payments, disability
compensation, or dependency and indemnity compensation paid by DVA.

. Nontaxable Social Security or Railroad Retirement Benefits or income from

these sources that was not reported on the tax return. (Ex: Gross Social
Security benefit was $10,000 and $4,000 was included in AGI as the taxable
amount, report the non-taxable $6,000 here.)

. Income from Business, Rental, or Farming activities (IRS Schedules C, E,

or F) that was not reported on the tax return. Deduct normal expenses, except
depreciation expense, but do not use losses to offset income.

. Other Income not already included in Lines A - J. (Ex: Foreign income not

Income Year

$ Amount

Checklist

IRS Form 1040 IRS
Form 1040A IRS
Form 1040EZ

Sch D
Form 4797
Form 6252
Other

1040 - Line
1040 - Line
1040 - Line
Schedule C
Schedule D
Schedule E
Schedule F
Other

Schedule C
Schedule E
Schedule F
Schedule K-1
Other

1040 - Line
Bank Statements
1099 Forms
Other

1040 - Line
1099 Forms
Other

1099 Forms
Other

1099 Forms
Other

1099 Forms
Other

Bank Statements
1099 Forms
Other

Bank Statements

L.

reported on U.S. return.) List source, type, and amount. 1099 Forms
Other
Subtotal Income:
Allow able Deductions:
Nursing Home, Boarding Home, or Adult Family Home Expenses Other
. In-Home Care Expenses Other

0z <

o

. Prescription Drugs
. Insurance Premiums for Medicare under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act

(Parts A, B, C, and D)

. Enter -0 if there is an amount on Line A. If no IRS return was filed and there

are adjustments for items shown on the lower portion of IRS Form 1040,
deduct those costs here. (Ex: Alimony paid)

Subtotal Allowable Deductions:

Total Combined Disposable Income Less Allow able Deductions:

Printout/Receipt

SS Statement
Other

Other

Prepared By:
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Adjustments to Gross Income (for Line P of CDI Worksheet)(see WAC

458-16A-115 and request documentation if no tax return is filed):
Educator expenses
Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials

(from Form 2106 or 2106-EZ2)

Health savings account deduction (from Form 8889)
Moving expenses (from Form 3903)
One-half of self-employment tax (from Schedule SE) - only allowed if a tax return is filed
Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans (request documentation if no return is filed)
Self-employed health insurance deduction (from worksheet provided with Form 1040 instructions)
Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (these are classified as losses and should be added back)
Alimony
IRA deduction
Student loan interest deduction
Tuition and fees deduction (from Form 8917)
Domestic production activities deduction (from Form 8903)

Exemption Levels

Tax Year 2016 and forward:

Tier 1 = $00,000 to $30,000
Exempt from regular property tax on $60,000 or 60% of value, whichever is greater.
Exempt from all excess levies.

Tier 2 = $30,001 to $35,000

Exempt from regular property tax on $50,000 or 35% of value, whichever is greater, but not
more than $70,000.

Exempt from all excess levies.

Tier 3 = $35,001 to $40,000
Exempt from all excess levies.

Tax Year 2005 through 2015:

Tier 1 = $00,000 to $25,000
Exempt from regular property tax on $60,000 or 60% of value, whichever is greater.
Exempt from all excess levies.

Tier 2 = $25,001 to $30,000

Exempt from regular property tax on $50,000 or 35% of value, whichever is greater, but not
more than $70,000.

Exempt from all excess levies.

Tier 3 = $30,001 to $35,000
Exempt from all excess levies.
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Decoding Social Security **Claim™ Numbers - Social Security Benefit Statement, Box 8.

A claim number is the Social Security number on which you are claiming Social Security
benefits. And it's always followed by a little letter symbol to indicate the kind of benefit you
have claimed. For many people, their claim number is simply their own Social Security number
with the little symbol following it, usually an "A." But some people claim Social Security
benefits on another person's Social Security record — almost always a spouse and sometimes a
parent. So their claim number is the spouse's or parent's Social Security number followed by the
appropriate claims symbol.

The letters were essentially assigned alphabetically, as benefits were added to Social Security
law. Here is a list of the claims symbols used. It's not a complete list.

—A — This claims symbol indicates you are getting your own retirement benefits
—B — You are getting benefits as an aged (over 62) wife on your husband's record
—B1 — You are getting benefits as an aged (over 62) husband on your wife's record

—B2 — You are getting benefits on your husband's record as a young wife (under age 62) caring
for his minor child

—B6 — You are getting benefits as a divorced wife on your ex hushand's record
—C — You are getting benefits as a child on your parent's record

—D — You are getting aged (over age 60) widow's benefits from your deceased husband's
record

—D1 — You are getting aged (over age 60) widower's benefits from your deceased wife
—D6 — You are getting divorced widow's benefits

—E — You are getting mother's benefits — paid to a widow under age 60 who is caring for the
minor children of a father who has died

—E1 — same as above, except you are divorced from the father

—E4 — You are getting father's benefits — paid to a widower under age 60 who is caring for
the minor children of a mother who has died

—F — You are getting benefits as a dependent parent on a grown son or daughter's Social
Security account (very rare)

—HA — You are getting disability benefits on your own account

—M — You don't have enough work credits for regular Social Security and you only qualify for
Part B Medicare benefits

—T — You are not insured for Social Security benefits, but you are eligible for Part A hospital
coverage from Medicare

—W — You are getting disabled widow's benefits on your deceased husband's account
—W1 — You are getting disabled widower's benefits on your deceased wife's account
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9498

[ ]voiD [ | CORRECTED

PAYER'S name, street address, city or town, state or province,
country, and ZIP or foreign postal code

8

1 Gross distribution

2a Taxable amount

OMB Mo. 1545-0119

2015

Distributions From
Pensions, Annuities,
Retirement or
Profit-Sharing

Plans, IRAs,

Insurance

$ Formm 1099-R Contracts, etc.
2h Taxable amount Tatal C

. oe opy A

not determined D distribution D For

PAYER'S federal identification | RECIPIENT'S identification 3 Capital gain {included | 4 Federal income tax Internal Revenue
number number in box 2a) withheld Service Center
$ $ File with Form 1096.
RECIPIENT’S name 5 Employee contributions | 6 MNet unrealized _
/Designated Aoth appreciation in For Privacy Act
contributions or employer's securities and Paperwork
insurance premiums Reduction Act
$ $ Notice, see the
Street address (including apt. no.) 7 Distribution RA/ | 8 Other 2015 General
codels) il Instructions for
B Certain
$ 5% :
- - - = Information
City or town, state or province, country, and ZIP or foreign postal code|9a  Your percentage of total | 9B Total employes coniributions Returns.
distribution o, $
10 Amount allocable to IRR 11 1st year of desig. Roth contrib.| 12 State tax withheld 13 Siate/Payer's state no. |14 State distribution
within 5 years g g
3 3 $
Account number (see instructions) 15 Local tax withheld 16 MName of locality 17 Local distribution
$ $
$ $
Form 1099-R Cat. No. 144360 www.irs.gov/form1099r Department of the Treasury - Intemal Hevenus Service

Do Not Cut or Separate Forms on This Page

Instructions for Recipient

Generally, distributions from pensions, annuities, profit-sharing and
retirement plans (including section 457 state and local govermnmment
plans), IRAs, insurance contracts, etc., are reported to recipients on
Form 1099-R.

Qualified plans. If your annuity starting date is after 1997, you must
use the simplified method to figure your taxable amount if your payer
did not show the taxable amount in box 2a. See the instructions for
Form 1040 or 1040A.

IRAs. For distributions from a traditional individual retirement
arrangement (IR4), simplified employee pension (SEP), or savings
incentive match plan for employees (SIMPLE), generally the payer is
not required to compute the taxable amount. See the Form 1040 or
10404 instructions to determine the taxable amount. If you are at least
age 705, you must take minimum distributions from your IRA (other
than a Roth IRA). If you do not, you may be subject to a 50% excise
tax on the amount that should have been distributed. See Pub. 590 for
more information on |IRAs.

Roth IRAs. For distributions from a Roth IRA, generally the payer is
not required to compute the taxable amount. You must compute any
taxable amount on Form 8606. An amount shown in box 2a may be
taxable earmmings on an excess contribution.

Loans treated as distributions. If you borrow money from a qualified
plan, section 403(b) plan, or governmental section 457(b) plan, you
may have to treat the loan as a distribution and include all or part of
the amount borrowed in your income. There are exceptions to this
rule. If your loan is taxable, Code L will be shown in box 7. See

Pub. 575.

Recipient's identification number. For your protection, this form
may show only the last four digits of your social security number
(88N, individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN), adoption
taxpayer identification number (ATIN), or employer identification
number (EIN). However, the issuer has reported your complete
identification number to the IRS.

Do Not Cut or Separate Forms on This Page

Account number. May show an account or other unique number the
payer assigned to distinguish your account.

Box 1. Shows the total amount you received this year. The amount
may have been a direct rollover, a transfer or conversion to a Roth
IRA, a recharacterized IRA contribution; or you may have received it
as periodic payments, as nonperiodic payments, or as a total
distribution. Report the amount on Form 1040 or 10404 on the line for
“IRA distributions” or *Pensions and annuities” (or the line for
“Taxable amount”), and on Form 8608, as applicable. However, if this
is a lump-sum distribution, see Form 4972, If you have not reached
minimum retirement age, report your disability payments on the line
for *Wages, salaries, tips, etc.” on your tax return. Also report on that
line permissible withdrawals from eligible automatic contribution
arrangements and corrective distributions of excess defemals, excess
contributions, or excess aggregate contributions except if you are
self-employed.

If a life insurance, annuity, qualified long-term care, or endowment
contract was transferred tax free to another trustes or contract issuer,
an amount will be shown in this box and Code & will be shown in box
7. If a charge or payment was made against the cash value of an
annuity contract or the cash surrender value of a life insurance
contract for the purchase of qualified long-term care insurance, an
amount will be shown in this box and Code W will be shown in box 7.
You need not report these amounts on your tax retum.

Box 2a. This part of the distribution is generally taxable. If there is no
entry in this box, the payer may not have all the facts needed to figure
the taxable amount. In that case, the first box in box 2b should be
checked. You may want to get one of the free publications from the
IRS to help you figure the taxable amount. See Additional infarmation
on the back of Copy 2. For an IRA distribution, see IRAs and Roth
IRAs on this page. For a direct rollover, other than from a qualified
plan to a Roth IRA, zero should be shown, and you must enter zero
(-0-) on the "Taxable amount” ling of your tax returm.

(Continued on the back of Copy C.)
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Instructions for Recipient (Continued)

If this is a total distribution from a gqualified plan and you were bom
before January 2, 1936 (or you are the beneficiary of someone bom
before January 2, 1936), you may be eligible for the 10-year tax
option. See the Form 4972 instructions for more information.

