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INTRODUCTION

The State of Washington has four programs to assist individual homeowners with payment
of property taxes and/or special assessments.

e Property Tax Exemption Program for Senior Citizens and People with Disabilities

e Property Tax and Special Assessment Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and
People with Disabilities

e Property Tax Deferral Program for Homeowners with Limited Income

e GrantAssistance Program for Widows and Widowers of Veterans

This manual has been prepared to serve as a training guide for those who administer these
programs and itis intended for practical use. Every attempt has been made to cover the
majority of the general laws, rules, duties, procedures, forms in general use, and
miscellaneous information which is pertinent to the Assessors in Washington when
administering the property tax relief programs for individuals.

FOR GENERAL INFORMATION pertinent to laws or rules governing these programs, refer
to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) and the Washington Administrative Code
(WACQC).

FOR ASSISTANCE OR ADVICE concerning problems that may arise in the assessor's

office, contact the Property Tax Division, Department of Revenue, 6400 Linderson Way
Southwest, Suite 200A, Tumwater, Washington 98512. Telephone (360) 534-1400.

Property Tax Resource Center (PTRC)

2024 Property Tax Calendar

Education Section - 2024 Training Calendar



http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/PropertyTaxCalendarDueDates.pdf
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/2024%20Training%20Calendar%20in%20Progress%20-%20-%20Copy.pdf
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PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

ALLOWABLE APPLICATION PROGRAM BENEFITS

PROGRAM AGE/DISABILITY OWNERSHIP OCCUPANCY INCOME DEDUCTIONS YEAR
Property 61 years of age by Must own “in Must occupy CDl equal to Non-reimbursed costs Same as Freezesvalue as of01/01/1995 or 01/01
Tax December 31 of fee”, bycontract | property as the greater of for: assessment of assessment year in which applicant
Exemption filing/assessment purchase, or by principal place of “income *carereceived athome, | year;i.e., first qualifies.

year OR disabled life estate.' reside.nce- more EE;eShOl'd 3”for| orin a‘nursing, application due Exempt from excess levies and Part 2 of

and unable to Lease for life or than six months in a previous boarding, or adult 12/31/2020 for

. ) year or 70% of . ) L state school levy.

pursue gainful cooperative calendar year. family home; taxreliefin 2021
Application employment OR a housing may RCW 84.36.383(11). the;ounty *prescription drugs Income Threshold 1 -exempt from
fec;,r-gojéz veteran entitled to | qualify. No Note: for the 2019 hmoeuslzrr:old including medically regular property tax on greater of $60,000

and receiving VA provision for assessmentyr/2020 | ;. oo (CMHI) prescribed oxygen; or 60% of value.

disability at a total ownership tax year the for 2024 taxes | ~Naturopath prescribed Income Threshold 2- exempt from regular
:tzr;e;\(l)azlgorm dlsa.blllty rating fora | througha trust. oceupancy and forward. medlc?lnes . property tax on greater of $50,000 or 35%

- service-connected Trusts MAY requirementismore | Greater of *Medicare Title XVIII of value, not to exceed $70,000.

disability OR qualify as “life than nine months. $40,000 or insurance premiums.

surviving spouse or | estate” under 65% of the Medicare supplemental Inqome Threshold 3 -exempt on excess

domestic partner WAC 458-16A- CMHI CDI for / Medigap premiums. levies only.

who is 57 years or 100(24). 2020taxes and | *Cost-sharing amounts

olderin the year of forward. *Long-term care

death. $40,000 CDI insurance

for2016-2019
taxes.
$35,000 CDI
for2015taxes
and prior

CDlis
definedin
RCW
84.36.383

*Durable medical
and/or mobility
enhancingequip,
prosthetic devices
*Nebulizers, ostomic
items, kidney dialysis
devices, disposable
devices usedto deliver
drugs



https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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Deferralfor | 60 years of age by Mustown “infee” | Must occupy Greater of SAME Applicationyearis theyear | Payment of property taxes and special
Senior December 31 of or by contract property as $45,000 or the tax or assessment is assessments, including prior years if
Citizens filing year OR purchase. Life principal place of 75% of due. Income from the requested.
and People | disabled and estate, lease for residence- more county precedingyear used to
with unable to pursue life, cooperative thansixmonthsina | median determine eligibility. If CDlis 70% of county median
Disabilities | gainfulemployment | housing and calendar year. household Application due 30 days household income, applicant must file

OR surviving revocable trusts income CDI beforetax due date - late for exemption.
Application spouse or domestic | do not qualify. RCW applications okay.
form # 64- .
0011 partnerwho is 57 84.36.383

years orolderin the
Renewalform year of death.
#64-0019
Deferral for | Noage ordisability Musthave owned | Must occupy as $57,000 CDI SAME Application year is the year | Payment of 2" half property taxes and
Homeowners| requirement. for 5years—“in principalresidence | RCW the tax/special assessment | special assessments billed on annual
with Limited fee” or by as of 01/01 of 84.36.383 isdue. Income from the tax statement and due on October 31 -
Income contract application year. preceding yearis used to current year only.

purchase. Must occupy determine eligibility.

Application Life estate, lease for life, | property as
copersve w5 | principal place o Application due by

Renewalform
#64-0025

qualify.

residence- more
than sixmonthsina
calendar year.

September1.

Onlywaivedfor “good
cause”.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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Widow or 62 years old by Mustown “infee” | Must occupy CDl equal to the] SAME Application yearistheyear | Paysregularand excess property tax
Widower December 31 of or by contract property as greater of thetaxis due. Income from | due on difference between taxable
of filing year OR purchase. Life principal place of “income preceding year used to value exempted under the Exemption
Qualifying disabledandunable | estate, lease for | residence- more threshol‘d 3” for determine eligibility. Program and the first:
Veteran to pursue gainful life, cooperative | thansixmonthsina | the previous Application due 30 days e $200,000 of value for CDI equalto or
Application employment. housing and calendar year. year or 70% of before tax due date - late less than income threshold 1.
form # revocable trusts the gounty applications okay. e $150,000 of value for CDI equal to or
63-0023 . median .
do not qualify. household less than income threshold 2, but
. greater than income threshold 1.
income (CMHI)
for 2025 taxes e $1 O0,000.of value for CDI equal to or
and forward. less than income threshold 3, but
$40,000 CDI greater than income threshold 2.
asdefinedin
RCW
84.36.383
Leasehold SAME Leased property SAME SAME SAME SAME Same percentage of exemption as for
Tax Credit owned by a real property tax exemption - calculated
Application government entity using average levy rates by county for the
g‘(’)g#m‘ and used as a previous year.
Worksheet # 86- principal place of
0072 residence.
Homes 61 years old by Resident of a hon- Fluctuates See RCW Application year is the Non-profit exemption applies to pro-
for the December 31 of profit Home for the eachyear 84.36.041 - only| same as the assessment rated portion of the property occupied
Aging filing year OR Agingasoflanuary | basedon allowable year. Income verification by eligible residents.
surviving spouse or 1 of the median costs arein- forms must be submitted to
Income domestic partner assessment year. income as home care‘or the assessor's office by July
Eligibility who is 57 years or determined by treat.ment Ina | 1of the assessment
Application older OR disabled DOR - Uses nursinghome | year.
form # and unable to RCW 84.36.041
64-0043

pursue gainful
employment.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
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Links to Property Tax Statistics

Property Tax Statistics

Property Tax Statistics 2023
Property Tax Statistics 2022
Property Tax Statistics 2021
Property Tax Statistics 2020

Links to Property Tax Information and History

DOR Publications
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/Publications.aspx

Legislation Summaries
2023
2022
2021
2020
2019

Courtesy of King County Assessor
http://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/depts/assessor/documents/An
nualR eports/PropTaxHistory.ashx?la=en



http://dor.wa.gov/content/AboutUs/StatisticsAndReports/stats_proptaxstats_report.aspx
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics/property-tax-statistics-2023
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics/property-tax-statistics-2022
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics/property-tax-statistics-2021
https://dor.wa.gov/about/statistics-reports/property-tax-statistics/property-tax-statistics-2020
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/Publications.aspx
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/2023-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation/2022-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation/2021-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation/2021-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/laws-rules-ptas/legislation/2020-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/laws-rules-ptas/legislation/2020-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/2019-property-tax-legislation
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/2019-property-tax-legislation
http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/depts/assessor/documents/AnnualReports/PropTaxHistory.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/depts/assessor/documents/AnnualReports/PropTaxHistory.ashx?la=en
http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/depts/assessor/documents/AnnualReports/PropTaxHistory.ashx?la=en
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HISTORY OF THE SENIOR CITIZENS AND PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS

1965 Constitution amended to allow property tax relief for retired homeowners (HIR 7,
approved November 1966).

1967 Senior citizen exemption set at $50, must live in residence for 5 years, or 1 yearif a 10-
year resident, be 65 if male and 62 if female, and have combined income of $3,000.

1971 $50 senior citizen exemption replaced by exemption from special levies: Income of
$4,000 = 100% exemption; income from $4,001 to $6,000 = 50% exemption. Must live in
residence 2 years, or 1 year if a 3-year resident. Exemption limited to 1 acre.

1972 Residence mustonly be occupied onJanuary 1stif a 3-year resident. Mobile homes
added. Only 2/3 of social security income counted.

1973 Only 2/3 of federal civil service retirement and railroad retirement pensions counted.

1974 For special levies, income of $5,000 = 100% exempt; $5,001 to $6,000 = 50% exempt;
for regular levies, incomes $4,000 exempt on first $5,000 of residential value. Age
changed to 62 or older on January 1 in the year the taxes were due.

1975 Senior citizens with income of $8,000 may defer taxes beginning in 1976. Income for
deferral program indexed to CPI after 1976.

1977 Senior citizen exemption income limits increased by $2,000.

1979 Households with incomes of $11,000 exempt from all special levies; those with incomes
of $7,000 exempt from regular levies on first $15,000 value of residence. Eligibility for
occupying residence for 2 years and 3-year resident requirement removed. Life estates
added. Surviving spouse qualifies if 57 years old. Confinement to a nursing home does
not disqualify.

1980 Disposableincome defined. 1/3 exclusion for Social Security is eliminated, butincome
levels are increased by $3,000 to $14,000 for special levies and to $10,000 for regular
levies; leases for life added.

1983 For 1984, maximum income increased to $15,000, regular levy residential value
exemption increased to $20,000; starting in 1985, two-step regular levy exemption
depending uponincome: Ifincome is $9,001 to $12,000, exemption = $20,000 or 30% of
valuation, not to exceed $40,000; if income is $9,000 or less, exemption = $25,000 or
50% of valuation. Nursing home care costs added as allowable deduction and military &
veteran benefit payments for attendant-care medical-aid not counted. One-time
application instituted.
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1984

1987

1991

1992

1993

1995

1998

2003

2004

Eligibility for the deferral program tied to eligibility for exemption program.

For 1989, maximum income increased to $18,000; Regular levy valuation exemption
amounts increased: ifincome is $12,001 to $14,000, exemption = $24,000 or 30% of
valuation, not to exceed $40,000; ifincome is $12,000 or less, exemption = $28,000 or
50% of valuation.

For 1991, eligible income level for deferral increased to $30,000. For 1992, maximum
income for exemption increased to $26,000; Regular levy valuation exemption amounts
increased: ifincome is $15,001 to $18,000, exemption = $30,000 or 30% of valuation,
not to exceed $50,000; if income is $15,000 or less, exemption = $34,000 or 50% of
valuation. Capital gains from the sale of the residence excluded from income and in-
home care expenses added as allowable deduction.

Income verification required. Renewal applications required every 4 years and may be
required by assessors upon change in income limits. Disposable income of person
widowed in preceding year based on retirement income after death of spouse.

Exemption not lost if the residence is rented for the purposes of paying hospital or
nursing home costs.

For 1996, eligible income for exemption increased to $28,000 and prescription drug costs
are deductible. Use of current year income instead of preceding year income. Valuation is
frozen at the assessed value on January 1, 1995, or January 1 of the year the person first
qualifies, whichever is later. Eligible income for deferral program is increased to $34,000
and taxes on up to 5 acres may be deferred if zoning/land use requires larger size.

For 1999, maximum income for exemption increased to $30,000; Regular levy valuation
exemption amounts increased: if income is $18,001 to $24,000, exemption = $40,000 or
35% of valuation, not to exceed $60,000; if income is $18,000 or less, exemption =
$50,000 or 60% of valuation. Vetoed was an extension of the exemption program to 5
acres if zoning/land use required a larger size, a deduction for health care insurance
payments, and an exclusion of veterans’ benefits for disabilities related to military duty.

Amended RCW 84.36.387 to change reference making filings under the penalty of
perjury. The law now references chapter 9A.72 RCW for perjury offenses. (SB 5758)

Beginning in 2005, maximum income threshold for exemption increased to $35,000;
Regular levy valuation income thresholds and exemption levels increased: ifincome is
$25,001 to $30,000, exemption = $50,000 or 35% of valuation, not to exceed $70,000;
ifincome is $25,000 or less, exemption = $60,000 or 60% of valuation. Income
threshold for deferral program is increased to $40,000. Persons may reside in an adult
family home or an assisted living facility (boarding home) that provides specialized
care without losing property tax relief. Assisted living facility (boarding home) or adult
family home costs and Medicare insurance premiums under Title XVII may be
deducted from income beginning with 2004 income year. Disability tied to federal
social security definition. (HB 5034)
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2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

Exemption extended to veterans of any age with 100% service-connected disability (HB
1019). New program to provide property tax assistance in form of grant to
senior/disabled widows and widowers of qualifying veterans — to be administered by
DOR. Widow/widower must be 62 or disabled in filing year; must not have remarried;
must own/occupy residence, income $40,000 or less; veteran died of service-
connected disability OR was 100% disabled per VA for 10 years prior to death OR was
100% disabled per VA for 1 year prior to death and a former POW OR died in active
duty or training status (HB 1509).

Effective in 2007, exemption program and grant assistance program limitation on
parcel size extended to include up to 5 acres if local zoning and land use regulations
require the larger parcel size (SB 6338). Interest rate on deferrals for senior citizens and
people with disabilities was reduced to 5% for deferrals made on or after January 1,
2007 (SHB 2569).

Acceptable signatures for Proof of Disability include certified physician assistants and
certified osteopathic physician assistants (HB 1966). In 2007 Special Session, created
new deferral program for homeowners with limited income — county assessors
approve/deny — DOR administers payments/receivables. No age or disability
requirement; income limit is $57,000; must own home for at least 5 years and occupy
as of January 1 of application year; deferral limited to 2" half tax and first half must
already be paid; limited to 40% of applicant’s equity (SB 6178).

For 2008 income to qualify for 2009 property tax relief, excluded veterans benefits and
dependency indemnity compensation — DIC - paid by Veterans Administration (SSB
5256). Expanded rights and responsibilities of “domestic partners” —to be treated as
“spouse” or “surviving spouse” for exemption and deferral programs — applies to
exemptions and deferrals but not grant assistance program (2SHB 3104).

E2SHB 1208 - This legislation changed the way refunds are administered. Prior to
passage, applicants could request refund of taxes within three years of the date the
taxes were paid. Effective July 26, 2009, refunds must be submitted within three years
of the date the taxes were due.

E2SSB 5688 - The bill provided general definitions that apply to all of Title 84 RCW and
requires that the terms “spouse,” “marriage,” “marital,” “husband,” “wife,” “widow,”
“widower,” “next of kin,” and “family” apply equally to state registered domestic
partnerships and state registered domestic partners as well as to marital relationships
and married persons. In 2008, 2SHB 3104 was enacted that provided the same rights
and responsibilities for state registered domestic partners as for a spouse. However,
those changes did not include all programs. By creating a general definition that
applies to all of Title 84, all property tax programs that use the terms “spouse,”
“marriage,” “marital,” “husband,” “wife,” “widow,” “widower,” “next of kin,” and
“family” in their governing statutes must now provide the same rights and
responsibilities for a state registered domestic partner as for a spouse. The effective
date for this legislation is July 26, 2009.

3« »

3« &« 3 <«



2010

2011

2012

2013
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E2SHB 1597 - This bill changes the renewal requirement for property tax exemptions
from four years to six years. The effective date is July 1, 2010.

SHB 2962 - This legislation allows county treasurers to accept electronic bill payments
on a monthly or other type of period basis. Prepayments must be paid in full by the
applicable due dates. For example, if someone makes monthly electronic bill payments
on the first installment of taxes, that first installment must be paid in full by the due date
— April 30. The effective date is July 1, 2009.

SB 6379 - For both deferral programs, terminology changed from “certificate of
ownership” to “certificate of title” for manufactured homes. Requires payment of all
taxes prior to transfer of ownership for a manufactured home; instructs Department of
Licensing to notify assessor of change in ownership or location for any manufactured
home. This bill was a technical correction bill for Department of Licensing. The
corrections made should correct the statute to accurately reflect business practices
and should have no real impact. The effective date is July 1, 2011.

SSB 5167 - technical corrections — clarifies definition of “disabled veteran” and changes
assessor requirement to notify exemption participants of requirement to renew, per 2010
legislative changes extending renewal cycle to 6 years.

HB 1649 - Legislation providing a comprehensive change to the RCW to treat “state
registered domestic partner” as spouse under law, extends reciprocity to same-sex
marriages formed in other jurisdictions.

2ESHB 2048 temporarily increased the low income housing assistance surcharge
included in fees for document recording. From July 1, 2009, through August 31, 2012, and
from July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2017, the surcharge is $30.00 (total recording fee
$62.00). From September 1, 2012, through June 30, 2015, the surcharge is increased to
$40.00 (total recording fee $72.00).

SHB 2056 replaces the term “boarding home” with the term “assisted living facility”
throughout the RCW to update the statutes to the newer terminology. The definition,
nature, and licensing of these facilities did not change.

ESSB 6470 allows, for the purposes of enhancing fire protection services, a city or town
to fix and impose a benefit charge on personal property and improvements to real
property located in the city or town if the city or town is conducting an annexation of, or
has annexed since 2006, all or part of a fire protection district. The bill provides for a
partial exemption for taxpayers who qualify for exemption under RCW 84.36.381.

EHB 1421 clarifies existing language to protect the state’s interest in collecting deferred
property taxes and special assessments and grants the Department authority to charge
off past-due deferrals when they are deemed uncollectible. Proceeds from the sale of
property acquired by a county due to property tax foreclosure (tax title property) must
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first be applied to reimburse the county for foreclosure and sale costs and then to pay the
Department for taxes deferred under the senior and limited-income property tax deferral
programs. The Department may charge off past-due obligations from the senior and
limited-income deferral programs as uncollectible if the Department determines that there
are no cost-effective means of collecting the amounts due.

EHB 1493 allows the landlord of a manufactured/mobile home park to submit a signed
affidavit to the county assessor to seek removal of any outstanding taxes, penalties, and
interest under specific circumstances. The affidavit must indicate that the landlord has
taken ownership of a manufactured/mobile home with the intent to resell or rent. The
manufactured/mobile home must have been abandoned or awarded to the landlord as
part of a final court judgment for restitution of the premises, and the title must have been
transferred to the landlord. In addition, the most current assessed value of the
manufactured/mobile home must be less than $8,000. The county treasurer, after
notification by the county assessor, must remove from the tax rolls any outstanding taxes,
interest, and penalties on the manufactured/mobile home or park model trailer. After
outstanding taxes, interest, and penalties are removed from the tax rolls, all future taxes
are the responsibility of the owner of the manufactured/mobile home.

HB 1576 authorizes assessors to use electronic means to send assessments, notices, or
other information that they would otherwise be required to send, or would customarily
send, by regular mail. To send notice electronically assessors must receive authorization
from the recipient and use methods reasonably designed to protect confidential
information. Information obtained by the assessor for providing electronic notice and
protecting taxpayer information, such as taxpayer e-mail addresses, waivers, or
passwords, is not subject to disclosure under the Public Records Act.

SSB 5444 eliminates the requirement for assessors to determine the value of publicly
owned property that is not subject to property tax. This bill also eliminates the credit for
certain leasehold interests for the amount that the leasehold excise tax exceeds the
property tax applicable if the property were privately owned. However, the leasehold
excise tax credit for taxpayers who qualify for property tax exemption as a senior citizen or
person with disabilities still applies.

SSB 5705 allows the county treasurer to authorize payment of past due property taxes,
penalties, and interest on a monthly basis by electronic funds transfer. If ataxpayeris
successfully participating in a payment agreement, the county treasurer may not assess
additional penalties on delinquent taxes included in the payment agreement. Payments
on past due taxes must include collection of taxes, including interest, from the oldest
delinquent year within a 12-month period. A county treasurer may add a delinquent tax
collection charge for costs incurred by the treasurer. A county treasurer may assess and
collect tax foreclosure avoidance costs. Tax foreclosure avoidance costs are defined to
include certain costs specifically identified with the administration of properties subject
to, and prior to, foreclosure. Proceeds from the collection of tax foreclosure avoidance
costs must generally be credited to the county treasurer service fund.
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2014 2ESHB 1117 allows the transfer of real property by a “transfer on death” deed which

2015

takes effect upon the grantor’s death. A “transfer on death” (TOD) deed must contain
essential elements a deed, must state that transfer is to occur at the transferor's death,
and must be recorded prior to the transferor's death. ATOD deed is revocable during
transferor's lifetime and beneficiaries have no interest in the property until the TOD deed
takes effect at the transferor's death. A certified copy of the death certificate is recorded
to perfect title. Beneficiaries need not be notified of the pending interest during the
transferor's lifetime in order for the TOD deed to be effective. At the transferor's death,
the transferor's interest in the property passes automatically to the beneficiary, subject
to applicable taxes and all other interests in the property including liens, mortgages, and
other encumbrances. Beneficiaries may disclaim the interest if they do so in writing
within nine months of the interest becoming effective. If the beneficiary fails to survive
the transferor, the interest lapses. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

HB 2446 simplifies procedures for obtaining a property tax refund. This bill relieves
property owners of the necessity to file a claim for refund when the refund is the result of
a Board of Equalization, State Board of Tax Appeals, or Court decision, or decisions made
by the county treasurer or assessor within 3 years of the tax due date. The refund can
also be made without a claim when the county assessor or Department of Revenue
approves a property tax exemption authorized under chapter 84.36 RCW within 3 years of
the tax due date. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

ESSB 5875 amends RCW 36.22.179 and provides that the local homeless housing and
assistance surcharge no longer applies to documents recording a state, county, or city
lien or satisfaction of lien.

SSB 6333 includes technical corrections for clarification. Section 407 (RCW 84.40.038)
- In addition to the July 1 and 30 days after mailing deadlines, a taxpayer can appeal a
decision 30 days after information was transmitted or made available electronically to be
accessed. This bill takes effect June 12, 2014.

HB 2195 increases the Washington state heritage center surcharge included in recording
fees from $2 to $3. Total fees for recording deferral liens/releases will increase from $32
to $33. Effective October9, 2015.

SSB 5186 provides that all combined disposable income thresholds are increased by
$5,000 for the Property Tax Exemption Program for Senior Citizens and People with
Disabilities and for the Property Tax Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and People with
Disabilities. The increase is effective for the 2015 income year and for taxes levied for
collectionin 2016 and forward.

SSB 5275 provides tax statute clarifications, simplifications, and technical corrections to
existing laws to clarify statutes and/or improve the tax administration. Sections 102
through 104 update language related to annual revaluation and 6-year re-inspection
cycle. Sections 312 through 314 clarify that “disability” is not only “physical”. Sections
315 and 316 clarify that deferral balances included on a Certificate of Delinquency need
not be collected when the property is not sold and deferral amounts have not become
payable



2016

2017
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under RCW’s 84.37.080 and 84.38.130. Effective date July 24, 2015.

SSB 5276 allows county legislative authorities to authorize a refund on a claim filed more
than three years after the payment due date if the claim is for taxes paid as a result of a
manifest error in the description of the property. The purpose is to provide an avenue for
taxpayers to request a refund when manifest errors, which are corrections without the
need of appraisal judgment, are discovered more than three years after the due date of
the tax. Effective date July 24, 2015.

SB 5768 provides clear authority for county treasurers to use electronic media, including
the internet, and electronic funds transfers to conduct public auctions of county-owned
property, and privately-owned real or personal property seized or foreclosed upon for
delinquent taxes. Effective date July 24, 2015.

SHB 2519 authorizes cities and towns to levy special assessments against property for the
expense of abating a nuisance, which threatens health or safety. The special assessment
constitutes a lien against the property, where up to $2,000 of the lien is of equal rank with
state, county, and municipal taxes.

SSB 5767 revises the authority of county treasurers to accept electronic payments and
charge transaction processing costs to the payer with certain exceptions. Electronic
communication transaction fees may also be absorbed within the treasurer’s banking
services budget. The bill further updates and clarifies guidelines for duplicating lost or
destroyed warrants.

SSB 6337 requires that when a county does not purchase a tax title property for public
purpose, the county must notify the city in which any tax title property is located and
provide the city first opportunity to purchase the property for affordable housing
development. The purchase price must be the original minimum bid amount offered at the
foreclosure sale (which includes all unpaid taxes, assessments, deferred tax amounts,
penalty and interest) plus any direct costs incurred by the county in the sale of the

property.

HB 1283 removes the requirement for taxpayers to pay advance tax on real property
before recording a division, alteration, or adjustment to real property boundary lines.
Effective July 23, 2017.

ESHB 1594 relates to improvement of public records administration. Provides for an
additional one dollar per instrument surcharge. Lien recording fee for state documents
related to real estate will be thirty-four dollars ($34.00) effective July 23, 2017.

EHB 1648 relates to administrative efficiencies for treasurers. When real property taxes
are paid by a bank, the tax and levy information published on the treasurer’s website
meets the notification requirement. Use of electronic billing and payment are at the
taxpayer’s discretion. Treasurers may accept partial payment of current or delinquent
taxes and payment plans or agreements are at the treasurer’s discretion. The term “tax
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foreclosure avoidance costs” is amended and narrowed to include only “direct costs”
incurred in administration of properties subject to and prior to foreclosure. When real
property is sold and no instrument is recorded, the REET submitted to DOR may be
signed electronically. Effective July 23, 2017.

HB 2242 creates a Part 2 of the state school levy. Changes the maximum rate from $3.60
to $2.70 for 2019-2022 tax years, reverting back to $3.60 for 2023 and forward. Taxpayers
who qualify for exemption under RCW 84.36.379 through 84.36.389 are fully exempt from
the new Part 2 levy. Maintenance and Operation (M & O) levies renamed to Enrichment
levies and limits Enrichment levies to the lesser of $1.50 or the maximum per pupil limit.
Effective for taxes levied for collection in 2018 and thereafter.

SSB 5977 provides for a Leasehold Excise Tax for a leasehold interest in real property
owned by a state university when the tax parcel subject to the leasehold interest has a
market value in excess of ten million dollars. Section 1302 of the bill amends RCW
82.29A.120, which also allows a Leasehold Excise Tax credit for lessees and sublessees
who would qualify for a property tax exemption under RCW 84.36.381 if the property were
privately owned. Under SSB 5947, this entire code section expires January 1, 2032. Unless
there is a technical correction or the credit is extended, the LET credit for senior citizens
and people with disabilities will also expire as of January 1, 2032. Section 1302 takes
effect January 1, 2022.

HB 2578 increases Affordable Housing for All surcharge from $10 to $13, increasing lien
filing fees from $34 to $37. Effective June 7, 2018.

SHB 2597 extends the exemption to local property tax levies when the city or county has
approved the action by identifying the tax exemption in the ordinance placing the measure
on the ballot. Effective June 7, 2018.

ESSB 5160 Effective July 28, 2019; for taxes collected in 2020. Revised income
thresholds for the senior citizens/people with disabilities exemption program to be 45%,
55%, 65% of the county median household income but not less than $30K, $35K, $40K
respectively. Revised income threshold for the senior citizens/people with disabilities
deferral program to be 75% of the county median household income but not less than
$45K. Thresholds will be updated every 5 years. Expanded the definition of disabled
veteran to include vet’s with a combined service-connected evaluation of 80% or more
OR being compensated at the 100% rate regardless of evaluation percentage. Added
confined to the “home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care” as a valid situation
where the applicant would not live in the residence, but still qualify for the exemption.
Provided a statutory definition for “principal place of residence” to mean a residence
occupied for more than nine months each calendar year by the person claiming the
exemption. Mandates the department authorize an option for electronic filing of
exemption applications and renewals. Allows an heir or devisee to continue an existing
property tax deferral lien upon the death of the original participant if the heir/devisee
meets the requirements of the program.
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SB 1105 Effective January 1, 2020. As it relates to county assessors: allows taxpayers
facing foreclosure for delinquent property taxes a penalty and interest waiver if the
taxpayer meets certain criteria/qualification. One qualification is an income qualification
thatis to be verified by the county assessor. The income qualification mimics that outlined
in RCW 84.36.381 for the senior exemption program.

2020 SSB 6319. Eliminated the requirement for 2 witness signatures on a senior exemption
application. Now only requires the applicant to sign under oath (no notary). Income
threshold adjusted based on county median household income will be rounded up to the
nearest $1,000 when the adjustments are published every 5 years. The income threshold
adjusted based on CPI-U will continue to be rounded to the nearest $1. Changes the
definition of principal place of residence. Instead of more than 9 months as established
w/ ESSB 5160 in 2019 it is now more than 6 months. Itis effective for 2020 assessment
year/2021 tax year. It was not retroactive meaning the 9 month requirement for 2019
assessment year/2020 tax year remains in effect.

2021 SHB 1438. Beginning the 2021 assessment year for the 2022 tax year, expanded the
deductible expenses to calculate combined disposable income. Now the applicant can
deduct expenses for Medicare supplemental policy premiums and/or Medigap premiums
paid as well as many other common medical and health care related expenses.

ESHB 1410. Beginning January 1, 2022, eliminates penalties on delinquent property taxes
for residential parcel with four or fewer units. For all other properties it creates a penalty
moratorium from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022. Beginning January 1, 2023,
reduces interest on delinquent property taxes to 9% for residential parcels with four or
fewer units; all other properties continue to be subject to interest on delinquent property
taxes at the rate of 12% per annum.

2023 HB1355. Effective July 23, 2023; for taxes collected in 2024. Increased income thresholds for the
senior citizens/people with disabilities exemption program to be 50%, 60%, 70% of the county
median household income but not less than “income threshold 3” for the previous year. Thresholds
for exemption and deferral program will now be updated every 3 years, instead of 5. Allows an
exemption to continue if a participant’s income exceeds the maximum income threshold due to a
Social Security or Supplemental Security Income cost-of-living increase in 2023. Requires that the
department, subject to appropriation, engage in statewide outreach to notify the public of the
increased income threshold changes.
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SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of the exemption program is to allow senior citizens and/or people with
disabilities the ability to remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. The
exemption program “freezes” the assessed value of the applicant’s principal place of
residence and reduces the tax amount due based on the applicant’s level ofincome. The
exemption program reduces the property tax liability of the applicant; the applicant does
not have to repay these taxes. The exemption results in a tax shift to other taxpayers. The
statutes and rules for this program can be found in RCW 84.36.379 through RCW
84.36.389 and WAC 458-16A-100 through WAC 458- 16A-150.

THE APPLICANT

Only one person in the household must meet the age/disability requirement and this
person is the applicant. See RCW 84.36.381 and WAC 458-16A-130.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 61 by December 31 of the assessment year. The
assessmentyearis the year before the taxis due.

-OR-

The applicant must be disabled. A person with disabilities may be any age and must be
disabled at the time of filing (when the application was due — 12/31 of the assessment
year). The definition of disability in RCW 84.36.383(6) has been linked to the definition
used for Social Security purposes (U.S.C. Sec. 423(d)(1)(A)). The disability must be such
that the applicant is unable to pursue substantial gainful employment and the condition
must either be expected to result in death or must have lasted, or be expected to last, fora
continuous period of at least 12 months. The disability need not be permanent. Annually,
the Social Security Administration determines the amount a claimant may earn without
being considered “gainfully employed”. There are separate limits for those who are blind.
You can find annual limits for allowable earned income in the Disposable Income section
of this manual or at the Social Security website at Substantial Gainful Activity.

-OR-

The applicant must be a veteran of the armed forces of the United States with a service-
connected evaluation of 80% or entitled to and receiving compensation from the United
States Department of Veterans’ Affairs at the 100% rate because they are unemployable


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
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due to their service-connected disability. Veterans are men and women who served in
the U.S. Armed Forces during World War Il, the Korean War, the Vietnam War era, the
Gulf War era, and all other service periods. A service-connected disability is a health
condition or impairment caused or made worse by military service. A veteran who meets
this eligibility requirement does NOT have to meet the Social Security definition of
“disabled”.

-OR-
The applicant must be the surviving spouse or domestic partner of someone who was
receiving the exemption at the time of his or her death. The surviving spouse or domestic

partner must apply to continue the exemption, must have been at least 57 years old in
the calendar year the claimant dies, and must otherwise qualify for the program.

OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be owned by the applicant at the time the application is filed, or
should have been filed. This means the applicant must have had an ownership interestin
the property as of December 31 of the assessment year for tax relief in the following year.
See RCW 84.36.381(2) and WAC 458-16A-130(4).

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple, contract purchase, life estate and lease for life.

There is no provision for ownership through a trust, however, a trust may meet the
ownership requirement if it creates a life estate for the applicant. See WAC 458-16A-
100(24) for the definition of “life estate”. For more detail, see the “Occupancy and
Ownership” section of this manual.

If the assessor’s records do not show the applicant as the owner, the applicant must
provide copies of documents showing ownership. See WAC 458-16A-135(5). For
example, if the applicantis the heir of someone who passed away and the probate has not
been completed, the applicant must provide copies of the deceased owner’s death
certificate and Last Will and Testament naming the applicant as the heir. Another
common example is when the property is owned by a trust. For this program there is no
provision for ownership through a trust, therefore, the applicant must provide a copy of the
pertinent parts of the trustillustrating that the trust language conveys a life estate
ownership interest to the applicant, as defined in WAC 458-16A-100(24).

PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE

RCW 84.36.381 says the "property taxes must have been imposed upon a residence which
was occupied by the person claiming the exemption as a principal place of residence as of
the time of filing." Since the “time of filing” is by December 31 of the assessment year, this
means the applicant must have occupied the residence for more than six months in the
assessment year, the year before the taxes are actually due. (Note: for 2019 assessment
year/2020 tax year, the applicant is required to occupy the residence for more than nine



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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months ESSB 5160)

RCW 84.36.383(11) says “principal place of residence” means a residence occupied for
more than six months each calendar year by a person claiming an exemption under RCW
84.36.381.

WAC 458-16A-100(28) "Principal residence" means the claimant owns and occupies the
residence as their principal or main residence. It does not include a residence used
merely as a vacation home. For purposes of this exemption:

(a) Principal or main residence means the claimant occupies the residence for
more than six months each calendar year.

(b) Confinement of the claimant to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility,
adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care, does not
disqualify the claim for exemption if:

(i) The residence is temporarily unoccupied;

(i1) The residence is occupied by the claimant's spouse or domestic partner or a
person financially dependent on the claimant for support;

(ii1) The residence is occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house;

(iv) The residence is rented for the purpose of paying nursing home, hospital,
boarding home, or adult family home costs.

(c) For purposes of this subsection, "relative" means any individual related
to the claimant by blood, marriage, or adoption.

WAC 458-16A-135(5) says that a claimant must present documents deemed necessary
by the Assessor to demonstrate that the claimant is eligible for the exemption, including
documents demonstrating that the property is the claimant's principle residence and
that the claimant has a qualifying ownership interest.

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), adult
family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care will not disqualify
the applicant when the principal residence is:

e temporarily unoccupied;

e occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another person who is
financially dependent on the applicant;

e occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house; or

e rented forthe purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility.

RCW 84.36.381(1)(b) “Relative” means any individual related to the applicant by
blood, marriage, or adoption.

The Department of Social and Health Services maintains a list of licensed facilities
(hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living facilities or boarding homes, and adult family
homes) on their website at http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/.



https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/
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What is “temporarily unoccupied”?

The Department opinion on this issue is that “Senior citizens always intend to return
home regardless of the length of time they are incarcerated in a hospital, assisted living
facility (boarding home), adult family home or nursing home.”

Notice —there is nothing in law or rule saying that the stay in the facility must be
temporary. The only use of the word “temporary” is in reference to the status of the
residence, i.e. “temporarily unoccupied”.

This means that the word “temporary” is not even a consideration if the residence is
occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another person who is financially
dependent on the applicant; occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the
house; or rented for the purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility.

In the case where the residence is “temporarily unoccupied”, there is no specific definition
in the law about the upper range of "temporarily" or when the line is crossed and
“temporarily unoccupied” becomes “permanent”.

Our staff attorney found that in federal and state court cases it appears that "intent" has
been held to be the real determinant in other states. Does the occupant of the residence
"intend" to return to the exempt residence?

If the residence is unoccupied and there is a clear situation where the senior/disabled

participant specifically expresses the intentto not return to the residence even when/if they
are able, then the property would no longer qualify for the exemption.

THE RESIDENCE

The exemption applies to the principal place of residence of the applicant, may include
one accessory dwelling unit, and one acre of land surrounding the residence, or, up to five
acres if the excess acreage is required by local land use regulations - RCW 84.36.383(13)
and WAC 458-16A-100(32). To receive an exemption for more than one acre surrounding
the residence, the larger parcel size must be required under local land use regulations.

The residence may be a single-family dwelling, one unit of a multi-unit dwelling,
cooperative housing, or a mobile home.

If the residence is a share ownership in a cooperative housing association, cooperative
housing corporation, or cooperative housing partnership, the person claiming exemption
must establish that his or her share interest in the cooperative housing entity represents
the specific unit or portion of the structure in which he or she resides.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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Additional Dwelling Unit (ADU)

“Accessory dwelling unit” means a separate, autonomous residential dwelling unit that provides
complete independent living facilities for one or more persons and includes permanent provisions
for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation. RCW 84.36.383(1)

ADU Special Notice
House Bill 2375 (HB 2375)

Beginning with tax year 2025, the definition of residence was expanded to include one accessory
dwelling unit (ADU). RCW 84.36.383(13) and WAC 458-16A-100(32). This change canresultin a
greater reduction of property taxes for the applicant because the value of the ADU is included in the
reduced valuation for the program.

The ADU does not have to be included as part of the primary residence. Especially if the applicant
uses this ADU as an Air BNB, or for other commercial purposes. However, if the applicant(s) are
wanting to have the ADU included, itis important to view the main home and ADU as one entity,
i.e.: the residence.

Important factors that can impact the exemption:
e Number of occupants residing in the residence (main home and included ADU)
e Renting any portion of your residence (main home or the ADU)

Number of occupants residing in the residence (main home and included ADU):

If the applicant(s) claims an ADU (cabin, duplex unit, area above garage, etc.) as part of their

primary residence in order to receive a property tax relief benefit, the number of occupants that

reside in the residence can impact their eligibility to qualify.

* Ifaresidence is used for any number of related people, the residence qualifies for property
tax relief based on the definition of family dwelling unit. WAC 458-16A-100(17).

* [faresidence is used for nine or more related and unrelated people, the residence does not
qualify for property tax relief based on the definition of family dwelling unit. WAC 458-16A-

100(17).

Renting any portion of your residence (main home or the ADU):

If the applicant(s) claim the ADU as part of their primary residence, renting any portion of their

residence (the main home, or the ADU) could impact their eligibility for exemption.
Important to note: If any portion of the residence is rented to others (main residence or
ADU), the rental income received will likely need to be included in the combined
disposable income calculation.

Short-Term Rental Example:
“l have a small cabin on my property that | use as an Air BNB, for short-term rental.”

Short-term or transient rental means rented/leased for a period of 30 days or less. If any


https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2024-07/sn_LegUpdatesPropertyTaxAssistProgramforADUs.pdf
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2023-24/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/2375.SL.pdf?q=20240415151002
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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portion of a residence is used regularly for transient rentals, no portion of the residence

qualifies for the property tax relief programs.

* Regularly for the purpose of property tax relief programs is more than six months per
year. To calculate time, either consecutive months used, or total days used are
acceptable.

* Userefers to periods both where the property is actually occupied as a transient
rental and when available for use as a transient rental.

Therefore, if you are claiming the small cabin as an ADU in order to receive a property tax
relief benefit, and the regular use limits are exceeded, the entire residence plus
applicable land will not qualify.

Long-Term Rental Example:
“l own a duplex. | occupy one unit as my primary residence and rent out the other unit long-
term.”

Long-term or nontransient rental means rented/leased for periods of more than 30 days.

* Ifaresidence is used for eight or less people in a single dwelling unit, the entire
residence qualifies for property tax relief. RCW 84.36.383(13) and WAC 458-16A-
100(17).

* Ifaresidence is used for eight or less people in a multi-unit dwelling unit, the second
unit could qualify as an ADU and the entire residence qualifies for property tax relief.

2025 forms are updated to include the following ADU Declaration section.

Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) Declaration:

| do not have an ADU.

| want to include my ADU in the exemption.

¢ Describe the ADU:'

DO NOT include my ADU in the exemption.

ADU & Frozen Values
In most cases, aresidences value is frozen as of January 1 of the assessment year that the
applicant(s) first qualified for the exemption. The value of an ADU will be added to the frozen
value of the residence as of January 1 of the assessment year that the ADU first qualifies.

Example: adding an ADU for 2025 tax year

(Original FV) + (Value of ADU as of Jan 1, 2024) = new FV for TY2025


https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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ADU & Combined Disposable Income
Combined Disposable Income is the disposable income of the applicant, plus the disposable
income of the applicant’s spouse or domestic partner, and the disposable income of each
cotenant occupying the residence.

Cotenant = someone who has ownership in the residence and lives there.

What about an occupant who does not have ownership interest but lives in the residence?
e Theirdisposable income would not be included. However, any contribution they make to
the household expenses (such as groceries, utilities, etc.) would be included in the CDI
calculation.

Manufactured homes
Applying the exemption correctly to manufactured homes may require administrative seg

Prior to title eliminations, in order to correctly apply the exemption, you may need to
create an administrative parcel for "taxing purposes only" and then apply the exemption.
You can move the manufactured home value to the land parcel and flag the personal
property account as “inactive” until the exemption is removed. This will ensure that the
taxpayer receives the full exemption to which they are entitled, at the same time
preventing a “double” exemption on two accounts.

Which manufactured homes and trailers meet the definition of “residence”?

In order to meet the “residence” definition under this program, a manufactured home
must have substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by being fixed in location and
placed on a foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer, water or
other utilities.

Whether itis listed as “real” or “personal” property on the assessmentroll has no
bearing, nor does the assessed value.

WAC 458-16A-100(32) Residence. "Residence" means a single-family dwelling unit
whether such unit be separate or part of a multiunit dwelling, may include one
accessory dwelling unit, and includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on which
the dwelling stands, and it includes any additional property up to a total of five acres
that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations require this larger
parcel size. The term also includes:

(c) Amobile home which has substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by
being fixed in location upon land owned or rented by the owner of said mobile home
and placed on a foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer,
water or other utilities even though it may be listed and assessed by the county
assessor as personal property. It includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on
which a mobile home is located if both the land and mobile home are owned by the
same qualified claimant and it includes any additional property up to a total of five
acres that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations require this larger
parcel size.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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This includes “park model” homes, but not “travel trailers”. According to the following
definitions, it seems like the big differences between the “travel trailer” and “park trailer”
are the chassis and utility hookups. A “travel trailer” has a single chassis and is designed
to be self- contained.

When making a decision, it may help to consider the intended use. A manufactured
home or mobile home is intended for use as a “home”. Arecreational vehicle is intended
for temporary use while travelling, as opposed to staying in hotels, motels, etc.

RCW 43.22.335 Manufactured homes, mobile homes, recreational vehicles—
Definitions.

(3) "Manufactured home" means a single-family dwelling required to be builtin
accordance with regulations adopted under the national manufactured housing
construction and safety standards act of 1974 (42 U.S.C. 5401 et seq.).

(5) "Mobile home" means a factory-built dwelling built before June 15, 1976, to
standards other than the national manufactured housing construction and safety
standards act of 1974 (42 U.S.C. 5401 et seq.), and acceptable under applicable
state codes in effect at the time of construction or introduction of the home into
this state.