If you are an eligible retired public safety officer who elected to
exclude from income distributions from your eligible plan used to pay
certain insurance premiums, the amount shown in box 2a has not
been reduced by the exclusion amount. See the instructions for Form
1040 or 1040A for more information.

Box 2b. If the first box is checked, the payer was unable to determine
the taxable amount, and box 2a should be blank, except for an IRA. It
is your responsibility to determine the taxable amount. If the second
box is checked, the distribution was a total distribution that closed out
your account.

Box 3. If you received a lump-sum distribution from a qualified plan
and were born before January 2, 1936 (or you are the beneficiary of
someone born before January 2, 1936), you may be able to elect to
treat this amount as a capital gain on Form 4972 (not on Schedule D
(Form 1040)). See the Form 4972 instructions. For a charitable gift
annuity, report as a long-term capital gain as explained in the
instructions for Form 8949,

Box 4. Shows federal income tax withheld. Include this amount on
your income tax return as tax withheld, and if box 4 shows an amount
(other than zero), attach Copy B to your return. Generally, if you will
receive payments next year that are not eligible rollover distributions,
you can change your withholding or elect not to have income tax
withheld by giving the payer Form W-4P.

Box 5. Generally, this shows the employee’s investment in the
contract (after-tax contributions), if any, recovered tax free this year,
the portion that is your basis in a designated Roth account; the part of
premiums paid on commercial annuities or insurance contracts
recovered tax free; or the nontaxable part of a charitable gift annuity.
This box does not show any IRA contributions. If the amount shown is
your basis in a designated Roth account, the year you first made
contributions to that account may be enterad in box 11.

Instructions for Recipient (Continued)

E—Distributions under Employee Plans Compliance Resolution
System (EPCRS).

F—Charitable gift annuity.

G —Direct rollover of a distribution (other than a designated Roth
account distribution) to a qualified plan, a section 403(b) plan, a
governmental section 457(b) plan, or an IRA.

H—Direct rollover of a designated Roth account distribution to a Roth
IRA.

J—Early distribution from a Roth IRA, no known exception (in most
cases, under age 591%).

K —Distribution of IRA assets not having a readily available FMV.

L—Loans treated as distributions.

N —Recharacterized IRA contribution made for 2015 and
recharacterized in 2015.

P—Excess contributions plus eamings/excess deferrals (and/or
eamings) taxable in 2014,

‘Q—Cualified distribution from a Roth IRA.

R—Recharacterized IRA contribution made for 2014 and
recharacterized in 2015.

S—Early distribution from a SIMPLE IRA in first 2 years, no known
exception (under age 591%).

T—Roth IRA distribution, exception applies.

U—Dividend distribution from ESOP under s=c. 404(k).

Mote. This distribution is not eligible for rollover.

W—Charges or payments for purchasing gualified long-term care
insurance contracts under combined arrangements.

If the IRA/SEP/SIMPLE box is checked, you have received a
traditional IRA, SEP, or SIMPLE distribution.

Box 8. If you received an annuity contract as part of a distribution,

the value of the contract is shown. It is not taxable when you receive it

and should not be included in boxes 1 and 2a. When you receive
periodic payments from the annuity contract, they are taxable at that
time. If the distribution is made to more than cne person, the
percentage of the annuity contract distributed to you is also shown.

Box 6. If you received a lump-sum distribution from a qualified plan
that includes securities of the employer's company, the net unrealized
appreciation (NUA) (any increase in value of such securities while in
the trust) is taxed only when you sell the securities unless you choose
to include it in your gross income this year. See Pub. 575 and the
Form 4972 instructions. If you did not receive a lump-sum distribution,
the amount shown is the NUA attributable to employee contributions,
which is not taxed until you sell the securities.
Box 7. The following codes identify the distribution you received. For
more information on these distributions, see the instructions for your
tax retum. Also, certain distributions may be subject to an additional
10% tax. See the instructions for Form 5329,
1—Early distribution, no known exception (in most cases, under age
5414).
2—Early distribution, exception applies (under age 5914).
3—Disability.
4—Death.
5—Prohibited transaction.
6—Section 1035 exchange (a tax-free exchange of life insurance,
annuity, qualified long-term care insurance, or endowment
contracts).
T—MNormal distribution.
8—Excess contributions plus earmnings/excess deferrals (and/or
eamnings) taxable in 201 5.
89— Cost of current life insurance protection.
A—May be eligible for 10-year tax option (see Form 4972).
B—Designated Roth account distribution.
Mote. If Code B is in box 7 and an amount is reported in box 10,
see the instructions for Form 5329.
D—Annuity payments from nongualified annuities that may be subject
to tax under section 1411.

(Continued on the back of Copy 2.)

You will need this information if you use the 10-year tax option (Form
4972). If charges were made for qualified long-term care insurance
contracts under combined arrangements, the amount of the reduction
in the investment (but not below zero) in the annuity or life insurance
contract is reported here.

Box 9a. If a total distribution was made toc more than one person, the
percentage you received is shown.

Box 9b. For a life annuity from a qualified plan or from a section
403(b) plan (with after-tax contributions), an amount may be shown for
the employee's total investment in the contract. It is used to compute
the taxable part of the distribution. See Pub. 575.

Box 10. If an amount is reported in this box, see the instructions for
Form 5329 and Pub. 575.

Box 11. The 1st year you made a contribution to the designated Roth
account reported on this form is shown in this box.

Boxes 12—17. If state or local income tax was withheld from the
distribution, boxes 14 and 17 may show the part of the distribution
subject to state and/or local tax.

Future developments. For the latest information about developments
related to Form 1099-R and its instructions, such as legislation
enacted after they were published, go to www.irs.gov/farm7099r.

Additional information. You may want to see:

Form W-4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or Annuity Payments,
Form 4972, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions,

Form 5329, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and
Other Tax-Favored Accounts,

Form 8606, Mondeductible IRAs,

Pub. 560, Retirement Plans for Small Business (SEP, SIMPLE, and
Qualified Plans),

Pub. 571, Tax-Sheltered Annuity Plans (403(b) Plans),

Pub. 575, Pension and Annuity Income,

Pub. 590, Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAS),

Pub. 721, Tax Guide to U.S. Civil Service Retirement Benefits,

Pub. 939, General Rule for Pensions and Annuities,

Pub. 969, Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health
Plans.
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Here is the link to the 4506-T: http://www.irs.qov/pub/irs-pdf/f4506t.pdf.
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Thursday, July 17, 2014 C}?*“ SEC{@/ LaVenia J. LaVelle, Press Officer
For Immediate Release %“\;‘(ﬁ\d press.office@ssa.gov ™
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News Release

SOCIAL SECURITY

>
%

Social Security Extends Access to Benefit Verification
Multiple Options Available

Today, the Social Security Administration announced that local Social Security offices would continue to provide benefit verification letters
until further notice. Providing services when and where the public needs them remains central to Social Security’s efforts, while continuing
to encourage federal, state, and local agencies to take advantage of Social Security’s data exchange programs that can serve customers
more efficiently and effectively.

“We appreciate the feedback from members of Congress, our community stakeholders and agency partners. We want to ensure that we
meet the needs of our customers in a way that is convenient for them and also cost-effective and secure for all,” Acting Commissioner
Carolyn W. Colvin stated. ‘I believe that government agencies can work closer together to assist our mutual customers.”

Over the last few years, Social Security has invested in technology that allows most government agencies and many other organizations to
verify their clients’ Social Security benefits electronically without requiring them to visit a local Social Security office.

“We recognize that some members of the public may require in-person assistance and we will have a presence in local communities,” said
Acting Commissioner Colvin. “We also want to ensure that the public is aware that they can access many of our services without making a
trip to a local field office.”

Members of the public with Internet access can obtain benefit verification information by creating a my Social Security account at
www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount.
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Age and Disability Requirements

Q. What is the difference between “disabled” and “disabled veteran” for this program?

A. To meet the age/disability requirement as a disabled veteran, the applicant must be a veteran
who is entitled to and receiving VA disability compensation at a total disability rating for a
service-connected disability. A veteran who meets this requirement is not limited by the
“substantial gainful activity” ceiling under the Social Security definition of disability.

Acceptable documentation is a written acknowledgement or decision by the Veterans’
Administration.

Ownership/Residency/Exemption Percent

Q. A senior has had an exemption since 2001. On 2/25/13 she transferred ownership to
another person via notarized QCD. This other person became her Power of Attorney on
that same day. She did not have the deed recorded until 3/18/15. There is no provision on
the deed for a Life Estate or similar provision.

A. The date of execution of the instrument of transfer is the date the deed was signed and
notarized and this is the date to be used for purposes of pro-rating taxes. So, even though the
deed was not recorded until 2015, the transfer took place when the QCD was signed and
notarized (on 2/25/13) and the exemption should have been removed at that time because there
was no longer an ownership interest in the property. (RCW 84.60.020 and RCW 84.40.380)

Q. Husband, wife, and sister live in the house together and all contribute financially. The
home is owned by the wife and sister only. They are all on Social Security and
Supplemental Social Security. The husband is the only one over the age of 61.

A. Since the husband has no ownership interest in the property, he does not meet the ownership
requirement as an applicant. One of the sisters must submit the application and provide evidence
of disability in order to meet the age/disability requirement. Because all three live in the home
and have an ownership interest, include the incomes of all three for the combined disposable
income calculation.

Q. A husband and wife both meet the age requirement. The wife completes and submits
the application and she meets the residency requirement. The husband lived and worked
out of state for more than 6 months. Will they qualify?

A. She can apply and qualify based on her age and residency but will still need to include his
income.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.60.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
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Q. Ownership — Joint Tenants and Tenants in Common - A deed shows four owners, no
Life Estate. The only one of the Joint Tenants/Tenants in Common who lives in the home
is a senior who applied for exemption. Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?

A. If otherwise qualified, the senior is eligible to receive the exemption based on his or her
percentage share of ownership. This senior would only be entitled to receive an exemption on
his/her 25 percent ownership interest.

Q. Ownership — Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship (JTWROS) - A deed shows four
owners, JTWROS, no Life Estate. The only one of the JTWROS who lives in the home is a
senior who applied for exemption. Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?

A. AJTWROS is a form of ownership in which the owners hold an undivided interest in the
entire property, and upon the death of one of the joint tenants, the surviving joint tenant(s)
continues to hold the property in fee (or in JTWROS - i.e., the heirs of the deceased joint tenant
do not have inheritance rights). (See RCW 64.28.010). Since there is an undivided interest in
the property (100%), the applicant would receive the full 100 percent exemption.

Q. Does a taxpayer qualify for the exemption program if their home is part of a Limited
Liability Corporation (LLC)?

A. See RCW 84.36.381(2). The applicant must be a person and that person must own and
occupy the residence for which the exemption is claimed. If the home is owned by a partnership
or corporation, the individual applying for exemption does not have the ownership interest
required for this program.

The exception is in the case of an association, partnership, or corporate ownership of cooperative
housing. If a person owned a 10 percent share ownership in a Limited Liability Corporation and
that corporation owns "cooperative housing™ with 10 living units, one of which the person
occupies, then that person could claim that they own a share representing the unit or portion of
the structure in which he or she resides.

This a different situation because the statute specifically allows a share ownership in cooperative
housing. See RCW 84.36.381(2).

Q. What percentage of exemption should an applicant receive when there are co-owners
and the ownership type is not JTWROS?

A. A ““co-owner” is someone who has an ownership interest in the property. A “co-tenant” is
someone who has an ownership interest in the property and resides at the property.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.28.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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v If both parties live in the house and both have an ownership interest, exemption is granted on
the entire parcel. Include 100 percent of everyone's disposable income.

v If more than one person has an ownership interest but only the applicant lives in the
residence, the exemption is allowed on just the applicant’s percentage of ownership. Include
only the applicant’s disposable income.

v When a person with no ownership interest is living in the residence with the applicant, the
exemption is allowed on the entire residence. Include the applicant's income and the portion
of the other person's income that is contributed to the running of the household (rent, utilities,
groceries, etc.).

Q. Husband and wife purchased land together. The wife owns a mobile home as her
separate property per the Division of Community Property. Neither spouse meets the age
requirement. The husband meets the disability requirement. Can this couple qualify for
the exemption?

A. RCW 84.36.381 requires that the residence must be both owned and occupied by the person
claiming the exemption. Neither spouse meets the eligibility requirements. The husband has no
ownership interest in the residence and the wife does not meet the age or disability requirement.

Q. A parcel was acquired via verbal, unrecorded real estate contract between a father and
daughter in 2005. It was followed up by a Personal Representative's Deed in 2008, per
probate, transferring the property to her as her separate estate. Her husband is the
gualified applicant for the exemption program. Will this couple qualify for the exemption?

A. The person claiming the exemption must have owned the residence at the time of

filing (RCW 84.36.381(2)) and, in order to be valid, a transfer of real estate must be written,
signed, and acknowledged (RCW 64.04.020). An exemption can be granted on an unrecorded
contract, however, that contract must still be written, signed, and acknowledged, and a copy must
be retained in the assessor’s files. In this situation, it appears that the father’s intent was for the
daughter to inherit the property as her separate estate. The daughter is the owner as of the
father’s date of death, however, since the property was passed to her as her separate estate, the
husband would not be a “community property” owner in this case. He still has no ownership
interest in the property until that interest is granted to him through deed by his spouse. This
couple does not qualify.

Q. How can I tell if a trust meets the ownership requirements for the exemption or
deferral programs?

A. See the Ownership and Residency section in this manual.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
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Q. A taxpayer is trying is trying to refinance her home and has been advised that her
income is too low to meet the refinance requirements. The perspective lender suggested
that she add her son’s name to the parcel so she can include his income. The home is a
duplex and, currently, the mom is receiving an exemption on her dwelling unit but not the
other half. The son is disabled and lives in the other unit.

If the son’s name is added, how should the exemption be treated? Could he apply for an
exemption on his unit? If the parcel is in both names, should both income be included and
an exemption be granted on the entire property or would it be better to use and
administrative seg and create two parcels, giving each parcel an exemption?

A. Although you could probably justify going either way, | believe the Legislative intent might
be best served by using and administrative segregation. This way, each taxpayer receives the full
exemption to which he/she is entitled. Basically, in this case, you could treat it like a
“cooperative housing unit” and give each taxpayer a full exemption on their ownership share,
which represents the individual dwelling unit for each of them. Mom would receive a full
exemption on her half (her dwelling unit) and the son would receive a full exemption on his half
(his dwelling unit).

Q. Can a person get an exemption on their entire house if they rent out a room?

A. This exemption is a personal exemption and is not intended to provide relief from property
tax for property used in a trade or business. There is a “use” requirement for this exemption and
the property to be exempted must be in use as a primary residence for the personal use of the
applicant.

For purposes of the Property Tax Exemption for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons, we rely
on the definition of “family dwelling unit”. RCW 84.36.381(1) says “the property taxes must
have been imposed upon a residence which was occupied by the person claiming the exemption
as a principal place of residence as of the time of filing”. RCW 84.36.383(1) and WAC 458-
16A-100(28) define a residence as a “single family dwelling unit” and WAC 458-16A-100(17)
defines “family dwelling unit” as:

"Family dwelling unit" means the dwelling unit occupied by a single person, any number
of related persons, or a group not exceeding a total of eight related and unrelated non-
transient persons living as a single noncommercial housekeeping unit. The term does not
include a boarding or rooming house.

Further, WAC 458-16-080(2)(b) defines a “dwelling” as a structure maintained and used
as a residential dwelling that is designed exclusively for occupancy by one family.

It appears to be the intent of the legislature, given this language, that only that portion of a
residence actually used as a primary residence by the qualifying applicant should be eligible for
the exemption. 1 think you could allow an exemption on any portion set aside for the personal
use of the applicant.
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The other thing to look at in these situations is whether or not there is a deduction for expenses
for business use of the home on Line 30 of the Schedule C. If there is, the square footage of the
home that is used “regularly and exclusively” for business should be provided either on Line 30
or on Form 8829.

Q. Can a person request an exemption on a residence that is not occupied as a primary
residence at the time the application is actually submitted?

A. See September 2006 memo to assessors on the following page.
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September 7, 2006

TO: All County Assessors

FROM: Kathy Beith, Technical Programs Manager
Property Tax Division

SUBJECT: SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED PERSONS’ EXEMPTION ON
PREVIOUS PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE

Recently, we were asked whether a person may apply for exemption on a property for past years
if the applicant met the qualifications for those years even though the property is no longer the
applicant’s primary residence.

It is our opinion that "at the time of filing"” means "when the taxpayer would have needed to
timely file," rather than the date the application was actually signed and submitted. Further, it is
our opinion that there is nothing in law or rule that would prevent granting the application for
exemption for the applicant's prior principal residence as long as the applicant met the
qualifications for each of the application years.

RCW 84.36.381(2) states in pertinent part:

The person claiming the exemption must have owned, at the time of filing, in fee, as a life
estate, or by contract purchase, the residence on which the property taxes have been
imposed.... For purposes of this subsection...any lease for life shall be deemed a life estate;

The intent of the Legislature in extending the opportunity to apply for refund was to ensure that
an otherwise eligible applicant was not prevented from benefiting from this program by reason of
mistake, inadvertence, or lack of knowledge. This intent is confirmed and supported in Attorney
General Opinion Number 21, issued October 28, 1969, which says:

A person exempted from paying the first $50 of a given year's real property tax under RCW
84.36.128, who nevertheless pays this amount by reason of mistake, inadvertence or lack of
knowledge, need not have claimed his exemption between February 15 and April 30 in
order to set the stage for a valid refund claim under § 1 (7) of chapter 224, Laws of 1969,
Ex. Sess.; instead, we would deem it to be sufficient compliance with the statute for a
taxpayer to prove his eligibility for the exemption (as of the time his payment was made)
when he files his application for a refund.

According to law, applications must be filed by the applicant or the applicant’s agent. An
application made by the heir of the claimant cannot be accepted. (RCW 84.36.381)

Attorney General Opinion Number 31, issued October 6, 1971, says:



http://www.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?rs=dfa1.0&vr=2.0&DB=1000259&DocName=WAST84.36.128&FindType=L
http://www.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?rs=dfa1.0&vr=2.0&DB=1000259&DocName=WAST84.36.128&FindType=L
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The tax exemption "for certain elderly or retired persons is a personal exemption which
does not follow the property to the benefit of the claimant's heirs or grantees; therefore,
when a person who is qualified for this tax exemption timely files his claim for it but
thereafter dies or sells the property upon which he resides prior to the time the taxes to
which the exemption applies become payable, his heirs or other new owners of the subject
property do not receive the benefit of the exemption."

In our opinion, applicants may apply for back years for which they would have qualified based
on ownership, occupancy, age, and income whether or not they still meet all of the requirements.
The benefit is to the taxpayer and not to the property. If the taxes have been paid, the applicant
may apply for exemption and refund for a maximum of three years (plus current year). If the
taxes are delinquent, the applicant may apply for exemption for any prior years in which the
qualifications were met.

I hope this will provide additional clarification on this issue. If you have questions or need more
information, please contact Peggy Davis at (360) 570-5867 or peggyd@dor.wa.gov.

KB:pjb


mailto:peggyd@dor.wa.gov
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Combined Disposable Income

Q. Are premiums paid for Medicare Part D (the new drug benefit) allowable deductions
for determining combined disposable income?

A. Yes, these premiums are allowable deductions. The statute, RCW 84.36.383(4)(c), says that
“health care insurance premiums for Medicare under Title 18 of the SSA” should be deducted
when calculating combined disposable income. Health care insurance premiums under Title 18
of the SSA include:

Part A—Hospital Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,

Part B—Supplementary Medical Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,
Part C—Medicare + Choice Program — also called Medicare Advantage, and
Part D—Voluntary Prescription Drug Benefit Program

Q. Isthere an allowable deduction for hearing aids and batteries, HoverRounds, memory
foam mattresses, adult diapers, and other similar items?

A. See RCW 84.36.383(4) and WAC 458-16A-100(18).

Hearing aids and batteries do not fall under the “prescription drug” category and are generally
not included in “special needs furniture and equipment” that would be provided by an in-home
service program.

Sometimes, you will need to make judgment calls regarding the items listed.

For instance, if someone is receiving Hospice care and has developed bedsores and Hospice has
suggested that a memory foam mattress would help the situation, you may be able to allow the
cost.

Hover Rounds are similar. If someone is not ambulatory and is in a wheelchair, or cannot walk
inside the home without a walker or cane, in my opinion, that would be an allowable deduction.
On the other hand, if the person gets around just fine and purchased a Hover Round to be able to
go to the mall or go to the zoo with grandchildren, in my opinion, that may not be an allowable
deduction. You might need to ask some questions on this one and you might need to find out
whether at least part of the cost was covered by insurance and/or Medicare.

Q. With the ease of new Tax software available to the public, how can we verify that the
forms that are brought into our office for income verification are legitimate and have
actually been filed with the IRS?

A. The only real assurance would be to request a transcript of the applicant’s tax return directly
from IRS. You can also request an actual copy of the return, but each copy request is $30.00.
You can request a transcript, free of charge, by submitting Form 4506-T. This form must be
completed by both you and the taxpayer. You should complete Lines 5 through 9 and the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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taxpayer should complete Lines 1 through 4. The taxpayer must sign the form to give
permission to IRS to release the transcript. Transcripts are available for the current year and
three prior years and most requests are processed within 30 days. A sample form is included in
the Disposable Income section of your manual on page 136 and you can find the most current
form on the IRS website at http://www.irs.gov/app/picklist/list/formsPublications.html.