(6) "Park trailer" means a park trailer as defined in the American national
standards institute A119.5 standard for park trailers.

(7) “Recreational vehicle” means a vehicular-type unit primarily designed for
recreational camping or travel use that has its own motive power or is mounted
on or towed by another vehicle. The units include travel trailers, fifth-wheel
trailers, folding camping trailers, truck campers, and motor homes.

RCW 84.36.595 Motor vehicles, travel trailers, campers, and vehicles carrying
exempt licenses.

(1) (b) "Travel trailer" has the meaning given in RCW 46.04.623. However, if a park
trailer, as defined in RCW 46.04.622, has substantially lost its identity as a mobile
unit by virtue of its being permanently sited in location and placed on a foundation
of either posts or blocks with connections with sewer, water, or other utilities for the
operation of installed fixtures and appliances, it will be considered real property
and will be subject to ad valorem property taxation imposed in accordance with this
title, including the provisions with respect to omitted property, except that a park
trailer located on land not owned by the owner of the park trailer will be subject to
the personal property provisions of chapter 84.56 RCW and RCW 84.60.040.

RCW 46.04.622 Park trailer.

"Park trailer" or "park model trailer" means a travel trailer designed to be used with
temporary connections to utilities necessary for operation of installed fixtures and
appliances. The trailer's gross area shall not exceed four hundred square feet when
in the setup mode. "Park trailer" excludes a mobile home.

RCW 46.04.623 Travel trailer.
"Travel trailer" means a trailer built on a single chassis transportable upon the
public streets and highways that is designed to be used as a temporary dwelling



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.22.335
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.595
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.04.622
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.04.623
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without a permanent foundation and may be used without being connected to
utilities.

What is a dwelling unit?

Short answer...

A dwelling unit should have space for living, sleeping, and cooking at the very least. That
does not mean there has to be separate rooms and there is no requirement in law for
water, sewer, and electricity. Conceivably, a dwelling unit could be one room with a chair,
a bed, and awoodstove for heat and cooking.

Long answetr...

On this one, we really have to go to the definition of a “residence” and this is one of those
situations where “it depends” on the specific circumstances. Inthe end, thisone s
really going to boil down to a judgment call on your part, balancing ensuring that each
eligible applicant receives the property tax relief to which they are entitled, while not
applying the benefit of the exemption to land and buildings that should not be included.

The Department’s long-standing policy in the past, since at least 1980, has been to advise
that a “residence” includes the following.

“improvements typically found on a residential parcel be included in the
exemption including (but not limited to) detached garages, wood sheds,
pump houses, outhouses, a swimming pool... The key question hereis -
what is typical for your area?”

The preceding excerptis taken from a 1980 memo. Notice the reference to the word
“outhouses”... Granted, the memo is from 1980 but even in 1980 most folks had indoor
plumbing. The logical conclusion based on this memo is that there really is no
requirement for a “residence” to have running water, indoor plumbing, or even electricity.

In the case of the senior/disabled exemption, we fall back on the definitions of

» o«

“residence”, “principal residence”, and “family dwelling unit” found in WAC 458-16A-
100.

(32) Residence. "Residence" means a single-family dwelling unit whether such
unit be separate or part of a multiunit dwelling, may include one accessory
dwelling unit, and includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on which the
dwelling stands, and itincludes any additional property up to a total of five acres
that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations require this larger
parcel size. The term also includes:

(a) A share ownership in a cooperative housing association, cooperative

housing corporation, or cooperative housing partnership if the person claiming
exemption can establish that his or her share represents the specific unit or



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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portion of such structure in which he or she resides.

(b) A single-family dwelling situated upon leased lands and upon lands the fee of
which is vested in the United States, any instrumentality thereof including an Indian
tribe, the state of Washington, or its political subdivisions.

(c) A mobile home which has substantially lost its identity as a mobile unit by
being fixed in location upon land owned or rented by the owner of said mobile home
and placed on a foundation, posts, or blocks with fixed pipe connections for sewer,
water or other utilities even though it may be listed and assessed by the county
assessor as personal property. It includes up to one acre of the parcel of land on
which a mobile home is located if both the land and mobile home are owned by the
same qualified claimant and it includes any additional property up to a total of five
acres that comprises the residential parcel if land use regulations require this larger
parcel size.

(28) Principal residence. "Principal residence" means the claimant owns and
occupies the residence as their principal or main residence. It does not include a
residence used merely as a vacation home. For purposes of this exemption:
(a) Principal or main residence means the claimant occupies the residence
for more than six months each calendar year.
(b) Confinement of the claimant to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living
facility, adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term
care, does not disqualify the claim for exemption if:
(1) The residence is temporarily unoccupied;
(i1) The residence is occupied by the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner or a person financially dependent on the claimant for support;
(i11) The residence is occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for
watching the house;
(iv) The residence is rented for the purpose of paying nursing home,
hospital, boarding home, or adult family home costs.
(c) For purposes of this subsection, "relative" means any individual related
to the claimant by blood, marriage, or adoption.

(17) Family dwelling unit. "Family dwelling unit" means the dwelling unit
occupied by a single person, any number of related persons, or a group not
exceeding a total of eight related and unrelated nontransient persons living as a
single noncommercial housekeeping unit. The term does notinclude a boarding or
rooming house.

So, based on the rules for this program, the “residence” has to be a noncommercial
housekeeping unit occupied by a single family. Now, all we have to do is define

“housekeeping unit

”'

The following are definitions for “dwelling unit” from the State Fire Protection section of
the RCW and from a Georgia Superior Court case.

RCW 43.44.110(6)(a) "Dwelling unit" means a single unit providing complete,
independent living facilities for one or more persons including permanent provisions



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.44.110
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for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation; (State Fire Protection)

“Dwelling unit” is defined as one or more rooms including kitchen designed as a unit for
occupancy by one family for the purpose of cooking, living and sleeping. Greene County
v. N. Shore Resort, 238 Ga. App. 236, 237 (Ga. Ct. App. 1999) (definitions.uslegal.com)

Based on those definitions, the “housekeeping unit” must include provisions for living,
sleeping, and cooking at the very least. Itis possible that “sanitation” could be covered by
the “outhouse” facility.

Also, in our opinion, under the laws and rules governing the exemption program, there is
no requirement that the dwelling structure be permitted. Although itis certainly
preferable for property owners to obtain legally required permits and live in a home with
modern conveniences, the assessor must value and assess property whether or not that
is the case. On the other hand, if the building department were to use condemnation
power to declare the structure uninhabitable as a dwelling unit, that would be a different
situation.

The assessor has the authority to administer this program in a fair and uniform manner
that is consistent with the laws and rules. To insure fair and uniform treatment for
program participants, we recommend that assessors develop an office policy regarding
what is “typical” for a residential parcel. This is one of those situations thatis in a “gray
area” and may require a judgment call based on a particular set of circumstances for an
“outlier”.

INCOME REQUIREMENTS

Determining eligibility and level of exemption requires the calculation of combined
disposable income. Forincome years 2019 and forward (affecting taxes levied for
collection in 2020 and forward), combined disposable income must not exceed the greater
of 65% of the county median household income or $40,000. For income years 2023 and
forward (affecting taxes levied for collection in 2024 and forward), combined disposable
income must not exceed the greater of “income threshold 3” for the previous year or 70%
of the county median household income. - RCW 84.36.381(5).

When the applicant’s financial circumstances change and income is reduced for two or
more months during the assessment/income year, the assessor must calculate combined
disposable income by multiplying the average monthly combined disposable income
during the months after the change in circumstances by twelve. RCW 84.36.381(4)

Note: The estimated income approach is not optional! When the taxpayer retires, loses
a spouse or domestic partner, or when there are other substantial changes that are likely to
continue for an indefinite period of time, this method must be used.

For more details on the disposable income and combined disposable income calculations, see the
Combined Disposable Income Section in this manual.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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Combined disposable income includes the income of the applicant, his/her spouse or
domestic partner, and any co-tenants, less any allowable deductions.

A co-tenant is a person who has an ownership interest in the residence and resides in
the residence. The definition of cotenant, as used in this program, is found in RCW
84.36.383(3) and WAC 458-16A-100(7).

Joint or co-owners: In general, a person who is not a spouse or domestic partner and
has an ownership interest in the residence but does not live in the residence need not
report his/her income for purposes of this program. The applicant will receive the
exemption based only on his/herincome but it will apply only to his/her percentage of
ownership interestin the property.

Why do we include income for other household residents who have no ownership interest?

When a person with no ownership interestis living in the residence with the applicant as
part of a family unit, the exemption is allowed on the entire residence. Include the
applicant's income and include only the portion of the other person's income that is
contributed to the running of the household (rent, utilities, groceries, etc.).

When a person with no ownership interest is living in the residence with the applicant and
is renting a room, that portion of the residence that is exclusively used by the “tenant”
cannot be included in the exemption because that portion of the home is used for
commercial purposes and not as a personal residence by the applicant. The definition of
“residence” only includes a single noncommercial housekeeping unit and specifically
excludes property used as a boarding or rooming house.

Our definition of “disposable income” begins with “adjusted gross income” as determined
under IRS rules.

Under IRS rules, income includes expenses paid by a tenant and/or property or services
received as rent instead of money. Even when the taxpayer does not report thatincome to
IRS for income tax purposes, we include it in our calculation for disposable income.

The following excerpts are from IRS Publication 527, pages 3 and 1. You can find
this publication at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p527.pdf .

Property or services. Il you receive property

or senvices, instead of money, as rent, include
Expenses paid by tenant. If your tenant pays the fair market value of the property or services
any of your expenses, the payments are rental  Inyour rental income.
income. Becausa you must include this amount If the services are provided at an agreed
in income, you can deduct the expenses il they upon or specified price, that price is the fair
are deductible rental expensas. See Hental Fx- marketl value unless there Is evidence to the
penses, later, for more inlormation. contrary.,


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p527.pdf
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Renting Part of
Property

If you rent part of your property. you must divide
certain expenses between the part of the prop-
crty used for rental purposes and the part of the
property uscd for personal purposes. as though
mmmwm picces of prop-

You can deduct the cxpenses related to the
part of the property used for rental purposes.
such as home mortgage interest, qualificd mort-
gage insurance premiums, and rcal estate
taxes, as rental expenses on Schedule E (Form
1040). You can also deduct as rental expenses
a porvon of other expenses that normally are
nondcductbic personal expenses, such as ex-
penses for clectnicity or painting the outside of
your house.

There is no change in the types of cxpenses
deductble for the personal-use part of your
property. , these expenses may be
mm‘mwmmon
Schedule A (Form 1040).

You cannot deduct any pant of the cost of
the first phone Ine cven if your tenants have un-
imited usc of it.

Not Rented for Profit

If you do not rent your property to make a profit,
you can deduct your rental expenses only up to

the amount of your rental income. You cannot

deduct a loss or carry forward o the next year
any rental expenses that are more than your
rental income for the year, For more information
about the rules for an activity not engaged in for
profit, see Nof-for-Profit Activities in chapter 1 of
Publication 535,

Where to report. Report your not-for-profit
rental income on Form 1040, ne 21. For exam-
ple, you can include your mongage interest and
any qualified mongage insurance premiums (if
you use the propery as your main home or sec-
ond home), real estate taxes, and casualty los-
ses on the appropriate lines of Schedule A
(Form 1040) if you itemize your deductions.

if you itemize your deductions, claim your
other rental expenses, subject to the rules ex-
plained in chapter 1 of Publication 535, as mis-
cellaneous itemized deductions on Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 23, You can deduct these ex-
penses only if they, together with certain other
miscellaneous itemized deductions, total more
than 2% of your adjusted gross income.

You do not have to divide the expenses that
beiong only to the rental pant of your property.
For example, if you pant a room that you rent,
or if you pay premiums for liability insurance in
conncction with renting a room in your home,
your entire cost is a rental expense. If you install
a second phone line strictly for your tenants’
use. all of the cost of the second ine is deduct-
ble as a rental expense. You can deduct depre-
ciavon. discussed later, on the part of the house
used for rental purposes as well as on the furni-
ture and equipment you use for rental purposes.

How to divide expenses. If an cxpense is for
both rental use and personal use, such as mon-
gage interest or heat for the entire house, you
must divide the expense between the rental use
and the personal use. You can use any reason-
able method for dividing the expense. It may be
reasonable to divide the cost of some items (for
cxample, water) based on the number of peopic
using them. The two most common metheds for
dviding an cxpense are based on (1) the num-
ber of rooms in your home, and (2) the square
footage of your home.
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DETERMINE THE PERCENTAGE OF EXEMPTION

The following guidelines will help you decide the correct percentage of exemption:

e Marital Community or Domestic Partnership: Allow the full exemption and include
the income of both spouses/domestic partners. You may be able to exclude the
income of a spouse/domestic partner who is not living in the residence when:

>

>
>

the couple is legally separated or divorced or the domestic partnership has been
legally dissolved, or

one spouse/domestic partner is “absent” as defined under WAC 458-16A-120(2)(a), or

the coupleis living “separate and apart”.

e Co-tenants: If both parties live in the house and both have an ownership interest,
then the exemption is granted on the entire parcel. Be sure to include 100 percent
of everyone’s disposable income.

e Co-tenants with two residences:

Example: A mother and daughter have equal ownership interests (50-50) in a 2
acre parcel with two residences. The mother occupies one residence on half of
the property and the daughter lives in the other residence on the other half of the
property. Both mother and daughter meet all of the eligibility requirements for the
exemption. The mother receives a full exemption on her dwelling unitand 1 acre
of the land and the daughter receives a full exemption on her dwelling unit and 1
acre of the land. Forthe mother’s exemption include herincome only and for the
daughter’s exemption include only herincome. Basically, this is treated similar to
a “share ownership in cooperative housing”. Each owner has a “share interest”
that represents her dwelling unit.

e Jointtenants: If more than one person has an ownership interest but only the
applicant lives in the residence, the exemption is allowed on just the residing person's
percentage of ownership. Include only the residing person's disposable income. Do
notinclude the non- residing person's income.

Example: Two sisters have equal ownership interests (50-50) in the family home
inherited from their parents. Sister A occupies the family home as her principal
place of residence while Sister B lives elsewhere. Sister A meets all of the
eligibility requirements for the exemption program. Sister Areceives a full
exemption on 50% of the value of the home and only reports herincome.

e Jointtenants with right of survivorship: JTWROS is treated like a marital community.
The applicant receives the full exemption but do not include the income of the other
owners unless they are living in the residence.

Example 1: Two brothers hold ownership as Joint Tenants with Right of
Survivorship. Brother A occupies the home as his principal place of residence
while Brother B lives elsewhere. Brother A meets all of the eligibility requirements
for the exemption


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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program. Brother A receives a full exemption on 100% of the value of the home
and only hisincome is included when determining combined disposable income.

Example 2: Two brothers hold ownership as Joint Tenants with Right of
Survivorship. Both brothers live in the residence. Brother A meets all of the
eligibility requirements for the exemption program. Brother Areceives a full
exemption on 100% of the value of the home and the income for both brothers is
included when determining combined disposable income.

FILING THE APPLICATION

The application is due by December 31 of the assessment year and, if approved, will affect
the taxes due in the following tax year (i.e. application due by 12/31/2020 affects taxes due
in 2021). RCW 84.36.385(1) and (3) and WAC 458-16A-135(2).

The application is made in the assessment year based on the anticipated income that will
be received thatyear. The assessor may require confirming documentation of actual
income prior to May 31 of the year following application. The exemption is effective in the
year following the year of application.

Example: In December 2020, the applicant files an application estimating his/her
2020 income. The applicant qualifies for the exemption and receives the reduction
on taxes payable in 2021. The assessor may require actualincome
documentation prior to May 31, 2021.

Many assessors, for taxpayer convenience and to streamline business practices, simply

request that taxpayers wait until income documentation is available to submit
applications. WAC 458- 16A-140(3)(c)

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

Assessors are directed to publicize the qualifications and application process through
local media and through information included on or with property tax statements and
revaluation notices (RCW 84.36.385(6)).

The assessor reviews applications and supporting documents and has the authority to
approve or deny claims for exemption. The Department of Revenue cannot tell you
whether to approve or deny an exemption. Each county assessor has that authority. RCW
84.36.385(5) and WAC 458- 16A-140(3)

Upon approval, the assessor freezes the assessed value, determines the level of
exemption for the applicant, and notifies the applicant of approval. RCW 84.36.385(5)
directs the assessor to deny an exemption if the applicant does not meet the qualifications
as setforth in RCW 84.36.381. The assessor must give the applicant written and dated
notification of any denial. The notification should include the reason the exemption was



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16a-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16a-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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denied and should explain the applicant’s right to appeal.

At least once every six years, the assessor must notify participants of the obligation to
file arenewal. If an applicant received an exemption in prior years based on erroneous
information, taxes must be collected, subject to penalties as provided in RCW 84.40.130,
for a period not to exceed five years. RCW 84.36.385 and WAC 458-16A-150

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RESPONSIBILITIES

DOR provides forms, adopts rules, and acts in an advisory role. The Department
also has authority to conduct audits. RCW 84.36.389

If the assessor chooses to adapt a form specific to his/her county, the forms must be
submitted to DOR for approval prior to use as provided in WAC 458-16A-135(5).

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must provide documentation requested by the assessor. See WAC 458-
16A- 135(5)(e)(vii).

An applicant must notify the assessor when there is a change in status that may affect his
or her exemption and must file a renewal at least once every six years as requested by the
assessor. See RCW 84.36.385(1) and (2) and WAC 458-16A-150.

According to RCW 84.36.385(6) and WAC 458-16A-150, when there is a change in status
affecting the exemption and the taxpayer fails to notify the assessor, the application
information formerly relied upon becomes erroneous for the period(s) following the
change. When the assessor discovers a change in status that was not reported, property
taxes must be re-calculated to reflect the newly discovered status for a period not to
exceed five years.

RCW 84.36.385(5) says, in part, “If the applicant had received exemption in prior years
based on erroneous information, the taxes shall be collected subject to penalties as
provided in RCW 84.40.130 for a period of not to exceed five years.”

WAC 458-16A-150(3)(e) says, “If the claimant fails to submit the change in status form, the
application information relied upon becomes erroneous for the period following the
change in status. Upon discovery of the erroneous information, the assessor determines
the status of the exemption and notifies the county treasurer to collect any unpaid property
taxes and interest from the claimant, the claimant's estate, or, if the property has been
transferred, from the subsequent property owner. The treasurer may collect any unpaid
property taxes, interest, and penalties for a period not to exceed five years as provided for
under RCW 84.40.380.”



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
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FRAUDULENT FILINGS AND 100 PERCENT PENALTY

RCW 84.36.385 provides for removal of the exemption when the assessor discovers the
participant no longer meets the program requirements and WAC 458-16A-150 explains
more about how and when to implement the removal. According to WAC 458-16A-
150(3)(e), the treasurer may collect any unpaid property taxes, interest, and penalties for a
period not to exceed five years as provided for under RCW 84.40.380. However, according
to the WAC rule, the 100 percent penalty is applied “in addition” when a person provides
erroneous information or willfully fails to submit a change in status form. RCW 84.36.385
refers to RCW 84.40.130 for the penalty assessment.

This is fairly new territory in regards to the Property Tax Exemption Program. Our legal
staff has advised that you should pursue the additional 100 percent penalty through a
court action, in the same manner you would for a false or fraudulent personal property
listing.

In addition, RCW 84.36.387(4) says that “any person signing a false claim with the intent
to defraud or evade the payment of any tax is guilty of perjury under chapter 9A.72
RCW.”

WAC 458-16A-150(3)(e) says, “If the claimant fails to submit the change in status form, the
application information relied upon becomes erroneous for the period following the
change in status. Upon discovery of the erroneous information, the assessor determines
the status of the exemption and notifies the county treasurer to collect any unpaid property
taxes and interest from the claimant, the claimant's estate, or, if the property has been
transferred, from the subsequent property owner. The treasurer may collect any unpaid
property taxes, interest, and penalties for a period not to exceed five years as provided for
under RCW 84.40.380. In addition, if a person willfully fails to submit the form or
provides erroneous information, that person is liable for an additional penalty equal
to one hundred percent of the unpaid taxes. RCW 84.36.385. If the change in status results

in a refund of property taxes, the treasurer may refund property taxes and interest for up to the most
recent three years after the taxes were due as provided in chapter 84.69 RCW.”

RCW 84.36.385(5) says, in part, “If the applicant had received exemption in prior years
based on erroneous information, the taxes must be collected subject to penalties as
provided in RCW 84.40.130 for a period of not to exceed five years.”

RCW 84.40.130(2) provides that, “If any person or corporation shall willfully give a false
or fraudulent list, schedule or statement required by this chapter, or shall, with intent to
defraud, fail or refuse to deliver any list, schedule or statement required by this chapter,
such person or corporation is liable for the additional tax properly due or, in the case of
willful failure or refusal to deliver such list, schedule or statement, the total tax properly
due; and in addition such person or corporation is liable for a penalty of one hundred
percent of such additional tax or total tax as the case may be.”



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
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It also says that the “taxes and penalties provided for in this subsection must be
recovered in an action in the name of the state of Washington on the complaint of the
county assessor or the county legislative authority and must, when collected, be paid
into the county treasury to the credit of the current expense fund. The provisions of this
subsection are additional and supplementary to any other provisions of law relating to
recovery of property taxes.”

Before you proceed any further, you should answer the following question.

e Canyou show (meaning prove through documentation) that this applicant
sighed a false claim with the “intent” to defraud or evade paying property tax?

If the answer is “yes”, then you and your treasurer have the authority under the statutes
and rules to collect any property taxes due for a period not to exceed five years, and, in
addition, the applicant is liable for the additional 100 percent penalty.

You should contact your county’s prosecuting attorney to determine whether or not the
evidence and documentation you have is sufficient to prove “intent to defraud and
evade”. Ifthe answer is yes, your attorney will advise you on how to proceed and how, or
whether or not, to proceed with a perjury charge.

The following WAC rule explains how to pursue imposition of the 100 percent penalty
referenced in RCW 84.40.130(2).

WAC 458-12-110(4) Penalty for willfully providing a false or fraudulent listing of
taxable personal property. If a person willfully provides the assessor with a false
or fraudulent listing of taxable personal property, or, with the intent to defraud, fails
or refuses to provide a listing of taxable personal property as required by chapter
84.40 RCW, the person is subject to a penalty of one hundred percent of the tax
properly due. A false or fraudulent listing may arise because it does not include all
of the taxable personal property in the ownership, possession, or control of the
person making the listing, or because it contains false information relating to the
proper value of the personal property listed. A person is not liable for the penalty
provided in this subsection (4) if the failure to list or the false listing was the result of
negligence, inadvertence, accident, or simple oversight rather than willfulness or
an intent to defraud. Likewise, a person making a false listing will not be subject to
the penalty provided in this subsection (4) if it is shown that the misrepresentations
made by the person are entirely attributable to reasonable cause. The penalty
imposed under this subsection (4) is in lieu of the penalty imposed under
subsection (3) of this rule.

(a) How is the penalty imposed? The assessor does not impose the penalty
provided in this subsection (4). Rather, the penalty provided for in this subsection
along with any tax properly due are to be recovered in a lawsuit brought in the
name of the state of Washington on the complaint of the county assessor or the
county legislative authority. The provisions of this subsection (4) are in addition to
any other provisions of law relating to the recovery of property taxes.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-12-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40
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(b) How is the penalty distributed? When collected, the penalty imposed under
this subsection (4) and the tax to which it was added must be paid into the county
treasury to the credit of the current expense fund.

PRIOR YEAR APPLICATIONS

Applicants may apply for an exemption for previous years and receive a property tax
refund for taxes paid. Refunds may only be issued for up to three years from the date the
taxes were due. See RCW 84.69.020(7) and RCW 84.69.030(2).

The only limitation on applying for prior years is the 3-year limitation on refunds. There
is no statute of limitations for relief from unpaid property taxes for previous years. If
there are 10 years of delinquent taxes, the taxpayer can apply for exemption for all ten
years and receive adjustments on the taxes due for those years.

An applicant may also apply for prior years for the purpose of establishing the frozen
value “of the residence on the later of January 1, 1995, or January 1st of the
assessment year the person first qualifies under this section.” See RCW 84.36.381(6)
and WAC 458-16A-135(2).

Even though an applicant may not be eligible to receive a refund, it may be beneficial to
apply for a prior year in order to establish the lowest possible frozen value. See WAC
458-16A- 135(2).

When applying for prior years, the applicant must file an application for each year that an
exemption is requested. Just as if the application had been filed timely, the applicant
must meet all of the qualifications in place for that time period.

Sometimes, notice of foreclosure proceedings prompts the application once the taxpayer
becomes aware of the exemption program. In these cases, because the tax has not yet
been paid, the assessor can adjust the assessment and notify the treasurer of the change.
The treasurer then adjusts the tax amount and notifies the taxpayer of any taxes still owing
on the account. If the taxes are left unpaid, the treasurer has no choice but to pursue
foreclosure unless the applicantis eligible to apply for the Deferral Program.

HB 2446 was passed in 2014 and became effective June 12, 2014. This legislation is
intended to simplify the refund process for taxpayers, assessors, and treasurers. Under
the new legislation, the property owner is no longer required to “file a claim for a refund”
under the following circumstances: (RCW 84.69.030)

e therefundisthe result of a Board of Equalization, State Board of Tax Appeals, or
Court decision, or

e therefundis aresult of decisions made by the county treasurer or assessor within 3
years of the tax due date, or

e therefundis aresult of an approval by the assessor or DOR for property tax
exemption under RCW 84.36.


http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
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APPEALS

An applicant may appeal an exemption denial to the county Board of Equalization (WAC_
458- 16A-140(6)) within 30 days of the date of the determination, or within a time limit of
up to 60 days as adopted by the county legislative authority, whichever is later. The
taxpayer should use Form 64 0090 to submit the appeal.

Either party may appeal the Board of Equalization decision at the State Board of Tax
Appeals (WAC 458-14-056).

An applicant may also appeal if the applicant disagrees with the level of exemption as
determined by the assessor. In effect, when the assessor approves the application for
exemption at a specific level based on the applicant’s income, the assessor has denied
the exemption at the other levels.

The same holds true when the applicant disagrees with the assessor’s determination
regarding exclusion of a portion of the property. For example, the assessor determines
that a portion of the residence is used commercially or determines that certain
outbuildings that are not considered to be part of the residence should be excluded from
the exemption.

FROZEN VALUE

Value is frozen as of January 1, 1995, or January 1 of the assessment year the
person first qualifies for exemption, whichever is later, RCW 84.36.381(6).

Effective date — For qualified applicants who were already receiving the exemption at the
time this legislation passed in 1995, values were frozen as of January 1, 1995. All other
applicants will have their values frozen January 1 of the assessment year they first enter
the program.

Some things to remember about the frozen value are:

e Thevalue is frozen based on the January 1 assessed value in the
assessment/income/application year the taxpayer first qualifies for the
exemption.

e Thefrozenvalueis not adjusted unless property is removed from the exemption or
added to the exemption. For example:

o Anportion of the property is sold or used for business — or —a boundary line
adjustment adds property or property previously used for business is
converted to personal use.

o Theresidenceis an older single-wide mobile home and is replaced with a
new double-wide.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0090.doc
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-14-056
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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o Zoning/land use changes to allow inclusion or exclusion of additional
acreage in excess of one acre.

o “New construction” type improvements are made to the property.

o Beginningin tax year 2025, one Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) may be included in the

exemption.

o Propertyis destroyed or “destroyed property” is replaced and/or
reconstructed — see Destroyed Property.

If the market assessed value of the residence and/or land falls below the frozen
value, the exemption is applied to the lower of the two values so that the taxpayer
always receives the greater benefit.

If the taxpayer is ineligible for one year due to high income, the original frozen
value is reinstated when the taxpayer re-qualifies in the following year. If the
taxpayer is ineligible for more than one year due to high income, the frozen value
must be re- established.

If the taxpayer is ineligible for one year or more for any reason or than high income,
the frozen value must be re-established.

RCW 84.36.381(6)(a) For a person who otherwise qualifies under this section and
has a combined disposable income equal to or less than income threshold 3, the
valuation of the residence is the assessed value of the residence on the later of
January 1, 1995, or January 1st of the assessment year the person first qualifies
under this section. If the person subsequently fails to qualify under this section
only for one year because of high income, this same valuation must be used upon
requalification. If the person fails to qualify for more than one year in succession
because of high income or fails to qualify for any other reason, the valuation upon
requalification is the assessed value on January 1st of the assessment yearin
which the person re-qualifies. If the person transfers the exemption under this
section to a different residence, the valuation of the different residence is the
assessed value of the different residence on January 1st of the assessment year in
which the person transfers the exemption.

(b) In no event may the valuation under this subsection be greater than the
true and fair value of the residence on January 1st of the assessment year.

(c) This subsection does not apply to subsequent improvements to the property
in the year in which the improvements are made. Subsequent improvements to
the property must be added to the value otherwise determined under this
subsection at their true and fair value in the year in which they are made.

Valuation notices for program participants should be sent out as usual and should
include both the market value and the frozen value (this may actually reflect the value that
was established in an earlier year).

If an applicant exceeds the maximum income level for one year, he or she will be removed


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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from the exemption program for that year and the property taxes will be calculated on the
market value. If the applicant re-qualifies for the exemption program again in the year
immediately following, the previously used frozen value can be reinstated and the property
taxes will again be calculated on that prior frozen value.

If an applicantis ineligible due to any reason other than high income, or if the applicantis
ineligible for two or more years in arow due to high income, there is no option for
reinstating the prior frozen value once the applicant re-qualifies. The applicant canre-
apply for the program as soon as they are eligible but frozen value must be re-established.

Transferring the exemption - the value of the replacement residence is frozen as of
January 1 of the year in which the transfer takes place. WAC 458-16A-150(5)

New construction is added at its full value to the existing frozen value and a new frozen value is
established.

If, during the revaluation cycle, the value of the property drops below the frozen value,
the applicant will only pay taxes on the lower of the market value or the frozen value. The
frozen value is set aside until such time as the market value once again exceeds the
frozen value. Atthattime, the frozen value would again be used to compute the taxes.

SB 6338 - Property exceeding one acre

This legislation was passed in 2006 so 2007 is the first year acreage in excess of one acre
became eligible for exemption. At that time, if an applicant had an existing exemption on 1
acre and had additional acreage that became eligible under the new legislation, the new
frozen value consisted of the already existing frozen value of the residence and 1 acre —
plus the January 1, 2006, value of the additional acreage now included in the exemption.
The new frozen value carried forward to future years.

NOTE: This also applies to future changes in local land use/zoning.

Example 1:

Joe Smith owns five acres. He has had an exemption since 2007. Until March 2017, the
local land use regulations only required one acre per residence so his exemption only
covers his residence and one acre. In March 2017, the local planning commission
changed the zoning where he lives due to water restrictions. Now, local land use
regulations require five acres per residence. Beginning with the 2018 tax year, he can
receive relief under the exemption program for his residence and the entire five acres. The
new frozen value is the original frozen value for the home and one acre, plus, the January
1, 2017, market value of the additional four acres.

Example 2:

John Jones owns five acres. He has had an exemption since 2007 and his frozen
value was established as of January 1, 2006. Until March 2017, the local land use
regulations required five acres perresidence so his exemption covered his
residence and all five acres. In March 2017, the local planning commission
changed the zoning where he lives to encourage development. Now, local land use


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
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regulations require one acre per residence. Beginning with the 2018 tax year, he
can receive relief under the exemption program for his residence and one acre. The
additional four acres must be removed from the exemption program and the frozen
value must be recalculated to exclude the January 1, 2006, value of the excluded
four acres.

Current Use Property

A senior citizen can qualify for a property tax exemption, based on their income, while
continuing to use their property in a manner consistent with statutory provisions for
classification in a current use program or as designated forest land (DFL). The use of the
parcel determines whether it qualifies, or continues to qualify, under current use or DFL.

For property in a Current Use Program, the current use value is used to set the frozen value.
The current use value is, technically, the “value in use” and “the taxable value”. As such,
this is the value that should be used to set the frozen value for property that is in a Current
Use Program at the time the taxpayer becomes eligible for the Exemption Program.

Example: A taxpayer had property in a Current Use Program beginning in 2000. In
2001, the taxpayer became eligible for the Exemption Program. The frozen value will
be the current use value of the residence and the one-acre homesite as of January 1,
2001.

The property is located in an area that requires five acres per residence according to
local land use and zoning requirements. With passage of SB 6338, the new frozen
value for 2007 taxes is the already existing frozen value plus the January 1, 2006,
current use value of an additional four acres. This newly established frozen value will
carryforward to future years.

The taxpayer is taxed on the lower of the frozen value, the current use value, or the market value.

If the taxpayer decides they no longer want to participate in the current use program, the
frozen value must be reset to reflect the value that would have been frozen if the taxpayer
had not participated in the current use program.

Example: The taxpayerinourprevious example decides to withdraw from the current
use program. The frozen value becomes the market assessed value of the residence
and one acre as of January 1 of the first exemption application year plus the market
assessed value of the additional four acres allowable under SB 6338. The newly
established frozen value is the market assessed value for the residence and one acre
as of January 1, 2001 plus the market assessed value as of January 1, 2006, for the
additional 4 acres.

In addition, the taxpayer may have rollback taxes. Rollback taxes should be
calculated on the difference between what the taxpayer actually paid and what the
taxpayer would have paid if they had not participated in the current use program.
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For 2000, prior to being in the Exemption Program, the taxpayer would pay rollback
taxes on the difference between the current use value and the market assessed
value.

For 2001 and forward, the taxpayer would pay taxes on the difference between the
value actually taxed (the lower of the frozen, current use, ormarketvalue) and the new
value (the lower of the frozen or market value), with the exemption applied to the new
taxable value.

Destroyed Property

Under the destroyed property statute, the assessed value for destroyed property is the
value remaining after destruction, unless new construction takes place. For properties
in the senior citizen exemption program, the frozen value is compared with the true and
fair value after destruction. The property owner pays tax on the lower of those two
values. In essence, the senior citizen/person with disabilities pays tax on the lowest
value authorized by law, the lower of the frozen value or the true and fair value after
destruction.

Note: The form you have for calculating rebates for “destroyed property” will not
calculate correctly when there is an exemption in place. The problem came to our
attention when Kittitas County had a situation with property destroyed in the month of
January. The Department added a note to that form to alert you to not use the form if you
are calculating a destroyed property rebate/refund calculation for a parcel thatis in either
the exemption program or the current use program.

Once the home is repaired or replaced, a new frozen value is established. The land value
would remain frozen at the previous frozen value. The value of new construction is added
to the senior citizen/person with disabilities’ frozen value to the extent that the new
construction increased the true and fair value of the property prior to destruction. If the
property owner replaced the destroyed property and the true and fair value of the property
is no more than the true and fair value prior to destruction, the frozen value would not be
affected. Only the value of repairs or replacements that exceeds the original true and fair
value would be added to the frozen value.

Once thatis determined, the assessor must also determine if the home is the principle
residence of the taxpayer in order to continue the exemption on the property. If the
taxpayer has temporarily relocated due to the destruction and will move back into the
home before the end of the year, you can safely say the home remains the principal
residence of the applicant.

If you determine the property will not be the principal residence of the applicant, the
exemption must be removed.
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Adjusting Frozen Value After Reconstruction

The new frozen value depends on whether the value of the reconstructed residence
exceeds the value of the residence prior to destruction.

e Ifthe true and fairvalue of the property after reconstruction is less than or equal
to the true and fair value prior to destruction, then the frozen value will not
change.

e |fthe true and fair value after reconstruction exceeds the former true and fair
value, the difference (increase) in value should be added to the frozen value.

You will need to compare the “market assessed value” prior to destruction to the “market
assessed value” after reconstruction, then adjust the frozen value to the extent that the
new value exceeds the true and fair value prior to destruction. This applies to a house or a
manufactured home, regardless of whether the replacement has the same footprint.

Calculating the Rebate/Refund and Establishing a New Frozen Value

Following is an example of how to calculate the rebate/refund and how to establish a new
frozen value after the property is repaired.

e Destruction date =January 7

e The taxable value for regular levies only is $32,450, with a regular levy rate of
$5.5155624, for a total of $178.98.

e $178.98 equals a tax per day of $.49 ($178.98/365).

e Therefore, the property tax for the portion of the year prior to destruction is $2.94 (6 x
$0.49).

e The assessed value after the destruction is less than the $50,000 reduction for the
mid- level exemption, thus, the taxpayer is not liable for any property taxes for the
remaining 359 days of the year.

Since the original property tax was $178.98 and the new total is $2.94, the taxpayer
should receive a rebate of $176.04.
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Based on Frozen Based on Frozen
Value Prior to Value After
Destruction Destruction
Land 27,300 27,300
Imps 55,150 10,680
Total Value 82,450 37,980
Exemption Applied — Greater of 35% or
$50,000 50,000 50,000
Taxable Value 32,450 -0-
Regular Levy Rate 5.5155624 5.5155624
Regular Tax (32,450 x .0055155624) $178.98
Regular Tax Before Destruction of Property
(32,450 x.0055155624 / 365 days in the $2.94
year x 6 taxable days prior to destruction)
Regular Tax After Destruction of Property
(- 0-x.0055155624 / 365 days in the year $0.00
x 359 days after destruction)
Total Regular Tax for Year with Destroyed
$2.94
Property
Abatement or refund amount ($178.98 -
176.04
$2.94) $
Land Value Improvement Value Total Value
Marlket Value Before Destruction 100,000 S$230.000 $350.000
Frozen Value Before Destruction 570,000 S200.000 $270.000
Market Value Destroved S$230.000 5250000
Market Value After Destruction S100,000 S0 S100.000
Frozen Value After Destruction 570,000 S0 570,000

Example 1: Replacement with true and fair value of $200.000

Market Value After Replacement 100,000 S200.000 S300.000

Frozen Value After Replacement 570,000 S2OO=OUUT- $270.000

Example 2. Replacement with true and fair value of $250.000

Market Value After Replacement $100.000 S230.000 S350.000

Replacernent value does not
exceed prior market value - prior
frozen value is reinstated.

Frozen Value After Replacement 570,000 SEOOIJUU“_ $270.000

Example 3: Replacement with true and fair value of $275.000

Market Value After Replacement 5100.000 5275000 5375000

Replacernent value does not
exceed prior market valua - prior
frozen value is reinstated.

Frozen Value After Replacement 570,000 SZZiOUU“_ 5295000

= Original Frozen +
(Replacerment TruesFair -
Original Market True&Fair)
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REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES

Regular property taxes can be reduced under the exemption program and may be deferred
under the deferral program.

Regular property taxes are those resulting from levies authorized by the Legislature (see
RCW 84.04.140) and in most cases do not require voter approval. Regular levies are
subject to the $5.90 aggregate limit (see RCW 84.52.043 and .050), and the 1 percent
constitutional limit (see Article VII, Section 2 of the Washington Constitution), plus levies
imposed for the state school levy, ports, public utility districts, EMS levies, affordable
housing, conservation futures levies, county ferry districts, criminal justice, and transit
levies.

1. The 1 percent Constitutional limit applies directly to taxes paid by individual
property owners and, in most case, may be exceeded if approved by 60
percent of the voters voting on the proposition. Itis based on “true and fair
value”.

2. The Levy Limit calculation limits the total tax revenue collected by a taxing

district and not to an individual taxpayer’s bill. It does not apply to excess

levies.

The $5.90 limit is imposed by state law and applies to most regular levies.

4, The state school levy consists of two parts beginning January 1, 2018.
Exemption program participants are exempt from Part 2 of the state school

levy.

[98)

EXCESS LEVY (SPECIAL LEVY) (see RCW 84.52.052, .053, & .056)

Qualified exemption program participants are exempt from all excess levies.
Excess levies are taxes in excess of the Constitutional 1% limit and they are approved by
voters at special or general elections. These are voter approved levies in specific amounts

for a specific duration of time. Not all voter-approved levies are excess levies.

Three examples of excess levies are:

1. Operations Levies — such as school Enrichment (M & O) levies;
2. Levies for Capital improvements (such as construction and/or
modernization/remodeling) and Transportation; and
3. Bond levies.
TYPES OF ASSESSMENTS

Local Improvement Assessments

e Charges made by districts formed to provide specific public improvements that will


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.04.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.04.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.043
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.052
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.52.053
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.52.056
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benefit only that property within their boundaries.
e Cannot be exempted
e (Can be deferred
e RCW 84.34.310(4)

“Localimprovement district” means “any local improvement district, utility local
improvement district, local utility district, road improvement district, or any similar unit
created by a local government for the purpose of levying special benefit assessments
against property specially benefited by improvements relating to such districts.”

A local improvement district (LID) is a district that charges a fee or assessment for
public improvements (sidewalks, curbs, sewer, lighting, etc) thatis not based on the
value of the property. The charge is levied against a parcel of real estate to defray the
cost of a public improvement that presumably will benefit only the properties it
serves.

These are districts set up for specific improvements such as sewer improvements, water
systems, roads, lighting, sidewalks, etc. Financing of the projectis usually through Local
Improvement District Bonds. A one-time charge is levied against the property, generally
with the option for installment payments, for a specific length of time, with an annual due
date, a specified penalty interest rate, delinquent interest rate, and bond interest rate.

The property tax exemption program does not apply to LID’s. However, these assessments
may be deferred.

Other Benefit Assessments

e Charges made by districts formed to provide a specific service or benefit to properties
within their boundaries.
» RCW 84.34.310(7)
» Charges are based on benefit to the property, rather than the value of the property.
» May be billed on the property tax statement.

e OnlyFire Protection Benefit Assessments/Charges can be exempted.
» WAC 458-16A-140(2)

e Can be deferred

"Special benefit assessments" are special assessments levied in any local improvement
district or by a local government to pay for all or part of the costs of a local improvement
and which may be levied only for the special benefits to be realized by property by reason
of that local improvement.

Benefit Assessment Districts are formed to provide a specific service or benefit to property
contained within its boundaries. The charges made by Benefit Assessment Districts are
based on benefit rather than value and generally cover things like fire protection, diking,
drainage, flooding, and weed control. A charge is levied annually to the property owner.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.34.310
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.34.310
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
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The property tax exemption program does not apply to special benefit assessments
except for Fire District Benefit Assessments. However, these assessments may be
deferred.

Fire Protection Benefit Charges — See WAC 458-16A-140(2)

This exemption does not reduce or exempt an owner's payments for special assessments
against the property. The only exceptions related to this program are for benefit charges
made by a fire protection district, a regional fire protection service authority, or by a city or
town for enhancement of fire protection services. Fire protection benefit charges are
reduced twenty-five, fifty, or seventy-five percent depending upon the combined
disposable income of the claimant. RCW 52.18.090, 52.26.270, and 35.13.256.

For assessments levied for collection in 2016-2019:
-0- -$30,000 - exempt from 75% of the charge
$30,001 - $35,000 — exempt from 50% of the charge
$35,001 - $40, 000 — exempt from 25% of the charge

For assessments levied for collection in 2020 and after:

<55% county median household income/<$30,000 — exempt from 75% of the charge
56%-65% county median household income/$30,001-$35,000 — exempt from 50% of the charge
66%-75% county median household income/$35,001-$40,000 - exempt from 25% of the charge

LEASEHOLD EXCISE TAX CREDIT

RCW 82.29A.120 provides for a credit for lessees and sublessees who would qualify for a
property tax exemption under RCW 84.36.381 if the property were privately owned. For
the qualified taxpayer, the leasehold excise tax is reduced by a percentage equal to the
percentage reduction in property tax that would result from the property tax exemption
under RCW 84.36.381.

In order to apply for the credit, the taxpayer must complete an application for exemption
(REV 64 0082) and a worksheet used to calculate the credit (REV 86 0072). The assessor
approves or denies the application for exemption and completes the “County Use Only”
section. The taxpayer is responsible for completing the worksheet and submitting copies
of both documents, along with his/her Leasehold Excise Tax Return and a check for the
total tax due.

Forms, worksheets, and additional information are available here:
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/othertaxes/tax_leasehold.aspx.

Because Leasehold Excise Tax is calculated annually, taxpayers should apply or renew
the application for exemption on an annual basis. Questions should be directed to
Leasehold Excise Tax at (360) 534-1503.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.18.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.26.270
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=35.13.256
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.29A.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://dor.wa.gov/content/findtaxesandrates/othertaxes/tax_leasehold.aspx
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TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2024

l.
2.
3.

The application should/would have been filed in 2023
Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2023 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than the greater of 70%
of the county median household income in 2023

. The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2023
. The applicant must have obtained ownership of the residence in 2023 or prior.

. The applicant must have occupied the residence for more than six

months in calendar year 2023.

TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2023

1.
2.
3.

The application should/would have been filed in 2022
Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2022 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than the greater of 65%
of the county median household income in 2022

. The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2022
. The applicant must have obtained ownership of the residence in 2022 or prior.

. The applicant must have occupied the residence for more than six

months in calendar year 2022.

TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2020

1.
2.
3.

The application should/would have been filed in 2019
Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2019 income

Have combined disposable income of no more than the greater of 65%
of the county median household income or $40,000 in 2019

The applicant must be 61 years of age or older by December 31, 2019

5. The applicant must have obtained ownership of the residence in 2019 or prior

The applicant must have occupied the residence for more than nine
months in calendar year 2019
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TO QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2019

l.

A

The application should/would have been filed in 2018

Therefore, the applicants declare their ESTIMATED 2018 income
Have combined disposable income of no more than $40,000 in 2018
The applicant must be 61 years of age or older on December 31, 2018

The applicant must have owned and resided in the house at the time of filing

2020 AND AFTER TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, ORUP TO FIVE ACRES
IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL LAND USE REGULATIONS

< Income Threshold EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON

1 $60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2 OF THE STATE SCHOOL LEVY,
AND LOCAL PROPERTY TAX LEVIES WHEN
EXEMPTION IS IDENTIFIED ON BALLOT MEASURE

PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
> Income Threshold GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS

1 but<Income EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2

Threshold 2 OF THE STATE SCHOOL LEVY, AND LOCAL PROPERTY
TAX LEVIES WHEN EXEMPTION IS IDENTIFIED ON
BALLOT MEASURE

EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2 OF
THE STATE SCHOOL LEVY, AND LOCAL PROPERTY
TAX LEVIES WHEN EXEMPTION IS IDENTIFIED ON

> Income Threshold BALLOT MEASURE

2 but < Income 2018 THROUGH 2019 TAXES
Threshold 3
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EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, ORUP TO FIVE ACRES
IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL LAND USE REGULATIONS

$30,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2 OF THE STATE SCHOOL
LEVY, AND LOCAL PROPERTY TAX LEVIES WHEN
EXEMPTION IS IDENTIFIED ON BALLOT MEASURE

$30,001 TO $35,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2
OF THE STATE SCHOOL LEVY, AND LOCAL
PROPERTY TAX LEVIES WHEN EXEMPTION IS
IDENTIFIED ON BALLOT MEASURE

$35,001 TO $40,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES, PART 2
OF THE STATE SCHOOL LEVY, AND LOCAL
PROPERTY TAX LEVIES WHEN EXEMPTION IS
IDENTIFIED ON BALLOT MEASURE

2016 THROUGH 2017 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, ORUP TO FIVE ACRES
IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL LAND USE REGULATIONS

$30,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

$30,001 TO $35,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
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IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS EXEMPTION
FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

$35,001 TO $40,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

2007 THROUGH 2015 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE, ORUP TO FIVE ACRES
IF EXCESS ACREAGE IS REQUIRED BY LOCAL LAND USE REGULATIONS

$25,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUE, WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

$25,001 TO $30,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

$30,001 TO $35,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

2005 THROUGH 2006 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$25,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$60,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER - PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF
EXCESS LEVIES

$25,001 TO $30,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER
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IS GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $70,000 - PLUS EXEMPTION
FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

$30,001 TO $35,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

1999 THROUGH 2004 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$18,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$50,000 OR 60% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% EXCESS
LEVIES.

$18,001 TO $24,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$40,000 OR 35% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $60,000 PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

$24,001 TO $30,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

1996 THROUGH 1998 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$15,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$34,000 OR 50% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER

$15,001 TO $18,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$30,000 OR 30% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $50,000 OF VALUATION
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$18,001 TO $28,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

1992 THROUGH 1995 TAXES

EXEMPTION COVERS RESIDENCE AND ONE ACRE

$15,000 OR LESS EXEMPT FROM REGULAR PROPERTY TAXES ON
$34,000 OR 50% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, PLUS EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS
LEVIES

$15,001 TO $18,000 PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM REGULAR TAXES ON
$30,000 OR 30% OF THE VALUATION WHICHEVER IS
GREATER, NOT TO EXCEED $50,000 PLUS
EXEMPTION FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES

$18,001 TO $26,000 EXEMPT FROM 100% OF EXCESS LEVIES
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List of Questions to Ask Applicants
(Originally provided by Dave Cook, Yakima County Assessor,
and subsequently updated by DOR)

e Wereyou at least 61 years of age or older by 12/31 of the year before the taxis due,
or are you disabled? If disabled, are you “unable to pursue gainful employment” OR
are you a veteran receiving VA disability at a total disability rating?

e Doyou have adriver’s license or ID card that shows your birthday and address? It
should match the situs address of parcel or they should be able to explain when they
moved in.

e Do youown other property here in this county?

e Do youown other property in any other County in Washington or any other state?

e |fyou own other property, are you receiving any type of exemption on any of that property?
e Haveyou sold a property here, or in any other County or State?

e How long have you lived in your house?

e Areyou married or have a significant other?

e Does anyone live with you?

e Whatisyour household income?

e Inthatincome do you receive money that is non-taxable, L&l, DSHS (money, food
stamps), Native American Allotment money, Foster, Marital Support, etc... Note: Do
notinclude these types of income in the income calculation unless they are
specifically included in the list of “add-ons” specified in law and rule —i.e. pensions
and annuities, Social Security, etc.

e Do you pay for your prescription drugs out of pocket, co-pays?

e Do you have any nursing home orin-home care expenses that we could use to
deduct from yourincome?

e Do you pay for any type of Medicare health insurance - Parts A, B, C, D, or
approved supplemental policies?

e Ifyou have noincome, how are you able to pay your bills?
e Does anybody help you out by paying your bills, utilities, taxes etc...?

e Ifyou have other adults living in the home do they help contribute to the home
expenses and if so how much?

e Ifyou are disabled, we will need a copy of your Notice of Award Letter from Social
Security OR the Department of Veterans’ Affairs OR a Proof of Disability form signed
and returned by your doctor.
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“QUICK REFERENCE”
Subject RCW 84.36 WAC 458-16A
Absent Spouse/Domestic Partner 120(2)
Application Procedures 385(1) 135
Assessor’s Authority 385 140(3)
385(2) & (5)
. RCW 84.40.350
Cancellation through 150(3)
RCW 84.40.390
Confidentiality 389
Deductions 383(1) 100(6)
Home Health Care 100(18)
Definitions 383 100
Department’s Authority 389
865
381(6
Frozen Value RCW4.40.178 140(7)
Income (General Definitions)
Annuity 383(7) 100(2)
Adjusted Gross 115
Averaging
Combined Disposable 383(2 100(6
Disposable 383(7) 100(12)
Gross 110
Limits 381(5) 130(1) & (3)



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.865
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.40.178
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
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One Acre - Five Acre Limit 383(12) 100(32)
Ownership 100(25)
Lease for Life/Life Estate/Trust 381(2 100(22) & (24)
. . . 381(2)
Marital community/Domestic 100(26)
. 381(2)
Partnership 381(2
Cooperative Housing 381(2) 100(32)
Co-tenant 383(2 100(7)
Conveyance by Deed RCW 64.04.010
Deed lee uirer¥1ents RCW64.04.020
d RCW 64.08.010
Acknowledgement
Qualifications — Age/Disability 381(3) 11030(§1[;])
Refunds RCW 84.69.030 140(4)
. 381
Residence 383 100(28) & (32)
100(28
Occupancy 381(1) & 383(11) 130(4
Transfer 381 150(5)

SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES EXEMPTION RCW’s

RCW 84.36.379

RCW 84.36.381

RCW 84.36.383

RCW 84.36.385

RCW 84.36.387

RCW 84.36.389

Residences - Property tax exemption - Findings.
Residences - Property tax exemptions - Qualifications.
Residences - Definitions.

Residences - Claim for exemption - Forms - Change of Status -
Publication and Notice of Qualifications and Manner of Making Claims.

Residences - Claimants - Penalty for Falsification - Reduction by
Remainderman - Perjury.

Residences - Rules and Regulations - Audits - Confidentiality -
Criminal Penalty.

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES:

RCW 64.04.010
RCW 64.04.020

RCW 64.08.010

Conveyances and encumbrances to be by deed.
Requisites of a deed.

Who may take acknowledgements.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.379
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.387
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.389
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
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RCW 84.40.130

RCW 84.40.178

RCW 84.40.350
RCW 84.40.360

RCW 84.40.370
RCW 84.40.380

Delinquency — Interest.
RCW 84.40.390

RCW 52.18

RCW 84.69.030

Penalty for failure or refusal to list — False or fraudulent listing,
additional penalty.

Exempt Residential Property--Maintenance of Assessed
Valuation--Notice of Change.

Assessment and taxation of property losing exempt status.

Loss of exempt status — Property subject to pro rata portion of
taxes for remainder of year.

Loss of exempt status — Valuation date — Extension on rolls.

Loss of exempt status — When taxes due and payable — Dates of

Loss of exempt status — Taxes constitute lien on property.
Benefit Charges

Procedure to obtain order for refund.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.178
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.360
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.370
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.390
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=52.18
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.69.030
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SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES EXEMPTION - WAC

WAC 458-16A-100

WAC 458-16A-110

WAC 458-16A-115

WAC 458-16A-120

WAC 458-16A-130

WAC 458-16A-135

WAC 458-16A-140

WAC 458-16A-150

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Definitions.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Grossincome.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Adjusted gross income.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Determining combined disposable income.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Qualifications for exemption.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Application procedures.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Exemption described - Exemption granted - Exemption denied -
Freezing Property values.

Senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran exemption -
Requirements for keeping the exemption.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
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Section il

Senior Citizens and
People with Disabilities
Deferral Program
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SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
DEFERRAL PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this deferral program is to allow senior citizens and/or people with
disabilities the ability to remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. RCW
84.38.010. This program works in conjunction with the exemption program and the
applicant must meet all requirements for an exemption under RCW 84.36.381 other than
the age and income limits.

If eligible, the applicant must also apply for the property tax exemption. WAC 458-18-020(2)(f).

The exemption program reduces your property taxes. The deferral program allows you to
postpone the payment of your property taxes; the State of Washington pays the taxes for
the applicant. The taxes plus accrued interest are repaid to the State out of the estate
when the applicant passes away or out of the proceeds of sale if the property is
transferred. The lien created by the deferral program can only be assumed by a surviving
spouse, domestic partner, heir or devisee.

The interest rate on deferrals made prior to January 1, 2007, is eight percent (8%).
Deferrals made on or after January 1, 2007, accrue interest at the rate of five percent
(5%).

The deferral program is applicable to both property taxes and special assessments.
Special assessments are physical improvements that specifically benefit a piece of
property. Examples are improvements for water, sewer, roads, sidewalks, curbing, etc.

Current and delinquent property taxes and special assessments may all be included on
one application. There is no limit on the number of years we can pay but the applicant
has to have had an ownership interest in the years the taxes were actually levied.

Like the exemption, the deferral applies only to the taxes or assessments for the residence
(which may include one ADU —see pages 22-24) and up to one acre of land, or up to five
acres depending on local land use regulations. Tax on excess acreage (more than one
acre and up to five acres) is eligible for deferral if local land use regulations require the
excess acreage.

Because the applicant must meet the requirements for an exemption under RCW
84.36.381, other than the age and income requirements, the program qualifications are
very similar. However, there are some important differences.

THE APPLICANT

Only one person in the household must meet the age/disability requirement and this
person is the applicant. This person must also have an ownership interest in the property


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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and the property must be the applicant’s principal place of residence. The combined
disposable income for the applicant and the applicant’s spouse or domestic partner and
any co-tenants must not exceed the greater of 75% of the county median household
income or $45,000. See RCW 84.38.030.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 60 by December 31 of the application year.

-OR-

The applicant must be the surviving spouse, domestic partner, heir, or devisee of
someone who was receiving a deferral at the time of their death. The surviving spouse,
domestic partner, heir, or devisee must be at least 57 years old in the year the original
participant passed away and must otherwise qualify for the program. RCW 84.38.150

-OR-

The applicant must be disabled. The definition of disability in RCW 84.36.383(6) has been
linked to the definition used for Social Security purposes (42 U.S.C. 423, Section
223(d)(1)(A)). The disability must be such that the applicant is unable to pursue substantial
gainful employment and the condition must either be expected to resultin death or must
have lasted, or be expected to last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months. The
disability need not be permanent.

Annually, the Social Security Administration determines the amount a claimant may

earn without being considered “gainfully employed”. There are separate limits for those
who are blind. You can find annual limits for allowable earned income in the Combined
Disposable Income section of this manual or at the Social Security website at

Substantial Gainful Activity.

NOTICE: Unlike for the Exemption Program, there is no provision for qualification based
solely on status as a disabled veteran.

OCCUPANCY AND OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be the applicant’s principal place of residence; they must occupy the
residence more than six months in a calendar year. As with the Exemption Program, the
taxpayer may still be eligible while confined to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living
facility (boarding home), adult family home, or home of relative for the purpose of long-
term care as provided in RCW 84.36.381(1).

The applicant must have an ownership interest in the property. To qualify for a deferralin
the current year, the applicant must have had an ownership interest prior to January 1.
Example: To qualify for deferralin 2021, the applicant must have had an ownership
interest by December 31, 2020.

Qualifying ownership includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase contract or


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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deed of trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative housing, a life
estate, a lease for life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership requirement.
RCW 84.38.030(4).

An irrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualification. The trust must be expressly
not revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant
must have a life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust
containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the residence). In addition,
there cannot be a “spendthrift” clause that prevents encumbrance of the trust
assets.

For the Deferral Program, we have to make sure that the applicant has a vested interest in
the property because, in effect, the interest in the real property is being used as collateral
for a “loan”. With respect to most private trusts, the trustee holds legal title to the trust
property, is the representative or agent of the trust, and has the capacity to sue and be
sued on behalf of the trust. The beneficiaries of a trust are the persons with equitable
ownership of the trust assets, although legal title is held by the trustee.

Watch for clauses that prevent the trustee and/or beneficiary from encumbering the
trust property.

When someone defers property tax, the State has to encumber the property in the form of
a lien filed against that property. If there is a type of “spendthrift” clause that prevents
encumbrance, we will not be able to pay the property tax because we cannot file the lien
against the property to secure the state’s interest.

If the propertyisin a trust, in order to qualify for both the exemption and deferral
programs simultaneously:

the trust must be expressly not revocable, and,
the applicant must be the beneficiary, and,

the applicant must have a beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of
the trust containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the
residence), and,

o eitherthe trust must terminate on the claimant’s death OR the claimant’s
beneficial interest in the property must last for his or her lifetime, and,

o thetrust must notinclude a spendthrift clause prohibiting encumbrance of the property.

INCOME

The maximum amount of combined disposable income the applicant, spouse, domestic
partner and co-tenants may receive and still be eligible for this program is the greater of
the previous year’s threshold or 75% of the county median household income. RCW
84.38.030(3).

Those applicants who meet the age and income requirements for the exemption program


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
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must first apply for the exemption. These taxpayers will receive the benefit of the
exemption first, thereby reducing the amount of taxes they will later repay to the state
under the deferral program. WAC 458-18-020(2)(f).

Applications are filed in the year the taxes are due and income from the preceding year is
used to determine eligibility. To calculate income, follow the same laws, rules, and
procedures as for the exemption program. See RCW 84.36.383, WAC 458-16A-100, and
the Combined Disposable Income section of this manual.

TO QUALIFY FOR DEFERRAL ON TAXES OR SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS PAYABLE
IN 2022

1. The applicationis due 30 days before the tax or special assessment due date. Similar
to the Exemption Program, late applications are accepted and, typically,

applications for this program are received year-round.

2. Applicants must be at least 60 years of age by 12/31/2022 or must have been
disabled as of 12/31/2021.

3. Applicants should declare their 2021 income.

4. Combined disposable income must be no more than the greater of 75% of the county
median household income or $45,000 in 2021.

5. The applicant must have owned the residence by December 31, 2021
6. The applicant must have occupied the residence more than six months in 2021.

7. The applicant may apply for payment of prior year taxes on the same application as
long as they had an ownership interest in the property in the prior years.

EQUITY

The maximum dollar amount of deferred taxes allowable on a parcelis limited by the
applicant’s equity in that property.

Equity is the amount by which the market assessed value of the property exceeds all
liens and encumbrances against the property. Liens and encumbrances include
mortgages, IRS liens, the unpaid balance on special assessments, any balance due the
Department of Social and Health Services, HUD, etc. WAC 458-18-010(9).

In order to include the value of the dwelling in the equity calculation, insurance must be
maintained on the residence to protect the interest of the state and the State of


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
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Washington Department of Revenue must be named as loss payee on the insurance
policy. When insurance is not maintained OR the State of Washington is not named as
loss payee on the policy, the maximum amount of taxes that can be deferred is
reduced since only the value of the land can be included in the equity calculation.

An applicant who does not carry fire insurance is limited to 100 percent of the equity in the
land value only. This means that if the applicant has a mortgage or any other liens on the
home, the amount of the mortgage (and other liens) will be deducted from the land value
to determine equity.

Applicants who carry fire insurance on their homes and who have listed the State as loss
payee on the policy can include the value of the residence (the assessed value or the
insured value, whichever is lower) and are limited to a maximum of 80 percent of their
equity in the aggregate value of the home and land.

EQUITY CALCULATION

With Co-Tenants

For the deferral programs, we can pay the entire tax bill and the equity calculation will be
based on the total assessed value. To calculate the equity, use the total assessed value
minus ALL of the liens and encumbrances.

With Co-Owners

For the deferral programs, we can still pay the entire tax bill but the equity calculation will
be based only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership share. To calculate the
equity, use the applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens and encumbrances.

With Insurance

To calculate the equity when the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the house
and lists the State as a loss payee on the policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property - land
and improvements. Use the "true and fair" value as of January 1 of the

current year.

Note: Before the current year valuation notices are mailed, you will actually
be using last year’s value. As soon as the current year valuation notices are
mailed, you should be using the new value because that is now the most
current value.

Do not use the frozen value, current use value, or a private fee appraisal value.
For the dwelling, use the assessor’s market value or the dwelling coverage
amount on the insurance policy, whichever is lower.

2. Determine the total of all the liens and obligations against the property —
except any existing deferral account balance.
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3.

Verify that the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the home and has listed
the State as a loss payee on the policy. Note: In no case shall the deferred amount
exceed the amount of the insured value of the improvement plus the value of the
land.

Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair
value of the property (land and improvements).

Multiply the balance, (if any), by 0.80 to arrive at 80 percent (80%) of equity. The
claimant may then defer up to this amount. If the claimant has an existing deferral
account balance, subtract that balance to determine the amount still available for
deferral.

Without Insurance

When the claimant has no insurance OR does not list the State as a loss payee on
the policy:

1.

Determine the market assessed value of the land only (do not include the value
of the improvements).

Determine the sum of all of the liens and obligations against the property.

Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair
value of the land only (the improvement value is not included).

The claimant may defer up to this amount. When establishing a claimant’s equity
using only the land value, 100 percent (100%) of the equity is used rather than 80
percent (80%). If the claimant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract
that balance to determine the amount still available for deferral.

Equity Calculation Example: Ins/State Listed No Ins/State Not Listed
Land Value: $250,000 $250,000
Improvement Value: $350,000 $350,000
Insurance: Dwelling Coverage $400,000 $400,000
State as Loss Payee? Yes No

Value to Include in Calculation $600,000* $250,000
Total Liens and Encumbrances $225.000 $225.000
Equity $375,000 $ 25,000
Percent of Equity Allowed 80% 100%
Available for Deferral $300,000 $ 25,000
Existing Deferral Balance $ 15,000 $ 15,000
Remaining Amount Available $285,000 $ 10,000

*Use the improvement value or the dwelling coverage value — whichever is lower.

APPLICATION PROCESS

Applications are due 30 days prior to the date the tax or special assessmentis due and are
filed at the assessor’s office in the county where the property is located. For this program,
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late applications are always accepted. Future deferrals are not automatic. Signed renewal
forms must be filed each year that an applicant wants to defer taxes.

The assessor has the authority to approve or deny a deferral.

The application must contain the following information (WAC 458-18-030(2)):

K/

% Name and mailing address of applicant

K/

% Proof of age or disability statement

K/

% Names of spouse, domestic partner, and cotenants

K/

%+ County parcel number
++» Property information — acreage, zoning/land use requirements, etc.
+»» Mobile home title if applicable (lien must be filed with DOL if title has not
been eliminated)

o Iftitle elimination has occurred, provide a copy of the elimination.
Legal description
Property taxes and special assessments requested to be paid
Balance of mortgages, liens, and encumbrances against the property
Homeowner’s insurance policy information
Prior yearincome
Special assessmentinformation, if applicable
Signature of mortgage holder (if the mortgage contract requires a reserve
account for payment of the property taxes)
+ Signature of the applicant

X/

% Names and signatures of all other owners

X/
£ %4

X/
£ %4

X/
L %4

X/
L %4

X/
L %4

X/
£ %4

X/
£ %4

DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES AND SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS FORTHE
DEFERRAL PROGRAM FOR SENIOR CITIZENS AND PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

Applications to defer delinquent property taxes and special assessments can be accepted
if the applicant currently qualifies for the deferral. Unlike the exemption program, the
applicantis not required to file an application form for each of the prior years. We can pay
the delinquent taxes and special assessments as long as the applicant had an
ownership interest during the back years in question, currently meets the age or
disability, income, and occupancy qualifications, and has enough equity.

The Department will pay the property taxes for the prior years, as well as interest,
penalties, and foreclosure costs. The applicant should specify on the current year
application form which years’ taxes and/or special assessments they are seeking to defer.

If the applicant was qualified for the exemption program in the delinquent years, the applicant
must also apply for an exemption for those years WAC 458-18-020

The Department made the decision to accept applications for prior year taxes in the
deferral program even when the claimant did not meet the age, disability, occupancy,
and income


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
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requirements in prior years when the legislature changed RCW 84.64.050. At one time this
statute read in part: “The county treasurer shall not issue certificates of delinquency upon
property owned and occupied as a principal place of residence by a person sixty-two years
of age or older.” When people began to use this provision to withhold payment of taxes,
the legislature changed the sentence to read: “the county treasurer shall notissue
certificates of delinquency upon property which is eligible for deferral of taxes under
chapter 84.38 RCW but shall require the owner of the property to file a declaration to defer
taxes under Chapter 84.38 RCW.” At that time, we received a number of requests for
deferral on delinquent taxes when the claimant did not qualify for the deferral for prior
years. (*Update* The statute currently reads: The county treasurer may not sell property
thatis eligible for deferral of taxes under chapter 84.38 RCW but must require the owner of
the property to file a declaration to defer taxes under chapter 84.38 RCW.)

If the taxes are delinquent and the applicant refuses to apply for the deferral program, the
county treasurer's office can begin the foreclosure process.

LIENS ON REAL PROPERTY

The assessor’s office generally provides the Department of Revenue (DOR) with a legal
description of the property. DOR files a lien with the county auditor to show as a public
record that the state has an interest in this property. In a situation involving excess
acreage not eligible for deferral, it is the responsibility of the applicant to provide a legal
description of the residence and the portion of land that will be included in the deferral. If
the applicant chooses not to do this, DOR files the lien on the entire property even if the
state is only paying the taxes on a portion of the land.

LIENS ON MOBILE HOMES

When an applicant has a manufactured home thatis licensed through Department of
Licensing, such as a manufactured home on a rented lot in a park, the Department must
have the manufactured home title information in order to record the state as a lien-
holder on that title.

Unless the title has been eliminated, when a deferral includes a mobile home the
Departmentis required by law to file a lien on the mobile home (See RCW 84.38.100).

DOR files an “Application for Certificate of Title” with the Department of Licensing to show
the State of Washington, Department of Revenue, as a lien-holder even when the
Departmentis also filing a lien on the real property.

Before the lien can be recorded, the title must be in the applicant’s name. For any change
in the “registered owner”, the Department of Licensing considers the transaction to be a
change in ownership and requires original documents. Since DOR rarely receives original
documents for deferral applications, in order to meet the ownership requirement, the title
for a manufactured home must show the applicant as the registered owner.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.100
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When you forward the deferral application to the Department, please include
documentation showing that the applicantis the registered owner and include the
standard info on the manufactured home (size, manufacturer, year, VIN, plate, etc...).

APPEALS

If an application is denied, the claimant may appeal to the county Board of Equalization.
The decision by the county Board of Equalization is final. There is no provision for appeal
to the State Board of Tax Appeals. If the applicant is notified of a denial subsequent to
July 15, the department may reconvene the Board of Equalization if requested to do so by
the assessor or claimant. WAC 458-18-090.

REPAYMENT OF DEFERRED TAXES

The Department of Revenue Property Tax Division will provide repayment figures upon
request. We can be reached at (360) 534-1400 or at mydeferral@dor.wa.gov.

Repayments are made to the Washington State Department of Revenue and may be made
in either a lump sum amount or partial payments. Partial payments are applied to the
oldest interest first, then applied to the oldest taxes.

No repayments are required as long as the applicant remains eligible for the program,
but the applicant can make payments at any time they choose in order to reduce the
account balance.

The deferred taxes plus interest must be repaid to the state when the:

% property’s ownership is transferred;
%+ applicant ceases to reside permanently on the property;

%+ applicant fails to keep adequate fire insurance with state listed as loss payee and
there is insufficient equity in land only;

% applicant passes away (unless a qualifying spouse, domestic partner, heir, or
devisee elects to continue in the program); or

%* propertyis condemned.

Under the laws and rules, these are events that cause collection action (“canceling
events”) and repayment is mandatory. Generally speaking, repayment must be
completed within three years of the date of the canceling event. Failure to make
complete repayment within the three years will result in the county treasurer foreclosing
on the property. Depending on the specific circumstances around the canceling event,
repayment may be required immediately. If not, DOR will ask the county treasurer to


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
mailto:mydeferral@dor.wa.gov
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foreclose.

INTEREST RATES

The interest rate on deferrals made prior to January 1, 2007, is eight percent (8%).
Deferrals made on or after January 1, 2007, accrue interest at the rate of five percent
(5%).

The interestis “simple” interest and only accrues on the initial principal balance. No
interest accrues on the accrued interest portion of a deferral account balance.

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:
» Provide documentation requested by the assessor.

» Notify insurance company of requirement to add State of Washington
Department of Revenue as “loss payee” and provide documentation either with
application packet or directly to the Department.

»

» Notify the assessor and the Department of Revenue when there is a “canceling event”.

» File arenewal application for each year in which they wish to defer taxes and/or
special assessments.

» Provide a legal description for the residence and the portion of land eligible for
deferral. This applies when the parcelincludes excess acreage or improvements
not eligible for deferral and the applicant wishes to exclude the ineligible acreage
or improvements from the lien filed by the Department.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The assessor must:

» Mailrenewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who
received a deferral the previous year.

» Determine each year if each claimant filing a declaration to defer will be granted a
deferral. The authority to approve or deny each deferral or deferral renewal lies
with the assessor.

» Notify the claimant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must
be in writing and should include information about appeal rights and procedures
as well as the reasons for the denial.

» Obtain tax and/or special assessment statement(s) showing the amount to be paid.
Interest should be calculated through the last day of the month in which the
application is approved by the assessor.

» Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the department, with a copy of the
deed proving the applicant’s ownership as well as the legal description, tax or
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special assessment statement(s), and insurance documentation (unless the
insurance documentation is being sent directly to the Department).

Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the county treasurer or
respective treasurers of local improvement districts. Local improvement districts
are directed to verify the special assessment figures supplied by the applicant and
notify the assessor of the correct figures if those supplied were inaccurate.

Notify the county treasurer and the respective treasurers of the local
improvement districts of which applicants and properties have qualified for
deferral and the amount that will be paid by the state treasurer on behalf of the
claimant.

Compute the dollar tax rates under the provisions of chapter 84.52 RCW as
if the deferrals did not exist.

Notify the county treasurer and the departmentimmediately upon occurrence
of any canceling event as set forth in RCW 84.38.130 and WAC 458-18-100

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:

>

Notify the county assessor as soon as possible if any factor appears to
disqualify the applicant. The department may audit any "declaration to defer"
and/or "declaration to renew deferral" it deems necessary.

File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to
show the state's lien on the certificate of title of a mobile home.

Certify to the state treasurer the amount due the respective county treasurers for
any special assessments and/or real property taxes deferred for that year. The
state treasurer pays the amounts certified by the Department to the county
treasurers or the treasurers of the local improvement districts. The amount paid is
distributed to the districts which levied the taxes or assessments.

Maintain the deferral accounts receivable by posting payments and providing
accountinformation upon request.

Make collection arrangements for accounts in collection status due to canceling
events and, if unable to collect in three years, refer the account to the county
treasurer for collection.

PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS

The duties of the county assessor can be found in RCW 84.38.110 and WAC 458-18-070.
Keeping in mind that each assessor’s office probably has a little bit different way of
administering the program, the following is a general guide.

1.

In January of each year, mail renewal declarations to each applicant who
received a deferral in the previous year.


http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.52
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
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2. Review the applications received and work with the applicant to gather any
missing documents or make any necessary corrections, administrative segs, or
adjustments to the tax roll based on exemption status.

v Inthe area “County use only” at the top of Page 1, enter the “Deferral number”.
This is the applicant’s deferral account number.

» The deferral number must be in the following format for our
software systems: ##-####.

» The first 2 digits are your county code. The county codes are 01 -39,
in alpha order (i.e. Adams is 01 and Yakima is 39).

» The last 4 digits are the next consecutive deferral number in your county
(0001 -9999). If you have trouble finding that number, please contact us
and we will try to help.

» Ifyou are in a county where you have deferrals for this program
(senior/disabled) and for the program for homeowners with limited
income, you can also add an alpha code at the end of the number if it
will help you differentiate between the two programs (i.e. ##-####-S or
something similar).

v' Make sure it’s clear which taxes/special assessments are being deferred (i.e.
the year(s) to be paid are listed and the box or boxes are checked indicating
property taxes and/or special assessments. Make sure the due date for
special assessments is provided —i.e. the month and day the special
assessments are due.

v' Verify age, disability, ownership, occupancy, and income the same way you
would for an exemption.

v" Verify that all other sections have been completed correctly.

v" Verify that the application is signed by the applicant, the applicant’s spouse
or domestic partner, and any other owners of interest. Ifthe application is not
signed, DOR will need to return it so you can obtain signatures.

v’ Verify that the application is signed by the lender/mortgage company if the
applicant’s mortgage contract requires the accumulation of reserves for the
payment of property taxes. Make sure the applicant checks the appropriate
boxin Liens and obligations section and make sure the mortgage company
representative has completed Part 6, Section B.

v’ Verify that the applicant has listed the January 1 balance for all liens and
mortgages and that the amounts listed are correct by looking at mortgage
statements or other documents provided by the applicant.

v’ Verify the insurance information. Include a copy of the policy that shows DOR
listed as loss payee and the amount of “dwelling coverage” listed on the policy.
Make sure the applicant reads and understands the part about listing DOR as a
“loss payee” on the policy. If DORis NOT listed as a “loss payee”, as far as we
are concerned there IS no insurance because the policy will not protect the
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v

State’s interest in the property.

Make sure the applicant understands that the value of the dwelling cannot be
included in the equity calculation unless the State is listed as “loss payee”.

Do a preliminary equity calculation. If, for some reason, the equity
requirementis not met, DOR will return the application to you for denial.

Verify the parcel size and zoning/land use requirements. If it’'s more than one
acre, verify whether the larger parcel size is required by local land use
requirements. Make sure this part of the application is completed (under
Part 4). Taxes can be paid for up to 5 acres as long as the larger parcel size is
required by local land use requirements.

Complete any necessary administrative segs or combos prior to approval so
you caninclude a correct tax parcel number, tax/assessment statement, and
legal description with the application packet when you send it to DOR.

Make sure the applicant has applied for an exemption if eligible.

Complete any necessary corrections to the tax roll as a result of a new
exemption or a change in status for an existing exemption. Include the
corrected tax statement when you send the application packet to DOR.

Approve or deny the deferral.

3. Ifthe application is denied, notify the applicant in writing and include the
reason for denial. The denial should include notification of appeal rights and
procedures for submitting an appeal. Form 64 0090 is the correct appeal form
to use.

4. Ifthe application is approved, enter the approval date in the area “County use only”
at the top of Page 1.

v

v

Please do not approve the application and send it to DOR until all administrative
segs and/or adjustments for exemption status are completed.

Request a copy of the tax and/or special assessment statement(s) to include
with the application packet when you send it to DOR.

< IMPORTANT: Ifthe deferralincludes delinquent taxes/special
assessments, the laws and rules allow DOR to pay penalties and interest
through the last day of the month in which the application is approved by
you. Make sure the statement(s) include interest calculated through the
appropriate date.

“ IMPORTANT: If there are multiple years of delinquent tax, DOR requires
a breakdown by year in order to authorize payment. Make sure the
breakdown by year is included on the statement(s).

5. Sendthe approved application to DOR, keeping either the original or a copy for
your files. You can send the application packet by regular mail or via email in
pdf format.


https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0090.doc
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8.

v Ifyou send the packet via email, make sure the scanned copy is legible.

v" Do not send the verification documents (income, age, disability, etc.).

v" Include the tax and/or special assessment statement(s) with the
application packet.

v" Make sure to include a copy of the deed proving the applicant’s ownership as
well as the full legal description for new deferral applicants — not necessary for
renewals. DOR must file a lien before issuing payment.

v" Include the insurance documentation if applicable.

v" Include mobile home information for new deferral applicants — not renewals -
if the title has not been eliminated.

v' Use the checklist on the following page to make sure everything is
complete and ready to go.

When DOR requests payment by the State Treasurer, we will send you a copy of the
report showing the payments that we requested. We may do multiple requests
each month. We also send a copy of the report to your treasurer and/or special
district along with the tax and/or special assessment statements. Your treasurer
will also receive notice from the State Treasurer of a pending EFT (Electronic Fund
Transfer) and the deposit will be available to your treasurer within a couple of days
after that notice.

If you receive notification of a sale of property, death of a claimant, move to a new
residence, etc. for someone who has an active deferral account, notify DOR as
soon as possible so we can contact the new owner, estate representative, etc. You
can call or fax or send a hardcopy — or — just send an email with as much
information as you have (i.e. date of sale, date of death, new address for the
claimant, address for new owner, etc.).

In early January, you will receive a set of reports from DOR.

+ List of active deferral accounts - Review this list to make sure all of the
applicants listed in your county still own and reside at the property where the
tax was deferred.

¢ List of accounts paid and closed - These accounts were paid and closed
during the previous year. If any of these applicants re-apply, you will need to
assign a brand new deferral account number and treat the application like any
other new deferral.

% List of participants who deferred taxes in the prioryear - You can use this list
as your mailing list to send renewals.
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SENIOR CITIZENS AND PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
CHECKLIST FOR DEFERRAL APPLICATIONS

COUNTY
ASSESSOR’S DEPUTY:
PH: () - FAX: ( ) -
EMAIL:

TAXPAYER’S NAME:

DEFERRING: TAXES SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS

FOR YEAR(S):
APPLICATION (DEFERRAL NUMBER):

VERIFICATION AND ACTIONS COMPLETED:

AGE/DISABILITY/OWNERSHIP STATUS VERIFIED: Y/ N/ NA
LIST PARCEL SIZE AND ZONING:

MORTGAGE AND OTHER LIENS VERIFIED: Y/ N/ NA
EXEMPTION APPLIED IF ELIGIBLE: Y/ N/ NA
ADMINISTRATIVE SEG COMPLETE IF NEEDED: Y/ N / NA

LISTPARCEL NUMBER OF EXEMPT
LISTPARCEL NUMBER OF NON EXEMPT

ATTACHMENTS INCLUDED WITH APPLICATION:

INSURANCE:  WITH STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE: Y / N/ NA

WITHOUT STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE: Y/ N/ NA

DEED w/LEGAL DESCRIPTION FOR NEW APP: Y / N/ NA
MOBILE HOME:

COPY OF DOL CERTIFICATE OF TITLE Y/ N/ NA

COPY OF TITLE ELIMINATION DOCS Y/ N/ NA

TAX/SPECIAL ASSESSMENT STATEMENT(S): Y / N/ NA

WITH INTEREST CALCULATED THROUGH:

NOTES:
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SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES DEFERRAL

“QUICK REFERENCE”

SUBJECT RCW 84.38 WAC 458-18
Appeals 040 090
Assessor Duties / Authority 110 070
County Foreclosure RCW 84.64.050
Definitions 020 010
Department Duties / Authority 080
Equity % ﬁ

030 010

Fire and Casualty Insurance 020
100

Five Acre Limit 020 010
Income Limit 030 020
Ownership 030 020
Qualifications 030 020
Refunds 210
Renewals 050 050
Repayment ﬁ 100
Residence 020 010
Residency 070 100
Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner 150 100



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
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SENIOR CITIZENS / PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES DEFERRALS

RCW 84.38.010

RCW 84.38.020

RCW 84.38.030

RCW 84.38.040

RCW 84.38.050

RCW 84.38.060

RCW 84.38.070

RCW 84.38.080

RCW 84.38.090

RCW 84.38.100

RCW 84.38.110

RCW 84.38.120

RCW 84.38.130

RCW 84.38.140

RCW 84.38.150

RCW 84.38.160

RCW 84.38.170

RCW 84.38.180

RCW 84.64.050

Legislative finding and purpose.
Definitions.
Conditions and qualifications for claiming deferral.

Declaration to defer special assessments and/or real property taxes
- Filing - Contents - Appeal.

Renewal of deferral - Forms - Notice to renew - Limitation
upon special assessment deferral amount.

Declaration of deferral by agent, guardian, etc.

Ceasingto reside permanently on property subject to deferral
declaration.

Right to deferral not reduced by contract or agreement.
Procedure where residence under mortgage or purchase contract.

Lien of state, mortgage or purchase contract holder - Priority -
Amount - Interest.

Duties of county assessor.

Payments to local improvement or taxing districts.
When deferred assessments or taxes become payable.
Collection of deferred assessments or taxes.

Election to continue deferral by surviving spouse.
Payment of part or all of deferred taxes authorized.
Collection of personal property taxes not affected.
Forms - Rules and regulations.

Certification of County — Foreclosure — Notice — Sale of Certain
Residential Property Eligible for Deferral Prohibited.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.170
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.180
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.64.050
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SENIOR CITIZENS/PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES DEFERRALS

WAC 458-18-010

WAC 458-18-020

WAC 458-18-030

WAC 458-18-040

WAC 458-18-050

WAC 458-18-060

WAC 458-18-070

WAC 458-18-080

WAC 458-18-090

WAC 458-18-100

WAC 458-18-210

WAC 458-18-215

WAC 458-18-220

WAC 458-18-500

WAC 458-18-510

WAC 458-18-520

WAC 458-18-530

WAC 458-18-540

WAC 458-18-550

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Definitions

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Qualifications for deferral.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to defer - Filing - Forms.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Lien of
state - Mortgage - Purchase contract - Deed of trust.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to renew deferral - Filing - Forms.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Limitations
of deferral - Interest.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the county assessor.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the department of revenue - State treasurer.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Appeals.

Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - When
payable - Collection - Partial payment.

Refunds - Procedure - Interest.

Refunds — Payment under protest requirements.
Refunds — Rate of interest.

Deposit of moneys, assessments or taxes - Purpose.
Definitions.

Agreement.

Prohibition of deposit.

General provisions.

Expenditure of funds.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-215
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-500
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-510
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-520
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-530
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-540
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-550
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HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME DEFERRAL PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this deferral program is to provide a property tax safe harbor for families
in economic crisis and prevent existing homeowners from being driven from their homes
because of rising property taxes. See RCW 84.37.010(2).

Deferral programs are a postponement of the taxes. The State of Washington pays the
taxes for the applicant and files a lien to secure the State’s interest in the property. The
taxes, plus accrued interest, must be repaid to the State when there is a “canceling event”.
The lien created by the deferral program can only be assumed by a surviving spouse or
domestic partner.

This deferral program is only applicable to property taxes and special assessments billed
on the regular annual tax statement. Under the program laws, the applicant can request
payment of 50% of the regular property tax installment typically due in October.

THE APPLICANT

The applicant must have an ownership interest in the property and the property must be
the applicant’s principal place of residence meaning they occupy the home more than six
months in a calendar year. Combined disposable income for the applicant and the
applicant’s spouse or domestic partner and any co-tenants must not exceed $57,000.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

There is no age or disability requirement for this program.

OWNERSHIP AND OCCUPANCY REQUIREMENTS

This deferral applies only to the taxes or assessments on the applicant’s principal place of
residence, (which may include one ADU - see pages 22-24) and up to one acre of land, or,
up to five acres if the excess acreage is required by local zoning/land use regulations.

The residence must be the applicant’s principal place of residence meaning they must
occupy the residence for more than six months in a calendar year. The taxpayer may still
be eligible while confined to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding
home), adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care as
provided in RCW 84.36.381(1).


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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Under the laws and rules for this program, taxes cannot be deferred in the first five
calendar years of ownership. This means, in order to qualify for deferralin 2021, the
applicant must have acquired the property prior to December 31, 2016.

Qualifying ownership is the same as for the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and
People with Disabilities and includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase
contract or deed of trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative
housing, a life estate, a lease for life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership
requirement. RCW 84.37.030(5) and RCW 84.38.030(4) .

Anirrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualification. The trust must be expressly
not revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant
must have a life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust
containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the residence). In addition,
there cannot be a “spendthrift” clause that prevents encumbrance of the trust
assets.

For the Deferral Program, we have to make sure that the applicant has a vested interestin
the property because, in effect, the interest in the real property is being used as collateral
fora “loan”. With respect to most private trusts, the trustee holds legal title to the trust
property, is the representative or agent of the trust, and has the capacity to sue and be
sued on behalf of the trust. The beneficiaries of a trust are the persons with equitable
ownership of the trust assets, although legaltitle is held by the trustee.

Watch for clauses that prevent the trustee and/or beneficiary from encumbering the
trust property.

When someone defers property tax, the State has to encumber the property in the form of
a lien filed against that property. If there is a type of “spendthrift” clause that prevents
encumbrance, we will not be able to pay the property tax because we cannot file the lien
against the property to secure the state’s interest.

INCOME

The maximum amount of combined disposable income the applicant, spouse, domestic
partner, and co-tenants may receive and still be eligible for this program is $57,000. RCW
84.37.030(2).

Applications are filed in the year the taxes are due and income from the preceding year is
used to determine eligibility. Include the income of the applicant, the applicant’s spouse
or domestic partner, and any co-tenants. To calculate income, follow the same rules and
procedures as for the exemption program. See RCW 84.36.383, WAC 458-16A-100, and
the Combined Disposable Income section of this manual.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100

2024 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 80
Section IV ¢ Property Tax Deferral Program for Homeowners with Limited Income

TO QUALIFY FOR DEFERRAL ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2022
1. The application must be submitted to the county assessor by September 1, 2022.
2. Combined disposable income must not exceed $57,000 in 2021.
4. The applicant must have owned the home since at least December 31, 2017.

5. The applicant must live in the home as of January 1, 2022 and must live there for more
than six months in 2021.

6. The applicant must pay 50% of the taxes due; typically the first half taxes due April 30, 2022.

7. The applicant must have and maintain sufficient equity to protect the interest of the
State of Washington in the residence.

8. The applicant may not apply for deferral under this program and the deferral
program for senior citizens and people with disabilities in the same tax year.

EQUITY

As with the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and People with Disabilities, the
maximum dollar amount of deferred taxes allowable on a parcel is limited by the
applicant’s equity in the property.

Equity is the amount by which the market assessed value of the property exceeds all liens
and encumbrances against the property. See WAC 458-18A-010(7). Liens and
encumbrances include mortgages, IRS liens, the unpaid balance on special assessments,
any balance due the Department of Social and Health Services or HUD, etc., and any other
obligations constituting a lien against the property.