Q. What is an annuity?

A. See page 132 in this manual.

Q. Should money received for care of dependent children be included in disposable
income?

A. Money received for the care and support of dependent children should not be included in
disposable income.

Q. An applicant has won $272,000 in a lawsuit. Does it count as disposable income for the
senior citizen exemption program?

A. According to IRS rules, in order to determine whether or not a court award must be included
in adjusted gross income, you must consider the item that the settlement replaces.

If the person files a Federal tax return, certain types of settlements would be included as “Other
Income” in the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income. Since our starting point according to RCW
84.36.383(5) is adjusted gross income, those types of settlements would also be included in the
disposable income calculation.

If the settlement is “compensatory damages for personal physical injury or sickness”, then the
settlement would not be included in adjusted gross income and should not be included in
disposable income. The court documents should be reviewed to confirm the type of settlement
(i.e. what the settlement replaces).

IRS Publication 525 has more information on this. You can find the publication at
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p525.pdf. The section is called “Court Awards and Damages”.

Q. If aclaimant records a deed retaining a life estate, would we count the income of the
“co-owner” if they live in the home?

A. Basically, when a life estate is reserved, the “co-owner” has "postponed" their ownership
rights until after the life estate interest has been extinguished. The RCW says that combined
disposable income includes the disposable income of the applicant, the applicant's spouse or
domestic partner, and any co-tenants. A co-tenant is someone who lives with the applicant and


http://www.irs.gov/app/picklist/list/formsPublications.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p525.pdf

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 170
Section IX ¢ FAQ’s

has an ownership interest. In this case, there is no current ownership interest because that
interest has been postponed until the expiration of the life estate interest. Therefore, we would
only count the income of the applicant and the applicant's spouse or domestic partner. However,
you would also include any monies contributed by other household members towards the
running of the household.

Q. How does a pre-nuptial agreement affect the calculation of combined disposable
income?

A. We have one example on file. In this particular case, the pre-nuptial agreement specified that
money deposited into each spouse’s account was that person’s alone. Also, this couple
maintained separate homes. In our staff attorney’s opinion, the pre-nuptial agreement can and
does override state community property laws. In this case, finances were separate, and the two
individuals maintained separate homes. The legal opinion was that, in this particular case, the
two were not co-tenants and, even though married, were living “separate and apart”. The
applicant was not required to include the spouse’s income. His opinion cautioned that this was a
unique case and each case must be considered individually.

Q. What is a Section 1035 Exchange and should these amounts be included in the
calculation of disposable income?

A. A Section 1035 Exchange is similar to a rollover. It is a tax-free exchange because the
ownership and basis do not change and the owner does not have access to the actual cash used in
the exchange. “Exchange” is the key word. Treat this transaction similar to a rollover and do
not include the non-taxable portion in disposable income. This includes exchanges of portions of
annuity contracts.

Rev. Rul. 2003-76 - Exchange of a portion of annuity contract. An exchange of a
portion of an annuity contract into a new annuity contract is treated as a tax-free
exchange under section 1035 of the Code. Investment in the contract and basis are
allocated according to cash value immediately prior to the exchange using the rules of
sections 72 and 1031.

Q. How do we determine capital gain on the sale of a residence when the distributions of
the sale are invested in the construction of a new home?

A. The distribution of the proceeds from a sale does not affect the actual capital gain. The
capital gain is the difference between the sale price (less expenses of sale) and the basis of the
old home (original purchase cost plus improvements). Only the portion of the gain that is re-
invested in a replacement primary residence prior to the sale or within the same calendar year as
the sale can be excluded from the combined disposable income calculation.
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Q. What information should be requested to substantiate a claim of zero income?

A. WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(vi)(G) says: “Even claimants who claim they have no federal
income (or an inordinately small amount of federal income) must have income to maintain
themselves and their residences. In these situations, the claimant must produce copies of
documents demonstrating the source of the funds they are living on (i.e., checking account
registers and bank statements) and the bills for maintaining the claimant and the residence (i.e.,
public assistance check stubs, utility invoices, cable TV invoices, check registers, bank
statements, etc.).” See the sample letter and questionnaire in the Disposable Income Section of
the manual.

Q. How should we calculate combined disposable income when the applicant did not file a
Federal income tax return?

A. When the claimant does not present federal income tax returns, the assessor must determine
what constitutes gross income and adjusted gross income for the non-filer and obtain copies of
income documents to determine that person's gross and adjusted gross income. WAC 458-16A-
110 and WAC 458-16A-115 provide assistance in calculating gross income and adjusted gross
income. Caution: You should always verify that the adjustments/deductions listed in the
rules are still valid for the applicable income year (some of the adjustments/deductions
have a “sunset” date) and that new deductions have not been added. Our rules may not
include IRS rule current year updates. The easiest way to check is to look at the front of a
Form 1040 to see what adjustments/deductions IRS allows for the specific income tax year.

Internal Revenue Code section 61 defines "gross income,"” generally, as all income from
whatever source derived. The federal definition of gross income, generally, does not include:

(a) Gifts, inheritance amounts, or life insurance proceeds;

(b) Up to two hundred fifty thousand dollars (five hundred thousand dollars for a married
couple) gain from the sale of a principal residence;

(c) Certain amounts received for illness or injury — see WAC 458-16A-110(3)(c);

(d) Contributions or payments made by an employer to accident and health plans, the
employer's qualified transportation plan, a cafeteria plan, a dependent care assistance program,
educational assistance programs, or for certain fringe benefits for employees described by
Internal Revenue Code section 132;

(e) Income from discharge of indebtedness under certain limited circumstances, such as
insolvency. These circumstances are outlined in Internal Revenue Code section 108;

(f) Improvements by a lessee left upon the lessor's property at the termination of a lease;

(9) Recovery of an amount deducted in a prior tax year that did not reduce federal income
taxes paid in that prior year;

(h) Qualified scholarships and fellowship grants provided for certain educational expenses
(e.g., tuition and books);

(i) Meals or lodging furnished to an employee for the convenience of the employer;

(j) Excluded military pay and benefits;



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
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(k) Amounts received under insurance contracts for certain living expenses;

(I) Certain cost-sharing payments made for conservation purposes on land owned by the
claimant;

(m) Child support payments;

(n) Qualified foster care payments made from the government or a qualified nonprofit to a
foster parent or guardian;

(0) Income from United States savings bonds used to pay higher education tuition and fees;

(p) Distributions from a qualified state tuition program or a Coverdell Education Savings
Account used to pay education expenses.

Internal Revenue Code section 62 defines "adjusted gross income™ as gross income minus the
following deductions:

(@) Trade and business deductions;

(b) Unreimbursed expenses paid or incurred by an elementary or secondary school teacher for
educational materials and equipment, an employee who is a qualified performing artist, or a state
or local government official paid on a fee basis;

(c) Losses from sale or exchange of property;

(d) Deductions attributable to rents and royalties;

(e) Certain deductions of life tenants and income beneficiaries of property;

(f) Pension, profit-sharing, annuity, and annuity plans of self-employed individuals;

(g) Self-employed health insurance deduction;

(h) One-half of self-employment tax;

(i) Retirement savings;

(j) Penalties on early withdrawal of savings;

(k) Alimony;

(I) Reforestation costs;

(m) Required repayment of supplemental unemployment compensation;

(n) Jury duty pay given to employer;

(o) Clean-fuel vehicles and certain refueling property;

(p) Unreimbursed moving expenses;

(g) Archer MSAs (medical savings accounts);

(r) Interest on student loans;

(s) Higher education expenses;

(t) Domestic production activities deduction.

Q. On a Defense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS) “Retiree Account Statement”
that shows “Gross Pay” and “VA Waiver”, which amount should be included when
calculating disposable income?

A. Use the “Gross Pay” amount. The “VA Waiver” shows the offset, or reduction, to the
retirement benefits due to monies received directly from VA as VA disability benefits.
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Q. On a1099-R form, do we count the gross distribution or the taxable amount that would
be part of adjusted gross income? How can you tell whether it is an IRA distribution or a
regular pension? Are the 1099's different?

A. The RCW says we must add pensions and annuities to the extent that they are not already
included in adjusted gross income. See RCW 84.36.383(5). That tells us that it was the intent of
the legislature that we include pension income whether or not it’s taxable. The non-taxable
portion is generally the portion that was contributed by the employee.

There is an exception for an IRA distribution. IRA accounts have been determined to be similar
to CD accounts and savings accounts so you would only include the taxable portion of the
distribution, which should already be included in adjusted gross income.

A 1099-R can be used for pensions, annuities, retirement, profit-sharing plans, IRA’s, and
insurance contracts, so the best way to find out what type of source it is, is to ask the taxpayer.

For IRA’s though, if your taxpayer files an income tax return, IRA distributions will be on Line
15 of the 1040 rather than on Line 16. On the 1099, next to the Distribution Code in Box 7,
there is a little square that should have an “X” if it’s a Traditional, SEP, or Simple IRA.
Also distribution codes “J”, “Q”, and “T” indicate a distribution from a Roth IRA.

Q. What should I look for on IRS Form 4797?

A. Form 4797 is a schedule used to calculate the capital gain on property that has been sold. It's
similar to a Schedule D - which is called the capital gains form. Ordinary gains from the 4797
(Part 11) go directly to the front of the 1040 form - Line 14. Long-term gains from Part | — Line 9
are brought forward to a Schedule D. If the amount is a loss, the loss would be reported in the
taxpayer's itemized deductions and you will not see it on the face of the 1040 - nor would you
have to worry about adding it back to AGI since it was not included in or deducted from AGI.

Part | of Form 4797 is used to calculate the gain or loss on disposals of property used in a trade
or business. IRS requires recapture of all or a portion of any previous depreciation when you
dispose of a business asset. The depreciation shown on this form, both in Column E on the front
page and in Part I11 on page 2, is only for the purpose of calculating how much of the
depreciation has to be recaptured according to IRS rules. This recapture amount affects the basis
of the asset that is used to calculate the gain.

All of that is a very long way of saying that the depreciation amounts reported on this form do
not need to be added when we calculate combined disposable income. At some point in time,
these amounts were deductions - probably shown on a Schedule C or E or F - and at that time,
we did add them because they were being used as a deduction. Now, they are only being used to
calculate the capital gain or loss on disposal of the asset.

Treat this form similar to a Schedule D. Make sure that losses were not used to offset gains.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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Q. When the Trust owns everything including the rentals and investments and the income
is through the trust account and not reported on the personal account how are we to know
these things? If an individual has set up a trust for their assets, does the trust have to file a
1040, or does the income generated/distributed from the trust appear on the individual
10407 Is there any indication on the 1040 that there are additional assets in a trust?