In order to include the value of the dwelling in the equity calculation, insurance must be
maintained on the residence to protect the interest of the state and the State of
Washington Department of Revenue must be named as “loss payee” on the insurance
policy. When insurance is not maintained OR the State of Washington is not named
as “loss payee” on the policy, the maximum amount of taxes that can be deferred is
reduced since only the value of the land can be included in the equity calculation.

An applicant who does not carry fire insurance is limited to 100 percent of the equity in the
land value only. This means that if the applicant has a mortgage on the home, or any other
liens, the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
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amount of the mortgage (and other liens) will be deducted from the land value to
determine equity.

Applicants who carry fire insurance on their homes and who have listed the State as loss
payee on the policy can include the value of the residence (the assessed value or the
insured value, whichever is lower) in the equity calculation. Deferrals under this
program are limited to a maximum of 40 percent (40%) of the aggregate equity value of
the home and land.

EQUITY CALCULATION

With Co-owners

For this deferral program, we can pay the entire second half tax bill due in October but the
equity calculation will be based only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership
share. To calculate the equity, use the applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens
and encumbrances.

With Insurance

To calculate the equity when the claimant has fire and casualty insurance on the
house and lists the State as a loss payee on the policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property - land and
improvements. Do not use the frozen value, current use value, or a private fee
appraisalvalue. Forthe dwelling, use the assessor’s market value or the dwelling
coverage amount on the insurance policy, whichever is lower. Note: Before the
current year valuation notices are mailed, you will actually be using last year’s
value. As soon as the current year valuation notices are mailed, you should be
using the new value because that is now the most current value.

2. Determine the total of all the liens and obligations against the property —
except any existing deferral account balance.

3. Verify that the applicant has fire and casualty insurance on the home and has listed
the State as a loss payee on the policy. Note: In no case shall the deferred amount
exceed the amount of the insured value of the improvement plus the value of the
land.

4. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the market
assessed value of the property (land and improvements).

5. Multiply the balance, (if any), by 0.40 to arrive at 40 percent (40%) of equity.
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The applicant may then defer up to this amount.

6. Ifthe applicant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract that
balance to determine the amount still available for deferral.

Without Insurance

When the applicant has no insurance OR does not list the State as a loss payee on

the policy:

1. Determine the most current market assessed value of the property -

land and improvements.

2. Determine the sum of all of the liens and obligations against the property.

3. Calculate the equity by subtracting the liens and obligations from the true and fair
market assessed value of the land only (the improvement value is not included).

4. The applicant may defer up to this amount. When establishing an applicant’s
equity using only the land value, 100 percent (100%) of the equity is used rather

than 40 percent (40%).

5. Ifthe claimant has an existing deferral account balance, subtract that
balance to determine the amount still available for deferral.

Example: Ins/State Listed No Ins/State Not
Listed
Land Value: $250,000 $250,000
Improvement Value: $350,000 $350,000
Insurance: Dwelling Coverage $400,000 $400,000
State as Loss Payee? Yes No

Value to Include in Calculation $600,000* $250,000
Total Liens and Encumbrances $225,000 $225,000
Equity $375,000 $ 25,000
Percent of Equity Allowed 40% 100%
Available for Deferral $150,000 $ 25,000
Existing Deferral Balance $ 15,000 $ 15,000
Remaining Amount Available $135,000 $ 10,000

*Use the improvement value or the dwelling coverage value —whichever is lower.
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APPLICATION PROCESS

A signed application form must be filed each year that an applicant wants to defer taxes.
Applications are filed at the assessor’s office in the county where the property is located.
The assessor has the authority to approve or deny a deferral.

The filing deadline is September 1. An application may only be filed after that date for
“good cause”.

For purposes of this program, “good cause” means “factors peculiar to each applicant.
At a minimum, the applicant must be able to demonstrate that factors outside of his or
her control were the cause for missing the statutory deadline. This includes factors which
would effectively prevent a reasonable person facing similar circumstances from filing a
timely application, such as acting or failing to act based on authoritative written advice
received directly from persons upon which a reasonable person would normally rely,
severe weather conditions preventing safe travel to the point of filing, incapacity due to
illness or injury, and other factors of similar gravity. Inadvertence or oversightis not a
basis for a "good cause" extension of the filing deadline.” See WAC 458-18A-010(9).

Requests for “good cause” waivers of the filing deadline should be submitted in writing by
the taxpayer to the Department of Revenue and should include information demonstration
there was “good cause” for having missed the filing deadline. RCW 84.37.040(1)

Requests can be submitted by email to mydeferral@dor.wa.gov or by regular mail to
Department of Revenue Property Tax Division, Exemptions and Deferrals, P.O. Box 47471,
Olympia, WA 98504.

DELINQUENT FILINGS FOR THE LIMITED INCOME DEFERRAL PROGRAM

There is no provision for payment of delinquent taxes and assessments. Under this
program, only the second installment of taxes due in October of the current tax year is
eligible for deferral. The first half of the property taxes due in April of the current tax year
must already be paid.

Prior year delinquencies do not prevent deferral in the current year but DOR cannot pay the
prior year taxes.

LIENS ON REAL PROPERTY

The assessor’s office generally provides the Department of Revenue (DOR) with a legal
description of the property. DOR files a lien with the county auditor to show as a public
record that the state has an interest in this property. In a situation involving excess
acreage noteligible for deferral it is the responsibility of the applicant to provide a legal
description of the residence and the portion of land that will be included in the deferral. If
the applicant chooses not to do this, DOR files the lien on the entire property, even when
the state is only paying the taxes on a portion of the land.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
mailto:mydeferral@dor.wa.gov
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LIENS ON MOBILE HOMES

When an applicant has a manufactured home thatis licensed through Department of
Licensing, such as a manufactured home on a rented lot in a park, the Department must
have the manufactured home title information in order to record the state as a lien-
holder on that title.

Unless the title has been eliminated, when a deferral includes a mobile home the
Departmentis required by law to file a lien on the mobile home (See RCW 84.37.070).

DOR files an “Application for Certificate of Title” with the Department of Licensing to show
the State of Washington, Department of Revenue, as a lien-holder even when the
Departmentis also filing a lien on the real property.

Before the lien can be recorded, the title must be in the applicant’s name. For any change
in the “registered owner”, the Department of Licensing considers the transaction to be a
change in ownership and requires original documents. Since DOR rarely receives original
documents for deferral applications, in order to meet the ownership requirement, the title
for a manufactured home must show the applicant as the registered owner.

When you forward the deferral application to the Department, please include
documentation showing that the applicantis the registered owner and include the
standard info on the manufactured home (size, manufacturer, year, VIN, plate, etc...).

APPEALS

If an application is denied, the applicant may appeal to the county Board of Equalization.
The decision by the county Board of Equalization is final. There is no provision for appeal
to the State Board of Tax Appeals. If the applicant is notified of a denial subsequent to
July 15, the department may reconvene the Board of Equalization if requested to do so by
the assessor or claimant. WAC 458-18-090.

REPAYMENT OF DEFERRED TAXES

The Department of Revenue Property Tax Division will provide repayment figures upon
request. We can be reached at (360) 534-1400 or at mydeferral@dor.wa.gov.

Repayments should be made directly to the Washington State Department of Revenue
and may be made in either a lump sum amount or partial payments. Partial payments are
applied to the oldest interest first, and then applied to the oldest taxes.

No payments are required as long as the applicant remains eligible for the program, but
the applicant can make payments at any time they choose in order to reduce the account
balance.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-090
mailto:mydeferral@dor.wa.gov
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The deferred taxes plus interest must be repaid to the state when the:

K/

% property’s ownership is transferred;

K/

%+ applicant ceases to reside permanently on the property;

%+ applicant fails to keep adequate fire insurance;

++» applicant passes away (unless a qualifying spouse or domestic partner elects to
continue in the program; or

% property is condemned.

Under the laws and rules, these are “canceling events” (events that cause collection
action) and repayment must be completed within three years of the date of the
canceling event.

Failure to make complete repayment within the three years will result in the county
treasurer foreclosing on the property.

INTEREST RATES

Under this program, the interest rate is a variable rate defined in RCW 84.37.070 as the
“average of the federal short-term rate as defined in 26 U.S.C. Sec. 1274(d) plus two
percentage points.”

The following table shows the historic rates to date.

Tax Year Interest Rate
2012 2%
2013 2%
2014 2%
2015 2%
2016 2%
2017 3%
2018 3%
2019 4%
2020 4%
2021 3%
2022 2%
2023 3%
2024 6%
2025 7%

APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:
» Provide documentation requested by the assessor.

» Notify insurance company of requirement to add State of Washington
Department of Revenue as “loss payee” and provide documentation either with


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://uscode.house.gov/uscode-cgi/fastweb.exe?getdoc%2Buscview%2Bt26t28%2B947%2B0%2B%2B%28%29%20%20AND%20%28%2826%29%20ADJ%20USC%29%3ACITE%20AND%20%28USC%20w%2F10%20%281274%29%29%3ACITE%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20
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application packet or directly to DOR.
» Notify the assessor and the Department of Revenue when there is a “canceling event”.
» File an application or renewal application by September 1 for each year in which
deferral of taxes and/or special assessments is desired.

» Provide a legal description for the residence and the portion of land eligible for
deferral. This applies when the parcelincludes excess acreage not eligible for
deferral and the applicant wishes to exclude that acreage from the lien filed by the
Department.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The duties of the county assessor can be found in RCW 84.38.110 (per RCW 84.37.090)
and WAC 458-18A-070.

The assessor must:

» Mailrenewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who
received a deferral the previous year.

» Determine each year if each applicant filing a declaration to defer shall be granted
a deferral. The authority to approve or deny each deferral or deferral renewal lies
with the assessor.

» Notify the applicant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must
be in writing and should include information about appeal rights and procedures
as well as the reasons for the denial.

» Notify the county treasurer of which claimants and properties have qualified for
deferral and request a tax statement for the second installment property taxes
and special assessments due in October.

» Transmit one copy of the approved declaration to the department, with a copy of the
deed proving ownership (for new applications), the legal description, tax statement,
and insurance documentation (unless the insurance documentation is being sent
directly to the Department).

» Notify the county treasurer and the departmentimmediately upon occurrence
of any repayment conditions set forth in WAC 458-18A-100(1).

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:

» Notify the county assessor as soon as possible if any factor appears to
disqualify the claimant. The department may audit any "declaration to defer"
and/or "declaration to renew deferral" it deems necessary.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
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» File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to

show the state's lien on the certificate of title of a manufactured home.

Certify to the state treasurer the amount due the respective treasurers for any
special assessments and/or real property taxes deferred for that year. The state
treasurer pays the amounts certified by the Department to the county treasurers
and the amount paid is then distributed to the districts which levied the taxes or
assessments.

Maintain the deferral accounts receivable by posting payments and providing
account information upon request.

Make collection arrangements for accounts in collection status due to canceling
events and, if unable to collect, refer the account to the county treasurer for
collection.

PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS

Keeping in mind that each assessor’s office probably has a little bit different way of
administering the program, the following is a general guide.

1.

In January of each year, mailrenewal declarations to each claimant who
received a deferral in the previous year.

Review the applications received and work with the applicant to gather any
missing documents or make any necessary corrections, administrative segs, or
adjustments to the tax roll based on exemption status.

v' Inthe area “County use only” at the top of Page 1, enter the “Deferral number”.
This is the applicant’s deferral account number.

» The deferral number must be in the following format for our
software systems: ##-####.

» The first 2 digits are your county code. The county codes are 01 -39,
in alpha order (i.e. Adams is 01 and Yakima is 39).

» The last 4 digits are the next consecutive deferral number in your county
(0001 -9999). Ifyou have trouble finding that number, please contact us
and we will try to help.

» Ifyou are in a county where you have deferrals for this program and for
the deferral program for senior citizens and people with disabilities, you
can also add an alpha code at the end of the number if it will help you
differentiate between the two programs (i.e. ##-####-L or something
similar).

v Verify ownership, occupancy, and income the same way you would for an exemption.

<

Verify that all other sections have been completed correctly.

v’ Verify that the application is signed by the applicant, the applicant’s spouse
or domestic partner, and any other owners of interest. Ifthe applicationis not
signed, DOR will need to return it so you can obtain signatures.
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v Verify that the applicant has listed the January 1 balance for all liens and
mortgages and that the amounts listed are correct by looking at mortgage
statements or other documents provided by the applicant.

v Verify the insurance information. The insurance amount we need is the
amount of “dwelling coverage” listed on the policy. Make sure the applicant
reads and understands the part about listing DOR as a “loss payee” on the
policy. If DOR is NOT listed as a “loss payee”, as far as we are concerned there
IS no insurance because the policy will not protect the State’s interest in the
property. Make sure the applicant understands that the value of the dwelling
cannot be included in the equity calculation unless the State is listed as “loss
payee”.

v' Do a preliminary equity calculation. If, for some reason, the equity
requirementis not met, DOR will return the application to you for denial.

v Verify the parcel size and zoning/land use requirements. If it’s more than one
acre, verify whether the larger parcel size is required by local land use
requirements. Make sure this part of the application is completed (under
Part 3). Taxes can be paid for up to 5 acres as long as the larger parcel size is
required by local zoning/land use regulations.

v' Complete any necessary administrative segs or combos prior to approval so
you can include a correct tax parcel number, tax/assessment statement, and
legal description with the application packet when you send it to DOR.

v' Complete any necessary corrections to the tax roll as a result of a new
exemption or a change in status for an existing exemption. Include the
corrected tax statement when you send the application packet to DOR.

v' Approve or deny the deferral.

3. Ifthe applicationis denied, notify the applicant in writing and include the
reason for denial. The denial should include notification of appeal rights and
procedures for submitting an appeal. Form 64 0090 is the correct appeal form
to use.

4. Ifthe application is approved, enter the approval date in the area “County use only”
at the top of Page 1.

v' Please do not approve the application and send it to DOR until all administrative
segs and/or adjustments for exemption status are completed.

v' Request a copy of the tax statement to include with the application packet
when you send it to DOR.

5. Sendthe approved application to DOR, keeping either the original or a copy for
your files. You can send the application packet by regular mail or via emailin
pdf format.

v Ifyou send the packet via email, make sure the scanned copy is legible.

v Do not send the income verification documents.


https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0090.doc
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6.

8.

v" Include the property tax statement with the application packet.

v' Make sure to include a copy of the deed proving applicant’s ownership as well
as a full legal description for new deferral applicants — not necessary for
renewals. DOR must file a lien before issuing payment.

v Include the insurance documentation if applicable.

v" Include manufactured home information for new deferral applicants -
not renewals - if the title has not been eliminated.

v' Use the checklist on the following page to make sure everything is
complete and ready to go.

When DOR requests payment by the State Treasurer, we will send you a copy of the
report showing the payments that we requested. We may do multiple requestsina
month. We also send a copy of the report to your treasurer and/or special district
along with the tax and/or special assessment statements. Your treasurer will also
receive notice from the State Treasurer of a pending EFT (Electronic Fund Transfer)
and the deposit will be available to your treasurer within a couple of days after that
notice.

If you receive notification of a sale of property, death of a claimant, move to a new
residence, etc. for someone who has an active deferral account, notify DOR as
soon as possible so we can contact the new owner, estate representative, etc. You
can call or fax or send a hardcopy — or — just send an email with as much
information as you have (i.e. date of sale, date of death, new address for the
claimant, address for new owner, etc.).

In early January, you will receive a set of reports from DOR.

+» List of active deferral accounts - Review this list to make sure all of the
applicants listed in your county still own and reside at the property where
the tax was deferred.

¢ List of accounts paid and closed - These accounts were paid and closed
during the previous year. If any of these applicants re-apply, you will need to
assign a brand new deferral account number and treat the application like any
other new deferral.

%+ List of participants who deferred taxes in the prioryear - You can use this list
as your mailing list to send renewals.
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HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME CHECKLIST
FORDEFERRALAPPLICATIONS

COUNTY
ASSESSOR’S DEPUTY:
PH: () - FAX: ( ) -
EMAIL:

TAXPAYER’S NAME:

DEFERRING: TAXES SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS

FOR YEAR(S):

APPLICATION (DEFERRAL NUMBER):

VERIFICATION AND ACTIONS COMPLETED:

AGE/DISABILITY/OWNERSHIP STATUS VERIFIED: Y/ N/ NA
LIST PARCEL SIZE AND ZONING:

MORTGAGE AND OTHER LIENS VERIFIED: Y/ N/ NA
EXEMPTION APPLIED IF ELIGIBLE: Y/ N/ NA
ADMINISTRATIVE SEG COMPLETE IF NEEDED: Y/ N/ NA

LISTPARCEL NUMBER OF EXEMPT
LISTPARCEL NUMBER OF NON EXMEPT

ATTACHMENTS INCLUDED WITH APPLICATION:

INSURANCE:  WITH STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE: Y / N/ NA

WITHOUT STATE LISTED AS LOSS PAYEE: Y/ N/ NA

DEED w/LEGAL DESCRIPTION FOR NEW APP: Y / N/ NA
MOBILE HOME:

COPY OF DOL CERTIFICATE OF TITLE Y/ N/ NA

COPY OF TITLE ELIMINATION DOCS Y/ N/ NA

TAX/SPECIAL ASSESSMENT STATEMENT(S): Y / N/ NA

WITH INTEREST CALCULATED THROUGH:

NOTES:
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DEFERRALPROGRAM FOR

HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOMES

“QUICK REFERENCE”
Subject RCW 84.37 WAC 458-18A

Administration 040 030
Appeals 040 090
Assessor Duties/Authority 040 070
Definitions 020 010
Department Duties/Authority 080
Equity % ﬁ

010
Fire and Casualty Insurance 020

100
Good Cause 040 010(9
Income 030 020
Lien and Interest Rate 070 g
Ownership 030 020
Qualifications 030 020
Renewals 050 050
Repayment 080 100
Residence 010
Residency g %
Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner 080 100



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100
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RCW 84.37.010

RCW 84.37.020

RCW 84.37.030

RCW 84.37.040

RCW 84.37.050

RCW 84.37.060

RCW 84.37.070

RCW 84.37.080

RCW 84.37.090

HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME

RCW 84.37.901

RCW 84.37.903

Findings — Intent.

Definitions.

Deferral program qualifications.

Deferral program administration.

Renewals — Requirement to reside on property.

Right to defer not reduced by contract or
agreement.

State lien on property.

Conditions under which deferment ends.
Applicable statutory provisions.
Application -- 2007 sp.s. c 2.

Effective date -- 2007 sp.s. c 2.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.901
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.903
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HOMEOWNERS WITH LIMITED INCOME

WAC 458-18A-010 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Definitions

WAC 458-18A-020 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Qualifications for deferral.

WAC 458-18A-030 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to defer - Filing - Forms.

WAC 458-18A-040 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Lien of
state - Mortgage - Purchase contract - Deed of trust.

WAC 458-18A-050 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes -
Declarations to renew deferral - Filing - Forms.

WAC 458-18A-060 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Limitations
of deferral - Interest.

WAC 458-18A-070 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the county assessor.

WAC 458-18A-080 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Duties of
the department of revenue - State treasurer.

WAC 458-18A-090 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - Appeals.

WAC 458-18A-100 Deferral of special assessments and/or property taxes - When
payable - Collection - Partial payment.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-100

2024 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 94
Section V ¢ Grant Assistance Program for Widows and Widowers of Veterans

SectionV

Grant Assistance Program
for Widows and Widowers

Of Veterans
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GRANT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM FOR
WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS OF VETERANS

INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this program is to provide assistance to widows or widowers of qualified
veterans so they can remain in their homes in spite of rising property taxes. This program is
not a true exemption or a deferral. For the qualified applicant the state pays, in the form of
a grant, a portion of the property taxes levied. There is no shift of the property tax burden to
other taxpayers and there is no requirement for repayment unless the applicant ceases to
occupy the home as a principal place of residence prior to December 15 in the year the
assistance was paid.

THE APPLICANT

The applicant must meet the age/disability requirement, must have an ownership interest
in the property, and the property must be the applicant’s principal place of residence
meaning they occupy the home more than six months in a calendaryear. The applicant
must be the widow or widower of a qualifying veteran and must not have remarried or
entered into a state registered domestic partnership.

A qualifying veteran is one who:

e Died as aresult of a service-connected disability; OR

e Wasrated as 100 percent disabled by the Veteran’s Administration for the 10 years
prior to his or her death; OR

e Was aformer prisoner of war and was rated as 100 percent disabled for one or
more years prior to his or her death; OR

e Died on active duty or in active training status.

AGE AND DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must be at least 62 by December 31 of the application year.
-OR-
The applicant must be disabled. The definition of disability in RCW 84.36.383(6) has

been linked to the definition used for Social Security purposes [U.S.C. Sec. 423(d)(1)(A)].
The



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title02/0223.htm
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disability must be such that the applicantis unable to pursue substantial gainful
employment and the condition must either be expected to result in death or must have
lasted, or be expected to last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months. The disability
need not be permanent.

Annually, the Social Security Administration determines the amount a claimant may

earn without being considered “gainfully employed”. There are separate limits for those
who are blind. You can find annual limits for allowable earned income in the Combined
Disposable Income section of this manual or at the Social Security website at

Substantial Gainful Activity.

OCCUPANCY AND OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS

The residence must be the applicant’s principal home. The applicant must live in the
home for more than six months each year. The home may be temporarily unoccupied
while the applicantis in a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home),
adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care as provided in
RCW 84.36.381(1).

The applicant must have had an ownership interest in the property as of December 31 of
the assessment year for tax relief in the following year.

Qualifying ownership is the same as for the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and
People with Disabilities and includes fee simple and contract purchase (purchase
contract or deed of trust). A person who has only a share ownership in cooperative
housing, a life estate, a lease for life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy the ownership
requirement. RCW 84.37.030(5) and RCW 84.38.030(4) .

An irrevocable trust may meet the ownership qualification. The trust must be expressly
not revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant
must have a life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust
containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the residence). In addition,
there cannot be a “spendthrift” clause that prevents encumbrance of the trust
assets.

The assistance applies to the principal place of residence, (which may include one ADU -
see pages 22-24) and one acre, or up to five acres if the larger parcel size is required
under local land use regulations. The residence may be a single- family dwelling, one
unit of a multi-unit dwelling, or a manufactured home.

TO QUALIFY FOR ASSISTANCE ON TAXES PAYABLE IN 2022
1. The application is due 30 days before the tax due date.
2. Combined disposable income must not exceed $40,000 in 2021.

3. The applicant must be at least 62 years of age by December 31, 2022, or must have
been disabled as of December 31, 2021.


https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
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4. The applicant must own the home as of December 31, 2021, and must occupy the
home for at least six months in 2021.

INCOME REQUIREMENTS

The combined disposable income for the applicant and any co-tenants must not exceed $40,000.
Beginning with tax year 2025, the income threshold to qualify for this assistance program is 70% of
the county median household income.

Applicants should also apply for the exemption program in order to receive the maximum
amount of property tax assistance.

FILING THE APPLICATION

The application is due 30 days before the taxes are due. Applications are submitted
directly to the Department of Revenue. In order to continue receiving assistance, the
participant must submit an annual renewal application.

APPEALS

When an application is denied, it may be appealed to the State Board of Tax Appeals
within 30 days of the date the determination was mailed.

ASSISTANCE LEVELS

To receive the maximum amount of assistance, applicants who are qualified must also
apply for the Exemption Program. When an application is approved, the assistance from
the grant program is equal to the regular and excess property taxes that are due on the
difference between the value of the residence that is eligible for relief under the
Exemption Program and:

Tax Year 2024 & prior

e The first $100,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income of $30,000 or less;

e The first $75,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income of $30,001 to $35,000;

e The first $50,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income of $35,001 to $40,000.
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Tax Year 2025 & forward

e The first $200,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income equal to or less than income threshold 1.

e The first $150,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income equal to or less than income threshold 2, but
greater than income threshold 1.

e The first $100,000 of assessed value of the residence for applicants with a
combined disposable income equal to or less than income threshold 3, but
greater than income threshold 2.

Example: If the value of your residence is $400,000 and your combined disposable
income falls within the limits forincome threshold 2, under the exemption program in
most counties you are eligible for an exemption on regular property taxes on $70,000 in
value and 100% of taxes due on excess levies. Under the assistance program, you are
eligible for assistance in the amount equal to the taxes on an additional $80,000 in value.
You will still owe all regular property taxes on the remaining $250,000 of assessed value.
Whether or not you apply for the exemption program, under the assistance program you
will still only receive assistance for the taxes on the additional $80,000 in value.

REPAYMENT OF ASSISTANCE

If the applicant moves to an alternate residence, all or part of the assistance received by
the applicant may have to be repaid if the applicant ceases to occupy the property prior to
December 15 of the year in which assistance is received. In this case, the amount of
assistance is prorated from the date the applicant moved out. A lien may be placed on the
property until repayment of the assistance has been completed.
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APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

Applicants must:

>

YV V V

Provide documentation requested by the department.

Notify the department if the home is no longer used as a principal place of residence.
File arenewal application for each year in which they wish to receive assistance.
Provide a copy of the deed proving ownership as well as legal description

for the residence and the portion of land eligible for assistance.

DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Department must:

>

>

Mail renewal declarations in January of each year to each claimant who

received assistance the previous year.

Determine each year whether the applicantis eligible for assistance and
determine the assistance amount. The authority to approve or deny claims for
assistance under this program lies with the Department.

Notify the applicant as soon as possible if the application is denied. Denials must
be in writing and include information about appeals rights and procedures as well
as the reasons for the denial.

Issue payment to applicant or applicant’s mortgage company as requested by applicant.
Make collection arrangements for any prorated amount in the case where an
applicant vacates the principal place of residence prior to December 15 in the
year the claim is paid.

Maintain the accounts receivable by posting payments and providing account
information upon request.

File a lien with the county recorder and/or notify the Department of Licensing to
show the state's lien on the certificate of title of a manufactured home if
necessary for collection of repayments.

ASSESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES

The assessor must:
» Provide application forms and publications for taxpayers who may qualify

for the program.

Provide information if requested by the department via email, i.e. property
information, value, levy rates, and exemption level. Followingis a sample email
request.

I received an application for the Property Tax Assistance Program for Widows or Widowers of
Veterans on parcel number(s) #########, owned by Applicant Name.

Under this program, assistance may be provided for payment of taxes on the principal place of
residence and up to one acre, or up to five acres if local zoning and land use regulations require the
larger parcel size. (Example: If local zoning requires 5 acres per residence and an applicant owns 1
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acre, the exemption would apply to 1 acre. If local zoning requires 2 acres per residence and an
applicant owns 5 acres, the exemption would apply to 2 acres. If the zoning requirement is 10 acres
per residence and an applicant owns 10 acres, the exemption would apply to 5 acres.)

Please provide the following parcel data for tax year
Year: This property includes: (check all that apply)
__ More than one residence and/or additional improvements that are not normally part of a residence.
__ Morethan one acre of land. Ifyes, provide the
following: Total lot or parcel size:
Minimum parcel size per residence required by local zoning/land use regulations:
Values

1. Assessed Value: Frozen Value or Market
Value (Provide the frozen or market value, as applicable.)

2. Exempt Value:
(Provide the portion of the frozen value exempt regular levy taxes through the Exemption Program.)

3. Taxable Value:
(Provide the taxable value after the exemption is applied—i.e. Line 1T minus Line 2.)

Levy Rates
A. Regular Levy Rate: (Including Part | of State School Levy)

B. Part 2 of State School Levy:

C. Excess LevyRate: (Voter approved levies)

D. Total Combined Levy Rate: (A+B+C)

Ifthis parcelis currently subject to an exemption under the Senior Citizens/People with Disabilities
Exemption Program, what is the Combined Disposable Income level of the applicant?

__ $0to $30,000 __ $30,001 to $35,000 __ $35,0017 to $40,000 __ Not Exempt
Please reply via e-mail or fax and contact me with any questions or concerns.
Thank you in advance for your prompt response to this request.

Sincerely,

Grant Administrator
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GRANT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM FOR WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS OF VETERANS

“QUICK REFERENCE”
Subject RCW 84.39
Appeals 020
Assessor/Treasurer Duties 060
Definitions 010
Department Duties / Authority 060
Documentation 020
Filing Requirements 020
Income Limit 010
Qualifications for Applicant 010
Qualifications for Deceased Veteran 010
Renewals 030
Repayment 050
REVISED CODE OF WASHINGTON

RCW 84.39.010 Exemption authorized -- Qualifications.

RCW 84.39.020 Filing claim for exemption -- Requirements.

RCW 84.39.030 Continued eligibility -- Renewal forms.

RCW 84.39.040 Agent or guardian filing claim on behalf of claimant.

RCW 84.39.050 Failure to reside on property -- Repayment.

RCW 84.39.060 Determination of assistance -- Biennial budget

request.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.39.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.060
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OCCUPANCY AND OWNERSHIP
OCCUPANCY

RCW 84.36.381 says the "property taxes must have been imposed upon a residence which
was occupied by the person claiming the exemption as a principal place of residence as of
the time of filing."

RCW 84.36.383(11) defines “principal place of residence” to mean a residence occupied
for more than six months each calendar year by a person claiming an exemption

The “time of filing” is when the application was due had it been filed ontime —i.e.
December 31 of the year before the tax to be exempted is due. So, to receive exemption on
the 2021 taxes, the applicant must occupy the residence more than six months in calendar
year 2020. Note: to receive exemption on the 2020 taxes, the applicant must occupy the
residence more than nine months in calendar year 2019.

WAC 458-16A-100(28) "Principal residence" means the claimant owns and occupies the
residence as their principal or main residence. It does not include a residence used
merely as a vacation home. For purposes of this exemption:

(a) Principal or main residence means the claimant occupies the residence for
more than six months each calendar year.

(b) Confinement of the claimant to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility,
adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care, does not
disqualify the claim for exemption if:

(1) The residence is temporarily unoccupied;

(i1) The residence is occupied by the claimant's spouse or domestic partner or a
person financially dependent on the claimant for support;

(i11) The residence is occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house;

(iv) The residence is rented for the purpose of paying nursing home, hospital,
boarding home, or adult family home costs.

(c) For purposes of this subsection, "relative" means any individual related
to the claimant by blood, marriage, or adoption.

Example 1: The applicant purchases the home in December and, literally, moves
inon December 31. Although the applicant meets the ownership requirement,
the applicant DOES NOT meet the occupancy requirement and therefore cannot
be approved for exemption for taxes due in the year following the ownership.

Example2: The applicantis a “snowbird” and travels to a warmer and dryer
location during the wettest and coldest months. The applicant lives in the
residence from March through October and then flies south for November
through February. They may meet the occupancy requirement if they occupy the
residence for more than six months in a calendar year. DOR issued a Property Tax
Advisory to assist assessing offices in the calculation of the occupancy
requirement calculation. (Exception: for 2019 assessment


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/property-tax/laws-rules#property
https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/property-tax/laws-rules#property
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year/2020 tax year the occupancy requirement is more than 9 months-this
applicant would not meet the requirements for exemption from taxes due in
2020.)

WAC 458-16A-135(5) says that a claimant must present documents deemed necessary
by the Assessor to demonstrate that the claimant is eligible for the exemption, including
documents demonstrating that the property is the claimant's principle place of
residence.

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home),
adult family home, or home of a relative for the purpose of long-term care

Confinement to a hospital, nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), adult
family home (whether the confinement is short-term or long-term), or home of a relative for
the purpose of long-term care will not disqualify the applicant when the principal place of
residence is:

e temporarily unoccupied;

e occupied by the spouse or domestic partner, or another personwho is
financially dependent on the applicant;

e occupied by a caretaker who is not paid for watching the house; or

e rented forthe purpose of offsetting the costs of the facility.

The Department of Social and Health Services maintains a list of licensed facilities
(hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living facilities or boarding homes, and adult family
homes) on their website at http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/.

What is a hospital?

The definition of “hospital” in WAC 458-16-260 (nonprofit property tax exemptions)
includes hospitals licensed under RCW 70.41 or RCW 71.12.

WAC 458-16-260(2)(e) "Hospital" means a nonprofit organization, association,
or corporation engaged in providing medical, surgical, nursing, or related health
care services for the prevention, diagnosis, or treatment of human illness, pain,
injury, disability, deformity, or abnormality, including mentalillness, treatment of
mentally incompetent persons, or treatment of chemically dependent persons. The
term also means all buildings or portions of buildings that are currently licensed as
part of a hospital pursuant to chapters 70.41 or 71.12 RCW, and are part of an
integrated, interrelated, homogeneous unit exclusively used for hospital purposes.
The licensed hospital must be able to provide health care services to inpatients
over a continuous period of twenty-four hours or more.....

RCW 70.41 is the statute governing hospital licensing and regulation and RCW 71.12 is
the statute governing licensing and regulation of facilities associated with mental illness
or incompetency or chemical dependency.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov/pubinfo/housing/other/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16-260
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.41
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=71.12
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16-260
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.41
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=71.12
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.41
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=71.12
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According to the definitions under these statutes, facilities such as Western State
Hospital and other mental health facilities do meet the definition of hospital for
purposes of determining whether an applicant meets the occupancy requirement for the
individual property tax relief programs.

RCW 70.41.020(8) "Hospital" means any institution, place, building, or agency
which provides accommodations, facilities and services over a continuous period
of twenty-four hours or more, for observation, diagnosis, or care, of two or more
individuals not related to the operator who are suffering from illness, injury,
deformity, or abnormality, or from any other condition for which obstetrical,
medical, or surgical services would be appropriate for care or diagnosis. "Hospital"
as used in this chapter does not include hotels, or similar places furnishing only
food and lodging, or simply domiciliary care; nor does it include clinics, or
physician's offices where patients are not regularly kept as bed patients for twenty-
four hours or more; nor does it include nursing homes, as defined and which come
within the scope of chapter 18.51 RCW; nor does it include birthing centers, which
come within the scope of chapter 18.46 RCW; nor does it include psychiatric
hospitals, which come within the scope of chapter 71.12 RCW; nor any other
hospital, or institution specifically intended for use in the diagnosis and care of
those suffering from mental illness, intellectual disability, convulsive disorders, or
other abnormal mental condition. Furthermore, nothing in this chapter or the rules
adopted pursuant thereto shall be construed as authorizing the supervision,
regulation, or control of the remedial care or treatment of residents or patients in
any hospital conducted for those who rely primarily upon treatment by prayer or
spiritual means in accordance with the creed or tenets of any well recognized
church or religious denominations.

RCW 71.12.455 Definitions.

As used in this chapter, "establishment" and "institution" mean and include
every private or county or municipal hospital, including public hospital districts,
sanitarium, home, or other place receiving or caring for any mentally ill, mentally
incompetent person, or chemically dependent person.

What is “temporarily unoccupied”?
The Department opinion on this issue is that “Senior citizens always intend to return

home regardless of the length of time they are incarcerated in a hospital, assisted living
facility (boarding home), adult family home or nursing home.”

Notice —there is nothing in law or rule saying that the stay in the facility must be
temporary. The only use of the word “temporary” is in reference to the status of the
residence,

i.e. “temporarily unoccupied”.

There is no specific definition in the law about the upper range of "temporary" or when the
line is crossed and “temporarily unoccupied” becomes “permanent”.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.51
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.46
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=71.12
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Our staff attorney found that in federal and state court cases it appears that "intent" has
been held to be the real determinant in other states. Does the occupant of the residence
"intend" to return to the exempt residence even though it is currently “temporarily
unoccupied”?

If the residence is unoccupied and there is a clear situation where the senior/disabled

participant specifically expresses the intent to not return to the residence even when/if
they are able, then the property would no longer qualify for the exemption.

OWNERSHIP

Examine documents carefully to determine ownership of the property.

When you are determining ownership for the purposes of these programs, you should look
at all pertinent documents. Review the ownership documents to determine whether the
applicant has sole ownership, joint tenancy, joint tenancy with rights of survivorship, joint
ownership, or life estate, etc. Determine whether this is the applicant's sole and separate
property. In some cases, there may be a percentage of ownership agreement between two
or more parties and that percentage may be equal or unequal, divided or undivided.
Determine whether the applicant has a life estate in the property. If ownership is through a
trust, determine whether the trust is revocable or irrevocable and whether the elements
contained in the language of the trust meet the definition of “life estate” for purposes of
meeting the ownership requirement for the exemption program. See WAC 458-16A-

100(24).

Always keep a copy of unrecorded ownership documents with the applicant's file. Your
authority to retain a copy of unrecorded ownership documents can be found in WAC 458-
16A- 135(5)(e)(i).

Deeds

A “deed” is a written document that conveys an interest in the property, is signed by the

party conveying the interest, and properly acknowledged by someone authorized to take
acknowledgment of deeds. Typically, acknowledgmentis by a notary public or a county

auditor.

A deed does not have to be recorded to be a valid deed but there must be some form of
acknowledgment.

A lease for life or life estate is a real property interest and must be conveyed by deed. See
RCW 64.04.010, 64.04.020, and 64.08.010.

Know the definitions of terms you use.

Keep in mind that the terms used to describe ownership interest are generally not


http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
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interchangeable. Forinstance, jointtenancy and joint tenancy with rights of survivorship
are not the same. Black's Law Dictionary is an excellent reference source for definitions of
terms not specifically defined in the applicable RCW or WAC rules. You can also ask your
county prosecutor if you need clarification.

Review the ownership requirements for the program.

The ownership requirements are different for each program. Make sure your decision
complies with the applicable laws and rules for the program.

TYPES OF OWNERSHIP

Exemption Program - Qualifying ownership includes fee simple, contract purchase, life
estate and lease for life. Atrust may meet the ownership requirement if it creates a life
estate for the applicant. RCW 84.36.381 and WAC 458-16A-100(24).

Deferral and Grant Assistance Programs - A claimant who has only a share ownership
in cooperative housing, a life estate, a lease for life, or a revocable trust does not satisfy
the ownership requirement. Irrevocable trusts may qualify. The trust must be expressly
not revocable and the applicant must be the trustee or beneficiary and the applicant
must have a life-time beneficial interest in the residence or the portion of the trust
containing the residence (i.e. the trust estate containing the residence). RCW
84.37.030(5); RCW 84.38.030(4); RCW 84.39.010(4).

In addition, the trust must not contain language prohibiting encumbrance of the property.

Community Property

WAC 458-16A-100(26) Ownership by a marital community or domestic partnership.
"Ownership by a marital community or domestic partnership" means property owned in
common by both spouses or domestic partners. Property held as separate ownership by
one spouse or domestic partner is not owned by the marital community or domestic
partnership. The person claiming the exemption must own the property for which the
exemption is claimed.

Example: A person qualifying for the exemption by virtue of age, disability, or
disabled veteran status cannot claim exemption on a residence owned by the
person's spouse or domestic partner as a separate estate outside the marital
community or domestic partnership unless the applicant has a life estate therein.

Joint Tenancy - or —Tenants in Common

Ajointtenant or tenantin common has only a share interest. The share interest may be the
same “size” as that of the other joint tenants, or the ownership share may be a specified
percentage.

Upon the death of one of the joint tenants, that share passes to the deceased tenant’s heirs.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.37.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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For the deferral programs, we can pay the entire tax bill but the equity calculation will be
based only on the assessed value of the applicant’s ownership share. To calculate the
equity, use the applicant’s share of value, minus ALL of the liens and encumbrances.

The exemption and grant assistance apply only to the taxes attributable to the share
interest owned by the applicant.

For the exemption program, that means you will also have a percentage share of the
exemption unless the co-owners actually live in the residence with the applicant. See
FAQ’s for examples.

Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship

A joint tenant with rights of survivorship holds an undivided interest in the entire property,
and upon the death of one of the joint tenants, the surviving joint tenant(s) continues to
hold the property in fee, or in JTWROS. This type of ownership is treated similar to a marital
community ownership. Since there is an undivided ownership interest in the entire
property, the tenant/applicant is entitled to “undivided” (full 100%) property tax relief.

For example, Mr. Smith and Ms. Doe own a property via JTWROS. When Mr. Smith
applies for exemption, he is entitled to a full exemption on the entire property.
When Mr. Smith passes away, Ms. Doe has an undivided interest in the property
and Mr. Smith’s heirs do not inherit.

Lease for Life/Life Estates

A lease for life or life estate is a real property interest and must be conveyed by deed.
Deeds must be acknowledged. Therefore, we cannot accept proof of lease for life or life
estate unlessitis by deed and so acknowledged.

See WAC 458-16A-100(22) and (24) for definitions of Lease for Life and Life Estate.

RCW 64.04.010 - “Every conveyance of real estate, or any interest therein, and every
contract creating or evidencing any encumbrance upon real estate, shall be by deed....’

4

RCW 64.04.020 - “Every deed shall be in writing, signed by the party bound thereby, and
acknowledged by the party before some person authorized by this act to take
acknowledgments of deeds.”

RCW 64.08.010 - “Acknowledgments of deeds ... may be taken in this state before a
justice of the supreme court, or the clerk thereof, or the deputy of such clerk, before a
judge of the court of appeals, or the clerk thereof, before a judge of the superior court, or
qualified court commissioner thereof, or the clerk thereof, or the deputy of such clerk, or a
county auditor, or the deputy of such auditor, or a qualified notary public, or a qualified
United States commissioner appointed by any district court of the United States for this
state, and all said instruments



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.08.010
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heretofore executed and acknowledged according to the provisions of this section are
hereby declared legal and valid.”

Trusts

General Definitions:

Beneficiary — the one who benefits from the trust.

Irrevocable Trust — a trust which may not be revoked after its creation as in the case of a
deposit of money by one in the name of another as trustee for the benefit of a third person
(beneficiary). A testamentary trust is a trust specified in a person’s will and it becomes a
legal entity upon the death of the testator. When the creator of the trust has passed away
the will, and therefore the trust, cannot be changed. Therefore, the testamentary trust is
irrevocable once the testator has passed away.

Living Trust - usually, the beneficiary does not benefit during the lifetime of the trustee if
the trustee is the same as the trustor. So, if the beneficiary is the applicant then they
would not meet the ownership requirement until the trustee dies.

Revocable Trust — a trust in which the settlor reserves the right to revoke.
Trustee — the one who holds legal title to the property in order to administer it for the
beneficiary —the agent for the trust.

Trustor —the one who creates the trust - also called the settlor or creator or grantor.

Revocable vs. Irrevocable - It is the general rule that, in the absence of an express
reservation, a trustor cannot revoke a trust without the consent of the trustee and all
beneficiaries. The general rule then, is that if there is no language in the trust reserving the
right to revoke, the trustis irrevocable. There is an exception to that general rule to allow a
trust to be revoked if the trustor is the sole beneficiary. However, for purposes of
qualifying for the Deferral and Grant Assistance Programs, the trust must be expressly
irrevocable.

» Ifthe trustis expressly revocable, the trustor may meet the ownership requirements
for the Exemption Program.

» Ifthe trust does not contain language regarding revocability and the trustor is the sole
beneficiary then the trust is revocable and the trustor may meet the ownership
requirements for the Exemption Program.

» Ifthe trust does not contain language regarding revocability and the trustor is not
the sole beneficiary then the trustis irrevocable. The trust may meet the
requirements for the Exemption Program.

» Ifthe trustis expressly irrevocable, and the applicantis the trustee or beneficiary,
then the applicant may be eligible for the Deferral and Grant Assistance Programs.
The applicant may also meet the requirement for the Exemption Program.
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> Ifthe trustis expressly irrevocable and the claimant is the beneficiary with a
beneficialinterest in the residence that lasts at least as long as the applicant’s
lifetime, the applicant may be eligible for all four programs.

DETERMINING WHETHER OR NOT A TRUST MEETS THE OWNERSHIP
REQUIREMENT FOR THE EXEMPTION PROGRAM

RCW 84.36.381(2) says that, in order to qualify for the exemption, the applicant must have
owned the residence at the time of filing "in fee, as a life estate, or by contract purchase".
It also says that a lease for life shall be deemed a life estate.

There is no provision in the statute for ownership through a trust. Therefore, in order to
meet the ownership requirement when property is owned by a trust, the language in the
trust must, in effect, convey a “life estate” ownership interest to the applicant.