A. In general, the taxpayer has a choice. He/she can report the trust income on the individual
tax return or file Form 1041 for a trust. Form 1041 includes a Schedule K-1, similar to a
partnership return, to report the share of distribution to each interested party. Income or loss
from trusts and partnerships (Schedule K-1) should be reported on Schedule E of the individual
taxpayer’s Form 1040 (Parts Il and 111 on page 2). Trust assets are not reported on the Form
1041 for the trust, the individual K-1’s, or the Form 1040 for the individual taxpayer. Trust
assets are not “income” and should not be included in disposable income.

Q. What is FTC (foreign tax credit)?

A. The foreign tax credit is intended to reduce the double tax burden that would otherwise arise
when foreign source income is taxed by both the United States and the foreign country from
which the income is derived. This credit can be reported on the 1040 (pg 2, line 47) or as an
itemized deduction on Schedule A (line 8). For us, this is an indicator that the applicant may
have additional foreign income that should be included in combined disposable income. In order
to take the credit, the taxable portion of the income will be already included in AGlI, but there
could be a non-taxable portion that needs to be added. If you see a “foreign tax credit”, you
should ask the taxpayer if all of the foreign income received was taxable and reported on the
Form 1040.

Q. How should foreign income amounts be converted to U.S. dollars?
A. There are tables on the IRS website that would probably be best to use. IRS publishes
“Yearly average currency exchange rates” so you don’t have to do your own spreadsheet or rely

on just one month’s rate. Here is the link.

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Y early-Average-Currency-
Exchange-Rates

Q. Should housing allowance for clergy be included in disposable income?

A. The answer depends on whether the clergy person is actively working as a clergy or is
receiving the housing allowance as part of his/her retirement.

Working clergy: The IRS “Housing” section in Publication 17 says that special rules apply to
clergy. That section applies when the pay is for services that are currently being rendered —
active working clergy who are receiving a housing allowance as part of their salaries. Under this
rule, the rental value of a home (including utilities) or a designated housing allowance provided



http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-Currency-Exchange-Rates
http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-Currency-Exchange-Rates
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as part of the salary is not included in adjusted gross income. RCW 84.36.383(5) specifies the
types of income we must add to adjusted gross income to arrive at disposable income and that
list does not include the housing allowance for active working clergy. Therefore, you should not
include it in the income calculation.

Retired clergy: Per the IRS rules, pension and retirement pay for a member of the clergy is
usually treated the same as any other pension or annuity. It must be reported on lines 16a and
16b of Form 1040. Pension disbursements for housing (rental allowance and utilities allowance)
are non-taxable for IRS purposes. These disbursements appear to be the excludable rental and
utility allowance and should be reported as non-taxable pension income on line 16a but should
not be included on line 16b. However, since RCW 84.36.383(5) requires that pensions and
annuities be included in disposable income, whether or not they are taxable for IRS purposes,
you would still include these disbursements in the disposable income calculation for a retired
pastor.

Q. Should debt cancellation be included in disposable income —i.e. cancellation of student
loans and other debts?

A. Typically, debt cancellation - including debts for student loans that have been forgiven — is
reported on Line 21 of Form 1040 as “other income”. Adjusted gross income as determined
under IRS rules is our starting point when determining “disposable income”. Therefore, if the
cancelled debt would be included in adjusted gross income under IRS rules, we must include it in
disposable income.

Change in Status, Pro-ration, Segregation, and Mobile Home
Advance Tax

Q. An applicant who has not filed for six years comes into the office to reapply. His income
has jumped dramatically over the six-year period. Do you require that applicant to bring
past year information to the office to prove that they qualified at their previous level for
those years?

A. RCW 84.36.385(5) says that if the applicant received an exemption in prior years based on
erroneous information, the taxes are to be collected subject to penalties as provided in RCW
84.40.130 for a period of up to five years. Applicants are also required to submit a Change in
Status form when there is a change that may affect the exemption. The applicant should be
required to provide documentation proving that the requirements were met in the interim years.

Q. How should advance tax on a mobile home be treated when there is a senior/disabled
exemption and the claimant is moving the mobile home to another county?

A. In this case, in order to preserve the senior’s entitlement to the exemption, the exemption
should not be removed upon collection of the advance tax. By doing it this way, the senior can


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
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transfer the exemption to the new county for the following year, which is when the mobile will
be picked up as new construction.

If a mobile home is sold, then the exemption should be prorated. The claimant’s benefit
resulting from the tax exemption ends upon the date of sale. If the exemption is not prorated
from that point the exemption benefit for the remainder of the year would, in effect, be
“transferred” to the new owner who may or may not be a qualified applicant.

Q. If asenior citizen or disabled person, who is otherwise eligible for the exemption, owns
a one-acre parcel of land on which the residence is located, and subdivides the one-acre
parcel into three parcels of land, with the residence on one of the three parcels, is the entire
acre still eligible for the reduction in taxes for purposes of the program?

A. Memo to Assessors — September 27, 2005, and Follow-up Email — November 3, 2005.

From: Davis, Peggy
Sent: Thursday, November 03, 2005 10:57 AM
Subject: Follow-up to September 27th Memo - Senior Exemption Single Parcel

Hi All,

This email is in response to your request for clarification on the September 27, 2005
memo regarding the statutory definition of a "residence” for purposes of administering
the Senior and Disabled Persons Exemption Program.

As you know, the Department’s opinion is that the Senior Citizen and Disabled Person
Exemption should be applied only to the residence and a single parcel up fo one acre in
size.

If the residence is located on more than one parcel, additional parcels can qualify if the
combined area does not exceed the maximum of one acre. If the additional parcel is
simply a bigger yard, there is a question of whether that is really part of the "residence."
On the other hand, if the garage, or other type of structure usually associated with a
residence, is located on the second parcel, then a judgment call must be made as to
whether or not that is part of the “residence."

A single parcel that is the result of an administrative combination may be exempt if the
property is truly used for residential purposes. As noted above, a judgment call must be
made as to whether all of the property is really part of the "residence."

Please contact me if you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns regarding
this issue.
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Peggy Davis

Senior/Disabled Exemption/Deferral Programs Administrator
State of Washington Department of Revenue

(360) 570-5867

September 27, 2005

TO: All County Assessors

FROM: Kathy Beith, Technical Programs Manager
Property Tax Division

SUBJECT: SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED PERSON EXEMPTIONS

During our recent exemption seminar, the question was asked whether the senior and disabled
person exemption applies to a single parcel up to one acre or multiple parcels up to one acre.
The exemption applies only to one parcel of land containing the qualified residence, as long as
the parcel is one acre or less in size.

The statutory definition of residence is found in RCW 84.36.383(1), which states:

The term "residence™ means a single family dwelling unit whether such unit be separate
or part of a multiunit dwelling, including the land on which such dwelling stands not to
exceed one acre.

Because exemptions must be narrowly construed, we interpret this definition as an intentional
limitation of the amount of property that may be exempted. Not all of the land owned by a
qualified applicant may be exempted, only the land on which the dwelling stands and no more
than one acre. The intention appears to be that only the house and parcel of land on which the
house is situated is included in the exemption, even when the owner also owns other adjacent
parcels.

The administrative rules provide more specific guidance on this issue. WAC 458-16A-100(25)
provides a definition of residence that states:

“"'Residence™ means a single-family dwelling unit whether such unit be separate or part
of a multiunit dwelling and includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on which the
dwelling stands.”

WAC 458-16A-150(3)(g) specifically explains how to administer the exemption in the event an
exempt parcel is subdivided:
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If the change in status removes a portion of the property from the exemption, property
taxes in their full amount on that portion of the property that is no longer exempt must be
recalculated based upon the current full assessed value of that portion of the property
and paid from the date the change in status occurred. For example, a property owner
subdivides his or her one-acre lot into two parcels. The parcel that does not have the
principal residence built upon it no longer qualifies for the exemption. The property
taxes are recalculated to the full assessed amount of that parcel on a pro rata basis for
the remainder of the year beginning the day following the date the subdivision was given
final approval. (Emphasis added.)

The Senior Citizen and Disabled Person Exemption should be applied only to the residence and a
single parcel up to one acre in size. | hope this will provide additional clarification on this issue.
If you have questions or need more information, please contact Mike Braaten at (360) 570-5870

or Peggy Davis at (360) 570-5867.

KB:pbj
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Implementation of Recent L eqgislative Changes:

Q. Which zoning/land use classification applies — the current classification or the
“grandfathered” classification?

A. SB 6338 is concerned with the current land use requirements. If the person purchased the
property 20 years ago and, at the time, a 10-acre parcel was required per residence and now the
zoning has changed and there is a one acre minimum per residence, then the exemption would
apply to the one acre that is currently required by local zoning and land use.

Using the same reasoning, if a person purchased a 5-acre parcel 10 years ago and, at the time,
only one acre was required per residence and now the land use regulations have changed and
current requirements are 10 acres per residence, the exemption would apply to the entire 5-acre
parcel since we are looking at current land use requirements.

Q. How does SB 6338 affect frozen value?

A. The frozen value for the added acreage should be the value at the time the property becomes
eligible for exemption — e.g., the 2006 assessed value used for the 2007 taxes. If an applicant has
an existing exemption on one acre and has an additional four acres that are now eligible, the new
frozen value will be the already existing frozen value of the residence and one acre — plus the
2006 value of the additional four acres now included in the exemption. The new frozen value
will carry forward to future years.

If your county uses a cyclical revaluation plan and the property is in the 2006 revaluation area,
then according to WAC 458-16A-140(7), you would use the new value after the revaluation is
completed.

Q. How does SB 6338 affect the definition of “residence”?

A. Buildings not considered to be part of the "residence" should be treated the same way you
have always treated them. Our office policy in the past has been to advise that “improvements
typically found on a residential parcel should be included in the exemption including (but not
limited to) detached garages, wood sheds, pump houses, outhouses, a swimming pool... The key
question here is — what is typical for your area?” The only difference now is that, if the zoning
requires a larger than one-acre parcel per residence, we are potentially dealing with more than
one acre of land. Nothing else changed. If there are improvements that you would not typically
find on a residential parcel (such as additional dwelling units or outbuildings used for
commercial purposes) you should continue to exclude those improvements along with the
appropriate portion of the land that they occupy.

Q. How does SB 6338 affect property that is in “current use” or “DFL” classifications?
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A. A senior citizen can qualify for a property tax exemption, based on their income, while
continuing to use their property in a manner consistent with statutory provisions for classification
in a current use program or Designated Forest Land (DFL). The use of the parcel determines
whether it qualifies, or continues to qualify, under current use or DFL. If the property still meets
the requirements for the current use program, it does not have to be removed simply because it
now also qualifies for the senior exemption. The property can be in both programs.