WAC 458-16A-100(24) defines a "life estate" as:

(24) Life estate. 'Life estate' means an estate whose duration is limited to the life of the
party holding it or of some other person.

(a) Reservation of a life estate upon a principal residence placed in trust or
transferred to another is a life estate.

(b) Beneficialinterestin a trust is considered a life estate for the settlor of a
revocable or irrevocable trust who grants to himself or herself the beneficial
interest directly in his or her principal residence, or the part of the trust containing
his or her personal residence, for at least the period of his or her life.

(c) Beneficial interestin an irrevocable trust is considered a life estate, or a lease
for life, for the beneficiary who is granted the beneficial interest representing his or
her principal residence held in an irrevocable trust, if the beneficial interest is
granted under the trust instrument for a period thatis not less than the
beneficiary's life.

Therefore, in order to qualify as a life estate for this program:

(a) The applicant must have reserved a life estate when the property was put
into the trust;

OR

(b) The applicant must be the "settlor" or creator of the trust (either revocable or
irrevocable) and must grant to himself/herself a beneficial interest in the principal
residence or that specific portion of the trust and that beneficiary interest must
last for at least the person's lifetime.

OR


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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(c) The trust must be irrevocable and the applicant must be the beneficiary and
have been granted the beneficial interestin the principal residence portion of the
trust for at least his/her lifetime.

TRUSTS - STEP BY STEP

When analyzing a trust document, using process of elimination may help.

1. Didthe applicantreserve a life estate (or have a life estate reserved for them by
someone else) on the deed when the property was transferred to the trust?
» Yes, stop here. The applicant meets the ownership requirement for the
exemption program and you do not need to go any further.
» No, gotostep 2.

2. lIsthe trust revocable?
» Yes, go to Step 3.
» No, goto Step 4.

3. Revocable - Is the applicant the “settlor” or “creator” of the trust?
» Yes, goto Step 5.
» No, stop here because the applicant does not qualify.

4. Irrevocable —Is the applicant the “settlor” or “creator” of the trust?
» Yes, go to Step 5.
» No, goto Step 6.

5. Revocable or Irrevocable - has the applicant granted to himself/herself a
beneficiary interest in the residence that lasts for at least his/her lifetime?
» Yes, the applicant meets the ownership qualification.
» No, the applicant does not qualify.

6. lIrrevocable - Is the applicant the beneficiary and has the applicant been
granted the beneficial interest in the principal residence portion of the trust
for at least his/her lifetime?

» Yes, the ownership requirement is met.
» No, the applicant does not meet the ownership requirement.

There will still be times when you find it difficult to determine whether there is a
“beneficial interest in the residence” and whether that interest lasts for at least the
period of the applicant’s lifetime.

Remember, if you have trouble making a determination, you have resources. You can
contact your county legal resources oryou can ask for help from the Department of
Revenue. Following are some examples of actual trust language that may help.

IMPORTANT: Usually, trusts are not recorded and your records reflect ownership by the
trust — or by the trustee/agent on behalf of the trust. That means that you should keep a
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copy of the appropriate pages from the trustin your files to show why you granted an
exemption to someone who is not reflected as the property owner on your records.

Example 1 - Qualifying:

In this case, the trust document says the trust corpus include all funds contributed, any
acceptable additions, and property other than cash including real estate (Sectionl). “TP”
is clearly the beneficiary of the trust, the trust is intended to last for his lifetime unless
there are no longer any assets (Section lll), and the trust language conveys a "beneficial
interest representing” his principal residence. Section IV(e) on page 11 provides authority
for the trustee to purchase a home or other principal place of residence for the beneficiary.

Section |-The assets of the Trust corpus may from time to time include property
other than cash, including, but not limited to, securities, real estate, and other
personal property.

Section lll - The term of this Trust shall continue indefinitely for the lifetime of “TP”
subject to the general terms and conditions contained in this instrument and
specifically subject to the provisions contained in this section as to final distribution
of the corpus and accumulated income.

Section IV(e) — Major Purchases: Purchase of a home or other principal place of
residence for the beneficiary, or expenditure for any other single item purchase,
where the cost of the item to be purchased exceeds 25% (twenty-five percent) of
the then fair market value of the Trust, shall be considered an investment by the
Trustee. Title to or ownership of such asset shall be maintained by the Trust unless
otherwise ordered by the Court. The Trustee shall have the discretion to allow the
primary beneficiary of this Trust to reside in any such residence purchased or held
by the Trust without payment of rent.

Example 2 — Not Qualifying:

“TP” is the “settlor” or creator of the trust and the trustis irrevocable (Preamble and
Section 1). Unfortunately, he does not appear to have granted himself a beneficial
interest in the principal residence portion of the trust that lasts for his lifetime. Under
Section 5.1(a), the Trustee has been given control over the real property. The only power
“TP” appears to have retained for himself is the power to acquire any of the trust assets
by substituting property of

equivalent value (Section 6). In addition, the purpose of the trust is clearly stated in
Section 1 as the desire to “establish an irrevocable trust for the benefit of his children”.

Section 1. Transfer of Property: Trustor desires to establish an irrevocable trust for
the benefit of his children, and accordingly hereby transfers to the Trustee the
assets described on Schedule A attached hereto.

Section 5.1(a) - Trust Administration — Trustee’s Powers: To retain so long as the
Trustee deems advisable, without liability for so doing, any property, real,
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personal, or mixed, of whatever kind and wherever situated, which is received by
the Trustee hereunder from any sources (other than through investment or
reinvestment by the Trustee), regardless of whether the property so retained be of
a kind and quality which the Trustee would ordinarily purchase for trust accounts
and regardless of whether such property so retained should constitute a larger
portion of the trust estate than the Trustee would ordinarily deem advisable.

Section 6. Grantor Trust: Itis Trustor’s intention that he be treated as the owner of
the entire trust forincome tax purposes under Subpart E, Part |, Subchapter J,
Chapter 1 of the Code. Accordingly, Trustor shall have the power at any time and
from time to time, acting in a nonfiduciary capacity, without the approval or
consent of any person, including the Trustee, to acquire the assets of any trust held
under this instrument by substituting property of equivalent value. Trustor directs
that this power is not assignable and any attempted assignment will make this
power void.

Example 3 - Qualifying:

“TP’s” are the creators of the trust which is a revocable living trust. Under Section
1.04(e), “TP’s” reserve "the right to possess and occupy the real property" in the trust
estate thatis used as a principal residence.

Section 1.04(e) — Right to Possess and Occupy Principal Residence: The Trustor shall
have the right to possess and occupy the real property in our Trust Estate used as my
principal residence.
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DOCUMENTATION AND RECORDS RETENTION
SIGNATURES

All applications or renewals, for any of the programs, must be signed by the applicant or
the applicant’s duly authorized agent, or by a guardian or other person who is
responsible for the care of the person or property of the applicant. See WAC 458-16A-
135(5), WAC 458-18-030(1), WAC 458-18A-030(1), and RCW 84.39.020(2).

In commercial law, an “agent” is a person who is authorized to act on behalf of another to
create a legal relationship with a third party. For purposes of these programs, the “agent”
must have legal authority, such as power of attorney, to act on behalf of the applicant.
Authority of an “agent” expires upon death. This you cannot accept posthumous
applications. A possible exception is: if the application was already submitted, with the
applicant’s signature dated pre- death, and someone is only providing the supplemental
information you had requested from the original applicant, then, in the assessor’s
discretion, you could make a case for continuing to process the application. Keep in
mind, the exemption may be approved under this exception but would have to terminate
as of the applicant’s date of death.

The support for this is:

RCW 84.36.379

The intended benefit of the exemption mustinure to the applicant; a retired person who
is not able to pay the property taxes.

RCW 84.36.387

All claims for exemption must be signed by the person entitled to the exemption. If unable
to sign, attorney-in-fact (power of attorney), duly authorized agent, or guardian. An estate
representative does not qualify as an attorney-in-fact, duly authorized agent, or guardian.
Note: Power of Attorney expires when the principal dies.

RCW 11.04.250

Once a person dies, ownership of property immediately becomes that of the
heirs/devisees of the decedent. Therefore, any exemption applied after death is for the
benefit of the heirs/devisees and not the decedent who was the owner.

Excerpt from Attorney General Opinion Number 31, issued October 6, 1971:

The tax exemption "for certain elderly or retired persons is a personal exemption which
does not follow the property to the benefit of the claimant's heirs or grantees; therefore,
when a person who is qualified for this tax exemption timely files his claim for it but
thereafter dies or sells the property upon which he resides prior to the time the taxes to
which the exemption applies become payable, his heirs or other new owners of the
subject property do not receive the benefit of the exemption.”



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.39.020
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fapp.leg.wa.gov%2Frcw%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fcite%3D84.36.379&data=04%7C01%7Ckarik%40dor.wa.gov%7Ce99c706b2b354023092e08d988206c15%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637690495123768217%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=beEuzSdm14DF1AAouRqrp0xJa0DzMBPfHD4k9IXdGmM%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fapp.leg.wa.gov%2Frcw%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fcite%3D84.36.387&data=04%7C01%7Ckarik%40dor.wa.gov%7Ce99c706b2b354023092e08d988206c15%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637690495123768217%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=TMCBhrh7JTL1iLGjZ5n6chmTLZU2iETaXM2%2BL3oT3lA%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fapp.leg.wa.gov%2Frcw%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fcite%3D11.04.250&data=04%7C01%7Ckarik%40dor.wa.gov%7Ce99c706b2b354023092e08d988206c15%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637690495123778172%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=zorlL0VEPx9f3o5JdC8Kas4kIqRYt%2FniOm1%2FslY7Ptg%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.atg.wa.gov%2Fago-opinions%2Ftaxation-real-property-application-tax-exemption-provided-under-chapter-288-laws-1971&data=04%7C01%7Ckarik%40dor.wa.gov%7Ce99c706b2b354023092e08d988206c15%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637690495123788131%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=iQ%2FY8%2B%2BHEzxDoeFEp%2BWFNDY47jHBtGYaPy2OupihcuE%3D&reserved=0
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For exemptions, any application or renewal for tax year 2020 or before must also be
signed by two witnesses or by the assessor/assessor’s deputy. The witness signature
requirement or by the assessor/assessor’s deputy does not apply to exemption
applications or renewals for tax year 2021 and after. If the applicant lives in a cooperative
housing unit, the authorized agent for the cooperative housing association, cooperative
housing corporation, or cooperative housing partnership must also sign the application.
See RCW 84.36.387(1).

For the Deferral Program for Senior Citizens and People with Disabilities, the
application or renewal must also be signed by the lien holder only if the property is subject
to a deed of trust, mortgage, or purchase contract that requires accumulation of reserves
to pay property taxes.

In addition, for deferrals, the application or renewal must be signed by the spouse,
domestic partner, cotenant, and anyone else with a legal interest in the property. WAC
458-18-030(2) and WAC 458-18A-030(2) say the deferral declaration must list everyone
with aninterest in the property and that all of those parties must sign the application.

Although it may seem like an extra step, believe it or not, it is actually a help when there is
a canceling event and it’s time to collect the deferral balance. We have had surviving
spouses tell us they were not aware of the deferral, but when we look back at the
application forms, we are able to show that they actually signed the forms in prior years.

Electronic/digital signatures. Generally speaking, electronic/digital signatures are the
equivalent of a “wet” signature. The general authority is found in Chapter 1.80 RCW —
Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, specifically RCW 1.80.010 (Definitions); 1.80.020
(Scope); RCW 1.80.030 (Effective date/prospective application); RCW 1.80.060 (Legal
recognition); RCW1.80.100 (Notarization, acknowledgment, verification, or under oath);
RCW 9A.72.

The exemption and deferral statutes do not have any specific requirements beyond the
requirement of ‘signature’ that would expressly not allow an electronic/digital signature.
You’ll want to make sure what your applicants are signing electronically/digitally contains
the statements for meeting the statutory under oath requirement. Meaning the way you’re
receiving an electronic/digital signature whether it is on the web app or a portal type
system captures the certification language included on the paper form:

By signing this form, | confirm that I:

e Have completed the income section of this form and all proof of
income is included.

e Understand it is my responsibility to notify the county
assessor if | have a change in income or circumstances and
that any exemption granted through erroneous informationis
subjecttothe correct tax being assessed for the last five
years, plus a 100 percent penalty.

e Declare under penalty of perjury that the informationin
this application packet is true and complete.


http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.387
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18-030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-18A-030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.020
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.060
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=1.80.100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.72.085
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e Requestarefund underthe provisions of RCW 84.69.020 for
taxes paid or overpaid as a result of mistake, inadvertence, or
lack of knowledge regarding exemption from paying real
property taxes pursuant to RCW 84.36.381 through 389.

DOCUMENTATION

The assessor determines which documents are necessary to demonstrate that the
claimant qualifies for the exemption and the deferral programs. See WAC 458-16A-

135(5).

Documents that may be required include:
» Copies of any legal instruments demonstrating the claimant’s interest in the property.
» Documents demonstrating the property is the claimant’s principal place of residence.
» Copies of legal identification showing the claimant’s age.
» For aclaim based on a disability, either a physician’s affidavit or copies of

written acknowledgment or decision by the Social Security Administration or

the Veterans Administration. With passage of HB 1966 in 2007, signatures of

certified physician assistants and certified osteopathic physician assistants are
acceptable on the Proof of Disability Affidavit.

» Copies of documents showing earned income for the claimant, spouse, domestic
partner and cotenants.

» Federal statements showing Social Security benefits.

» Federal statements showing railroad retirement benefits.

» Federalincome tax returns with supporting forms, schedules, and worksheets.
» Copies of invoices for non-reimbursed nursing home and in-home care.

» Copies of checks or other payment statements for non-reimbursed prescription drugs
IF the amount claimed exceeds five hundred dollars.

» If nofederalreturns were filed or received, copies of documents demonstrating
income for the claimant, spouse, domestic partner, and cotenants. These include W-
2’s,1098’s, 1099’s, checking account registers, bank statements, public assistance
check stubs, etc. The claimant must produce copies of documents demonstrating the
source of the funds they are living on and using to pay the bills for maintaining the
claimant and the residence.

> Any other copies of documents the assessor requires in his or her discretion to



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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demonstrate the applicant qualifies for the property tax relief program.

RECORDS RETENTION

WAC 458-16A-140(3) explains the application review process and the rule directs the
assessor to destroy or return any supporting documents used to verify age orincome after
the application review is complete.

WAC 458-16A-140(3) Processing exemption applications. County assessors
process applications for the senior citizen or disabled person exemption. The
assessors grant or deny the exemption based upon these completed
applications.
(a) Application review. The county assessor reviews a completed application
and its supporting documents.
The assessor:
(1) Notes on a checklist for the claimant's file the supporting
documents received;
(i1) Reviews the supporting documents;
(ii1) Records relevant information from the supporting documents
into the claimant's file.
In particular, the assessor records into the file the claimant's age and a
summary of the income information received; and
(iv) After reviewing the supporting documents, must either destroy or
return the supporting documents used to verify the claimant's age and
income.

That means, after the review cycle ends on May 31%, any documentation used to verify
age orincome should be returned or destroyed each year. As stated in the WAC rule, you
should be using Income Checklists to record which income documents were reviewed
eachyear.

Documents that are not used to verify either age orincome fall under the regular
records retention schedule. Your county should have an existing records retention
schedule that will tell you how long you need to save the income checklists, applications,
and other documents for the exemption and deferral programs.

For your convenience, following is a link to the RCW governing records retention: RCW
40.14.070. If your county does not have an approved records retention schedule,
before destroying any documents you should contact the Local Records

Committee.

Proof of Disability, Trust documents, Life Estate/Lease for Life documents, and
unrecorded deeds

In order to avoid having to request the taxpayer to provide these documents again, you


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=40.14.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=40.14.070
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should retain any of these necessary records if they still apply — or apply for any years that
might still be adjusted. Forinstance, once you have documentation that the participant
has met the age requirement for more than 6 years, you could purge the disability
information. The same thing applies to the ownership documents.

IMPORTANT: Usually trusts are not recorded and your records reflect ownership by the
trust — or by the trustee/agent on behalf of the trust. That means that you should keep a
copy of the trust in your files to show why you approved an exemption for someone who is
not reflected as the property owner on your records.

Until the participant is reflected on the assessor’s records as the actual owner of record
for more than 6 years, you should keep the documents showing why that person is eligible
for property tax relief even though they are not the owner of record.
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CALCULATING COMBINED DISPOSABLE INCOME FOR THE
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS

INTRODUCTION

Combined disposable income is used to determine eligibility for all of the property tax
relief programs for senior citizens and people with disabilities and for the deferral program
for homeowners with limited income. The exemption, deferral, and grant programs all use
the same calculation. A similar calculation is used for determining eligibility for residents
in nonprofit Homes for the Aging.

Note: Do not use this calculation for nonprofit Homes for the Aging! You can find
the calculation for the nonprofit Homes for the Aging at: RCW 84.36.041.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

At the end of this section in this manual, the following additional information has been provided.

R/
L X4

Worksheets for calculating installment sales and capital gains.

s Alist of possible expense items used to determine the basis of the asset sold when
added to or subtracted from the original cost of the asset.

s Sample letter and questionnaire to use when an applicant reports -0- income.

% Sample worksheet to calculate CDI -this is the worksheet we use because it
makes the calculation quick and easy.

% Decoding SS Claim Numbers —to determine the meaning of the claim numberin
Box 8 of the SS statement.

% 1099-R with instructions — useful to determine the meaning of the codes used in
Boxes5and 7.

4506-T — Applicants can use this form to request a transcript of their actual IRS tax
return — or confirmation that one was not filed. Note: effective July 2019 the IRS no
longer mails transcripts to third party addresses only to the taxpayers address.

s SSA Press Release date July 2014 — advises local offices will continue to provide
income verification documents.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.041
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SSA ANNUAL LIMITS FOR SUBSTANTIAL GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT PER SOCIAL

SECURITY WEBSITE AT: Substantial Gainful Activity

Income SSA Monthly Earned Income Limit

Year Non-Blind Blind

2024 $1,550 $2,590
2023 $1,470 $2,460
2022 $1,350 $2,260
2021 $1,310 $2,190
2020 $1,260 $2,110
2019 $1,220 $2,040
2018 $1,180 $1,970
2017 $1,170 $1,950
2016 $1,130 $1,820
2015 $1,090 $1,820

Definition Effective June 10, 2004 (SB 5034)

MID-YEAR CHANGES IN INCOME

What happens when an applicant has a mid-year change in income because of
retirement, the death of a spouse or domestic partner, or other circumstances?

According to RCW 84.36.381(4), if the applicant’s income changed for two or more
months of the assessment year and the change is likely to continue for an indefinite period
of time, the combined disposable income must be calculated by determining the average
monthly combined disposable income after the change and multiplying by twelve.

Notice, this is not optional. The statute says income MUST be calculated this way in

this situation.

Example 1: One spouse passed away in August. Prior to passing, he received a
retirement pension and social security and he was in an assisted living facility and
was taking multiple medications. When calculating income for the exemption level
for the surviving spouse, you should use her average monthly income beginningin
September. You should notinclude the deceased spouse’s income or the costs of
his medications and facility care. The idea behind using the “averaging” method is
to calculate income based on the average income the applicant receives during the
months after the change in circumstances occurred.

Example 2: An applicant retired two months before the end of the year but was
retained on a call-in per diem basis and has continued to work on a part-time basis.
The applicant’s income was substantially reduced for the last two months of the
year due to retirement but the applicant still received wages of $1,790 over the two-


https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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month period. In addition, the applicant began receiving Social Security of $1,200
per month and had prescription drug costs in the amount of $180 for the 2-month
period.

To calculate income in this case, you would include the $1,200 per month in SS; plus
$895, the monthly average of the earnings ($1,790 divided by 2); minus $90, the
monthly average of the allowable deductions ($180 divided by 2); for a total average
monthly combined disposable income of $2,005. Then, multiplying by 12, we can
estimate annualincome of $24,060.

Example 3: An applicant retires at age 62 and starts collecting Social Security
benefits. Income averaging is used to estimate income and an exemption is
approved. At age 65, the applicant decides to return to work because they can now
collect full Social Security regardless of the amount of wages earned. The applicant
files a Change in Status and the exemption is removed because the income limit is
exceeded. At age 70, the applicant retires again and reapplies for the exemption,
requesting that the Assessor use income averaging and exclude the wages earned
up to the date of the second retirement.

Under RCW 84.36.381(4), when the applicant is retired for two or more months of
the assessment/income year, the assessor must use income averaging to
calculate combined disposable income.

Sometimes, as in Example 2, you can estimate income for the first exemption year but you
may not be confident that you can rely on that estimate on a continuing basis, especially if
you use a six-year renewal cycle. In Example 2, because the taxpayer is working part-time,
it would be wise to flag this account for a follow-up so you can base the ongoing exemption
on a fullincome year.

DISPOSABLE INCOME

The term “disposable income” for the purpose of these property tax relief programs has
been specifically defined by the WA legislature. That definition has been incorporated
into the WA laws and rules. You may find that your applicants are very confused by your
calculation simply because their common understanding of ‘disposable income’ is
different than the statutory definition. Explaining the statutory definition is helpful.

In WA laws and rules, disposable income is defined as “adjusted gross income” as defined
by the Internal Revenue Service, plus the following items to the extent they were not
included in, or were deducted from, income used to determine adjusted gross income:

e Capital Gains (except the capital gain resulting from the sale of a primary residence if
the gain was re-invested in a replacement primary residence prior to the sale or within
the same calendar year as the sale)

e Amounts deducted for losses (including capital losses and penalties on early
withdrawal of savings)
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e Depreciation

e Pension and annuity receipts

e Military pay and benefits (except attendant-care and medical-aid payments)

e Veterans benefits (except attendant-care, medical-aid payments, VA disability
compensation, and dependency and indemnity compensation (DIC))

e Social Security and railroad retirement benefits

e Dividends

e Interest on state and municipal bonds

The starting point to determine the applicant’s disposable income is Adjusted Gross
Income (AGI) as defined by the Internal Revenue Service. Many applicants file an IRS
Form 1040 with the Internal Revenue Service. Adjusted gross income is clearly identified
as a specific line item on Form 1040.

If the applicant did not file a federal tax return, you must first determine adjusted gross
income prior to determining disposable income. Remember that most of the items listed
on Form 1040 as “Adjustments to Income” are legitimate adjustments to gross income
and should still be deducted when determining adjusted gross income, even when the
applicant does not file a federal return.

WAC 458-16A-110 and WAC 458-16A-115 provide additional information and assistance
in determining gross income and adjusted gross income when no tax return was filed.

CALCULATING DISPOSABLE INCOME

Begin by obtaining a copy of the federalincome tax returns for the claimant, the claimant’s
spouse or domestic partner, and any cotenants. If noincome tax return is provided, the
assessor must calculate disposable income from copies of otherincome documents (W-
2’s, 1099’s, etc.). Be sure to use the Income Checklist to document which records were
reviewed since you cannot retain permanent copies of income documents for the files.
WAC 458-16A-140(3)

CAPITAL GAINS

Line 7 on Form 1040 and Line 4 Schedule 1 (Form 1040) are both used for gain/loss
reporting. Line 7 Form 1040 is used to report gains/losses reported on a Schedule D and
Line 4 Schedule 1 is used to report gains/losses reported on a Form 4797. If the applicant
filed a Schedule D or Form 4797 to report gains/losses, you should examine those forms
to discover any other gains not taxable for IRS purposes. You should also check for gains
that are offset by losses.

In the disposable income calculation, capital gains may only be excluded from the
applicant’s income if the gain is from the sale of the applicant’s primary residence and
the applicant re- invests the gain in a replacement primary residence. Only the portion
thatis re-invested in another principal residence can be excluded.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-140
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Under current IRS rules, in most cases, taxpayers are no longer required to report the gain
on the sale of a personal residence if the home was owned and lived in as a primary
residence for two or more years and the gain is less than $250,000 ($500,000 for a married
couple). Although the applicant may not be required to report this income to the Internal
Revenue Service, it must be reported to the assessor’s office for determining eligibility in
the exemption program.

CAPITAL GAIN AND REINVESTMENT CALCULATION EXAMPLE

Selling Price of Old Home $500,000
Minus: Selling Expenses 40,000
Amount Realized on Sale $460,000
Basis of Old Home — Purchase Price 100,000
Plus Improvements +40,000
Adjusted Basis of Old Home 140,000
Gain Realized 320,000
Cost of Replacement Home 310,000
Amount Not Re-Invested $10,000

Since all but $10,000 was re-invested in a replacement residence, only the $10,000 not
re- invested would be included as disposable income.

At the end of this section you can find worksheets to use for calculating capital gains and
for determining how much disposable income to include for receipts from installment
sales.

Note: Mortgage amounts have no effect on the capital gain calculation. Whether the
person pays off a mortgage balance for the home that was sold and/or obtains a new
mortgage for the home that was purchased, loan amounts are not included in this
calculation.

What s included in the “basis” of the home that was sold?

The original basis is the value of the home at the time it was originally acquired. That
could be the purchase cost, the cost to build, or it could be the value at the time the
home was acquired through an inheritance or a property settlement.

When the home was acquired through an inheritance, there should be an estate
accounting that shows the value of the items inherited. If not, there may have been an
appraisal at that time — or —you might have to use the assessed value as of that date if no
appraisal was done for the probate.

Once the original basis is determined, you will need to adjust for increases or decreases
to the basis. Increases to the basis can include costs for things like building an addition
to the home, replacing the roof, paving the driveway, legal fees, local improvement
assessments, and others types of costs. Decreases to basis can include expenses like
casualty losses or depreciation.
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See the page following the Capital Gain Worksheet at the end of this section for a
more comprehensive list of increases and decreases to the basis.

AMOUNTS DEDUCTED FOR LOSS

Why do we add back losses? In theory, the mostimportant reason is that we cannot ask
other taxpayers to subsidize personal losses. In practice, we add back losses because the
laws and rules say that we must. No matter how much we sympathize with the plight of
someone who had a stock loss or a farm loss that offsets their other income, itis our job to
apply the laws we were given by the legislature in a manner that is as uniform, fair, and
equitable as possible. RCW 84.36.383(7)

An important thing to remember is that losses cannot be used to offset otherincome.
WAC 458-16A-120(2)(b)(iii). If the applicant’s Schedule D shows a short-term loss of
$5,000 and a long-term gain of $4,000, the $4,000 gain must be included in disposable
income even though the net effect is a loss of $1,000. While many applicants will argue
that they have a legitimate loss, the Legislature chose not to allow that deduction for the
purposes of determining eligibility for property tax relief.

Losses can be found in many different areas of a return. Most commonly, you will find
losses on Form 1040 Schedule 1 on:

Line 3, Business Losses Schedule C Line 5, Rental Losses Schedule E
Line 7, Capital Loss Schedule D & Form 8949 | Line 6, Farm Losses Schedule F
Line 4, Other Losses Form 4797 Line 8, Other NOL (Net Operating Loss)

For the detail on gains and losses, and to determine whether any loss offsets other
income, you will need to review the individual forms and schedules that provide the
details.

Schedule C - may include Form 8829

Schedule D - may include Forms 2439, 4684, 4797, 6252, 6781, 8824, 8949, Sch K-1
Schedule E-may include Forms 4835, 8582, Schedule K-1

Form 4797 — may include Forms 4684, 6252, 8824, Schedule K-1

DEPRECIATION

Depreciation is a method accountants use to allocate the cost of an asset over a stated
period of time. Like losses, the Legislature chose not to allow this deduction as an
expense when computing disposable income. Depreciation in and of itself does not show
up on Form 1040. Itis necessary to look at the supporting schedules to determine if
depreciation was a deduction.

You will find it on several different schedules and, usually, you will see a Form 4562
which shows the actual depreciation schedule for the taxpayer. The depreciation
expense is usually carried through from the Form 4562 to one of the business



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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income/loss schedules. The most common are:

Line 13, Business Income Schedule

C Line 18, Rental Income Schedule E

Line 14, Farm Income Schedule F

Line 28, Employee Business Expense Form 2106

Line 30, Expenses for Business Use of Your Home Form

8829 If the schedule shows a netincome, simply add back the depreciation.

Making the adjustment to add back depreciation is especially tricky when the
depreciation expense is deducted on a schedule where the end result was a net loss.

If the schedule shows a net loss, you will need to add back the net loss first, and then
recalculate the Net Profit or Loss excluding the deduction for depreciation. If there is still
a net loss, you do not need to do anything more. If you nhow have a netincome, you need
to add that netincome to disposable income.

Remember, on a Schedule E, calculate the income or loss on each rental property separately.

Following are three examples of what to do when there is depreciation expense reported
on a Schedule C.

Example #1 - Business with netincome. Shortcut-add back the depreciation and you

are finished.
On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss $2,000
Adjusted Gross Income $32,000
1. Look atthe Schedule C.
On the Schedule C
Business Income $30,000
Depreciation Expense $10,000
Other Expenses 18,000
Total Expenses -28,000
Net Income $2,000

2. Now add back the depreciation expense to determine disposable income.

Disposable Income
AGI $32,000
Depreciation Expense $10,000
Disposable Income $42,000
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Example #2 - Business Loss - Depreciation deduction smaller than loss amount.
Shortcut - simply add back the loss and you are finished.

On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss ($20,000)
Adjusted Gross Income $10,000

1. First, add back the business loss.

Preliminary Disposable Income

AGI $10,000
Business Loss $20,000
Disposable Income $30,000

2. Next, look at the Schedule C.

On the Schedule C
Business Income $30,000
Depreciation Expense $5,000
Other Expenses 45,000
Total Expenses -50,000
Net Loss ($20,000)

3. Recalculate the profit or loss excluding the depreciation expense.

Profit or Loss Without Depreciation

Business Income $30,000
Total Expenses excluding Depreciation 45,000
Expense

Net Loss ($15,000)

4. Since thereis still aloss, you can stop here. The disposable income would be the
figure calculated in Step 1.
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Example #3 - Business Loss — Depreciation deduction larger than loss amount.
Shortcut —add back the loss, then add the difference between the loss and the
depreciation expense.

On the 1040
All Other Income $30,000
Business Income/Loss ($2,000)
Adjusted Gross Income $28,000

1. First, add back the business loss.

Preliminary Disposable Income

AGI $28,000
Business Loss $2,000
Disposable Income $30,000

2. Next, look at the Schedule C.

On the Schedule C
Business Income $30,000
Depreciation Expense $5,000
Other Expenses 27,000
Total Expenses -32,000
Net Loss ($2,000)

3. Recalculate the profit or loss excluding the depreciation expense.

Profit or Loss Without Depreciation

Business Income $30,000
Total Expenses without Depreciation 27,000
Net Income $3,000

4. Inthis example, when the depreciation expense is excluded, the loss is
eliminated. To determine disposable income, add the net business income
after excluding the depreciation expense.

Disposable Income
Preliminary Disposable Income From Step 1 $30,000
Business Income $3,000
Disposable Income $33,000
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PENSION AND ANNUITY RECEIPTS

Generally speaking, you will find these amounts reported on Lines 5a and 5b of Form
1040. Any pension or annuity that the applicant, spouse, domestic partner, or co-tenant
receives is counted as disposable income. Some pensions and annuities are included in
adjusted gross income and some are not. Many pensions are only partially taxable
because the recipient paid tax on the contribution at the time it was made. For purposes
of determining eligibility in this program, all of the pension or annuity must be counted.

An IRA, or Individual Retirement Arrangement, is NOT considered to be a pension or
annuity. In general, you should only include the taxable portion of an IRA.

An annuity is defined in WAC 458-16A-100(2) as follows.

(2) Annuity. "Annuity" means a series of long-term periodic payments, under a
contract or agreement. It does not include payments for the care of dependent
children. For purposes of this subsection, long-term means a period of more than one
full year from the annuity starting date.

Annuity distributions must be included in "disposable income," as that term is
defined in subsection (12) of this section, whether or not they are taxable under federal
law. A one-time, lump sum, total distribution is not an "annuity" for purposes of this
section, and only the taxable portion that would be included in federal adjusted gross
income should be included in disposable income.

Annuity contracts are financial contracts in the form of an insurance product. Underthe
contract terms, the seller (issuer) — typically a financial institution such as a life
insurance company — agrees to make a series of future payments to a buyer (annuitant) in
exchange for the immediate payment (or investment) of a lump sum (single-payment
annuity) or a series of regular payments (regular-payment annuity), prior to the onset of
the annuity distributions.

Annuities that make payments in fixed amounts or in amounts that increase by a fixed
percentage are called fixed annuities. Variable annuities, by contrast, pay amounts that
vary according to the investment performance of a specified set of investments, typically
bond and equity mutual funds.

Variable annuities are used for many different objectives. One common objective is to
postpone recognition of taxable gains for federal tax purposes. Money depositedin a
variable annuity grows on a tax-deferred basis, so that taxes on investment gains are not
due until a withdrawal is made. Variable annuities offer a variety of funds ("subaccounts")
from various money managers. This gives investors the ability to move between
subaccounts without incurring additional fees or sales charges.

Whether the annuity is “fixed” or “variable,” it is still an annuity.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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You may need to review the annuity contract to determine whether it fits our definition of
“annuity”. According to our definition, the contract mustindicate that the payment
stream is intended to continue for more than one year.

Remember-ifitis a one-time, lump-sum, total distribution, it does not meet our

definition of “annuity”.

MILITARY PAY AND BENEFITS OTHER THAN ATTENDANT-CARE AND
MEDICAL-AID PAYMENTS

Any military pay or benefits that do not represent attendant care or medical-aid payments
must be added to adjusted gross income to determine disposable income. If any portion
of the pay or benefit has already been included in AGI, only the portion not included must
be added.

If the RAS (or DFAS) statement shows Gross Pay reduced by a VA Waiver, the information
on the statement reflects the gross retirement pay and the tax-exempt portion calculated
by applying a formula as determined by VA. For disposable income, we should include the
gross pay amount.

Combat Related Special Compensation (CRSC) is actually military retirement that is
dependent on years of service. When a veteran is receiving VA disability benefits and is
also receiving military retirement, the military retirement is sometimes reduced, or
“offset”, by all or a portion of the VA disability benefits. If the VA disability is combat-
related, the veteran can then apply for CRSC and reduce that offset amount. In other
words, they receive less of a reduction in the military retirement — but it is still part of the
military retirement and not the VA disability benefit. CRSC must be included in
disposable income.

The following information is from the Military.com website at
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-
special- compensation.html.

Combat Related Special Compensation

Military.com

Combat-Related Special Compensation (CRSC) provides special compensation to retirees who
have retired pay reduced because of receiving U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) disability
compensation. This means that qualified military retirees with 20 or more years of service that have
"combat related" VA-rated disability will no longer have their military retirement pay reduced by the
amount of their VA disability compensation. Instead they will receive both their full military
retirement pay and their VA disability compensation. The following is a summary of Combat- Related
Special Compensation:

e Combat-Related Special Compensation Eligibility
e TheValue of the CRSC Benefit
e TheApplication Process


http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
http://www.military.com/benefits/content/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation.html
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Once a military retiree has been determined to be qualified they will receive their regular
retirement pay plus an additional sum based on their VA disability rating.

Combat-Related Special Compensation Eligibility

The following CRSC eligibility requirements apply:
In order for members to be eligible for CRSC, they must meet all of the following criteria:

1. Receive military retirement pay for one of the following reasons:

o Served on Active Duty, the Reserves, or National Guard with 20 years of creditable
service;

o Served on Active Duty, the Reserves, or National Guard and is also a permanent
medical retiree (Chapter 61) regardless of years served;

o Served on Active Duty, the Reserves, or National Guard and is classified as a
Temporary Disability Retirement List retiree regardless of years served; or

o Served on Active Duty, the Reserves, or National Guard and is classified as a
Temporary Early Retirement Act retiree with 15-19 years served.

2. Have 10% or greater VA rated injury that is combat-related.
3. Military retirement pay is reduced by VA disability payments (VA Waiver).

4. Mustbe able to provide documentation that injury was a result of one of the following:
o PurpleHeart

Armed Conflict

Simulating War

Hazardous Service

Instrumentality of War

Agent Orange

Radiation Exposure

Gulf War

Mustard Gas or Lewisite

O OO0 OO0 0O 0 o

The Value of the CRSC Beneéfit:

The CRSC monthly payment ranges from $133 to over $3200. The amount you receive depends on
your disability rating, number of dependents, and other factors. CRSC payment mirrors the VA
Disability Compensation payment rates.

Backto Top
The CRSC Application Process:

To receive Combat Related Special Compensation you must submit your application (DD form
2860), through your parent military service branch. Each service branch has the authority to
determine your eligibility.


http://www.military.com/benefits/veteran-benefits/va-compensation-tables
http://www.military.com/benefits/veteran-benefits/va-compensation-tables
http://www.military.com/benefits/military-pay/special-pay/combat-related-special-compensation#Top
https://www.hrc.army.mil/site/crsc/documents/ClaimForm.pdf
https://www.hrc.army.mil/site/crsc/documents/ClaimForm.pdf
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VETERAN’S BENEFITS OTHERTHAN ATTENDANT-CARE, MEDICAL-AID
PAYMENTS, DISABILITY COMPENSATION, AND DEPENDENCY AND INDEMNITY
COMPENSATION -DIC

The excludable VA benefits changed with passage of SSB 5256. Prior to passage of this
legislation in 2008, any veteran’s benefits that did not represent attendant-care or
medical-aid payments had to be added to adjusted gross income in order to determine
disposable income.

Beginning with the 2008 income year, we can exclude the following benefits paid by
the Department of Veterans’ Affairs:

e attendant-care payments;

e medical-aid payments;

e disability compensation (VA disability), as defined in Title 38, part 3, section
3.4 of the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008; and

e dependency and indemnity compensation (DIC), as defined in Title 38, part 3, section
3.5 of the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008.

Any other veterans’ benefits must be included in disposable income.

Note: No matter the percentage of disability, VA disability income is excluded from
the disposable income calculation.

FEDERAL SOCIAL SECURITY ACT AND RAILROAD RETIREMENT BENEFITS

All of the social security paid to the applicant, spouse, domestic partner, or co-tenant
must be reported as income. The only means of truly identifying the amount is to review
the statement sent by the Social Security Administration. Usually, a portion of the social
security payment is taxable for federal income tax purposes. Only that portion not already
included in AGI must be added to determine disposable income. Many claimants will
argue that we are taxing their social security when in reality we are only determining their
eligibility for property tax relief.

Railroad retirement benefits are like a composite of a pension and social security. Again,
some of the benefit may be included in AGI if it is taxable for income tax purposes. Any
portion not already included in AGl must be added to determine disposable income.

A husband or wife can also receive just the spouse’s benefit at any age if he or she is
caring for their child who is also receiving benefits. The spouse would receive these
benefits until the child reaches age 16. At that time, the child’s benefits continue, but the
spouse’s benefits stop unless he or she is old enough to receive benefits based on their
age. This is sometimes called the “Mother’s Benefit”, and would be included in the
disposable income calculation regardless of whether or not the child is claimed as a
dependent on the tax return.
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DIVIDEND RECEIPTS

Most dividend receipts are taxable for federal income tax purposes but some are not. You
will need to look at Schedule B Part Il for non-taxable distributions. If any non-taxable
amounts are reported, they should be added to the adjusted gross income.

Note: The “qualified dividends” reported on Line 3a of Form 1040 are already included
in the amount reported on Line 3b. Do not add them twice!

INTEREST RECEIVED ON STATE AND MUNICIPAL BONDS

This type of interest is not subject to federal income tax so it will not be included in AGI.
Generally, you will find this income on Line 2a of Form 1040. However, there may be other
tax exempt interest income reported here that is not identified in our state statute as an
added item.

Only add the nontaxable interest received on state and municipal bonds!

“OTHERINCOME” ON FORM 1040 SCHEDULE 1

This line is the where the taxpayer will reportincome that does not fit on any other
line. Following are some of the more common things you will see reported on this
line.

Net Operating Losses - NOL

Under IRS rules, a taxpayer can sometimes have a “net operating loss” when deductions
for the year are more than income for the year. There are a whole set of rules to
determine how to calculate the loss but, for our purposes, we need to know that the
taxpayer can elect to carry the loss back and apply it to prior years or carry it forward to
apply to future years. You will see it reported on Line 8 as an “NOL carryforward” — maybe
justas an “NOL”. These are losses and should be added back per our definition of
disposable income.

Gambling Winnings
For purposes of determining combined disposable income, gambling winnings must be
included in disposable income. Gambling losses are not deductible and cannot be used to

offset winnings.

Under the laws and rules governing the property tax relief programs, “adjusted gross
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income” as determined under IRS rules is our starting place. Under IRS rules, gambling
winnings are included as income as part of adjusted gross income. Gambling losses can
be reported only if the taxpayer uses Schedule A to itemize deductions. Even if the
gambling winnings could be reported on the 1040 as a “net” amount, we would still have to
add back the gambling losses since they are classified as “losses” and we cannot use
losses to offset otherincome. WAC 458- 16A-120(2)(b)(iii)

Following are the pertinent IRS rules and instructions.

Schedule 1, Form 1040 Instructions:

Taxable income. Use line 8 to report any taxable income not reported elsewhere on
your return or other schedules. List the type and amount of income. If necessary,
include a statement showing the required information. For more details, see
Miscellaneous Income in Pub. 525.

Examples of income to report on line 8 include the following.

e Prizes and awards, jury duty pay, Alaska Permanent Fund Dividends,
canceled debts, Gambling winnings, including lotteries, raffles, a lump-sum
payment from the sale of a right to receive future lottery payments, etc. For
details on gambling losses, see the instructions for Schedule A, line 16.

Schedule A - Line 16 Instructions:

Only the expenses listed next can be deducted on this line. List the type and
amount of each expense on the dotted lines next to line 28. If you need more
space, attach a statement to your paper return showing the type and amount of
each expense. Enter one total on line 28.

Gambling losses (gambling losses include, but aren't limited to, the cost of non-
winning bingo, lottery, and raffle tickets), but only to the extent of gambling winnings
reported on Schedule 1, Form 1040, line 8.

Topic 419 - Gambling Income and Losses

The following rules apply to casual gamblers who aren't in the trade or business of
gambling. Gambling winnings are fully taxable and you must report the income on
your tax return. Gambling income includes but isn't limited to winnings from
lotteries, raffles, horse races, and casinos. It includes cash winnings and the fair
market value of prizes, such as cars and trips. For additional information, refer to
Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income, or review How Do | Claim My
Gambling Winnings and/or Losses?

Gambling Winnings

A payeris required to issue you a Form W-2G (PDF), Certain Gambling Winnings, if
you receive certain gambling winnings or have any gambling winnings subject to
federalincome tax withholding. You must report all gambling winnings on your
Schedule 1, Form 1040 as "Other Income" (line 8), including winnings that aren't
reported on a Form W-2G (PDF). When you have gambling winnings, you may be
required to pay an estimated tax on that additional income. For information on

withholding on gambling winnings, refer to Publication 505, Tax Withholding and
Estimated Tax.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
https://www.irs.gov/publications/p525/index.html
https://www.irs.gov/uac/how-do-i-claim-my-gambling-winnings-and-or-losses
https://www.irs.gov/uac/how-do-i-claim-my-gambling-winnings-and-or-losses
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2g.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2g.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2g.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/tax-trails-do-you-have-to-pay-estimated-tax-5
https://www.irs.gov/publications/p505/index.html
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Gambling Losses

You may deduct gambling losses only if you itemize your deductions on Form
1040, Schedule A and kept a record of your winnings and losses. The amount of
losses you deduct can't be more than the amount of gambling income you
reported on your return. Claim your gambling losses up to the amount of
winnings, as an "Other Miscellaneous Deduction" (line 16) that's not subject to
the 2% limit.

Difficulty Of Care Payments

In 2017, the Admin Group had a discussion regarding something new for this year.
The scenario:

The applicant has a disabled son and has been caring for him in her home for 50+
years. Sheis receiving income from DSHS for his care as an “individual Provider
to provide personal care services”. Thisincome is reported on a W-2 as wages,
however, on her tax return she is taking a deduction for most of it (as a loss on
the 1040) per “IRS issued Notice 2014-7” so it is not being included in Adjusted
Gross Income. This is considered “Difficulty of Care Payments” so it can be
excluded from taxable income for federal tax purposes. She provided a copy of
the notice DSHS sent to her explaining how to report it for federal tax purposes.