You could still have a one-acre home site in Farm & Ag for current use purposes, but have five
acres exempt for the senior program. The additional 4 acres could still be qualified in Farm &
Ag if it is still being used for commercial farming. The 5-acre exemption for the senior program
does not change the definition of a "home site” for current use purposes.

Example: Timber Joe has 21 acres and the property qualifies for Designated Forest. His
personal residence is, and has always been, located on the property. Under the DFL program, he
has a 1-acre homesite set-aside and the other 20 acres are valued under the DFL program. Local
zoning requires a 5-acre minimum per residence in this area. In the past, Timber Joe received a
senior exemption on 1 acre, as allowed under the senior exemption program. Now, he can
receive a senior exemption on up to five acres. So now, his new frozen value becomes the
previously frozen value on the 1-acre homesite and his personal residence PLUS the DFL value
of an additional four acres.

Remember that, for the senior program, the statute states that “in no event” should the value “be
greater than the true and fair value of the residence on January 1% of the assessment year”.
Therefore, if the DFL value decreases next year, although the frozen value will not change, the
taxpayer would be taxed on the lower of the frozen value or the assessed (true and fair) value,
using the aggregate value of the land and improvements. This is the same way the program
would work during a declining economy when home values are decreasing.

Q. How does SSB 5256 affect the calculation of disposable income?

A. The excludable VA benefits changed with passage of SSB 5256. Prior to this legislation, any
veteran’s benefits that did not represent attendant-care or medical-aid payments had to be added
to adjusted gross income in order to determine disposable income.

Beginning with the 2008 income year, we can exclude the following benefits paid by the
Department of Veterans’ Affairs:

e attendant-care payments;

e medical-aid payments;

o disability compensation, as defined in Title 38, part 3, section 3.4 of the code of
federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008; and

e dependency and indemnity compensation, as defined in Title 38, part 3, section 3.5 of
the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008.

Any other veterans’ benefits must still be included in disposable income.
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Q. What steps should assessors take to implement E2SHB 15977

A. Beginning July 1, 2010, assessors must notify approximately one-sixth of those persons
exempt from taxes under RCW 84.36.381 in the current year who have not filed a renewal
application within the previous six years, of the requirement to file a renewal application.

Each assessor has the discretion to determine what cycle to use, as long as each participant
renews at least once every six years.

If the assessor finds that the applicant received exemption in prior years based on erroneous
information, the taxes must be collected subject to penalties as provided in RCW 84.40.130 for a
period of not to exceed five years.

WAC 458-16A-150 (4) Renewal application. The county assessor must notify claimants
when to file a renewal application with updated supporting documentation.

(a) Notice to renew. Written notice must be sent by the assessor and must be mailed at
least three weeks in advance of the expected taxpayer response date.

(b) When to renew. The assessor must request a renewal application at least once every
six years. The assessor may request a renewal application for any year the income
requirements are amended in the statute after the exemption is granted.

Q. If our office converts to a six-year cycle, does that mean we might have to make
corrections for the five previous years when someone files a renewal and no longer
qualifies?

A. Yes. Any change that should have generated a “change in status” form can potentially create
a situation where the exemption is based on “erroneous” information. In that situation, the taxes
must be collected subject to penalties as provided in RCW 84.40.130 for a period of not to
exceed five years.

For example, if someone applies and receives an exemption, then the next year the income
increases because he/she gets married, when you find out during the renewal process six years
from now, you will need to go back five years because the exemption received during those five
years was based on “erroneous” or incorrect information.

Initially, there will be no need to go back for the five years since you are just now shifting to the
six-year cycle and there should be no need to go back beyond the previous renewal. During the
2012 renewal cycle, you could run into a situation where you have to go back five years. That
gives you time to plan and decide how you want to handle this.

My best suggestion is to manage the renewal cycle the way some of the other counties are doing
it.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130

2015 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 182
Section IX ¢ FAQ’s

Kitsap County mails renewals to one-fourth of the participants each year. The other three-
fourths of the participants receive a letter and change in status form. The letter explains that,
even though it is not their year to renew, any change in status must be reported. The letter
provides that participant’s renewal year, and tells the taxpayer that if there was no change in
status they do not need to respond.

In Cowlitz County, they send letters to 25 percent of seniors on the program. The letter reminds
them that it is ‘their year’ to renew the exemption and gives a deadline by which they must reply.
Everyone else (the other 75 percent) gets a postcard reminder that they only need to come in if
there has been an unreported change in their status since the last update.

Q. In 2011, HB 1649 passed, providing a comprehensive change to the RCW to treat “state
registered domestic partners” as spouses under the law and extending reciprocity to same-
sex marriages formed in other jurisdictions. What effect does this have on the tax relief
programs for individuals?

A. The legislation changed the definition of “domestic partner” to allow recognition of same-sex
marriages formed in other jurisdictions. For example, effective July 22, 2011, if a same-sex
married couple from Canada applies for a property tax exemption, that couple’s union is
recognized as a “domestic partnership” in Washington.

Q. In 2012, SHB 2056 passed, replacing the term “boarding home” with the term “assisted
living facility”. Does this change which facilities are allowed as “temporary residences” for
the tax relief programs?

A. No. The definition, nature, and licensing of these facilities did not change. You still use the
same DSHS website for searches and the site still references both. This change was for
clarification.

Q. In 2013, SSB 5444 passed, eliminating the requirement for assessors to annually value
tax-exempt government-owned properties and eliminating the leasehold excise tax credit
for tax amounts in excess of the amount of property tax that would have applied if the
taxpayer owned the property. How does this affect participants in the property tax
exemption program for senior citizens and disabled persons?

A. The leasehold excise tax credit for taxpayers who qualify for property tax exemption as a
senior citizen or disabled person still applies. This has not changed. However, there will be a
new Leasehold Excise Tax Credit form for 2014. This form must be completed by the taxpayer,
in addition to the application for exemption, and the County Use Only section must completed by
someone in the assessor’s office. The taxpayer will be required to submit a copy of this form to
the Department’s Leasehold Excise Tax Division in order to receive the credit. Taxpayers
receiving this credit should be included in your regular renewal cycle.
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Documentation

Q. Who must sign the “Proof of Disability” affidavit?

A. WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(iv)(A) says that if a claim is based on a disability the claimant
must provide either acknowledgment from SSA or VA or from "a licensed physician (medical or
osteopath doctor), a licensed or certified psychologist for disabling mental impairments, or a
licensed podiatrist for disabling impairments of the foot".

Our WAC rule is very clear in the terminology used. In addition, our definition of “disability” is
now linked directly to the Social Security definition and that program also specifically defines
“acceptable medical sources”.

Although there are many other types of practitioner licenses (including dentistry, optometry,

chiropractor, acupuncturist, naturopathy), these do not meet the qualifications set forth in the
laws and rules governing these programs.

Typical Residential Parcel

Q. What is a “typical residential parcel” for purposes of the senior and disabled persons
programs?

A. See the May 19, 2003, Office Policy Memo on the following page.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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77\
REVENUE
STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO Box 47471, Olympia, WA 98504-7471
May 19, 2003 2:18 PM
TO: Mark Bauthues

Business: Whatcom County Assessor’s Office

Fax: 360-738-2472 Phone: 360-676-6790 EXT 50372

FROM: Mary Skalicky

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

Fax: (360) 586-7602 Phone: (360) 570-5867

SUBJECT: SENIOR CITIZEN PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS

Additional Comments:

This is in response to a question that came into the office last week while | was out sick.
The question was regarding a swimming pool and whether it should be included in an
exemption . . .

Office Policy

In the past we have advised that improvements typically found on a residential parcel be included
in the exemption including (but not limited to) detached garages, wood sheds, pump houses, out
houses, a swimming pool. . . The key question here is - what is typical for your area?

We encourage you to develop policies within your office to implement these programs. These policies should be
within the statutory meaning of the exemption and deferral programs, and be applied uniformly and consistently to
all applicants. Iappreciate your concern that only qualified citizen’s benefit from the property tax exemption
program. By setting some in-house policies you will help to guarantee that that does occur.

Transmitting 1 page including cover sheet. If there is any problem receiving this fax
document, please call (360) 570-5900.

The information and the enclosed documents in this fax are privileged and confidential. If
you have received this in error, you are hereby notified that any dissemination of this

communication is prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify the
sender immediately and return the original message to the point of origin.

H:\Mary\Word Docs\Faxes\FAX-MaryS-Whatcom Co Assr - Mark.doc
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Q. I have an applicant that seems to qualify for senior exemption on all criteria. Once |
applied her exemption to her account, my appraisers told me her home has no value
because of a fire some years ago, and she claimed she is not living in the home. Her utility
bills show electric and water usage, though she claims the repairs have not been made to
the house. How do I treat her frozen value and residency? Does she qualify or not, since
she claims the home is unlivable?

A. You have two issues: valuation and residency.

We’ll take “residency” first because that is the easiest part to answer. We know, under normal
circumstances, in order to continue the exemption the taxpayer must live in the residence for
more than six months each year. In the case of “destroyed property”, sometimes you have to
make a judgment call based on the specific circumstances. In general, when there is a "destroyed
property" situation and the taxpayer has relocated due to the destruction, if the taxpayer is
actually working on repairs and will return to the home by the end of the following year, you can
safely say the home remains the principal residence and leave the exemption in place. In this
case, since the fire was several years ago, we are long past the point where the exemption should
be removed if the taxpayer is not actually living in the residence. On the other hand, if the
taxpayer is actually living there you can continue the exemption even though the repairs have not
been made.

Next, we can talk about value in general. Even though the appraiser says there is no value for
the home, if the taxpayer lives there, you can still allow the exemption. In that case, the
exemption would just reduce the taxable value of the land and homesite improvements since
there is no value placed on the actual dwelling structure. The value (or in this case the lack of
value) of the residence does not determine eligibility for the exemption.

Now let’s talk about the frozen value. When there is a “destroyed property” situation, typically,
the assessor’s market value is adjusted to reflect the value of the property after the destruction.
For properties in the senior citizen exemption program, the frozen value is then compared with
the true and fair value after destruction. The property owner pays tax on the lower of those two
values. In essence, the exemption participant pays tax on the lowest value authorized by
law, the lower of the frozen value or the true and fair value after destruction.

You should not adjust the frozen value at this time but, if/when the home is repaired or replaced,
it might be necessary to establish a new frozen value. The land value would remain frozen at the
original frozen value. The value of new construction is added to the senior citizen’s frozen value
to the extent that the new construction increased the true and fair value of the property
prior to destruction. If the property owner replaced the destroyed property and the true and fair
value of the property was no more than the true and fair value prior to destruction, the frozen
value would not be affected. Only the “new construction” value of repairs or replacements that
exceeds the original true and fair value would be added to the frozen value. For example, if the
structure was originally a 2 bed/2 bath, 1200 sg. ft. dwelling with average construction —i.e.
typical siding, countertops, floors, etc. - and, after the repairs, that is still the case, you should not
adjust the frozen value. On the other hand, if the new construction included increasing the sq. ft.
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of the home, adding bedrooms and bathrooms, upgrading the exterior and interior, etc., then you
should adjust the frozen value to reflect the “new construction”.

The things to remember about the frozen value are:

e The value is frozen based on the January 1 assessed value in the
assessment/income/application year the taxpayer first qualifies for the exemption.

e After that, the frozen value is not adjusted unless property is removed from the
exemption or added to the exemption.

o 1.e.aportion of the property is sold or used for business or there is a change in
zoning changing the amount of land that can be included. If the market assessed
value of the residence and/or land falls below the frozen value, the exemption is
applied to the lower of the two values so that the taxpayer always receives the
greater benefit.

o i.e. the residence is an older single-wide mobile home and is replaced with a new
double-wide, zoning changes to allow inclusion of additional acreage, “new
construction” type improvements are made to the property.

RCW 84.36.381(6)(a) For a person who otherwise qualifies under this section and has a
combined disposable income of thirty-five thousand dollars or less, the valuation of the residence
is the assessed value of the residence on the later of January 1, 1995, or January 1st of the
assessment year the person first qualifies under this section. If the person subsequently fails to
qualify under this section only for one year because of high income, this same valuation must be
used upon requalification. If the person fails to qualify for more than one year in succession
because of high income or fails to qualify for any other reason, the valuation upon requalification
is the assessed value on January 1st of the assessment year in which the person requalifies. If the
person transfers the exemption under this section to a different residence, the valuation of the
different residence is the assessed value of the different residence on January 1st of the
assessment year in which the person transfers the exemption.

(b) In no event may the valuation under this subsection be greater than the true and fair value
of the residence on January 1st of the assessment year.

(c) This subsection does not apply to subsequent improvements to the property in the year in
which the improvements are made. Subsequent improvements to the property must be added to
the value otherwise determined under this subsection at their true and fair value in the year in
which they are made.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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Contacts for the Individual Benefit Programs covered in this manual:

LaRetta Martin — Auditor LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1426
Mark Baca — Auditor MarkBa@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1409
Peggy Davis — Specialist PeggyD@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1410

Contacts for Department of Revenue, Property Tax Division, by topic can be

found at:

http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/ContactUs.aspx



mailto:LaRettaM@dor.wa.gov
mailto:MarkBa@dor.wa.gov
mailto:PeggyD@dor.wa.gov
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/ContactUs.aspx
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PROPERTY TAX NOTICES
PTN TITLE
Date http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax _sn _main.aspx#property
Leqislative Update — Income thresholds for property tax relief programs for senior citizens
08/12/2015 . ;
and disabled persons to increase
Leqislative Update — Refunds of property taxes paid as a result of manifest
07/09/2015 errors in description of property
07/02/2014 Leqislative Update - Subjecting Federally Recognized Indian Tribes to the Same
Conditions as State and Local Governments for Property Owned Exclusively by the Tribe
07/17/2014 | Leqislative Update — Standardized Criteria Established for Exempt Nonprofits
07/12/2014 2014 Leglslatlve Updates: Current Use, Marijuana, and Designated Forest Land
Legislation
Leqislative Update — Changes in the statute to create greater efficiency for assessors by
01/10/2014 == - - -
eliminating the requirement to annually appraise tax-exempt government properties
Leqislative Update — Changes in the statute to clarify inclusion of deferral balances in
12/30/2013 | certificates of delinguency and treatment of proceeds when tax title properties are rented or
sold
10/17/2013 Lemslgtlye Update — Changes in the Property Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Fair
Associations
08/08/2013 | Industrial Development District Levies for Port Districts
07/01/2013 | Excess Leasehold Excise Tax Credit Eliminated
09/21/2011 | 2011 Legislative Updates and Special Session — Levies, Collection, & Appeal Issues
06/30/2010 | 2010 Leqislative Updates (Issued June 30, 2010)
06/08/2010 | Land Containing Historical Sites Classified as Open Space Land (Re-issued April 8, 2011)
05/17/2010 | Distribution of Additional Tax and Compensating Tax (Issued May 17, 2010)
04/27/2010 Aircraft Excise Tax and Property Tax Exemption on Aircraft Used by Nonprofits as Air
Ambulance (Issued April 27, 2010)
04/13/2010 | Public Utility District (PUD) Privilege Tax (Issued April 13, 2010)
10/02/2009 | Assessment of Low-Income Housing - Update (Issued October 2, 2009)
Wheat Prices Used to Determine the Assessed Value of Farm & Agricultural Land (Issued
10/02/2009
October 2, 2009)
07/23/2009 | 2009 Legislative Updates - Levies and Collection Issues (Issued July 23, 2009)
07/23/2009

2009 Leqislative Updates - Current Use Program and Designated Forest Land (Issued July



http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2015/sn_15_PropTaxReliefPrograms.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2015/sn_15_PropTaxReliefPrograms.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2015/sn_14_PT_LegislativeUpdate-RefundsforManifestErrorCorrections.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2015/sn_14_PT_LegislativeUpdate-RefundsforManifestErrorCorrections.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/SN_14_FedRecogIndianTribes.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/SN_14_FedRecogIndianTribes.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/sn_14_ExemptNonprofits.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/sn_14_CurrentUseDFL.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/sn_14_CurrentUseDFL.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/sn_14_PropTaxLegislative.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2014/sn_14_PropTaxLegislative.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_PropTaxLegUpdate.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_PropTaxLegUpdate.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_PropTaxLegUpdate.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_PropertyTaxNonProfit.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_PropertyTaxNonProfit.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_IDDLevies.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2013/sn_13_LeaseholdCredit.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2011/SN_11_LeviesCollectionandAppealIssues.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/sn_10_2010LegUpdates.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/SN_10_OpenSpaceLand.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/sn_10_DistribAddCompTax.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/sn_10_AircraftNonprofit.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/sn_10_AircraftNonprofit.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2010/sn_10_PUD.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_LowIncomeHousing.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_WheatPrices.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_WheatPrices.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/SN_09_Levies.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_CurrentUseDFL.pdf
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23, 2009)

07/08/2009 Leqislati_vfe _Update - Changes in the Property Tax Exemption for Museums and Performing
Aurts Facilities (Issued July 8, 2009)

05/20/2009 | Property Valuation Appeals (Issued May 20, 2009)

04/22/2009 | Determining the Limit Factor for Increases in Property Tax Levies (Issued April 22, 2009)

03/06/2009 | Property Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Hospitals (Issued March 6, 2009)

09/29/2008 | Adding New Value to the Assessment Rolls (Issued September 29, 2008)

09/15/2008 ZBL(;Ig)inq Permits in Relation to Adding Value of New Construction (Issued September 15,

08/27/2008 2008 Leqgislation Upda}tes_— Lev_y L_id Lift, Establishing Taxing Districts Boundaries,
Beach Management Districts, Binding Site Plans (Issued August 27, 2008)

07/15/2008 | Taxing District Levy Certification (Issued July 15, 2008)



http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_MuseumsPerfArts.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_MuseumsPerfArts.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_PropertyValuationAppeals.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/SN_09_LimitFactorInPropertyTaxLevies.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2009/sn_09_ExemptionforNonprofitHospitals.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_Assessment.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_BuildingPermits.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_BuildingPermits.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_PropLegUpdate.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_PropLegUpdate.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/SpecialNotices/2008/sn_08_LevyCert.pdf
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PROPERTY TAX ADVISORIES
PTA # TITLE  http://dor.wa.gov/content/FindTaxesAndRates/PropertyTax/prop RnLs.aspx

2.1.2009 Property Tax Bulletins Cancelled

4.3.2012 Specific Question Pertaining to the Administration and Qualification of the Land on
Which a Residence Is Sited for Property Classified as Farm and Agricultural Land Under
Chapter 84.34 RCW (replaces 4.0.2000)

5.1.2009 Specific question pertaining to land classified as farm and agricultural land under chapter
84.34 RCW, when the land qualifies for classification because of the commercial
agricultural activity produced from perennial plantings.

7.1.2009 Sales Tax as an Element of Value

8.1.2009 Appraisal of Bed and Breakfast establishments

9.1.2009 Assessment of Supplies

10.1.2009 “True lease” or Security Agreement

11.2.2009 Application of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil Relief Act of 1940 to Property Tax
Administration

13.1.2009 Impact of Local Zoning Ordinances on Property Tax Exemptions Granted Under Chapter
84.36 RCW

14.2.2009 Transfer or Removal of Land Owned by a Federally Recognized Indian Tribe Classified
Under Chapter 84.33 or 84.34 RCW

15.1.2009 Low-Income Housing Valuation

6.2.2011 Property Taxability of Motor Vehicles > UPDATED

16.1.2011 Establishing Additional Eligibility Requirements for the Current Use Program

1.1.2014 Taxation of Permanent Improvements on Tribal Trust Land

12.3.2014 Classification of Land Used for Christmas Tree Production > UPDATED

17.0.2014 Valuation of Community Land Trust (Resale Restricted) Properties



http://dor.wa.gov/content/FindTaxesAndRates/PropertyTax/prop_RnLs.aspx
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA2_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA432012.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA5_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA7_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA8_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA9_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA10_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA11_2_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA13_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA14_2_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA15_1_2009.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA_6_2_2011.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA_16_1_2011.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA1_1_2014.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA12_3_2014.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA17_0_2014.pdf
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Washington State Board of Tax Appeals Decisions

Subject r\?frﬁlf)itr Document Date County
CDI 46284 05/04/1995 KING
CDI 60784 03/04/2005 KING
CDI 65298 07/24/2007 CLALLAM
CDI - Annuity 56336 01/08/2003 ADAMS
CDI - Annuity 56804 07/22/2002 STEVENS
CDI - Annuity 78163 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
CDI - Annuity 80377 03/26/2014 BENTON
CDI - Business Expense 38840 05/20/1991 BENTON
CDI - Capital Gains 40932 09/04/1992 OKANOGAN
CDI - Capital Gains 53478 05/19/1999 KITSAP
CDI - Capital Gains 55067 08/30/2000 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 55692 07/24/2001 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 64041 04/25/2006 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 69754 10/09/2009 JEFFERSON
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 56974 02/14/2002 KING
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 61900 02/23/2005 PIERCE
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 65013 07/18/2007 KING
CDI - Health Insurance 71372 01/13/2011 SNOHOMISH
CDI - Incomplete Application 83031 09/12/2014 KING
CDI - IRA 44279 08/04/1994 ISLAND
CDI - IRA 44279 08/04/1994 ISLAND
CDI-IRA 52012 09/22/1998 CLALLAM
CDI - IRA 54826 07/05/2000 KITTITAS
CDI - Lump Sum from SS 63641 11/15/2006 SPOKANE
CDI - Medical Expense 69620 09/11/2009 CLALLAM
CDI - Return on Investment 85644 10/15/2014 CLALLAM
CDI - Spouse 64500 02/13/2007 PIERCE
CDI - VA Benefits 61265 01/14/2005 SKAGIT
CDI - VA Benefits 67496 10/06/2008 LINCOLN
Disability - Minor Child 00-027 10/20/2000 KING
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Washington State Board of Tax Appeals Decisions (continued)