The notice is issued by the State of Washington, Department of Social and Health
Services, Aging and Long Term Support Administration, Developmental Disabilities
Administration. The first sentence says: “You are receiving this notification because
you are contracted as an Individual Provider to provide personal care services.” In the
second paragraph, it explains IRS Notice 2014-7.

IRS changed their rules regarding what is excluded from “gross income”. Difficulty of care
payments used to be included in gross income as part of wages. Since January 2014, that
was no longer true and, in March 2016, IRS also ruled to give that same status to payments
for personal care paid through state plan programs. To make a long story a little bit
shorter, what that means for us is that these types of payments should no longer be
included in the gross wages amount reported in Box 1 of the W-2.

To complicate the matter, based on the letter from DSHS provided by the taxpayer, it
looks like DSHS was not able to re-program in time to exclude those payments from the
amountin Box 1 of the W-2. Therefore, in order to make the IRS ruling work, the
nontaxable portion of the wages is deducted on Schedule 1.

There is nothing in law or rule directing us to add this amount back. Because itis now
excluded from gross income it is also excluded from adjusted gross income, which is our
starting point, and itis not on our list of income types to add when determining disposable
income.
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Bottom line, if you see this, you should not add back the deduction for the “difficulty
of care” payments.

Following is part of the Q&A on the IRS website.

Q. I received wage payments that are excludable from gross income under Notice
2014-7. However, the agency that pays me treats me as an employee and continued
to withhold federalincome tax on the payments and reported the payments as
wages in box 1 of Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. How should | report to the
Service that the payments are excludable from gross income?

A. If you are not able to obtain a Form W-2c, Corrected Wage and Tax Statement,
from the agency reporting the correct amountin box 1 of Form W-2, you should
include the full amount of the payments reported in box 1 of Form W-2 as wages on
line 7 of Form 1040. You should then subtract the excludable portion of the amount
inbox 1 on line 21 “Otherincome,” of Form 1040. If you have otherincome
reportable on line 21, you should enter the net amount after subtracting the
amount excludable from gross income under Notice 2014-7 from the other
amounts reportable on line 21. You may need to enter a negative amount on line 21
if you have no other income reportable on line 21, or if the amount of other income
you must report on line 21 is less than the amount excludable from gross income.
You should write “Notice 2014-7” on the dotted line for line 21 if you file a paper
return, or enter “Notice 2014-7” on line 21 for an electronically filed return.

COVID-19 Stimulus payments
Following is a Q&A from the IRS website:

Q. Is the stimulus Payment includible in my gross income?

A. No, the Paymentis notincludible in your gross income. Therefore, you will not
include the Payment in your taxable income on your Federal income tax return or
pay income tax on your Payment. It will not reduce your refund or increase the
amount you owe when you file your 2020 Federal income tax return.

A Payment also will not affect yourincome for purposes of determining eligibility
for federal government assistance or benefit programs.

According to this IRS Q&A, the “stimulus payment” will not be included in the calculation
for disposable/combined disposable income. This guidance is subject to change if IRS

guidance changes.

COVID-19 unemployment compensation/umemployment boost or supplement

Generally speaking, all forms of unemployment compensation is taxable income and
should be reported on Schedule 1, Form 1040 Line 7.
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However, for assessment year 2020/tax year 2021 The American Rescue Plan 2021 is an
economic stimulus bill passed by the United States Congress and signed into law by
President Joe Biden on March 11, 2021. One thing the plan does is excludes from
[federal] income up to $10,200 of unemployment compensation paid in 2020, which
means certain recipients of unemployment benefits don’t have to pay tax on the
unemployment compensation they received of up to $10,200.

The IRS is considering this an adjustment a taxpayer makes before the calculation of
federal adjusted gross income (AGI) rather than an adjustment/deduction/credit after the
calculation of AGI. There is no specific Washington statutory provision to “add back”
unemployment compensationifitisn’tincluded in AGl. This means that the $10,200 will
also be excluded from combined disposable income (CDI) for the purpose of the
exemption/deferral programs.

The taxpayer will receive a 1099-G detailing their unemployment compensation. On
Schedule 1 of Form 1040, Line 7 the taxpayer will report their gross unemployment
compensation. On Line 8 they will show an adjustment of up to 10,200 in parentheses-
(10,200)-to make the adjustment for what portion of their unemployment compensation is
notincluded as part of the provisions of the American Rescue Plan.

A couple things to note:
e thetaxpayer can only make an adjustment of up to $10,200, but the adjustment
cannot exceed the amount of unemployment compensation actually received.
e the adjustmentis up to $10,200 per person, so if a person is married filing
jointly, the Line 8 adjustment may exceed (10,200) if there is an adjustment
included for both spouses.

We encourage you to read the guidance published by the IRS to familiarize yourselves with
whatis/is notincluded in AGI and therefore in CDI for the purpose of the
exemption/deferral programs. This guidance includes a worksheet to figure out the
exclusion and the amounts to enter on Schedule 1, Lines 7 and 8.

https://www.irs.gov/fags/irs-procedures/forms-publications/new-exclusion-of-up-to-
10200-0of- unemployment-compensation


https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040s1.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/faqs/irs-procedures/forms-publications/new-exclusion-of-up-to-10200-of-unemployment-compensation
https://www.irs.gov/faqs/irs-procedures/forms-publications/new-exclusion-of-up-to-10200-of-unemployment-compensation
https://www.irs.gov/faqs/irs-procedures/forms-publications/new-exclusion-of-up-to-10200-of-unemployment-compensation
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COMBINED DISPOSABLE INCOME

Combined disposable income means the disposable income of the applicant, plus the
disposable income of his or her spouse or domestic partner, plus the disposable income
of any co-tenant(s) who occupied the residence during the assessment (income) year,
less any amounts paid by the applicant or his or her spouse or domestic partner for
allowable deductions toincome.

Remember, when the applicant’s financial situation changed during the year and the
change reduced income by two or more months during the assessment/income year, you
must use the income averaging method to calculate combined disposable income. Also
see pages 123.

RCW 84.36.381(4) The amount that the person is exempt from an obligation to pay
is calculated on the basis of combined disposable income, as defined in RCW
84.36.383. If the person claiming the exemption was retired for two months or more
of the assessment year, the combined disposable income of such person must be
calculated by multiplying the average monthly combined disposable income of
such person during the months such person was retired by twelve. If the income of
the person claiming exemption is reduced for two or more months of the
assessment year by reason of the death of the person's spouse or the person's
domestic partner, or when other substantial changes occur in disposable income
that are likely to continue for an indefinite period of time, the combined disposable
income of such person must be calculated by multiplying the average monthly
combined disposable income of such person after such occurrences by twelve. If it
is necessary to estimate income to comply with this subsection, the assessor may
require confirming documentation of such income prior to May 31 of the year
following application;

A “co-tenant” is a person who has an ownership interest in the home and lives in the home.

If a person lives in the home but does not have any ownership interest, only the amount
of income contributed to the running of the household should be included.

Income of an absent spouse or domestic partner may be excluded if the couple is
divorced, legally separated, living separate and apart, or has a valid property settlement
agreement separating the income of one spouse or domestic partner from the other.

Validly executed divorce, separation and/or property settlement agreement

If there is a validly executed separation and/or property settlement agreement, either of
which separates the income of one spouse or domestic partner from the other, then the
income of the spouse or domestic partner not occupying the residence should not be
included.

Absent spouse or domestic partner
Income of an “absent spouse or domestic partner” may also be excluded. Accordingto
WAC 458-16A-120(2)(a), “when a spouse or domestic partner has been absent for over a


http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-120
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year and the claimant has no knowledge of his/her spouse's or domestic partner's
whereabouts or whether the spouse or domestic partner has any income or not, and the
claimant has not received anything of value from the spouse or domestic partner or
anyone acting on behalf of the spouse or domestic partner, the disposable income of the
spouse or domestic partner is deemed to be zero for purposes of this exemption. The
claimant must submit with the application a dated statement signed by the applicant
under the penalty of perjury. This statement must state that more than one year prior to
filing this application:

(1) The claimant's spouse or domestic partner has been absent;

(i) The claimant has not and does not know the whereabouts of the claimant's
spouse or domestic partner;

(ii1) The claimant has not had any communication with the claimant's spouse or
domestic partner;

(iv) The claimant has not received anything of value from the claimant's
spouse or domestic partner or anyone acting on behalf of the claimant's
spouse or domestic partner.”

The statement must also agree to provide this income information if the claimantis able to
obtain it any time prior to the next renewal cycle.

Separated spouse or domestic partner

The income of a “separated” spouse or domestic partner might also not be included in
the situation described in RCW 26.16.140, which states as follows: When spouses or
domestic partners are living separate and apart, their respective earnings and
accumulations shall be the separate property of each........ As explained by case law,
“living separate and apart” means the couple must be living separately — maintaining
separate residences and keeping money and assets separate.

The intent is to avoid “punishing” the spouse who may be in the process of obtaining a
legal separation or divorce and, at the same time, avoid aiding those who are simply trying
to avoid paying property tax. Caution should be taken. In these cases, itis necessary to
verify that the “separate” spouse has no ownership interest in the residence to be
exempted, and that allincome, banking accounts, living expenses, etc., are truly separate.

If both are on title for the residence, they file a joint tax return, and there is no property
settlement agreement or legal separation, in the Department’s opinion you would have to
include both incomes because we cannot say they are “maintaining separate residences
and keeping money and assets separate”.

The things you want to look at include (but are not necessarily limited to):

e Ownership of any assets —the home, vehicles, bank accounts, investments,
business enterprises, etc.

e Income sources —does either spouse receive income from the other

e Living expenses —who is paying — utilities, mortgages, insurance, medical, etc.

e Taxreturn - status should be “married filing separately”

Because any exemption results in a shift of the tax burden to other taxpayers, it is
important that we follow the rules of strict construction and not inadvertently expand an


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.16.140
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exemption beyond the scope originally intended. Each set of circumstances is different
and in each scenario we have to look at the details before making a decision. Typically,
when one spouse is supporting or paying expenses for the other spouse, the income of the
absent spouse must be included.

ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS TO INCOME

For tax years 2021 and prior, there are four types of expenses that may be deducted
from combined disposable income. These include out-of-pocket costs for:

(1) Medicare insurance premiums paid under Title XVIIl of the Medicare Insurance Act.
At this time, other insurance premiums are not deductible. Deductible premiums
include Medicare Parts A, B, C, and D. Parts A and B are typically included in the
premium shown on the annual Social Security statement. Medicare PartDis a
Medicare prescription drug program and Medicare Part C is the MedicareAdvantage
program. Most MedicareAdvantage plans include Medicare Part D for prescription
drugs and some plans include extra coverage like vision, dental, and health and
wellness programs. To determine whether a particular planis an approved
MedicareAdvantage plan (Medicare Part C), go to the Medicare website at
https://www.medicare.gov/find-a- plan/questions/home.aspx. (See the
instructions beginning on the next page.)

Caution: If the taxpayer is a self-employed sole proprietor who has a self-
employed health insurance deduction on Schedule 1 Line 16 and also has
Medicare premiums to deduct, make sure that you are not allowing the Medicare
insurance premium deduction twice. Under IRS rules, this deduction allows
amounts for “Medicare premiums voluntarily paid to obtain insurance in the
individual’s name” that is similar to private health insurance. This could include
Medicare Parts B, C, and D.

(2) Nursing home, assisted living facility (boarding home), or adult family home costs.
This deduction is for the actual non-reimbursed costs of care and these costs may
be deducted from income in the year the costs are incurred.

3) Cost for care or treatment received in the home. These costs are for care or
treatment a person receives in the home that is similar to nursing home care. For
example, therapy or nursing care received in the home, meals on wheels, attendant
care, in-home hospice care, etc. Special needs equipment and/or furniture is also
included. See WAC 458-16A-100(18) for more details.

4) Non-reimbursed costs for prescription drugs.

For tax years 2022 tax year and after, applicants can deduct the 4 expenses listed
previously as well as additional health related expenses as follows (SHB 1438):

%) Premiums paid for Medicare supplemental policies. Medicare supplemental
insurance (Medigap) policies are sold by private companies. These plans help pay


https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx
https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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some heath care costs Original Medicare doesn’t cover. Medigap policies are
standardized and must be approved by Medicare. In most states the approved
supplemental plans are named by letters, Plans A-N. Price is the only difference
between policies with the same letter sold by different companies.

You can search approved supplemental plans on
Medicare.gov: https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-
supplemental-insurance- plans/#/m?lang=en&year=2021

You can also get information for Medicare supplemental plans via the Office of the
Insurance Commissioner (Washington)

Durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, medically
prescribed oxygen, and prosthetic devices. (RCW 82.08.0283) The department
has already vetted what qualifies as these types of items for the purpose of
sales/use tax exemption. WAC 458-20-18801 contains Tables (1, 3, 5) with lists of
qualifying items.

Table 1
Durable Medical Equipment Examples

*Anesthesia machine and ventilator

*Apnea monitors

e Atomizers (medical - Reusable)

*Beds, bags, trays, bedpans, commodes,
pads, pillows, crash carts, lamps, bulbs,
and tables (medical)

*Blood parameter monitor, pulse oximetry
equipment, and blood gas analyzer

*Bone growth stimulator (not worn on the
body)

*Bovie (cauterization)

eCardiopulmonary bypass machine

e Cofflator

eContinuous passive motion devices

eContinuous positive airway pressure (CPAP
& BI-PAP) machine (not worn on the body)

eDiagnostic equipment - Audiology, cardiology,
mammography, radiology

eElectronic speech aids (not worn on the body)

eEndoscopes

eEnteral feeding bags, tubing, and connectors

eFeeding plugs

*Glucose meters

eInstruments - Reuseable, e.g., clamps, drills,
forceps, retractors, scalpels, reamers,
scissors

eIntravenous (IV) stands and poles



https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-plans/
https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-plans/
https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-plans/
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcW/default.aspx?cite=82.08.0283
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-18801
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-18801
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eKidney dialysis devices

el asers

eLithotripters

*Nebulizers

*Respiratory humidifier

*Reusable needles or reusable staplers

eSling scales

eStapler (must be empty as staples are not
durable medical equipment)

eStethoscopes, stirrups, and stretchers
(medical)

eSuction regulators

*TENS units (not worn on the body)

eTourniguets

eUltrasound probes, transducers, and mini
dopplers

*Whirlpools (medical)

eX-ray equipment

Table 3

Mobility Enhancing Equipment Examples

*Bath aids - Raised toilet seat, tub and shower
stools

eBed pull-up T

eCanes

eCar seats (mobility enhancing)

*Crutches

eHandrails and grab bars to assistinrising
from commode, tub, or shower

eLift chairs and replacement parts

e Lifts (hydraulic or electric) used to raise or
transfer patients from bed to chair,
commode, or bath

eScooters and transporters

*Swivel seats enabling the disabled to rotate in
order to rise from a chair

eTransfer belts to assist in the transfer of
patients

*\Walkers

*\Wheelchairs

*Wheelchairs adapted for specific uses or
functions, e.g., all terrain wheelchairs
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Table 5
Prosthetic Device Examples
eAbdominal belts, binders, and supports
e Acetabular cups
*Ankle brace
e Antiembolism stocking
e Artificial eyes, heart valves, larynx, limbs
eBack braces
*Bone cement and wax
*Bone pins, plates, nails, screws
*Breast implants and external prosthesis
eCervical collars
eCochlearimplant
eContinuous positive airway pressure (CPAP)
machines which are specifically designed to
be wholly worn on the body and portable
eCorrective eye glasses and contact lenses
eDental prostheses including, but not limited
to, full and partial dentures, crowns, inlays,
fillings, braces, and retainers
eDrainage devices for single patient use
because they serve the same drainage
functions as the body's natural systems
eEar, nose, and throat implants
eEye glass frames and lenses
eFoley catheter
*Gastric bands and intragastric balloons
eHand and feet implants
*Head halters
eHearing aids
eImplanted pacemakers
eInsulin pumps
eKnee immobilizers
*Mastectomy surgical bras
*Maxillofacial devices implanted
*Membrane implants (neutron, spinal, joint)
eQOcularimplants
*Orthobiologics implants
*Orthopedic shoes, shoe lifts, inserts, arch
supports, heel protectors
*Pressure garments - Edema gloves

*Pressure garments - Mast pants, burn
garments
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eSalem sump with anti-reflux valve

eShoulder and elbow implants

*Skin implants - Synthetic

eSlings, braces, collars, casts, splints,
embolism stockings, arch pads, pelvic
traction belts, traction pulley clamp
assemblies and cords

*Slings - Medical

eSpecialized orthotic shoes, post-operation
shoes, cast shoes, diabetic shoes and
inserts, and other similar apparatus

*Speech aids (electronic) worn on the body

eSphincters - Medical

*Splints and splint materials

eStent implants through endoscopy

eStents (biliary, coronary and urinary)

*Stockings - Compression

eSutures, staples, and skin glue for closing
wounds

eTendon implants

*TENS units worn on the body

eTesticular and penile implants

eTrachea tubes

*Trusses

There may be instances where the cost of qualified durable medical equipment,
mobility enhancing equipment, and/or prosthetic devices is “bundled” with the
entire cost of a medical procedure. Then, that medical procedure is partially
covered by insurance and partially paid for by the patient. In this case, you may be
looking at a deduction for a cost-sharing amount vs. a equipment or device. On the
other hand, you may have an instance where someone without insurance coverage
pays directly for a qualified equipment or device (glucose meters, walkers, ankle
brace, eye glasses, etc.). Make sure you’re carefully reviewing supporting docs and
there are no “double deductions”.

Premiums paid for long-term care insurance. (RCW 48.84.020) means any
insurance policy or benefit contract primarily advertised, marketed, offered, or
designed to provide coverage or services for either institutional or community-
based convalescent, custodial, chronic, or terminallyill care. Such terms do not
include and this shall not apply to policies or contracts governed by the medicare
supplemental health insurance act and continuing care retirement communities.

Continuing care retirement communities also known as CCRCs or life plan
communities, are a long-term care option for older people who want to stay in the
same place through different phases of the aging process. They are non state
licensed and do not fall under


https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=48.84.020
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(8)

©)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

the categories nursing or adult family homes or assisted living facilities either.
Expenses for CCRCs are not deductible. You can verify whether a facility is
considered a CCRC by visiting DSHS:
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/ccrclookup.aspx

Cost-sharing amounts. (RCW 48.43.005(20)) To qualify as a cost-sharing
deduction, the applicant must be enrolled in a health plan of some kind. The
amounts counted toward the health plans “out-of-pocket maximum?” are what
qualifies as a cost-sharing amount for the purpose of this provision. Those are
typically, deductibles, co-payments, co- insurance amounts. The applicant
should be able to provide a year-end statement from the insurance company that
shows the total amount applied toward their out-of-pocket maximum in a
calendar year.

Nebulizers. (RCW 82.08.803). Nebulizers are also specifically identified as
durable medical equipment.

Medicines of mineral, animal, and botanical origin prescribed, administered,
dispensed, or used in the treatment of an individual by a Washington licensed
naturopath. (chapter 18.36A RCW - Washington naturopathy). You can search for
a Washington licensed naturopath here:
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/

Iltems that otherwise qualify under this provision, but are prescribed, administered,
dispensed, or used in the treatment of an individual by a medical professional other
than a Washington licensed naturopath or an out-of-state licensed naturopath do
not qualify for deduction.

Ostomic items. (RCW 82.08.804) Disposable medical supplies used by
colostomy, ileostomy, and urostomy patients and include bags, belts to hold up
bags, tapes, tubes, adhesives, deodorants, soaps, jellies, creams, germicides,
and related supplies. Does not include undergarments, pads and shields to
protect undergarments, sponges, or rubber sheets.

Insulin for human use. Insulin does not require a prescription from a
medical professional.

Kidney dialysis devices a device which physically performs the dialyzing or
separating process on blood. Kidney dialysis device does not include other
equipment or tools used in conjunction with a kidney dialysis device. Also
specifically identifiable as a durable medical equipment.

Disposable devices used to deliver drugs for human use (RCW 82.08.935) include
single- use items such as a single-use syringe, intravenous (IV) tubing, and IV
catheters. A stand or device that holds the tubing or catheter is not a disposable
device used to deliver drugs.



https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/ccrclookup.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/ccrclookup.aspx
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=48.43.005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.08.803
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rCW/default.aspx?cite=82.08.804
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.08.935
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PART C MEDICARE/ADVANTAGE PLANS vs. SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICARE PLANS

The statute, RCW 84.36.383(2)(c), says that “health care insurance premiums for
Medicare under Title 18 of the SSA” should be deducted when calculating combined
disposable income. Health care insurance premiums under Title 18 of the SSA
include:

Part A—Hospital Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,

Part B—Supplementary Medical Insurance Benefits for the Aged and
Disabled, Part C—Medicare + Choice Program — also called
MedicareAdvantage, and Part D—Voluntary Prescription Drug Benefit
Program

A MedicareAdvantage Plan (like an HMO or PPO) is another Medicare health plan choice
you may have as part of Medicare. MedicareAdvantage Plans, sometimes called “Part C”
or “MA Plans,” are offered by private companies approved by Medicare.

e [fyoujoin a MedicareAdvantage Plan, the plan usually provides Part A
(Hospital Insurance) and Part B (Medical Insurance) coverage.
MedicareAdvantage Plans may offer extra coverage, such as vision, hearing,
dental, and/or health and wellness programs. Most include Medicare
prescription drug coverage (Part D).

e Medicare pays a fixed amount for care every month to the companies offering
MedicareAdvantage Plans. These companies must follow rules set by Medicare.
However, each MedicareAdvantage Plan can charge different out-of-pocket
costs and have different rules for how you get services (like whether you need a
referral to see a specialist or if you have to go to only doctors, facilities, or
suppliers that belong to the plan for non-emergency or non-urgent care). These
rules can change each year.

Original Medicare pays for many, but not all, health care services and supplies. Medicare
supplemental, or Medigap, policies are sold by private insurance companies and can help
cover some of the health care costs that Medicare does not cover, like copayments,
coinsurance, and deductibles. A Part C MedicareAdvantage plan premium is an allowable
deduction. Medicare supplemental or Medigap premiums are not an allowable deduction
for tax years 2021 and before but they are allowed for tax years 2022 and after.

Instructions to use the link for the MedicareAdvantage plan website:

Medicare.gov provides a tool for you to verify approved Medicare Advantage
Plans. Go to https://www.medicare.gov/plan-compare/#/?lang=en

Click on “Continue without logging in”

Select “Medicare Advantage Plan”

Enter the zip code of the applicant

Click “Continue”



http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#hmo
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#ppo
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-a
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-a
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-a
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-b
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-d
http://www.medicare.gov/Glossary/m.html#part-d
https://www.medicare.gov/plan-compare/%23/?lang=en
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Select “I don’t get help from any of these programs”
Click “Next”
Select “No”
Click “Next”

If you find the taxpayer’s plan on this website, the planis an approved Part C,
MedicareAdvantage, plan and the premium is an allowable deduction.

If you do not find it here, the plan is most likely a Medicare supplemental/Medigap plan.
See next section for search tips on approved Medicare supplemental/Medigap plans.

Instructions to use the link for the Medicare supplemental/Medigap plan website:

Medicare.gov provides a tool for you to verify approved Medicare supplemental/Medigap
Plans. Go to https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-
plans/#/m?lang=en&year=2021

Enter the zip code of the applicant

Click “Start”

Or

Visit the Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner

website. https://www.insurance.wa.gov/medigap-medicare-

supplement-plans

Click on “Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans” for a pdf list of the most
recent quarters approved plans.

Ifyou do not find it here, the plan is most likely not a Medicare supplemental/Medigap
If you do not find the policy(ies) of the applicant in either a MedicareAdvantage search or
Medicare supplemental search the plan is most likely not a policy with deductible

premiums.

WHAT IS A PRESCRIPTION?

RCW 69.50.101(00) "Prescription" means an order for controlled substances issued by a
practitioner duly authorized by law or rule in the state of Washington to prescribe
controlled substances within the scope of his or her professional practice for a legitimate
medical purpose.

MEDICAL MARLJUANA

Medical marijuanais a legitimate prescription drug under RCW 69.51A. Because
marijuana is also legal for recreational use in Washington and many other states, we
need to differentiate between these two types of use when determining deductible
expenses for prescription drug expenses.


https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-plans/
https://www.medicare.gov/medigap-supplemental-insurance-plans/
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/medigap-medicare-supplement-plans
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/medigap-medicare-supplement-plans
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/medigap-medicare-supplement-plans
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50.101
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=69.51A
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NOTE: The authorization and the prescription are two different things.

Under this chapter, the person who has a prescription must also have “authorization”.

RCW 69.51A.010(1)
(a) Until July 1, 2016, "authorization" means:

(i) A statement signed and dated by a qualifying patient's health care
professional written on tamper-resistant paper, which states that, in the health
care professional's professional opinion, the patient may benefit from the
medical use of marijuana; and
(i1) Proof of identity such as a Washington state driver license or identicard, as
defined in RCW 46.20.035.
(b) Beginning July 1, 2016, "authorization" means a form developed by the
department thatis completed and signed by a qualifying patient's health care
professional and printed on tamper-resistant paper.
(c) An authorization is not a prescription as defined in RCW 69.50.101.

RCW 69.51A.010(19) "Qualifying patient" means a person who:
(a)(i) Is a patient of a health care professional,;
(i1) Has been diagnosed by that health care professional as having a
terminal or debilitating medical condition;
(i11) Is a resident of the state of Washington at the time of such diagnosis;
(iv) Has been advised by that health care professional about the risks and
benefits of the medical use of marijuana;
(v) Has been advised by that health care professional that they may benefit
from the medical use of marijuana;
(vi)(A) Has an authorization from his or her health care professional; or
(B) Beginning July 1, 2016, has been entered into the medical
marijuana authorization database and has been provided a
recognition card; and
(vii) Is otherwise in compliance with the terms and conditions established in
this chapter.
(b) "Qualifying patient" does not include a person who is actively being supervised
for a criminal conviction by a corrections agency or department that has
determined that the terms of this chapter are inconsistent with and contrary to his
or her supervision and all related processes and procedures related to that
supervision.

RCW 69.51A.010(20) "Recognition card" means a card issued to qualifying patients
and designated providers by a marijuana retailer with a medical marijuana
endorsement that has entered them into the medical marijuana authorization
database.

RCW 69.51A.010(23) "Tamper-resistant paper" means paper that meets one or more of
the following industry-recognized features:

(a) One or more features designed to prevent copying of the paper;

(b) One or more features designed to prevent the erasure or modification of information


http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.20.035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50.101
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.010
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on the paper; or
(c) One or more features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit authorization.

HOMEOPATHIC DRUGS

Starting with tax year 2022 a deduction for the cost of medicines of mineral, animal, and
botantical origin prescribed, administered, dispensed, or used in the treatment of an
individual by a Washington licensed naturopath are allowed. These typically do not fall
under the category “prescription drugs” but instead are commonly referred to as
“naturopathic medicines” because they are vitamin and mineral supplement compounds
rather than defined as a “drug”.

For tax years 2021 and before, these are not a deductible expense even if they were
prescribed, administered, dispensed, or used in the treatment of an individual by a
Washington licensed naturopath or not.

However, the term “drug” does include “substances recognized as drugs in the official
United States pharmacopoeia, official homeopathic pharmacopoeia of the United
States, or official national formulary, or any supplement to any of them”. The following
website is the official compendium for homeopathic drugs in the United States:
http://www.hpus.com/.

NOTE: A naturopath does also have authority to prescribe medical marijuana, as well
as codeine and testosterone products. Those prescriptions would be allowable
deductions as would a “drug” listed on the official homeopathic pharmacopoeia of
the United States.

If the applicantis under a physician’s care and can provide documentation that the
“naturopathic medicines” were prescribed as part of a specific course of treatment for an
illness, the Assessor might be able to allow some or all of the deductions under the “home
health care” category.

According to RCW 84.36.383(2)(a) we can allow a deduction for “drugs supplied by
prescription of a medical practitioner authorized by the laws of this state or another
jurisdiction to issue prescriptions™.

RCW 84.36.383(2) "Combined disposable income" means the disposable income
of the person claiming the exemption, plus the disposable income of his or her
spouse or domestic partner, and the disposable income of each cotenant
occupying the residence for the assessment year, less amounts paid by the person
claiming the exemption or his or her spouse or domestic partner during the
assessment year for:

(a) Drugs supplied by prescription of a medical practitioner authorized by the
laws of this state or another jurisdiction to issue prescriptions;

WAC 458-16A-100(23) Legally prescribed drugs. "Legally prescribed drugs"


http://www.hpus.com/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
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means drugs supplied by prescription of a medical practitioner authorized to issue
prescriptions by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction.

WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(vi)(E) If the claimant indicates that the non-reimbursed
prescription drug expenses for the claimant and the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner for the period under review exceeds five hundred dollars, copies of checks
or other payment statements (i.e., pharmacy printout of payments for purchases)
showing amounts paid for non-reimbursed prescription drug expenses;

The Washington State Healthcare Authority rules for prescription drug programs in WAC

» o«

182.50, provides definitions for the terms “drug”, “practitioner”, and “prescription.”

WAC 182.50.005 Definitions.
(3) "Drug" means the term as it is defined in RCW 69.41.010 (10) and (13).

(5) "Practitioner" means a health care provider, except a veterinarian, as
defined at RCW 18.64.011(33).

(8) "Prescription" has the meaning set forth in RCW 18.64.011(34).
RCW 69.41.010 Definitions.

(10) "Drug" means:

(a) Substances recognized as drugs in the official United States
pharmacopoeia, official homeopathic pharmacopoeia of the United

States, or official national formulary, or any supplement to any of them;

(b) Substances intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation,
treatment, or prevention of disease in human beings or animals;

(c) Substances (other than food, minerals or vitamins) intended to

affect the structure or any function of the body of human beings or

animals; and

(d) Substancesintended for use as a component of any article specified in (a),
(b), or (c) of this subsection. It does not include devices or their components,
parts, or accessories.

(13) "Legend drugs" means any drugs which are required by state law or
regulation of the state board of pharmacy to be dispensed on prescription
only or are restricted to use by practitioners only.

RCW 18.64.011(33) "Practitioner" means a physician, dentist, veterinarian, nurse,
or other person duly authorized by law or rule in the state of Washington to
prescribe drugs.

RCW 18.64.011(34) "Prescription" means an order for drugs or devices issued by
a practitioner duly authorized by law or rule in the state of Washington to prescribe
drugs or devices in the course of his or her professional practice for a legitimate
medical purpose.



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=182-50-005
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.41.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.41.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.011
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The scope of practice for a licensed naturopath is in chapter 18.36A RCW.

RCW 18.36A.040 Scope of Practice.

Naturopathic medicine is the practice by naturopaths of the art and science of the
diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of disorders of the body by stimulation or
support, or both, of the natural processes of the human body. A naturopath is
responsible and accountable to the consumer for the quality of naturopathic care
rendered.

The practice of naturopathic medicine includes manual manipulation
(mechanotherapy), the prescription, administration, dispensing, and use, except
for the treatment of malignancies, of nutrition and food science, physical
modalities, minor office procedures, homeopathy, naturopathic medicines, hygiene
and immunization, contraceptive devices, common diagnostic procedures, and
suggestion; however, nothing in this chapter shall prohibit consultation and
treatment of a patient in concert with a practitioner licensed under chapter 18.57 or
18.71 RCW. No person licensed under this chapter may employ the term
"chiropractic" to describe any services provided by a naturopath under this chapter.

RCW 18.36A.020(12) "Naturopathic medicines" means vitamins; minerals;
botanical medicines; homeopathic medicines; hormones; and those legend drugs
and controlled substances consistent with naturopathic medical practice in
accordance with rules established by the board. Controlled substances are
limited to codeine and testosterone products that are contained in Schedules lll,
IV, and V in chapter 69.50 RCW.

HOME HEALTH CARE

Remember - Only the Assessor has the authority to make the determination regarding
what can be allowed in a specific situation and only the Assessor has the authority to
approve or deny a claim for exemption.

“Home health care” is defined in WAC 458-16A-100(18).

(18) Home health care. "Home health care" means the treatment or care of either
the claimant or the claimant's spouse or domestic partner received in the home. It
must be similar to the type of care provided in the normal course of treatment or
care in a nursing home, although the person providing the home health care
services need not be specially licensed. The treatment and care must meet at least
one of the following criteria. It must be for:

(a) Medical treatment or care received in the home;

(b) Physical therapy received in the home;

(c) Food, oxygen, lawful substances taken internally or applied externally,
necessary medical supplies, or special needs furniture or equipment (such as
wheel chairs, hospital beds, or therapy equipment), brought into the home as part



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.57
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.71
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.36A.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50
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of a necessary or appropriate in-home service that is being rendered (such as a
meals on wheels type program); or

(d) Attendant care to assist the claimant, or the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner, with household tasks, and such personal care tasks as meal preparation,
eating, dressing, personal hygiene, specialized body care, transfer, positioning,
ambulation, bathing, toileting, self-medication a person provides for himself or
herself, or such other tasks as may be necessary to maintain a person in his or her
own home, but shall not include improvements or repair of the home itself.

Categories (a) and (b)

(a) Medical treatment or care received in the home;
(b) Physical therapy received in the home;

The first two types of care under (a) and (b) are pretty straightforward. These
include any type of medical treatment or care or physical therapy received in the
home. This would include physical therapy as well as any nursing or medical care
where the practitioner actually goes into the home.

Category (c) Food, oxygen, lawful substances taken internally or applied externally,
necessary medical supplies, or special needs furniture or equipment (such as wheel
chairs, hospital beds, or therapy equipment), brought into the home as part of a necessary
or appropriate in-home service thatis being rendered (such as a meals on wheels type
program)

Some items that might be included in category (c) in addition to the items listed -
i.e. oxygen, wheel chairs, hospital beds, therapy equipment, meals on wheels -
are diabetic supplies.

Supplies for diabetics fall into this category because even though “insulin” is
a prescription drug, the syringes and testing materials are not prescription
drugs.

This does not mean that we allow a deduction for daily multi-vitamins but it could
mean that we could allow a deduction in some cases when the situation is similar
to that of necessary supplies for diabetics.

Following are some other examples.

e Ataxpayerrequires oxygen. We can allow a deduction for the
delivery equipment and for the oxygen.

e Ataxpayer had blood tests indicating anemia and the doctor directed that
person to take an iron supplement for a month or two as part of a “course
of treatment”.

e Ataxpayeris undergoing chemo and is instructed to use “Ensure” as a
dietary supplement during the course of the chemo.

e Ataxpayer uses “life alert” or a similar type of service in case of falls or
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medical emergencies.

e Ataxpayer uses the Meals-On-Wheels program or something similar.

e Ataxpayer uses awalker or wheelchair and has installed a moveable ramp
to getin and out of the house. The cost to build a permanent ramp is not
deductible since that falls under “improvements or repair of the home
itself”.

e Portable bath furniture is purchased for the bathroom. Costs fora
bathroom remodel are not deductible since those would fall under
“improvements or repair of the home itself”.

e Service dogs — The cost of acquisition for the dog falls under “special needs
equipment”. There is no allowance for ongoing care and maintenance for
any type of special needs equipment so the cost of care for the dog
(including food, veterinary care, etc.) would not be an allowable deduction.

Category (d) Attendant care to assist the claimant, or the claimant's spouse or domestic
partner, with household tasks, and such personal care tasks as meal preparation, eating,
dressing, personal hygiene, specialized body care, transfer, positioning, ambulation,
bathing, toileting, self- medication a person provides for himself or herself, or such other
tasks as may be necessary to maintain a person in his or her own home, but shall not
include improvements or repair of the home itself

These types of services might also include the following.
e Light housekeeping

e Yard maintenance —including lawn care —when the applicantis
unable to maintain his/her own yard
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WORKSHEET TO CALCULATE CAPITAL GAIN ORLOSS ON
THE SALE OF A PRIMARY RESIDENCE

Disposable income includes capital gains, except for the gain from the sale of a principal
residence to the extent such gain is reinvested in a replacement principal residence either
prior to the sale or within the same calendaryear. RCW 84.36.383(7)(a) and WAC 458-
16A-100(12)(a).

Capital gain is the difference between the cost of the real property plus the cost of
improvements, and the selling price of the property less any sales expenses. See WAC
458-16A-100(4).

PART | - Calculating the Gain

(A) Selling Price of Old Home $

(B) Enter all allowable sales expenses $
(Sales commissions, etc.)
(See IRS Pub 523 for a list of allowable expenses)

© (C=A-B) Proceeds from sale of old home $

(D)  Purchase Price of Old Home $
(The price paid for it at the
time it was purchased)

(E) Enter the cost of any improvements $
to the old home (These costs must be documented
and verifiable with receipts — See the next page in your
manual and IRS Pub 523)

(F) (F=D+E) Adjusted basis of old home $

(G) (G=C-F Capital Gain or Loss (If -0- or less $

then there is no capital gain and you can stop here)

PART Il - Determining the Portion of the Gain to Include in Disposable Income

(H) Costofnewhome $

(I) (I1=G-H)Amount of Gain Not Re-invested $

If the amount on Line (1) is -0- or less, then the entire gain has been reinvested. The
purchase price of the new home exceeds the amount of capital gain realized from the sale
of the old home and there is nothing to report as income. Any amount on Line | thatis
greater than -0- must be included in disposable income. This represents the portion of the
capital gain that was not re- invested in the replacement residence.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html
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DETERMINING ADJUSTED BASIS AND GAIN ORLOSS ON SALE

See IRS Publication 523 for additional assistance.

Selling expenses. Selling expenses include:

¢ Commissions,

e Advertising fees,

e Legalfees, and

e Loancharges paid by the seller, such as loan placement fees or “points.”

Examples of Increases and Decreases to Basis

Increases to Basis Decreases to Basis

Capital improvements:
» Putting an addition on your

home
Replacing an entire roof
Paving your driveway
Installing central air conditioning
Rewiring your home

> Exclusionfromincome of
subsidies for energy
conservation measures

Casualty or theft loss deductions
and insurance reimbursements

YV V VYV

Credit for qualified electric vehicles
Assessments for local

Improvements: _ > Section 179 deduction

» Water connections

» Sidewalks Deduction for clean-fuelvehicles
» Roads

and clean-fuel vehicle refueling

t
Casualty losses: property

» Restoring damaged property > Depreciation

Legalfees:

» Costofdefending and
perfecting a title

Nontaxable corporate distributions

Zoning costs

Determining Basis when the taxpayer built the residence or contracted to have it
built - from IRS Publication 523

Construction. If you contracted to have your house built on the land you own, your basis is:
e The costofthe land, plus

e Theamountit cost you to complete the house, including:


https://www.irs.gov/publications/p523/ar02.html
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5.
6.

. The cost of labor and materials,

Any amounts paid to a contractor,
Any architect's fees,

Building permit charges,

Utility meter and connection charges,

Legal fees directly connected with building the house.

Your costincludes your down payment and any debt such as a first or second mortgage or
notes you gave the seller or builder. It also includes certain settlement or closing costs.
You must reduce your basis by points the seller paid you.

If you built all or part of your house yourself, its basis is the total amount it cost you to
complete it. Don’t include in the cost of the house:

e Thevalue of your own labor, or

¢ Thevalue of any other labor for which you didn’t pay.
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INSTALLMENT SALE WORKSHEET

Step 1: First, determine the capital gain or loss on the installment sale. Ifthereisa
loss, you will simply exclude the loss. If there is a gain, you can use this worksheet to
determine how much of the annual receipts should be included in disposable income.

Gain on the Sale $

Step 2: Calculate the percentage of profit.

Divide the gain  ($ )

by the sales price ($ ) to arrive at the

percentage of profit ( %)

Step 3: Subtract the interest received from the total payment amount received.

$ (Total amount received in the income year)
(Interest portion of the amount received)
$ (Portion attributed to principal)

Step4: Multiply the principal portion of the amount received (from Step 3) by the
percentage of profit (from Step 2) to determine how much of the principal received is a
capital gain that must be included in the disposable income calculation.

$ (Step 3 Answer)
X (Step 2 Answer)
$ (Capital Gain)

The payments received from the contract sale that represent interest (Step 3) and
capital gain (Step 4) must be included as income in the year the income is actually
received.
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SAMPLE LETTER AND QUESTIONAIRE FOR
TAXPAYERS WHO REPORT -0- INCOME
DATE

Name
Address
Address

Dear:

We have received your application for property tax exemption (or deferral) for taxes due in
2022. You stated on the application that yourincome for 2021 was zero. Your combined
disposable income is an important factor is determining whether you meet the
requirements for this program. Having zero income raises some questions in our minds,
and we want to be sure this information has been reported accurately.

Itis very unusual for an applicant to receive no income. The income that must be reported
for determining eligibility in this program is unique. Some applicants may be receiving
income that should be reported on this application even though it is not generally viewed
by other organizations as income. Consequently, these income amounts may have
inadvertently been excluded when you were completing your application.

We know there are expenses connected with maintaining and operating a home, and
expenses associated with daily living, but you have not listed any income sources on your
application. To ensure that we are approving your application based on accurate
information, we are asking you to answer the questions on the following page regarding
your income information for 2021.

Please return the sighed document to me as soon as possible.

Be assured your answers will be held in strict confidence. The information you provide
will be used only to approve or deny your claim for property tax exemption (or deferral).
Your signature attesting to your 2021 income is subject to the penalty of perjury contained
in chapter 9A.72 of the Revised Code of Washington.

Sincerely,

Name

Title

Office

Phone number
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Taxpayers
Name Mailing
Address

Property Address

INCOME SOURCES - Indicate by checking the boxes and providing the dollar
amounts received for all income sources that apply for you as the applicant (A),
your spouse/domestic partner (S/DP) and any co-tenants (C).

A | S/DP| C | $$AMOUNT | INCOME SOURCE

Filed an IRS tax return

Earned wages

Pensions or Annuities

IRA distributions

Social Security benefits or Railroad Retirement benefits

Cash and/or Food Assistance from DSHS

Veterans benefits

Military benefits

L & I benefits, Worker’s Compensation, or other similar
benefits

Unemployment benefits

Alimony, Spousal Maintenance, or Child Support

Interest or Dividends

Gambling Winnings

Trust, Royalty, Partnership, Estate/Inheritance income

Investment income - capital gains (stocks, mutual funds,
etc.)

Foreign income

Rental, Business, or Farm income

Savings, Certificates of Deposit (CD’s), Money Market
Accounts

Reverse Mortgage

Gifts or Loans from family, friends, or others

Contributions from others who live in your home

Other (describe):

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoingis true and correct.

(Signature)

(Date and place of signing)
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DecodingSocialSecurity"Claim"Numbers-Social Security Benefit Statement, Box 8.

A claim number is the Social Security number on which you are claiming Social Security
benefits. And it's always followed by a little letter symbol to indicate the kind of benefit
you have claimed. For many people, their claim number is simply their own Social
Security number with the little symbol following it, usually an "A." But some people claim
Social Security benefits on another person's Social Security record — almost always a
spouse and sometimes a parent. So their claim number is the spouse's or parent's Social
Security number followed by the appropriate claims symbol.

The letters were essentially assigned alphabetically, as benefits were added to Social
Security law. Here is a list of the claims symbols used. It's not a complete list.

—A —This claims symbol indicates you are getting your own retirement benefits
—B — You are getting benefits as an aged (over 62) wife on your husband's record
—B1—You are getting benefits as an aged (over 62) husband on your wife's record

—B2 —You are getting benefits on your husband's record as a young wife (under age 62)
caring for his minor child

—B6 — You are getting benefits as a divorced wife on your ex husband's record
—C — You are getting benefits as a child on your parent's record

—D —You are getting aged (over age 60) widow's benefits from your deceased husband's
record

—D1 —You are getting aged (over age 60) widower's benefits from your deceased wife
—D6 —You are getting divorced widow's benefits

—E — You are getting mother's benefits — paid to a widow under age 60 who is caring for
the minor children of a father who has died

—E1 — same as above, except you are divorced from the father

—E4 —You are getting father's benefits — paid to a widower under age 60 who is caring
for the minor children of a mother who has died

—F —You are getting benefits as a dependent parent on a grown son or daughter's Social
Security account (very rare)

—HA —You are getting disability benefits on your own account

—M —You don't have enough work credits for regular Social Security and you only qualify
for Part B Medicare benefits

—T —You are not insured for Social Security benefits, but you are eligible for Part A
hospital coverage from Medicare

—W —You are getting disabled widow's benefits on your deceased husband's account

—W1 —You are getting disabled widower's benefits on your deceased wife's account
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94948

[]voID

[ | CORRECTED

PAYER'S name, street addrass, city or town, state or province,
country, and ZIP or foreign postal code

1 Gross distribution

COME Mo, 1545-0119

Distributions From
Pensions, Annuities,
Retirement or

: 2017

S\ Profit-Sharing
2a Taxable amount Plans, IRAs,
Insurance
3 rorm 1099-R Contracts, etc.