Subject r\?frﬁlf)itr Document Date County
Disabled - Old Definition 60528 12/21/2004 KING
Documentation 68529 01/26/2009 KING
Documentation 69187 10/19/2009 CLALLAM
Documentation 98038 02/26/1999 KITSAP
Life Estate - Not Retroactive 44137 10/27/1994 CLALLAM
Manufactured Homes 47072 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47376 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47418 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 94131 11/20/1995 WHATCOM
Ownership 66604 05/29/2008 KING
Ownership 70194 09/24/2009 CLALLAM
Ownership 71729 04/21/2010 SPOKANE
Ownership 72627 09/29/2010 CLARK
Ownership - Corp. 75057 12/01/2011 BENTON
Ownership - Corp. Sole 53319 - 53320 10/16/1998 STEVENS
Ownership - Partial 49578 12/01/1997 MASON
Ownership - Trust 8030 08/21/2008 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 59617 02/10/2004 KING
Ownership - Trust 63541 10/17/2006 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 66040 10/08/2007 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 78164 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
Residency - Business Use 6074 03/12/2007 KING
Residency - Business Use 12-037 04/24/2014 KING
Residency - Occupancy 48685 12/30/1997 KING
Residency - Occupancy 68389 01/30/2009 PIERCE
Residency - Occupancy 72694 04/14/2011 PIERCE
Residency - Occupancy 00-068 05/02/2002 KING
Residency - Oceupancy-Motor 98-039 - 98-041 04/23/1999 PIERCE
Residency - Occupancy-Travel 77170 12/12/2012 CLARK
Trailer
Residency - Other Improvements 79633 07/05/2013 OKANOGAN
Residency - Outpatient Care 86888 - 86892 10/14/2014 PIERCE
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Washington State Board of Tax Appeals Decisions (continued)

Subject Sf@ﬁr
Value 92-002 - 92-004
Value 07-362 & 07-363
Value 65102
Value 65438
Value 64408
Value - Reconvene 58790

Document Date

01/26/1993
12/31/2007
07/05/2007

06/06/2007

10/06/2006
10/08/2003

County

JEFFERSON
PIERCE

KING

GRAYS
HARBOR

SPOKANE
COWLITZ
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Subject ¢/ Docket Numby. | Document Dat(.| County|.
CDI 46284 05/04/1995 KING
CDI 65208 07/24/2007 CLALLAM
CDI 60784 03/04/2005 KING
CDI - Annuity 56336 01/08/2003 ADAMS
CDI - Annuity 56804 07/22/2002 STEVENS
CDI - Annuity 78163 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
CDI - Business Expense 38840 05/20/1991 BENTON
CDI - Capital Gains 40932 09/04/1992 OKANOGAN
CDI - Capital Gains 53478 05/19/1999 KITSAP
CDI - Capital Gains 55067 08/30/2000 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 55692 07/24/2001 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 64041 04/25/2006 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 69754 10/09/2009 Jefferson
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 56974 02/14/2002 KING
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 61900 02/23/2005 PIERCE
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 65013 07/18/2007 KING
CDI - Health Insurance 71372 01/13/2011 Snohomish
CDI - IRA 44279 08/04/1994 ISLAND
CDI - IRA 52012 09/22/1998 CLALLAM
CDI - IRA 54826 07/05/2000 KITTITAS
CDI - IRA 44279 08/04/1994 Island
CDI - Lump Sum from SS 63641 11/15/2006 SPOKANE
CDI - Medical Expense 69620 09/11/2009 Clallam
CDI - Spouse 64500 02/13/2007 PIERCE
CDI - VA Benefits 61265 01/14/2005 SKAGIT
CDI - VA Benefits 67496 10/06/2008 LINCOLN
Disability - Minor Child 00-027 10/20/2000 KING
Disabled - Old Definition 60528 12/21/2004 KING
Documentation 69187 10/19/2009 CLALLAM
Documentation 68529 01/26/2009 King
Documentation 98038 02/26/1999 Kitsap
Life Estate - Not Retroactive 44137 10/27/1994 CLALLAM
Manufactured Homes 47072 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47376 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47418 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 94131 11/20/1995 WHATCOM
Ownership 66604 05/29/2008 KING
QOwnership 70194 09/24/2009 Clallam
Ownership 71729 04/21/2010 Spokane
Ownership 72627 09/29/2010 Clark
Ownership - Corp. 75057 12/01/2011 Benton
Ownership - Corp. Sole 53319 - 53320 10/16/1998 STEVENS
QOwnership - Partial 49578 12/01/1997 MASON
Ownership - Trust 59617 02/10/2004 KING
Ownership - Trust 63541 10/17/2006 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 8030 08/21/2008 Spokane
Ownership - Trust 66040 10/08/2007 Spokane
Ownership - Trust 78164 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
Residency - Business Use 6074 03/12/2007 KING
Residency - Occupancy 00-068 05/02/2002 KING
Residency - Occupancy 48685 12/30/1997 KING
Residency - Occupancy 68389 01/30/2009 Pierce
Residency - Occupancy 72694 04/14/2011 Pierce
Residency - Occupancy-Motor Home|  98-039 - 98-041 04/23/1999 PIERCE
Residency-Occupancy-Travel Trailer 77170 12/12/2012 Clark
Residency-Other Improvements 79633 07/05/2013 OKANOGAN
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INTERNET LINKS

Board of Tax Appeals

http://bta.state.wa.us/

DSHS Directory of
Licensed Facilities

https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.
aspx

Health Practitioner

https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/

Credentials

IRS Forms and _ , .

Publications http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html

Laws (RCW) and _

Rules (WAC) http.//www1.leg.wa.gov/LawsAndAgencyRules/

Municipal Research
and Services Center

http://www.mrsc.orqg/

Social Security
Administration

Disability Qualifications:
http://www.ssa.gov/dibplan/dqualify5.htm

Medicare - Title 18

Medicare — Title 18:
http://www.ssa.gov/OP Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm

Medicare - Part C -
Medicare Advantage

https://www.medicare.gov/

Washington
Association of
Counties

http://www.wacounties.org/wsac/

Property Tax Resource
Center

http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/



http://bta.state.wa.us/
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html
http://www1.leg.wa.gov/LawsAndAgencyRules/
http://www.mrsc.org/
http://www.ssa.gov/dibplan/dqualify5.htm
http://www.ssa.gov/dibplan/dqualify5.htm
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm
https://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.wacounties.org/wsac
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/
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Section XI

Recent Legislation
and
Rule Changes
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RECENT LEGISLATION AND RULE CHANGES

RULE CHANGES

WAC 458-16A, WAC 458-18, and WAC 458-18A are current through 2012
legislation.

Updates are pending for 2015 legislation.

RECENT LEGISLATION
All recent legislation has been incorporated in the body of the manual!

You can access legislation summaries for 2006 through 2015 on the PTRC website
at http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Legislation/tabid/65/Default.aspx .

You can access Property Tax Special Notices for recent legislation on the
Department of Revenue website at
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn
main.aspx#property.



http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Legislation/tabid/65/Default.aspx
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
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Section XII

Forms
and
Publications
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REVISION
NUMBER DATE PUBLICATION TITLE
PTFS 0017 EX 07/15 Property Tax Exemptions for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
PTFS 0017 LP 07/15 Property Tax Deferrals for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
PTFS 0051 12/13 Property Tax Assistance Program for Widows or Widowers of Veterans
PTFS 0057 12/13 Property Tax Deferrals for Homeowners with Limited Income
FORM
NUMBER FORM TITLE
63 0017 02/12 Deferred Tax Transmittal
63 0023 12/14 Property Tax Assistance Claim Form for Widows and Widowers of
Veterans
64 0001 07/15 Petition For Property Tax Refund
64 0002 07/15 Exemption Application — Senior/Disabled
64 0010 11/13 Exemption - Affidavit of Cooperative Housing or Life Estate
64 0011 07/15 Deferral Application — Senior/Disabled
64 0016 02/12 CDI - Gross Income Adjustments for Business Rental or Farm Income
64 0018 07/15 Change in Status Form — Senior/Disabled Exemption
64 0019 07/15 Renewal Form — Deferral for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
64 0020 07/15 Renewal Form —Senior/Disabled Exemption
64 0025 12/14 Renewal Form — Deferral for Homeowners with Limited Income
64 0082 07/15 Leasehold Excise Tax — Senior/Disabled Reduction
64 0085 02/12 Declaration of Trust — Senior/Disabled Exemption
Appeal Form - Taxpayer Petition to County BOE for Review of Senior
64 0090 02/12 Citizen/Disabled Person Exemption or Deferral
64 0095 02/12 Proof of Disability Statement
64 0098 02/12 CDI - Income Checklist
64 0105 12/14 Deferral Application - Homeowners with Limited Income
86 0072 07/15 quksheet to Determlne Leasehold Excise Tax Taxable Rent — Senior
Citizens and Disabled Persons



http://dor.wa.gov/docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/SeniorExempt.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/SeniorDefs.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/WidowWidowersGrantProg.pdf
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/LimitedIncomeDef.pdf
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/ProtectedForms/63%200017e%20(w).doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/PrptyTxAsstClmWidows-WidowersOfVets.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/PrptyTxAsstClmWidows-WidowersOfVets.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/PetForPropTxRefnd.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/SrCitExmptRealPropTx.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/Affidforcoophousforsrcitexempt.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/SrCitDisPersDeclareDefer.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0016e(w).doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/Chgstatrptsrcitdispersexemptrptax.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200019%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200020%20unprotected.doc
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Portals/0/forms/64%200025%20unprotected.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/SnrCitzDisPerRedcLeaseExsTx.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/DeclTrstSenCitzPropTxEx.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/TxpyrPetnCoBOERevwSnrCitzDsbldPrsnExemp.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/TxpyrPetnCoBOERevwSnrCitzDsbldPrsnExemp.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/PrfDisbStatmnt.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/IncmChklstSnrCitnDbldPrsnPropTxRlfPrgm.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LowIncomeDeferralProg.doc
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LETWksht.xlsm
http://dor.wa.gov/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LETWksht.xlsm