2b Taxable amount Total Co
X - py A
not determined |:| distribution l:‘ FOI’

PAYER'S federal identification
number

RECIPIENT'S identification

number

3 Capital gain {included
in box 2a)

4 Federal income tax
withheld

Internal Revenue
Service Center

File with Form 1096.

RECIPIENT’S name

5 Employee contributions
/Designated Roth
contributions or
insurance premiums

6 Net unrealized
appreciation in

employer's securities

For Privacy Act
and Paperwork
Reduction Act

$ $ Notice, see the
Street address (including apt. no.) 7 Distribution A/ | 8 Other 2017 General
code(s) ST\.EE' - Instructions for
D" Certain
$ %
. . . - Information
City or town, state or province, country, and ZIP or foreign postal code|9a  Your percentage oftotal | 9D Total employes contributions Returns.
distribution o, $
10 Amount allocable to IRR 11 1styear of FATCAfiling |12 State tax withheld 13 State/Payer's state no. | 14 State distribution
within 5 years desig. Roth confrip,| reauiremant $ 3
$ Ll $ $
Account number (see instructions) 15 Local tax withheld 16 Name of locality 17 Local distribution
$ $
$ $

Form 1099-R  Cat. No. 144360

Do Not Cut or Separate Forms on This Page

www.irs.gow/form1099r

Department of the Treasury - Intemal Revenue Service

Do Not Cut or Separate Forms on This Page
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Instructions for Recipient

Generally, distributions from pensions, annuities, profit-sharing and
retirement plans {including section 457 state and local government
plans), IRAs, insurance contracts, etc., are reported to recipients on
Form 1093-R.

Qualified plans. If your annuity starting date is after 1997, you must
use the simplified method to figure your taxable amount if your payer
did not show the taxable amount in box 2a. See the instructions for
Form 1040, 10404, or 1040MR.

IRAs. For distributions from a traditional individual retirement
arrangement (IRA), simplified employee pension (SEP), or savings
incentive match plan for employees (SIMPLE), generally the payer is
not required to compute the taxable amount. See the Form 1040,
1040A, or 1040NR instructions to determine the taxable amount. If
you are at least age 70V%, you must take minimum distributions from
your IRA (other than a Roth IRA). If you do not, you are subjectto a
50% excise tax on the amount that should have been distributed. See
Pub. 590-A and Pub. 590-B for more information on IRAs.

Roth IRAs. For distributions from a Roth IRA, generally the payer is
not required to compute the taxable amount. You must compute any
taxable amount on Form 8606. An amount shown in box 2a may be
taxable eamings on an excess contribution.

Loans treated as distributions. If you borrow money from a qualified
plan, section 403(bj) plan, or governmental section 457(b) plan, you
may have to treat the loan as a distribution and include all or part of
the amount borrowed in your income. There are exceptions to this
rule. If your loan is taxable, Code L will be shown in box 7. See

Pub. 575.

Recipient's taxpayer identification number. For your protection, this
form may show only the last four digits of your social security number
(SSN), individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN), adoption
taxpayer identification number (ATIN), or employer identification
number (EIM). However, the issuer has reported your complete
identification number to the IRS.

FATCA filing requirement. If the FATCA filing requireament bax is
checked, the payer is reporting on this Form 1099 to satisfy its

Instructions for Recipient (Continued)
distribution {other than a distribution from a designated Roth account)
from a qualified plan (including a governmental section 457(b) plan) or
section 403(b) plan to a Roth IRA, you must include on the “Taxable
amount” line of your tax return the amount shown in this box plus the
amaount in bow 6, if any.

If this is a total distribution from a qualified plan and you were bom
before January 2, 1936 (or you are the beneficiary of someone bom
before January 2, 1936), you may be eligible for the 10-year tax
option. See the Form 4972 instructions for more information.

If you are an eligible retired public safety officer who elected to
exclude from income distributions from your eligible plan used to pay
certain insurance premiums, the amount shown in box 2a has not
been reduced by the exclusion amount. See the instructions for Form
1040, 10404, or 1040NR for more information.

Box 2b. If the first box is checked, the payer was unable to determine
the taxable amount, and box 2a should be blank, except far an IRA. It
is your responsibility to determine the taxable amount. If the second
box is checked, the distribution was a total distribution that closed out
your account.

Box 3. If you received a lump-sum distribution from a qualified plan
and were borm before January 2, 1936 (or you are the beneficiary of
someone borm before January 2, 193&), you may be able to elect to
treat this amount as a capital gain on Form 4972 (not on Schedule D
{(Form 1040)). See the Form 4972 instructions. For a charitable gift
annuity, report as a long-term capital gain as explained in the
Instructions for Form 8949,

Box 4. Shows federal income tax withheld. Include this amount on
your income tax retum as tax withheld, and if box 4 shows an amount
(other than zero), attach Copy B to your retum. Generally, if you will
receive payments next year that are not eligible rollover distributions,
you can change your withholding or elect not to have income tax
withheld by giving the payer Form W-4P.

Box 5. Generally, this shows the employee's investment in the
contract (after-tax contributions), if any, recovered tax free this year,
the portion that is your basis in a designated Roth account; the part of

chapter 4 account reporting requirement. You also may have a filing
requirement. See the Instructions for Form 8338.

Account number. May show an account or other unigue number the
payer assigned to distinguish your account.

Box 1. Shows the total amount you received this year. The amount
may have been a direct rollover, a transfer or conversion to a Roth
IRA, a recharacterized IRA contribution; or you may have received it
as periodic payments, as nonperiodic payments, or as a total
distribution. Report the amount on Form 1040, 10404, or 1040NR on
the line for “IRA distributions™ or “Pensions and annuities” (or the line
for “Taxable amount™), and on Form 8606, as applicable. However, if
this is a lump-sum distribution, see Form 4972, If you have not
reached minimum retirement age, report your disability payments on
the line for “Wages, salaries, tips, etc.” on your tax retumn. Also report
on that line permissible withdrawals from eligible automatic
contribution arrangements and corrective distributions of excess
deferrals, excess contributions, or excess aggregate contributions
except if the distribution is of designated Roth contributions or your
after-tax contributions or if you are salf-employed.

If a life insurance, annuity, qualified long-term care, or endowment
contract was transferred tax free to another trustee or contract issuer,
an amount will be shown in this box and Code 6 will be shown in box
7. If a charge or payment was made against the cash value of an
annuity contract or the cash surrender value of a life insurance
contract for the purchase of qualified long-term care insurance, an
amount will be shown in this box and Code W will be shown in box 7.
You need not report these amounts on your tax retum.

Box 2a. This part of the distribution is generally taxable. If there is no
entry in this box, the payer may not have all the facts needed to figure
the taxable amount. In that case, the first box in box 2b should be
checked. You may want to get one of the free publications from the
IRS to help you figure the taxable amount. See Additional information
on the back of Copy 2. For an IRA distribution, see IRAs and Roth
IRAs on this page. For a direct rollover, other than from a qualified
plan to a Roth IRA, zero should be shown, and you must enter zero
(-0-) on the “Taxable amount” ling of your tax retumn. if you roll over a

(Continued on the back of Copy C.)

premiums paid on commercial annuities or insurance contracts

recovered tax free; or the nontaxable part of a charitable gift annuity.

This box does not show any IRA contributions. If the amount shown is

your basis in a designated Roth account, the year you first made

contributions to that account may be entered in box 11.

Box 6. If you received a lump-sum distribution from a gualified plan

that includes securities of the employer's company, the net unrealized

appreciation (NUA) (any increase in value of such securities while in

the trust) is taxed only when you sell the securities unless you choose

toinclude it in your gross income this year. See Pub. 575 and

Form 4972, If you roll over the distribution to a Roth IRA, see the

instructions for Box 2a. If the distribution was a direct rollover, the

NUA is included in box 2a. if you did not receive a lump-sum

distribution, the amount shown is the NUA attributable to employee

contributions, which is not taxed until you sell the securities.

Box 7. The fellowing codes identify the distribution you received. For

more infarmation on these distributions, see the instructions for your

tax retumn. Also, certain distributions may be subject to an additional

10%6 tax. See the Instructions for Form 5329,

1—Early distribution, no known exception (in most cases, under age
5014).

2— Early distribution, exception applies (under age 5915).

3—Disability.

4—Death.

5—Prohibited transaction.

6—Section 1035 exchange (a tax-free exchange of life insurance,
annuity, qualified long-term care insurance, or endowment
contracts).

T—MNormal distribution.

8—Excess contributions plus eamnings/excess deferrals (and/or
eamings) taxable in 201 7.

9—Caost of current life insurance protection.

A—May be eligible for 10-year tax option (see Form 4972).

B —Designated Roth account distribution.

(Continued on the back of Copy 2.)
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Instructions for Recipient (Continued)
Mote: If Code B is in box 7 and an amount is reported in box 10,

see the Instructions for Form 5329.

D—Annuity payments from nongualified annuities that may be subject
to tax under section 1411.

E —Distributions under Employee Plans Compliance Resolution
System (EPCRS).

F—Charitable gift annuity.

G —Direct rollover of a distribution to a qualified plan, a section 403(b)
plan, a governmental section 457(b) plan, or an IRA.

H—Diract rollover of a designated Roth account distribution to a Roth
IRA.

J—Early distribution from a Roth IRA, no known exception (in most
cases, under age 5915).

K—Distribution of traditional IRA assets nat having a readily available
FRIV.

L—Loans treated as distributions.

N—Recharacterized IRA contribution made for 2017 and
recharacterized in 2017.

P—Excess contributions plus eamings/excess deferrals (and/or
eamings) taxable in 2016.

Q —_Cualified distribution from a Roth IRA.

R—Recharacterized IRA contribution made for 2016 and
recharacterized in 2017.

S—Early distribution from a SIMPLE IRA in first 2 years, no known
exception (under age 591%).

T—Roth IRA distribution, exception applies.

U—Dividend distribution from ESOP under section 404(k).
Mote: This distribution is not eligible for rollover.

W —Charges or payments for purchasing qualified long-term care
insurance contracts under combined arrangements.

If the IRA/SEP/SIMPLE box is checked, you have received a
traditional IRA, SEP, or SIMPLE distribution.

Box 8. If you received an annuity contract as part of a distribution,
the value of the contract is shown. It is not taxable when you receive it
and should not be included in boxes 1 and 2a. When you receive
periodic payments from the annuity contract, they are taxable at that
time. If the distribution is made to more than one person, the
percentage of the annuity contract distributed to you is also shown.
You will need this information if you use the 10-year tax option (Form
4972). If charges were made for qualified long-term care insurance
contracts under combined arrangements, the amount of the reduction
in the investment (but not below zero) in the annuity or life insurance
contract is reported here.

Box 9a. If a total distribution was made to more than one person, the
percentage you received is shown.

Box 9b. For a life annuity from a qualified plan or from a section
403(b) plan (with after-tax contributions), an amount may be shown for
the employee’s total investment in the contract. It is used to compute
the taxable part of the distribution. See Pub. 575.

Box 10. If an amount is reporied in this box, see the Instructions for
Form 5329 and Pub. 575.

Box 11. The 1st year you made a contribution to the designated Roth
account reported on this form is shown in this box.

Boxes 12-17. If state or local income tax was withheld from the
distribution, boxes 14 and 17 may show the part of the distribution
subject to state and/or local tax.

Future developments. For the latest information about developments
related to Form 1099-R and its instructions, such as legislation
enacted after they were published, go to www.irs.gov/form1099r.

Additional information. You may want to see:

Form W-4P Pub. 575
Form 4972 Pub. 590-A
Form 5329 Pub. 590-B
Form 8606 Pub. 721
Pub. 560 Pub. 939
Pub. 571 Pub. 969
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Here is the link to the 4506-T: http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f4506t.pdf.

45 06_"' Request for Transcript of Tax Return
o » Do ot sign this form unless all applicable lines have been completed.

[June 2019) 5 g g g OME No. 1546-1872
Department of the Traamsry L Hﬂqufﬁt rm:qrb-& rejected if the form |a_|n.¢n-mpla!n or illegible.
Internal Aevenus Sendce | * For more information abouwt Form 4506-T, visit www.irs. gov/formd&06t.

Tip. Use Form 4506-T to order & transcript or other return information free of charge. See the product st below. You can quickly rEqLE.Ed tremscripts by using
our eutomated salf-help service toolks. Pleass visit us &t IRS.gov and click on *Get a Tax Transcript...” under “Tools™ or call 1-800-808-2845. F you need a copy
of your retum, use Form 4506, Request for Copy of Tax Retumn. There is a fee o get & copy of your retum.

1a Mame shown on tax retumn. if a joint retumn, enter the name 1t First social security number on tax retum, individual taxpayer identification
shown first. numibar, or employer identification number |see instructions)
2a If a joint retumn, enter spouse’s name shown om tax retum. 2b Second social security number or individual taxpayer
identification number if joint tax returm

3 Current name, address (including apt., room, or suite no.), city, state, and ZIP code (see instructions)

4 Previous address shown on the last retum filed if different from line 3 [see instructions)

& Customer file number (if applicable) (see instructions)

HNote: Effective July 2019, the IRS will mail tax transcript requests only to your address of record. Ses What's Mew under Future Developments on
Page 2 for additional information.

& Transcript requested. Enter the tax form number hera (10402 « ”» m
number por raquost - 1040” goes here. Check

—~

a Return Tramscript, which includes most of the line items
changes made to the account after the refum is processed.
Form 1065, Form 1120, Form 1120-A, Form 1120-H, Form 1120-L,
and retums processed during the prior 3 processing years. Most requests will be proce

appropriate box/boxes

amessdays . . . . . . [
b Account Transcript, which contains information on the financiel status of the account, such as payments made on the account, penalty
gssassments, and adjustments made by you or the |RS after the return was filed. Retum information i limited to items such as tax liability
and estimated tax payments. Account transcripts are svailable for most returns. Most requests will be processed within 10 business days . [

¢ Record of Account, which provides the most deteiled information as it is a combination of the Retumn Transcript and the Account
Transcript. Available for cument year and 3 prios tax years. Most requests will be processed within 10 business days

T Verification of Monfiling, which is proof from the IRS thaf you did not file a retum for the year. Current year requests are only available
after June 15th. There are no availability restrictions on prior year requasts. Most requests will be processed within 10 business days . . [

B  Form W-2, Form 1009 series, Form 1098 series, or Form 5408 series transcript. The IAS can provide & transcript that includes data from
these information retums. State or local information is not included with the Form W-2 information. The IRS may be able to provide this
transcript information for up to 10 years. Information for the cument year & generally not evailable unti the year after it is filed with the IRS. For
example, W-2 information for 2016, filed in 2017, wil likely not be avelable from the IRS until 2018. If you need W-2 information for retirement
purposes, you should contact the Sociel Sacurity Administration at 1-800-772-1213. Most requests will be processed within 10 business days . [

Caution: I you nesd a copy of Form W-2 or Form 1088, you should first contact the payer. To get a copy of the Form W-2 or Form 10263 filed
with your retum, youw must use Form 4506 and request a copy of your retum, which includes all attachments.

|

%  Year or pericd requested. Enter the ending date of the year or period, using the mm/ddfyyyy format. f you are requesting more than fouwr
years of periods, you must attach another Form 4506-T. For requests relating to quarterly tax retums, such as Form 941, you must enter

each quarier or tax pericd separatsty. / J | / ) | / F | ! /
Caution: Do not sign this form unless all applicable lines have Nﬂmpletad.
Signature of tawnas==i-l I ==clare fhai | am either the tapayer N‘a iz shown on line 12 or 2a, or a person authorized to obtain the tax

ipi= = igint retum, at least st cisnoaizanad by g corporate officer, 1 percent or meore
H 5 matiers partner, s maarty other than the taxpayer, |

Taxpayer must sign on behaif of thg 249 within 120 days of the

5 _ Entertaxyears here -
Signatory atte, = read the attestation clause and ;
B 1o mathos n the Form 4506-T. See instructions. up to 4 years e
} |
Signature (sse Instnuciians) Date

Sign

Here } Titde (i Iine 12 abowe Is & corparation, parmership, estats, or tust)

} Spouse’s signature e

For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see page 2 Cat. Mo, 37887 rorm 4606-T pev. 6-201g)


http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f4506t.pdf
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Form 4506-T [Rev. 6-2015)

Pags 2

Eaction nelorances ara bo the intemal Revenua Code unlass
othareisa roted.

Future Developments

For thie laiest information about Fom £508-T and s
Instructions, go io wew. s gowTomm-S0. Information aboud
any recen davaiopmants affecing Form 4500-T jsuch as
enacted afer we reksasod 1] wil b posied on that
paga.
What's Maw. A part of s ongoing aiiorts i protact
data, T Inemal Roverus Senvics anrounced that
In July 2011, i wil siop all third-party malings of
transcripts. Afer This dala maskad Tax Transcripts wil only
be malied 10 the axpayer's acoress of raco.
H & third-party Is Unabis to acoapt a Tax Transoript makad o
the taparyar, Thay mary Giher ooriract with an axsting IVES
participant or become an IVES paricipant thamsaeheas. For
addmonal imomation about the WES program, go o
www.irs.gov and saanch WVEE.
General Instructions
Causlion: Do nof sign this form uniess afl appicabla Inos
harea been compiated.
Purpcsa of form. Uss Form 4500-T to requast 1ax retum
Infcemation. Tanpayers using & tax yaar beginning in on
calandar year and Gnding In tha foliowing yaar Mscal ta yoar)
must fig Form 4500-T 1o requast a ratum tranmsoript.
Mofe: I you ara Lnsure of which fypa of anscript you nead,
reguest tha Record of Account, as | providas the most
catalked Infommation.
Customer Flike Mumber. Tha transcripts provided h'rmﬂ“HE-
harea bean modified 1o tapayers’ p
only dispiary partial personal Informaton, 5ud1=|1hﬂlul1m.r
of tha tampayer's Social Sacurtty Numbar. Full francial
and tax information, such as wages and lmabis income, ara

Chart for all other transcripts
It you Ihvesd in

of your business was Mall or Tax to:
In:

Alabama, Alasks, Adrona,
Arkarsas, Califonia,
‘Colorada, Connactiout,
Diclawars, Disirict of
Columiia, Florids, Goomly,
Hawall, idaho, Blinais,
Iradlara, bowa, Kansas,
Kartucky, Lodsiara,

2 - in‘tﬂ'nai_l_!il:lmmm Sarvice
Mnnmcts, Mesesipp, VS
Missaur, Monara, E‘g g’“ Hady
Nsbraska, hwaca, New ) v
Jorsiy, Mo Madics, Mot CIET,
Carciira, MNorsh Daiota, Dhic,
Didshoma, Cragan, Frods
stand, South Carina, Souh
Dakota, Tanressed, Taxas,
LRa, Vighia, Washigion,  895-288-1145

Wnt Virginia, Wisconsin,
Wyoming, a forsign courtry,
Amarican Eamoa, Fusno
Rico, Guam, the
Commomesalth of the
Mortham Mariana isiands,
1ha LLE. Virgin Islards,
AF.O.or F.P.0. address

Corporations. Genarally, Fom 4506-T Gan ba signed by
[1) 2n oficar having legal authory 1o bind tha corporation, 2
any parson dasignataed by the board of dineciors or othar
povaming of [3) any officer or on written
requast by any principal oficer and atiasied 1o by tha
sacretary or oihar officar. A bona fide sharshoidar of record
owning 1 paroant or mora of tha outstanding siock of tha

lon mary submi a Form 4500-T but must provida
documentation 1o support tha requestar's Aght 10 Teosha e
Informatian.

Partnorships. Genarally, Fom 4508-T can ba signad by
any parson who was 2 mamber of tha partnership during any
part of tha tax period requastad on in 0.

AN others. Ega saction 0103{=) If the laxpayer has died, s
Insateart, |5 a dissoived ion, or F a trustes, guardian,
GRGCLRON, FRcGivGr, Of adminisiraor i acting for T Tapayer.
Motg: I you ars Helr 2t rw, Maid of kin, or Benaftolry you
must be abka 10 establish 3 materal Interest In o astae or
trust.

Documentation. For antities othar than inchiduals, you
must attach the-autharization documant. For axampis, Tis
DOuld b tha lether from tha pringipal officer aushorizing an
empicyss of T oorporation o the latters tastamentary
authorizing an inchvidual 0 act for an astala.

Signaturs by a Arep can sgn
meva;nwumrmuupwm
spectically delegaiad this authorty 20 the mpesantatve on
Form 2848, InG 5. The represemaiive must a=ach Form 2848
showing the dalagation 1o Fom 4506-T.

SNOWT 0N this transoript.

An optional Customar File Mumber fisid s avaliabic 10 use
whan requesting a transcript. This number wil prnt on the
transcript. Sga Lina 5 Instnuctions for specific equiemants.
Tha customar fia numiser s an opSonal fisid and not

m

Tip. Lisa Form 4506, Faquest for Copy of Tax Agtum, to

requast oopios of tax returms.
Automated

You can quickly

raguast
transcripts: by LSIng Our auDMmated Saf-hGip Servca foois.
Plaasa vist Us al IRE.gov and dlick on *Bat a Tax
Transoript " undar *Tooks™ or call 1-B00-008-0.46.

Wiiera to fila. Mall or fax Form £508-T %0 e addrass balow

for tha stala you Bvad in, or e state your businoss was in,

whan Tal retum was fled. Thars ane Teo addrass ohans: ong:

for Individual tramscripes {Form 1040 seras and Form W-2)

and org for all other ranscrips.
mora fan one transorpt or ofhar

H you e requasting

procuct and the char balow shows fwao diferant acdessas,
send your requast 1o the address based on the addrss of

O s Fecan rataTL

Chart for individual transcripts
(Form 1040 series and Form W-2

and Form 1099)
¥ you flied an
Individual retum and
Ibved In:

Mall or fax to:

Maine, Mamsachusalls, MW |ntemal Revenua Sanvice

Hampakira, Mow York, RAIVS Teamn
Fanreyharia, Vemon Stop 6705 5-2
Kansas City, MO 64083
855-821-0084

Alzbama, Kantucky, Losisiara,
Mississippi, Tannassas,

Imternal Revenue Service

RAIVS Taam
(. By Y Stop 6716 AUSC
Amarican Eamoa, Pusrio Rico, Rusn, TH 73301
tha Norfham WMarana, sands,
tha'LL5. Virgin blands, or A

AP.D. or FR.O. addrass

Alasika, Aftzons, Akareas, Internal Revenue Senvice
Calforriz, Colomdo, Hoeal, — pane Tasm

Wiaho, B Indar, IOWS, gy 4740

Karmas, Michigen, MinGeol2,  [reeng. CA 23888
Montana, Nobraska, Novada,

how Mcxico, North Dakota,

Ckishoma, Dragan, South

Dikata, Litzh, Wastingtnn, BEE-B00-5106
Wisconsin, Wyoeming

Gonnectodt, Dakmwars, DERCE  nvema) Aevenue Service
of Columbla, Fiorida, Georg, QAN Taam

Mairg, Marytnd, Stop 6706 3-2

Kansas Clty, MO 64086

BEE-821-0064

Lime b Eror your ampioyar identfcaton rumbar (S8 §
VoUr request rmialas 10 a businass relum. Otherwise, anter tha
first social sacurity numb<ar [ESH) of your indhidual faxpayer
idarification numiser (ITI) Shown on T retum. For

axampia, I you ans requasting Fomm 1040 that Includss
Eoheduss C [Form 10405, antier your SEN.

Lins 3. Emlar your curant address. I you ussa PO box,
induda i on this lina.

Lins 4. Emar the address shown on the last return fied) B
‘differem from e address emened on line 3.

Hoba: If the addmases on Bnes 3 and 4 are different and you
hawe not changed ywour addness with tha IRE, Tia Form BE2Z,
‘Cranga of Addross. For a busingss address, fis Form E822-
B Charge of Addrass or Rasponsibic Farty — Busirass.
Line 5b. Erer up %0 10 numsnc charactars 1o oraats 3 unigus
customar e numbar that will appsar on the transcript. The
custormar Mg numbar should mot contain an SEN.
Complation of This Ind s nol required.

Nota. If you LS an SEM, name o combination of bath, wa
wil not input tha inlormatian and tha customear fia nUMser
will raflact a genaric aniry of “R009G9O9GG" on e Transoript.
Ling 6. Emar oy Cna tax fom nusmiber per ragqusst.
amd date. Form 4500-T must ba signed and datad

Iy tha taxpayer lisied on Ine 12 or 22, Tha IRS must eosha
Form 4500-T within 120 days of tha dats sigred by the
tanparyar or | will ba refacted. Ensurs that al appicabic Inss
ane compictad balon signing.

¥iou must check e bax I he signafune oea

1o acknowieoge pou fave the suthonly fo sign

s reques! the iformation. The fom wil mof

b processed nd relumed ta you I the

bax & unchecked.

individuals. Transcripts of joiny Sad fax ratums may ba
furnished 1o eithar spousa. Orly Ona Signanns is requined.
Eign Form £500-T coactly s your name appearad on tha
ariginal refumL H you changad your nams, aiso sign your
cument nams.

Privacy Act ond Reduction Act Holica. Wa asik
for e Information an Sis form 1o estabilsh your right to gain
nocGss o T equested ax information under tha Intarmal
Ravanus Code. Wi need this information to

the fa information and respond to your request. You ara nol
required to requast ary transcript: ¥ you do requast a
transcript, secions 0103 and 109 and thelr reguiations
requira you bo provide: this information, including your ESN or
EIN. I you do not prosed o Shis Informmation, we may not be
abie 1o procass your regusst. Providing faisa or fraudulent
Iformation may subjact you 1o paraiics.

Routng uses of this iInformmation nchuda ghing It to tha
Department of Jusioa for chil and criminal IRigation, and
CiGs, shatos, tha Disiiot of Columbla, and LS,
commonweaiths and posseesions for Lse In administaning
i £ larws. Wia mary also discioss this information fo ofer
Dounirics Lndar & tx reaty, bo fedard and state agendis 1o
onforos ledaral montax criminal s, o bo fedaral
nforoemant and imsligence agenclas 10 combat tarmrsm.

¥iou ars mot required o provide tha Information requested
on a form that s subject f0 ha Fapareo© Reduction Act
unies the form displays 2 valid OMB control number., Books
COf MeCoss relafng to a form or Bs insructions must ba
retained as iong s thelr contents may bacoma matarial In e
adminksimtion of any intemal Revenua law. Genarally, ta
returms and rturn imformation ars corfidantial, 2 raquined by
saction 0103,

Tha ma readed 1o complate and Bie Fom 4500-T wil
vary dapending on Individual circumstances. Tha estimated
averaga tima 15 Leaming about tha law or tha form, 10
mir; Praparing tha form, 12 min; ard Copying,
nsseminiing, and sending tha form to S IRS, 20 min.

I you have commants concarming the accurcy of Hhess
tima estimates o suggesTons jor making Form 4500-T
simpier, we woult b Fappy bo hear from po. ¥iou can writa
o

Intarnal Revenuss Sanica

Tax Forms and Fublications Division

1111 Constthsion Ave. MW, IR-0528

Washingeon, DC 20224

Da nat sand the form 5o this addrss. Instead, sea Whars
Tio e on this page.
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Thursday, July 17, 2014 AR Si:c'(f,, LaVenia J. LaVelle, Press Officer

For Immediate Release %%R\e press.office@ssa.gov 4
%, i &
o N

NigTRE

News Release

SOCIAL SECURITY

Social Security Extends Access to Benefit Verification
Multiple Options Available

Today, the Social Security Administration announced that local Social Security offices would continue to provide benefit verification letters
until further notice. Providing services when and where the public needs them remains central to Social Security’s efforts, while continuing
to encourage federal, state, and local agencies to take advantage of Social Security’'s data exchange programs that can serve customers

more efficiently and effectively.

“We appreciate the feedback from members of Congress, our community stakeholders and agency partners. We want to ensure that we
meet the needs of our customers in a way that is convenient for them and also cost-effective and secure for all,” Acting Commissioner
Carolyn W. Colvin stated. “I believe that government agencies can work closer together to assist our mutual customers.”

Over the last few years, Social Security has invested in technology that allows most government agencies and many other organizations to
verify their clients’ Social Security benefits electronically without requiring them to visit a local Social Security office.

“We recognize that some members of the public may require in-person assistance and we will have a presence in local communities,” said
Acting Commissioner Colvin. “We also want to ensure that the public is aware that they can access many of our services without making a

trip to a local field office.”

Members of the public with Internet access can obtain benefit verification information by creating a my Social Security account at

www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount.

HEH

The following information is from the Social Security Administration
website at https://faq.ssa.gov/en-us/Topic/article/KA-01717.

How can | get a benefit verification letter?

If you need proof you get Social Security benefits, Supplemental Security (SSI)
Income or Medicare, you can request a benefit verification letter online by using
your my Social Security account. This letter is sometimes called a "budget letter," a
"benefits letter," a "proof of income letter," or a "proof of award letter."

You can also request proof that you have never received Social Security benefits
or Supplemental Security Income or proof that you have applied for benefits.


https://faq.ssa.gov/en-us/Topic/article/KA-01717
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To set up or use your account to get a benefit verification letter, go to Sign In Or
Create An Account.

You cannot request a benefit verification letter online for another person, such as
a spouse or child.

If you can’t or don’t want to use your online account, or you need a letter for
someone other than yourself, you can call us at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-
0778), Monday through Friday from 7 a.m.to 7 p.m.

See Definition: my Social Security-Benefit Verification Letter for more information.

Definition: my Social Security Benefit Verification Letter

Benefit Verification Letter

If you need proof that you are receiving Social Security benefits, Supplemental
Security Income (SSI), and/or Medicare, or that you are not getting benefits, you
can request a benefit verification letter online. This letter is sometimes called a
"budget letter," a "benefits letter," a "proof of income letter," or a "proof of award
letter."

What is a benefit verification letter? It is an official letter from Social Security
that you can use as proof of your:

e income whenyou apply for a loan or mortgage;

e income for assisted housing or other state or local benefits;
e current Medicare health insurance coverage;

¢ retirement status;

e disability; and/or

* age.

You can select the information you wantincluded in, or left out of, your online
benefit verification letter.

Note: If you applied for benefits but have not received an answer yet, you can
request a benefit verification letter that shows your claim is still pending.


https://www.ssa.gov/signin
https://www.ssa.gov/signin
https://www.ssa.gov/signin
https://www.ssa.gov/hlp/mySSA/df-beve.htm
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Age and Disability Requirements

Q. What is the difference between “disabled” and “disabled veteran” for this program?

A. To meet the age/disability requirement as a disabled veteran, the applicant mustbe a
veteran who has a combined service-connected evaluation percentage of 80% or higher
oris entitled to and receiving VA disability compensation at a total disability rating for a
service-connected disability. A veteran who meets this requirement is not limited by the
“substantial gainful activity” ceiling under the Social Security definition of disability.

Acceptable documentation is a written acknowledgement or decision by the
Veterans’ Administration.

Ownership/Occupancy/Exemption Percent

Q. A senior has had an exemption since 2011. On 2/25/18 she transferred
ownership to another person via notarized QCD. This other person became her
Power of Attorney on that same day. She did not have the deed recorded until
3/18/2020. There is no provision on the deed for a Life Estate or similar provision.

A. The date of execution of the instrument of transfer is the date the deed was signed
and notarized and this is the date to be used for purposes of determining the official
transfer of ownership and terminating the exemption (pro-rating taxes). So, even though
the deed was not recorded until 2020, the transfer took place when the QCD was signed
and notarized (on 2/25/2018) and the exemption should have been removed at that time
because the senior no longer had an ownership interest in the property. (RCW 84.60.020
and RCW 84.40.380)

Q. Husband, wife, and sister live in the house together and all contribute financially.
The home is owned by the wife and sister only. They are all on Social Security and
Supplemental Social Security. The husband is the only one over the age of 61.

A. Since the husband has no ownership interest in the property, he does not meet the
ownership requirement as an applicant. One of the sisters must submit the application
and provide evidence of disability in order to meet the age/disability requirement.
Because both sisters live in the home and have ownership interest, you would include the
income of both + their spouses when applicable for the combined disposable income
calculation.

Q. A husband and wife both meet the age requirement. The wife completes and
submits the application and she meets the occupancy requirement. The husband
lived and worked out of state for more than 6 months. Will they qualify?


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.60.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.380
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A. She can apply and qualify based on her age and occupancy but will still need to
include his income.

Q. Ownership - Joint Tenants and Tenants in Common - What is the difference?

A. You can own the property as joint tenants or as tenants in common. In a joint tenancy,
the partners own the whole property and do not have a particular share in it, while
tenants in common each have a definite share in the property.

Q. Ownership -A deed shows four owners, no Life Estate. The only one of the
Tenants in Common who lives in the home is a senior who applied for exemption.
Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?

A. As explained at RCW 64.28.020, tenancy in common is the default vesting option for
two or more people who control individual shares of the property. If otherwise qualified, the
senior is eligible to receive the exemption based on his or her percentage share of
ownership. This senior would only be entitled to receive an exemption on their 25 percent
ownership interest.

Q. Ownership -Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship (JTWROS) - A deed shows four
owners, JTWROS, no Life Estate. The only one of the JTWROS who lives in the home is
a senior who applied for exemption. Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?

A. AJTWROS is a form of ownership in which the owners hold an undivided interest in the
entire property, and upon the death of one of the joint tenants, the surviving joint
tenant(s) continues to hold the property in fee (or in JTWROS - i.e., the heirs of the
deceased joint tenant do not have inheritance rights). (See RCW 64.28.010). Since there
is an undivided interest in the property (100%), the applicant would receive the full 100
percent exemption.

Q. Does a taxpayer qualify for the exemption program if their home is part of a
Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)?

A. See RCW 84.36.381(2). The applicant must be a person and that person must own and
occupy the residence for which the exemption is claimed. If the home is owned by a
partnership or corporation, the individual applying for exemption does not have the
ownership interest required for this program.

The exceptionisin the case of an association, partnership, or corporate ownership of
cooperative housing. If a person owned a 10 percent share ownership in a Limited Liability
Corporation and that corporation owns "cooperative housing" with 10 living units, one of
which the person occupies, then that person could claim that they own a share
representing the unit or portion of the structure in which he or she resides.

This a different situation because the statute specifically allows a share ownershipin


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.28.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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cooperative housing. See RCW 84.36.381(2). See also BTA Docket No. 71729

Q. What percentage of exemption should an applicant receive when there are co-
owners and the ownership type is not JTWROS?

A. A“co-owner” is someone who has an ownership interest in the property. A “co-
tenant” is someone who has an ownership interest in the property and resides at the

property.

» If both parties live in the house and both have an ownership interest, exemption is
granted on the entire parcel. Include 100 percent of everyone's disposable income.

» If more than one person has an ownership interest but only the applicant lives in the
residence, the exemption is allowed on just the applicant’s percentage of ownership.
Include only the applicant’s disposable income.

» When a person with no ownership interest is living in the residence with the applicant,
the exemption is allowed on the entire residence. Include the applicant's income and
the portion of the other person's income that is contributed to the running of the
household (rent, utilities, groceries, etc.).

Q. Husband and wife purchased land together. The wife owns a mobile home as her
separate property per the Division of Community Property. Neither spouse meets
the age requirement. The husband meets the disability requirement. Can this
couple qualify for the exemption?

A. RCW 84.36.381 requires that the residence must be both owned and occupied by the
person claiming the exemption. Neither spouse meets the eligibility requirements. The
husband has no ownership interest in the residence and the wife does not meet the age or
disability requirement.

Q. Aparcel was acquired via verbal, unrecorded real estate contract between a father
and daughter in 2005. It was followed up by a Personal Representative's Deed in 2008,
per probate, transferring the property to her as her separate estate. Her husband is
the qualified applicant for the exemption program. Will this couple qualify for the
exemption?

A. The person claiming the exemption must have owned the residence at the time of

filing (RCW 84.36.381(2)) and, in order to be valid, a transfer of real estate must be written,
signed, and acknowledged (RCW 64.04.020). An exemption can be granted on an
unrecorded contract, however, that contract must still be written, signed, and
acknowledged, and a copy must be retained in the assessor’s files. In this situation, it
appears that the father’s intent was for the daughter to inherit the property as her separate
estate. The daughteris the owner as of the father’s date of death, however, since the


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
https://apps.bta.wa.gov/Decision%20PDF/70000%20to%2079999/71729.pdf?xml=https%3A//apps.bta.wa.gov/dtSearch/dtisapi6.dll%3Fcmd%3Dgetpdfhits&u=2f1d3802&DocId=18714&Index=%2a%7baab2a9c61304abf0f6a18ba93db2d3c2%7d%20Decision%20PDF&HitCount=8&hits=12%2B21b%2B3f0%2B61e%2B84d%2B9a0%2Ba95%2Baac%2B&SearchForm=%2fdtSearch%5fform%2ehtml&.pdf
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=64.04.020
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property was passed to her as her separate estate, the husband would not be a
“community property” owner in this case. He still has no ownership interest in the
property until that interest is granted to him through deed by his spouse. This couple does
not qualify.

Q. How can | tell if a trust meets the ownership requirements for the exemption
or deferral programs?

A. Seethe Ownership and Occupancy section in this manual.

Q. Ataxpayeris trying to refinance her home and has been advised that herincome is
too low to meet the refinance requirements. The perspective lender suggested that
she add her son’s nhame to the parcel so she caninclude hisincome. The homeis a
duplex and, currently, the mom is receiving an exemption on her dwelling unit but not
the other half. The son is disabled and lives in the other unit.

If the son’s name is added, how should the exemption be treated? Could he apply for
an exemption on his unit? If the parcel is in both names, should both incomes be
included and an exemption be granted on the entire property or would it be better to
use an administrative seg and create two parcels, giving each parcel an exemption?

A. Although you could probably justify going either way, the Legislative intent might be
best served by using an administrative segregation. This way, each taxpayer receives the
full exemption to which they are entitled. Basically, in this case, you could treat it like a
“cooperative housing unit” and give each taxpayer a full exemption on their ownership
share, which represents the individual dwelling unit for each of them. Mom would receive
a full exemption on her half (her dwelling unit) and the son would receive a full exemption
on his half (his dwelling unit). Each would include only his/herincome since they are co-
owners but not co-tenants.

Q. Can a person request an exemption on aresidence that is not occupied as a
principal place of residence at the time the application is actually submitted?

A. Followingis an excerptfrom a September 2006 memo to assessors.

Recently, we were asked whether a person may apply for exemption on a property for past
years if the applicant met the qualifications for those years even though the property is no
longer the applicant’s principal place of residence.

Itis our opinion that "at the time of filing" means "when the taxpayer would have needed to
timely file," rather than the date the application was actually signed and submitted.
Further, itis our opinion that there is nothing in law or rule that would prevent granting the
application for exemption for the applicant's prior principal residence as long as the
applicant met the qualifications for each of the application years.
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RCW 84.36.381(2) states in pertinent part:

The person claiming the exemption must have owned, at the time of filing, in fee, as a
life estate, or by contract purchase, the residence on which the property taxes have
beenimposed.... For purposes of this subsection...any lease for life shall be deemed
a life estate;

The intent of the Legislature in extending the opportunity to apply for refund was to ensure
that an otherwise eligible applicant was not prevented from benefiting from this program by
reason of mistake, inadvertence, or lack of knowledge. This intentis confirmed and
supported in Attorney General Opinion Number 21, issued October 28, 1969, which says:

A person exempted from paying the first $50 of a given year's real property tax under
RCW 84.36.128, who nevertheless pays this amount by reason of mistake,
inadvertence or lack of knowledge, need not have claimed his exemption between
February 15 and April 30 in order to set the stage for a valid refund claim under § 1 (7)
of chapter 224, Laws of 1969, Ex. Sess.; instead, we would deem it to be sufficient
compliance with the statute for a taxpayer to prove his eligibility for the exemption (as
of the time his payment was made) when he files his application for a refund.

According to law, applications must be filed by the applicant or the applicant’s agent. An
application made by the heir of the claimant cannot be accepted. (RCW 84.36.381)

Attorney General Opinion Number 31, issued October 6, 1971, says:

The tax exemption "for certain elderly or retired persons is a personal exemption
which does not follow the property to the benefit of the claimant's heirs or grantees;
therefore, when a person who is qualified for this tax exemption timely files his claim
for it but thereafter dies or sells the property upon which he resides prior to the time
the taxes to which the exemption applies become payable, his heirs or other new
owners of the subject property do not receive the benefit of the exemption."

In our opinion, applicants may apply for back years for which they would have qualified
based on ownership, occupancy, age, and income whether or not they still meet all of the
requirements. The benefit is to the taxpayer and not to the property. If the taxes have been

paid,

the applicant may apply for exemption and refund for a maximum of three years

(plus current year). If the taxes are delinquent, the applicant may apply for exemption for
any prior years in which the qualifications were met.

Combined Disposable Income

Q. Are premiums paid for Medicare Part D (the new drug benefit) allowable
deductions for determining combined disposable income?


http://www.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?rs=dfa1.0&vr=2.0&DB=1000259&DocName=WAST84.36.128&FindType=L
http://www.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?rs=dfa1.0&vr=2.0&DB=1000259&DocName=WAST84.36.128&FindType=L
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A. Yes, these premiums are allowable deductions. The statute, RCW 84.36.383(2)(c),
says that “health care insurance premiums for Medicare under Title 18 of the SSA” should
be deducted when calculating combined disposable income. Health care insurance
premiums under Title 18 of the SSA include:

Part A—Hospital Insurance Benefits for the Aged and Disabled,

Part B—Supplementary Medical Insurance Benefits for the Aged and
Disabled, Part C—Medicare + Choice Program — also called
MedicareAdvantage, and Part D—Voluntary Prescription Drug Benefit
Program

Q. Is there an allowable deduction for hearing aids and batteries, Hoverrounds,
memory foam mattresses, adult diapers, and other similar items?

A. Fortaxyears 2021 and prior:
See RCW 84.36.383(2) and WAC 458-16A-100(18).

Hearing aids and batteries do not fall under the “prescription drug” category and are
generally notincluded in “special needs furniture and equipment” that would be provided
by anin-home service program.

Sometimes, you will need to make judgment calls regarding the items listed.

For instance, if someone is receiving hospice care and has developed bedsores and
hospice has suggested that a memory foam mattress would help the situation, you may
be able to allow the cost.

Hoverounds are similar. If someone is not ambulatory and is in a wheelchair, or cannot
walk inside the home without a walker or cane, the cost for a Hoveround may be an
allowable deduction. On the other hand, if the person gets around just fine and
purchased a Hoveround to be able to go to the mall or go to the zoo with grandchildren,
that may not be an allowable deduction. You might need to ask some questions on this
one and you might need to find out whether at least part of the cost was covered by
insurance and/or Medicare.

For tax years 2022 and after:

Yes; the 2021 legislature passed SHB 1438 that allows a deduction for expenses paid for
prosthetic devices and mobility enhancing equipment. Hearing aids are considered
prosthetic devices and Hover Rounds are considered mobility enhancing equipment. See
Tables 1, 3, and 5in WAC 458-20-18801 for specific qualifying items.

Q. With the ease of new Tax software available to the public, how can we verify that
the forms that are brought into our office forincome verification are legitimate and

have actually been filed with the IRS?

A. The only real assurance would be to review a transcript of the applicant’s tax return


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=458-20-18801
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provided by the IRS. Effective July 2019, the IRS stopped third-party faxing and mailing of
transcripts. They will only mail them to the taxpayer’s address of record. Transcripts are
available for the current year and three prior years and most requests are processed
within 30 days. A sample formisincluded at the end of the Disposable Income section of
your manual you can find the most current form on the IRS website at
http://www.irs.gov/app/picklist/list/formsPublications.html; type in 4506-T in the search
box.

As an alternative, applicants can request an IRS transcript online. The process is quick
and simple and they can have access to their transcript within minutes. If you have
public kiosks available, this might be an alternative you offer to your applicants.

Q. Whatis an annuity?

A. See page 131 in this manual and the definition in rule - WAC 458-16A-100(2).

Q. Should money received for care of dependent children be included in
disposable income?

A. If the money received is considered “difficulty of care payment” then it should not be
included in disposable income. Review IRS Notice 2014-7 and page 137 of this manual
for more information.

Q. An applicant has won $272,000 in a lawsuit. Does it count as disposable income
for the senior citizen exemption program?

A. According to IRS rules, in order to determine whether or not a court award must be
included in adjusted gross income, you must consider the item that the settlement
replaces.

If the person files a Federal tax return, certain types of settlements would be included as
“Other Income” in the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income. Since our starting point
according to RCW 84.36.383(7) is adjusted gross income, those types of settlements
would also be included in the disposable income calculation.

If the settlement is “compensatory damages for personal physical injury or sickness”,
then the settlement would not be included in adjusted gross income and should not be
included in disposable income. The court documents should be reviewed to confirm the
type of settlement (i.e. what the settlement replaces).

IRS Publication 525 has more information on this. You can find the publication at
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p525.pdf. The sectionis called “Court Awards and
Damages”.



http://www.irs.gov/app/picklist/list/formsPublications.html
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/get-transcript
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-100
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q&esrc=s&source=web&cd&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjgqsqfmuHyAhVNnp4KHWnDBg0QFnoECAMQAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irs.gov%2Fpub%2Firs-drop%2Fn-14-07.pdf&usg=AOvVaw32dP380CuLXy7CjH6OegAL
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p525.pdf
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Q. If aclaimant records a deed retaining a life estate, would we count the income
of the “co-owner” if they live in the home?

A. Basically, when a life estate is reserved, the “co-owner” has "postponed" their
ownership rights until after the life estate interest has been extinguished. The RCW says
that combined disposable income includes the disposable income of the applicant, the
applicant's spouse or domestic partner, and any co-tenants. A co-tenantis someone who
lives with the applicant and has an ownership interest. In this case, there is no current
ownership interest because that interest has been postponed until the expiration of the
life estate interest. Therefore, we would only count the income of the applicant and the
applicant's spouse or domestic partner. However, you would also include any monies
contributed by other household members towards the running of the household because
under IRS laws and rules that is considered “rent”.

Q. How does a pre-nuptial agreement affect the calculation of combined
disposable income?

A. Most pre-nuptial agreements do not affect the calculation of combined disposable
income at all. However, we have seen one example where the income calculation was
affected. Inthis particular case, the pre-nuptial agreement specified that money
deposited into each spouse’s account was that person’s alone. Also, this couple
maintained separate homes. In our staff attorney’s opinion, the pre-nuptial agreement
can and does override state community property laws. In this case, finances were
separate, and the two individuals maintained separate homes. The legal opinion was that,
in this particular case, the two were not co-tenants and, even though married, were living
“separate and apart”. The applicant was not required to include the spouse’s income.
The legal opinion cautioned that this was a unique case and each case must be
considered individually.

Q. Whatis a Section 1035 Exchange and should these amounts be included in
the calculation of disposable income?

A. ASection 1035 Exchange is similar to a rollover. Itis a tax-free exchange because the
ownership and basis do not change and the owner does not have access to the actual
cash used in the exchange. “Exchange” is the key word. Treat this transaction similar to
arollover and do not include the non-taxable portion in disposable income. This includes
exchanges of portions of annuity contracts.

Rev. Rul. 2003-76 - Exchange of a portion of annuity contract. An exchange of a
portion of an annuity contract into a new annuity contract is treated as a tax-free
exchange under section 1035 of the Code. Investment in the contract and basis
are allocated according to cash value immediately prior to the exchange using the
rules of sections 72 and 1031.

Q. How do we determine capital gain on the sale of a residence when the
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distributions of the sale are invested in the construction of a new home?

A. The distribution of the proceeds from a sale does not affect the actual capital gain. The
capital gain is the difference between the sale price (less expenses of sale) and the basis
of the old home (original purchase cost plus improvements). Only the portion of the gain
thatis re- invested in a replacement primary residence prior to the sale or within the same
calendar year as the sale can be excluded from the combined disposable income
calculation.

Q. What information should be requested to substantiate a claim of zero income?

A. WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(vi)(G) says: “...Even claimants who claim they have no
federalincome (or an inordinately small amount of federal income) must have income to
maintain themselves and their residences. In these situations, the claimant must
produce copies of documents demonstrating the source of the funds they are living on
(i.e., checking account registers and bank statements) and the bills for maintaining the
claimant and the residence (i.e., public assistance check stubs, utility invoices, cable TV
invoices, check registers, bank statements, etc.).” See the sample letter and
questionnaire in the Disposable Income Section of the manual.

Q. How should we calculate combined disposable income when the applicant did
not file a Federal income tax return?

A. When the claimant does not present federal income tax returns, the assessor must
determine what constitutes gross income and adjusted gross income for the non-filer and
obtain copies of income documents to determine that person's gross and adjusted gross
income. WAC 458-16A- 110 and WAC 458-16A-115 provide assistance in calculating
gross income and adjusted gross income. Caution: You should always verify that the
adjustments/deductions listed in the rules are still valid for the applicable income
year (some of the adjustments/deductions have a “sunset” date) and that new
deductions have not been added. Our rules may not include IRS rule current year
updates. The easiest way to check is to look at the front of a Form 1040/Form 1040
Schedule 1 to see what adjustments/deductions IRS allows for the specific income
tax year.

Internal Revenue Code section 61 defines "gross income," generally, as allincome from
whatever source derived. The federal definition of gross income, generally, does not
include:

(a) Gifts, inheritance amounts, or life insurance proceeds;

(b) Up to two hundred fifty thousand dollars (five hundred thousand dollars for a
married couple) gain from the sale of a principal residence;

(c) Certain amounts received for illness or injury — see WAC 458-16A-110(3)(c);

(d) Contributions or payments made by an employer to accident and health plans,
the employer's qualified transportation plan, a cafeteria plan, a dependent care
assistance program, educational assistance programs, or for certain fringe benefits for
employees described by Internal Revenue Code section 132;


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-115
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-110
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(e) Income from discharge of indebtedness under certain limited circumstances,
such as insolvency. These circumstances are outlined in Internal Revenue Code
section 108;
(f) Improvements by a lessee left upon the lessor's property at the termination of a lease;
(g)Recovery of an amount deducted in a prior tax year that did not reduce federal income taxes
paid in that prior year;
(h) Qualified scholarships and fellowship grants provided for certain educational
expenses (e.g., tuition and books);
(1) Meals or lodging furnished to an employee for the convenience of the employer;
(j) Excluded military pay and benefits;
(k) Amounts received under insurance contracts for certain living expenses;
(1) Certain cost-sharing payments made for conservation purposes on land owned
by the claimant;
(m) Child support payments;
(n) Qualified foster care payments made from the government or a qualified
nonprofit to a foster parent or guardian;
(o) Income from United States savings bonds used to pay higher education tuition and fees;
(p) Distributions from a qualified state tuition program or a Coverdell Education
Savings Account used to pay education expenses.

Internal Revenue Code section 62 defines "adjusted gross income" as gross income
minus the following deductions:

(a) Trade and business deductions;

(b) Unreimbursed expenses paid or incurred by an elementary or secondary school
teacher for educational materials and equipment, an employee who is a qualified
performing artist, or a state or local government official paid on a fee basis;

(c) Losses from sale or exchange of property;

(d) Deductions attributable to rents and royalties;

(e) Certain deductions of life tenants and income beneficiaries of property;

(f) Pension, profit-sharing, annuity, and annuity plans of self-employed individuals;

(g) Self-employed health insurance deduction;

(h) One-half of self-employment tax;

(1) Retirement savings;

(j) Penalties on early withdrawal of savings;

(k) Alimony;

(1) Reforestation costs;

(m) Required repayment of supplemental unemployment compensation;

(n) Jury duty pay given to employer;

(o) Clean-fuelvehicles and certain refueling property;

(p) Unreimbursed moving expenses;

(q) Archer MSAs (medical savings accounts);

(r) Interest on student loans;

(s) Higher education expenses;

(t) Domestic production activities deduction.

Q. On aDefense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS) “Retiree Account
Statement” that shows “Gross Pay” and “VA Waiver”, which amount should be
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included when calculating disposable income?

A. Use the “Gross Pay” amount. The “VA Waiver” shows the offset, or reduction, to
the retirement benefits due to monies received directly from VA as VA disability
benefits.

Q. On a1099-R form, do we count the gross distribution or the taxable amount that
would be part of adjusted gross income? How can you tell whether itis an IRA
distribution or a regular pension? Are the 1099's different?

A. The RCW says we must add pensions and annuities to the extent that they are not
already included in adjusted gross income. See RCW 84.36.383(7). That tells us that it
was the intent of the legislature that we include pension income whether or not it’s taxable
so we should include the gross distribution. The non-taxable portion is generally the
portion that was contributed by the employee.

There is an exception for an IRA distribution. IRA accounts have been determined to be
similar to CD accounts and savings accounts so you would only include the taxable
portion of the distribution, which should already be included in adjusted gross income.

A 1099-R can be used for pensions, annuities, retirement, profit-sharing plans, IRA’s,
and insurance contracts, so the best way to find out what type of source itis, is to ask the
taxpayer.

For IRA’s though, if your taxpayer files an income tax return, IRA distributions will be on
Line 4a/4b of the 1040 rather than on Line 5a/5b. On the 1099, next to the Distribution
Code in Box 7, there is a little square that should have an “X” if it’s a Traditional, SEP,
or Simple IRA. Also distribution codes “J”, “Q”, and “T” indicate a distribution from a
Roth IRA.

Q. What should I look for on IRS Form 4797?

A. Form 4797 is a schedule used to calculate the capital gain on property that has been
sold. It's similar to a Schedule D - which is called the capital gains form. Ordinary gains
from the 4797 (Part Il) go directly to Schedule 1, Form 1040 - Line 4. Long-term gains from
Part|-Line 9 are brought forward to a Schedule D. If the amountis a loss, the loss would
be reported in the taxpayer's itemized deductions and you will not see it on the face of the
1040 - nor would you have to worry about adding it back to AGI since it was notincluded in
or deducted from AGI.

Part | of Form 4797 is used to calculate the gain or loss on disposals of property used in a
trade or business. IRS requires recapture of all or a portion of any previous depreciation
when you dispose of a business asset. The depreciation shown on this form, both in
Column E on the front page and in Part lll on page 2, is only for the purpose of calculating
how much of the depreciation has to be recaptured according to IRS rules. This recapture
amount affects the basis of the asset that is used to calculate the gain.


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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All of thatis a very long way of saying that the depreciation amounts reported on this form
do not need to be added when we calculate combined disposable income. Atsome point
intime, these amounts were deductions - probably shown on a Schedule C or E or F- and
at that time, we did add them because they were being used as a deduction. Now, they
are only being used to calculate the capital gain or loss on disposal of the asset.

Treat this form similar to a Schedule D. Make sure that losses were not used to offset gains.

Q. When the Trust owns everything including the rentals and investments and the
income is through the trust account and not reported on the personal account how
are we to know these things? If an individual has set up a trust for their assets, does
the trust have to file a 1040, or does the income generated/distributed from the trust
appear on the individual 1040? Is there any indication on the 1040 that there are
additional assets in a trust?

A. In general, the taxpayer has a choice. They can report the trustincome on the individual
tax return or file Form 1041 for a trust. Form 1041 includes a Schedule K-1, similarto a
partnership return, to report the share of distribution to each interested party. Income or
loss from trusts and partnerships (Schedule K-1) should be reported on Schedule E of the
individual taxpayer’s Form 1040 (Parts Il and Ill on page 2). Trust assets are not reported on
the Form 1041 for the trust, the individual K-1’s, or the Form 1040 for the individual
taxpayer. Trust assets are not “income” and should not be included in disposable
income.

Q. Whatis FTC (foreign tax credit)?

A. The foreign tax creditis intended to reduce the double tax burden that would otherwise
arise when foreign source income is taxed by both the United States and the foreign
country from which the income is derived. For us, this is an indicator that the applicant
may have additional foreign income that should be included in combined disposable
income. In order to take the credit, the taxable portion of the income will be already
included in AGI, but there could be a non-taxable portion that needs to be added. If you
see a “foreign tax credit”, you should ask the taxpayer if all of the foreign income received
was taxable and reported on the Form 1040.

Q. How should foreign income amounts be converted to U.S. dollars?
A. There are tables on the IRS website that would probably be best to use. IRS publishes
“Yearly average currency exchange rates” so you don’t have to do your own spreadsheet

orrely on just one month’s rate. Here is the link.

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-
Currency- Exchange-Rates


http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-Currency-Exchange-Rates
http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-Currency-Exchange-Rates
http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Yearly-Average-Currency-Exchange-Rates
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Q. Should housing allowance for clergy (or preacher, pastor, minister, or parson) be
included in disposable income?

A. The answer depends on whether the clergy person is actively working as a clergy or is
receiving the housing allowance as part of his/her retirement.

Working clergy: The IRS “Housing” section in Publication 17 says that special rules apply
to clergy. That section applies when the pay is for services that are currently being
rendered — active working clergy who are receiving a housing allowance as part of their
salaries. Under this rule, the rental value of a home (including utilities) or a designated
housing allowance provided as part of the salary is not included in adjusted gross income.
RCW 84.36.383(6) specifies the types of income we must add to adjusted gross income to
arrive at disposable income and that list does not include the housing allowance for active
working clergy. Therefore, you should not include it in the income calculation.

Retired clergy: Perthe IRS rules, pension and retirement pay for a member of the clergy is
usually treated the same as any other pension or annuity. It must be reported on lines 5a
and 5b of Form 1040. Pension disbursements for housing (rental allowance and utilities
allowance) are non-taxable for IRS purposes. These disbursements appear to be the
excludable rental and utility allowance and should be reported as non-taxable pension
income on line 5a but should not be included on line 5b. However, since RCW 84.36.383(6)
requires that pensions and annuities be included in disposable income, whether or not
they are taxable for IRS purposes, you would still include these disbursements in the
disposable income calculation for a retired pastor.

Q. Should debt cancellation be included in disposable income -i.e. cancellation of
student loans and other debts?

A. Typically, debt cancellation - including debts for student loans that have been forgiven
—is reported on Schedule 1, Form 1040, Line 8 as “otherincome”. Adjusted gross income
as determined under IRS rules is our starting point when determining “disposable
income”. Therefore, if the cancelled debt would be included in adjusted gross income
under IRS rules, we must include it in disposable income.

Change in Status, Pro-ration, Segregation, and Mobile
Home Advance Tax

Q. An applicant has been in the exemption program for several years. She callsin to
report that she is moving out of her home on October 31, 2021; the home will no longer be
her primary residence as she is moving in with someone else, but she will continue to
own the home. Age/disability and income are notin question.
When do | remove the exemption?
October 31, 2021 as she has stated that the home will no longer be her primary residence.
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December 31, 2021 or
December 31, 2022

A. Itisthe department’s position that because she meets age/disability, ownership,
occupancy, income in assessment/application year 2021 she is statutory entitled to the
exemption in the “following year” or 2022. In this case, you would terminate the
exemption 12/31/2022 unless she has a cessation of ownership any time prior to
12/31/2022.

Note: this may feel wrong, but unlike other types of exemptions, the senior statutes have
no provisions for cessation of use that allows termination of the exemption mid-year. The
only mid- year exception is change in ownership because the exemption cannot be
“continued” for a new owner.

Q. An applicant who has not filed for six years comes into the office to reapply. His
income has jumped dramatically over the six-year period. Do you require that
applicant to bring past year information to the office to prove that they qualified at
their previous level for those years?

A. RCW 84.36.385(5) says that if the applicant received an exemption in prior years
based on erroneous information, the taxes are to be collected subject to penalties as
provided in RCW

84.40.130 for a period of up to five years. Applicants are also required to submita
Change in Status form when there is a change that may affect the exemption. The
applicant should be required to provide documentation proving that the requirements
were met in the interim years.

Q. How should advance tax on a mobile home be treated when there is a
senior/disabled exemption and the claimant is moving the mobile home to another
county?

A. Inthis case, in order to preserve the senior’s entitlement to the exemption, the
exemption should not be removed upon collection of the advance tax. By doing it this
way, the senior can transfer the exemption to the new county for the following year,
which is when the mobile will be picked up as new construction.

If a mobile home is sold, then the exemption should be prorated. The claimant’s benefit
resulting from the tax exemption ends upon the date of sale. If the exemption is not
prorated from that point the exemption benefit for the remainder of the year would, in
effect, be “transferred” to the new owner who may or may not be a qualified applicant.

Q. If a senior citizen or person with disabilities, who is otherwise eligible for the
exemption, owns a one-acre parcel of land on which the residence is located, and
subdivides the one-acre parcel into three parcels of land, with the residence on one of
the three parcels, is the entire acre still eligible for the reduction in taxes for
purposes of the program?


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
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A. The Senior Citizens and People with Disabilities Exemption should be applied only to
the residence and the single parcel of land on which the residence is located, up to one
acre in size, or up to five acres when the larger parcel size is required by local land use
regulations.

WAC 458-16A-150(3)(g) Loss of exemption on part of the property. If the change
in status removes a portion of the property from the exemption, property taxes in
their full amount on that portion of the property that is no longer exempt must be
recalculated based upon the current full assessed value of that portion of the
property and paid from the date the change in status occurred. For example, a
property owner subdivides his or her one-acre lot into two parcels. The parcel that
does not have the principal residence built upon it no longer qualifies for the
exemption. The property taxes are recalculated to the full assessed amount of that
parcelon a pro rata basis for the remainder of the year beginning the day following
the date the subdivision was given final approval.

The statutory definition of residence is found in RCW 84.36.383(13), which states:

The term "residence"” means a single-family dwelling unit whether such unit be
separate or part of a multiunit dwelling, may include one accessory dwelling

unit and includes the land on which such dwelling stands not to exceed one acre,
exceptthat a residence includes any additional property up to a total of five acres
that comprises the residential parcel if this larger parcel size is required under land
use regulations.

Because exemptions must be narrowly construed, we interpret this definition as an
intentional limitation of the amount of property that may be exempted. Not all of the
land owned by a qualified applicant may be exempted, only the land on which the
dwelling stands and no more than one acre, or up to five acres when the larger parcel
size is required under land use regulations. The intention appears to be that only the
house and parcel of land on which the house is situated is included in the exemption,
even when the owner also owns other adjacent parcels.

The administrative rules provide more specific guidance on this issue. WAC 458-16A-
100(32) provides a definition of residence that states:

"Residence" means a single-family dwelling unit whether such unit be separate or
part of a multiunit dwelling, may include one accessory dwelling unit and includes
up to one acre of the parcel of land on which the dwelling stands, and it includes
any additional property up to a total of five acres that comprises the residential
parcel if land use regulations require this larger parcel size.

If the residence is located on more than one parcel, additional parcels can qualify if the
combined area does not exceed the maximum acreage allowed. If the additional parcelis
simply a bigger yard, there is a question of whether that is really part of the "residence." On
the other hand, if the garage, or other type of structure usually associated with a residence,
is located on the second parcel, then a judgment call must be made as to whether or not it


https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.383
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is part of the "residence."

Implementation of Legislative Changes:

Q. Which zoning/land use classification applies - the current classification or
the “grandfathered” classification?

A. In 2006 SB 6338 passed with regard to the current land use requirements. If the person
purchased the property 20 years ago and, at the time, a 10-acre parcel was required per
residence and now the zoning has changed and there is a one acre minimum per
residence, then the exemption would apply to the one acre that is currently required by
local zoning and land use.

Using the same reasoning, if a person purchased a 5-acre parcel 10 years ago and, at the
time, only one acre was required per residence and now the land use regulations have
changed and current requirements are 10 acres per residence, the exemption would
apply to the entire 5-acre parcel since we are looking at current land use requirements.

Q. In 2008 SSB 5256 passed. How does this bill affect the calculation of
disposable income?

A. The excludable VA benefits changed with passage of SSB 5256. Prior to this legislation,
any veteran’s benefits that did not represent attendant-care or medical-aid payments had
to be added to adjusted gross income in order to determine disposable income.

Beginning with the 2008 income year, the following benefits paid by the Department
of Veterans’ Affairs are excluded from disposable income:

e attendant-care payments;

e medical-aid payments;

e disability compensation, as defined in Title 38, part 3, section 3.4 of the
code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008; and

e dependency and indemnity compensation - DIC, as defined in Title 38, part 3, section
3.5 of the code of federal regulations, as of January 1, 2008.

Any other veterans’ benefits must still be included in disposable income.

Q. What steps should assessors take to implement E2SHB 15972

A. Beginning July 1, 2010, assessors must notify approximately one-sixth of those
persons exempt from taxes under RCW 84.36.381 in the current year who have not filed
a renewal application within the previous six years, of the requirement to file a renewal



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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application.

Each assessor has the discretion to determine what cycle to use, as long as each
participant renews at least once every six years.

If the assessor finds that the applicant received exemption in prior years based on
erroneous information, the taxes must be collected subject to penalties as provided in
RCW 84.40.130 for a period of not to exceed five years.

WAC 458-16A-150 (4) Renewal application. The county assessor must notify
claimants when to file a renewal application with updated supporting
documentation.

(a) Notice to renew. Written notice must be sent by the assessor and must be
mailed at least three weeks in advance of the expected taxpayer response date.

(b) When to renew. The assessor must request a renewal application at least
once every six years. The assessor may request a renewal application for any year the
income requirements are amended in the statute after the exemption is granted.

Q. If our office converts to a six-year cycle, does that mean we might have to
make corrections for the five previous years when someone files arenewal and
no longer qualifies?

A. Yes. Any change that should have generated a “change in status” form can potentially
create a situation where the exemption is based on “erroneous” information. In that
situation, the taxes must be collected subject to penalties as provided in RCW 84.40.130
for a period of not to exceed five years.

For example, if someone applies and receives an exemption, then the next year the
income increases because they get married, when you find out during the renewal process
six years from now, you will need to go back five years because the exemption received
during those five years was based on “erroneous” or incorrect information.

Initially, there will be no need to go back for the five years since you are just now shifting to
the six-year cycle and there should be no need to go back beyond the previous renewal.
During the 2012 renewal cycle, you could run into a situation where you have to go back
five years. That gives you time to plan and decide how you want to handle this.

You may want to consider managing the renewal cycle the way some of the other
counties are doing it.

Kitsap County mails renewals to one-fourth of the participants each year. The other
three- fourths of the participants receive a letter and change in status form. The letter
explains that, even though it is not their year to renew, any change in status must be
reported. The letter provides that participant’s renewal year, and tells the taxpayer that if
there was no change in status they do not need to respond.

In Cowlitz County, they send letters to 25 percent of seniors on the program. The letter


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-150
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.40.130

2024 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 188
Section X ¢ FAQ'’s

reminds them that it is ‘theiryear’ to renew the exemption and gives a deadline by which
they must reply. Everyone else (the other 75 percent) gets a postcard reminder that they
only need to come in if there has been an unreported change in their status since the last
update.

Q. In 2012, SHB 2056 passed, replacing the term “boarding home” with the term
“assisted living facility”. Does this change which facilities are allowed as “temporary
residences” for the tax relief programs?

A. No. The definition, nature, and licensing of these facilities did not change. You still use
the same DSHS website for searches and the site still references both. This change was
for clarification.

Q. In 2013, SSB 5444 passed, eliminating the requirement for assessors to annually
value tax-exempt government-owned properties and eliminating the leasehold
excise tax credit for tax amounts in excess of the amount of property tax that would
have applied if the taxpayer owned the property. How does this affect participants
in the property tax exemption program for senior citizens and people with
disabilities?

A. The leasehold excise tax credit for taxpayers who qualify for property tax exemption as
a senior citizen or person with disabilities still applies. This has not changed. However,
there will be a new Leasehold Excise Tax Credit form for 2014. This form must be
completed by the taxpayer, in addition to the application for exemption, and the County
Use Only section must completed by someone in the assessor’s office. The taxpayer will
be required to submit a copy of this form to the Department’s Leasehold Excise Tax
Division in order to receive the credit. Taxpayers receiving this credit should be included in
your regular renewal cycle.

Documentation

Q. Who must sign the “Proof of Disability” affidavit?

A. WAC 458-16A-135(5)(e)(iv)(A) says that if a claim is based on a disability the claimant
must provide either acknowledgment from SSA or VA or from "a licensed physician
(medical or osteopath doctor), a licensed or certified psychologist for disabling mental
impairments, or a licensed podiatrist for disabling impairments of the foot".

OurWAC rule is very clear in the terminology used. In addition, our definition of
“disability” is now linked directly to the Social Security definition and that program also
specifically defines “acceptable medical sources”.

Although there are many other types of practitioner licenses (including dentistry,


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=458-16A-135
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optometry, chiropractor, acupuncturist, naturopathy), these do not meet the
qualifications set forth in the laws and rules governing these programs.

Typical Residential Parcel

Q. Whatis a “typical residential parcel” for purposes of the senior citizens and people with
disabilities programs?

A. In the past, we have advised that improvements typically found on a residential
parcel be included in the exemption including (but not limited to) detached garages,
wood sheds, pump houses, outhouses, swimming pools ... The key question hereis
what is typical for your area?

We encourage you to develop policies within your office to implement these programs.
These policies should be within the meaning of the laws and rules governing the
exemption and deferral programs and these policies should be applied uniformly and
consistently for all program participants. By setting some in-house policies, you will
help to guarantee that qualified taxpayers receive the appropriate benefit.

Q. I have an applicant that seems to qualify for senior exemption on all criteria. Once
| applied her exemption to her account, my appraisers told me her home has no
value because of a fire some years ago, and she claimed she is not living in the home.
Her utility bills show electric and water usage, though she claims the repairs have
not been made to the house. How do | treat her frozen value and occupancy? Does
she qualify or not, since she claims the home is unlivable?

A. You have two issues: valuation and occupancy.

We’ll take “occupancy” first because that is the easiest part to answer. We know, under
normal circumstances, in order to continue the exemption the taxpayer must occupy the
residence for more than six months each year. In the case of “destroyed property”,
sometimes you have to make a judgment call based on the specific circumstances. In
general, when there is a "destroyed property" situation and the taxpayer has relocated due
to the destruction, if the taxpayer is actually working on repairs and will return to the home
by the end of the following year, you can safely say the home remains the principal
residence and leave the exemption in place. Inthis case, since the fire was several years
ago, we are long past the point where the exemption should be removed if the taxpayer is
not actually occupying the residence. On the other hand, if the taxpayer is actually living
there you can continue the exemption even though the repairs have not been made.

Next, we can talk about value in general. Even though the appraiser says there is no
value for the home, if the taxpayer lives there, you can still allow the exemption. In that
case, the exemption would just reduce the taxable value of the land and homesite
improvements since there is no value placed on the actual dwelling structure. The value
(orin this case the lack of value) of the residence does not determine eligibility for the
exemption.
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Now let’s talk about the frozen value. When there is a “destroyed property” situation,
typically, the assessor’s market value is adjusted to reflect the value of the property after
the destruction. For properties in the senior citizen exemption program, the frozen value
is then compared with the true and fair value after destruction. The property owner pays
tax on the lower of those two values. In essence, the exemption participant pays tax
on the lowest value authorized by law, the lower of the frozen value or the true and
fair value after destruction.

You should not adjust the frozen value at this time but, if/when the home is repaired or
replaced, it might be necessary to establish a new frozen value. The land value would
remain frozen at the original frozen value. The value of new construction is added to the
senior citizen’s frozen value to the extent that the new construction increased the true
and fair value of the property prior to destruction. If the property owner replaced the
destroyed property and the true and fair value of the property was no more than the true
and fair value prior to destruction, the frozen value would not be affected. Only the “new
construction” value of repairs or replacements that exceeds the original true and fair value
would be added to the frozen value. For example, if the structure was originally a 2 bed/2
bath, 1200 sq. ft. dwelling with average construction —i.e. typical siding, countertops,
floors, etc. - and, after the repairs, that is still the case, you should not adjust the frozen
value. Onthe other hand, if the new construction included increasing the sq. ft. of the
home, adding bedrooms and bathrooms, upgrading the exterior and interior, etc., then you
should adjust the frozen value to reflect the “new construction”.

The things to remember about the frozen value are:

e Thevalueis frozen based on the January 1 assessed value in the
assessment/income/application year the taxpayer first qualifies for the
exemption.

e After that, the frozen value is not adjusted unless property is removed
from the exemption or added to the exemption.

o i.e.aportion of the property is sold or used for business or there is a
change in zoning/land use changing the amount of land that can be
included. Ifthe market assessed value of the residence and/or land falls
below the frozen value, the exemption is applied to the lower of the two
values so that the taxpayer always receives the greater benefit.

o i.e.theresidenceis an older single-wide mobile home and is replaced with
a new double-wide, zoning/land use changes to allow inclusion of
additional acreage, “new construction” type improvements are made to the
property.

RCW 84.36.381(6)(a) For a person who otherwise qualifies under this section and has a
combined disposable income of thirty-five thousand dollars or less, the valuation of the
residence is the assessed value of the residence on the later of January 1, 1995, or January
1st of the assessment year the person first qualifies under this section. If the person
subsequently fails to qualify under this section only for one year because of high income,
this same valuation must be used upon requalification. If the person fails to qualify for
more than one year in succession because of high income or fails to qualify for any other
reason, the valuation upon requalification is the assessed value on January 1st of the



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=84.36.381
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assessmentyear in which the person requalifies. If the person transfers the exemption
under this section to a different residence, the valuation of the different residence is the
assessed value of the different residence on January 1st of the assessment year in which
the person transfers the exemption.

(b) In no event may the valuation under this subsection be greater than the true and fair
value of the residence on January 1st of the assessment year.

(c) This subsection does not apply to subsequent improvements to the property in the
year in which the improvements are made. Subsequent improvements to the property
must be added to the value otherwise determined under this subsection at their true and
fair value in the year in which they are made.




2024 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals
Section X ¢ FAQ'’s

192

Section X
Reference

Section

DOR Contacts, Internet
Links, PTN’S, PTA’S, BTA
Cases,

Etc.



2024 Property Tax Relief Programs for Individuals 193
Section X ¢ FAQ'’s

Contacts for the Individual Benefit Programs covered in this manual:

Property Tax Deferral Section MyDeferral@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1400
Sarah Lomeli — Support SarahL@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1401
Laura Osborne — Specialist LauraO@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1410

Shannon Thornton - Supervisor ShannonT@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1412

Ras Roberts - Program Manager RasR@dor.wa.gov 360.534.1411

Contacts for Department of Revenue, Property Tax Division, by topic can
be found at:

http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/ContactUs.aspx

PROPERTY TAXNOTICES

You can find a list of Property Tax Special Notices and links to
the documents at the following web address.

http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax
sn_ main.aspx#property



mailto:MyDeferral@dor.wa.gov
mailto:SarahL@dor.wa.gov
mailto:LauraO@dor.wa.gov
mailto:ShannonT@dor.wa.gov
mailto:RasR@dor.wa.gov
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Aspx/ContactUs.aspx
http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
http://dor.wa.gov/content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
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PROPERTY TAX ADVISORIES

PTA # TITLE https://dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/property-tax/laws-rules

2.1.2009 Property Tax Bulletins Cancelled

4.3.2012 Specific Question Pertaining to the Administration and Qualification of the Land on
Which a Residence Is Sited for Property Classified as Farm and Agricultural Land
Under Chapter 84.34 RCW (replaces 4.0.2000)

5.1.2009 Specific question pertaining to land classified as farm and agricultural land under
chapter
84.34 RCW, when the land qualifies for classification because of the commercial
agricultural activity produced from perennial plantings.

7.1.2009 Sales Tax as an Element of Value

8.1.2009 Appraisal of Bed and Breakfast establishments

9.1.2009 Assessment of Supplies

10.1.2009 “True lease” or Security Agreement

11.2.2009 Application of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil Relief Act of 1940 to Property Tax
Administration

13.1.2009 Impact of Local Zoning Ordinances on Property Tax Exemptions Granted Under
Chapter
84.36 RCW

14.2.2009 Transfer or Removal of Land Owned by a Federally Recognized Indian Tribe Classified
Under Chapter 84.33 or 84.34 RCW

15.1.2009 Low-Income Housing Valuation

6.2.2020 Property Taxability of Motor Vehicles > UPDATED

16.1.2011 Establishing Additional Eligibility Requirements for the Current Use Program

1.1.2014 Taxation of Permanent Improvements on Tribal Trust Land

12.3.2014 Classification of Land Used for Christmas Tree Production > UPDATED

17.0.2014 Valuation of Community Land Trust (Resale Restricted) Properties

18.0.2017 BTA Non-acquiescence

19.1.2020 Occupancy Requirement for Senior Citizen, Disabled Person, And Disabled Veteran
Property Tax Exemption > UPDATED

20.1.2021

State-Assessed Utility Company Annual Apportionment Reports



https://dor.wa.gov/taxes-rates/property-tax/laws-rules
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA2_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA432012.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA5_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA7_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA8_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA9_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA10_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA11_2_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA13_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA14_2_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA15_1_2009.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA6.2.2020.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA_16_1_2011.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA1_1_2014.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA12_3_2014.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA17_0_2014.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA%2018.0.2017.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTA19.1.2020.pdf
https://taxpedia.dor.wa.gov/documents/current%20pta/pta%2020.1.2021.pdf
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Washington State Board of Tax Appeals Decisions
https://bta.wa.gov/search.html
Subject Docket Document Date County
Number
CDI - Business Expense 38840 05/20/1991 BENTON
CDI - Capital Gains 40932 09/04/1992 OKANOGAN
Value 92-002 - 92-004 01/26/1993 JEFFERSON
CDI-IRA 44279 08/04/1994 ISLAND
CDI-IRA 44279 08/04/1994 ISLAND
Life Estate - Not Retroactive 44137 10/27/1994 CLALLAM
CDI 46284 05/04/1995 KING
Manufactured Homes 94131 11/20/1995 WHATCOM
Manufactured Homes 47072 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47376 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Manufactured Homes 47418 02/06/1997 SKAGIT
Ownership - Partial 49578 12/01/1997 MASON
Residency - Occupancy 48685 12/30/1997 KING
CDI-Depreciation 50969 07/20/1998 WHATCOM
CDI-IRA 52012 09/22/1998 CLALLAM
Ownership - Corp. Sole 53319-53320 10/16/1998 STEVENS
Documentation 98038 02/26/1999 KITSAP
CDI-Capital Gains/Documentation 98-038 02/26/1999 KITSAP
Residency - Occupancy-Motor Home 98-039 - 98-041 04/23/1999 PIERCE
CDI - Capital Gains 53478 05/19/1999 KITSAP
CDI-IRA 54826 07/05/2000 KITTITAS
CDI - Capital Gains 55067 08/30/2000 KING
Dleabliity. Minor Ghild ~narrow 00-027 10/20/2000 KING
CDI - Capital Gains 55692 07/24/2001 KING
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 56974 02/14/2002 KING
Residency - Occupancy 00-068 05/02/2002 KING
CDI - Annuity 56804 07/22/2002 STEVENS
CDI - Annuity 56336 01/08/2003 ADAMS
Value - Reconvene 58790 10/08/2003 COWLITZ
Ownership - Trust 59617 02/10/2004 KING
Disabled - Old Definition 60528 12/21/2004 KING
CDI - VA Benefits 61265 01/14/2005 SKAGIT
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 61900 02/23/2005 PIERCE
CDI 60784 03/04/2005 KING



https://bta.wa.gov/search.html
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Subject Docket Document Date County
Number
CDI - Capital Gains 64041 04/25/2006 KING
Value 64408 10/06/2006 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 63541 10/17/2006 SPOKANE
CDI - Lump Sum from SS 63641 11/15/2006 SPOKANE
CDI - Spouse 64500 02/13/2007 PIERCE
Residency - Business Use 6074 03/12/2007 KING
Value 65438 06/06/2007 GRAYS HARBOR
Value 65102 07/05/2007 KING
CDI - Conversion to Roth IRA 65013 07/18/2007 KING
CDI 65298 07/24/2007 CLALLAM
Ownership - Trust 66040 10/08/2007 SPOKANE
Value 07-362 & 07-363 12/31/2007 PIERCE
Ownership 66604 05/29/2008 KING
Ownership - Trust 08-030 08/21/2008 SPOKANE
CDI - VA Benefits 67496 10/06/2008 LINCOLN
Documentation 68529 01/26/2009 KING
Residency - Occupancy 68389 01/30/2009 PIERCE
CDI - Medical Expense 69620 09/11/2009 CLALLAM
Ownership 70194 09/24/2009 CLALLAM
CDI - Capital Gains 69754 10/09/2009 JEFFERSON
Documentation 69187 10/19/2009 CLALLAM
Ownership 71729 04/21/2010 SPOKANE
Ownership 72627 09/29/2010 CLARK
CDI - Health Insurance 71372 01/13/2011 SNOHOMISH
Residency - Occupancy 72694 04/14/2011 PIERCE
Ownership - Corp. 75057 12/01/2011 BENTON
CDI - Annuity 78163 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
Ownership - Trust 78164 09/26/2012 SPOKANE
Residency - Occupancy-Travel Trailer 77170 12/12/2012 CLARK
Residency - Other Improvements 79633 07/05/2013 OKANOGAN
CDI - Annuity 80377 03/26/2014 BENTON
Residency - Business Use 12-037 04/24/2014 KING
CDI - Incomplete Application 83031 09/12/2014 KING
Residency - Outpatient Care 86888 - 86892 10/14/2014 PIERCE
CDI - Return on Investment 85644 10/15/2014 CLALLAM
Ownership - Corp 87440 10/22/2015 PIERCE
Residency 81976 12/15/2015 PIERCE
Residency - Documentation 86781 01/13/2016 SPOKANE
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Subject Docket Document Date County
Number
Residency - Documentation 85942 03/21/2016 CLARK
CDI-Familial Rent 88153 08/30/2016 PIERCE
CDI - Health Insurance 87932 08/31/2016 ISLAND
Residency - Occupancy 84948 10/27/2016 LEWIS
Residency - Other Improvements 86801 03/27/2017 ISLAND
Ownership - Surviving Spouse 88508 04/04/2017 PIERCE
CDI-Cancelled Debt 89022 01/31/2018 PIERCE
Occupancy 89994 & 91916 03/23/2018 SNOHOMISH
CDI-AGI 93267 07/20/2018 KING
CDI-Health Insurance 92785 07/26/2018 SNOHOMISH
CDI-Lump Sum Social Security 91370 12/27/2018 CLARK
CDI-Spouse Income 92326 07/25/2019 BENTON
Residence-Admin Seg 95078 12/06/2019 KING
Ownership —Irr Trust 91426 5/02/2019 KING
97007 11/03/2020 SPOKANE
CDI-Losses 97406 02/12/2021 PIERCE
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INTERNET LINKS
Board of Tax Appeals | http://bta.state.wa.us/

DSHS Directory of
Licensed Facilities

https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.

aspx

Health
Practitioner
Credentials

https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/

Research and
Services Center

IRS F.orrrfs and http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html
Publications

;i\;\:s(?vsx\lc))and http://www1.leg.wa.gov/LawsAndAgencyRules/
Municipal

http://www.mrsc.org/

Social Security
Administration

https://www.ssa.gov/

Medicare - Title 18

Medicare —Title 18:

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm

Medicare - Part C -
MedicareAdvantage

https://www.medicare.gov/

Washington
Association
of Counties

http://wsac.org/

Property Tax Resource
Center

http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/



http://bta.state.wa.us/
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/adsaapps/lookup/NHPubLookup.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html
http://www1.leg.wa.gov/LawsAndAgencyRules/
http://www.mrsc.org/
https://www.ssa.gov/
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title18/1800.htm
https://www.medicare.gov/
http://wsac.org/
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/
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Section XI ¢ Recent Legislation and Rule Changes

RECENT LEGISLATION AND RULE CHANGES RULE CHANGES

WAC 458-16A, WAC 458-18, WAC 458-18A are current through 2023
legislation.

RECENT LEGISLATION
All recent legislation has been incorporated in the body of the manual!
You can access legislation summaries for 2019 through 2023 on the PTRC

website at:
http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/.

You can access Property Tax Special Notices for recent legislation on
the Department of Revenue website at:

http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/ta
X_Sh_main.aspx#property.



http://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
http://dor.wa.gov/Content/GetAFormOrPublication/PublicationBySubject/tax_sn_main.aspx#property
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REVISION
NUMBER DATE PUBLICATION TITLE
PTES0017EX 11/21 Prooe.r’.cv_Tax Exemptions for Senior Citizens and People with
Disabilities
PTFS0017LP 11/21 Property Tax Deferrals for Senior Citizens and People with Disabilities
PTFS0051 11/21 Property Tax Assistance Program for Widows or Widowers of Veterans
PTFS 0057 11/21 Property Tax Deferrals for Homeowners with Limited Income
FORM
NUMBER FORMTITLE
630023 11/21 Property Tax Assistance Claim Form for Widows and Widowers of
Veterans
63 0036 11/21 Combined Disposable Income Worksheet
64 0001 07/15 Petition For Property Tax Refund
64 0002 11/21 Exemption Application —Senior/Disabled
64 0010 10/17 Exemption - Affidavit of Cooperative Housing or Life Estate
64 0011 11/21 Deferral Application —Senior/Disabled
64 0016 02/12 CDI - Gross Income Adjustments for Business Rental or Farm Income
64 0018 11/21 Change in Status Form —Senior/Disabled Exemption
64 0019 11/21 Renewal Form — Deferral for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons
64 0020 11/21 Renewal Form -Senior/Disabled Exemption
64 0025 11/21 Renewal Form — Deferral for Homeowners with Limited Income
64 0082 07/19 Leasehold Excise Tax—Senior/Disabled Reduction
64 0085 10/14 Declaration of Trust—Senior/Disabled Exemption
Appeal Form - Taxpayer Petition to County BOE for Review of Senior
640090 06/19 Citizen/Disabled Person Exemption or Deferral
64 0095 06/19 Proof of Disability Statement
64 0098 02/12 CDI - Income Checklist
64 0105 11/21 Deferral Application - Homeowners with Limited Income
86 0072 08/19 Worksheet to Determine Leasehold Excise Tax Taxable Rent —

Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons



https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTExemption_Senior.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTExemption_Senior.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTDeferral_SeniorsDisabilities.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTAssistance_WidowsWidowers.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/Pubs/Prop_Tax/PTDeferral_LimitedIncome.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/63-0023.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/63-0023.pdf
https://dorpwbdrupaladm/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/63-0036.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/PetForPropTxRefnd.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0002.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/Affidforcoophousforsrcitexempt.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0011.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0016e(w).doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0018.pdf
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Documents/Forms/Senior/64-0019.pdf
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Documents/Forms/Senior/64%200020.pdf
https://propertytax.dor.wa.gov/Documents/Forms/Senior/64-0019.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/SnrCitzDisPerRedcLeaseExsTx.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/DeclTrstSenCitzPropTxEx.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0090.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0090.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0095.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/IncmChklstSnrCitnDbldPrsnPropTxRlfPrgm.doc
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/64-0105.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LETWksht.xlsm
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LETWksht.xlsm
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Docs/forms/PropTx/Forms/LETWksht.xlsm
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	SAMPLE LETTER AND QUESTIONAIRE FOR TAXPAYERS WHO REPORT -0- INCOME



	Property Address
	How can I get a benefit verification letter?
	Definition: my Social Security Benefit Verification Letter
	Benefit Verification Letter

	Index to FAQ’s
	Q. What is the difference between “disabled” and “disabled veteran” for this program?

	Ownership/Occupancy/Exemption Percent
	Q. A senior has had an exemption since 2011. On 2/25/18 she transferred ownership to another person via notarized QCD. This other person became her Power of Attorney on that same day. She did not have the deed recorded until 3/18/2020. There is no pro...
	Q. Husband, wife, and sister live in the house together and all contribute financially. The home is owned by the wife and sister only. They are all on Social Security and Supplemental Social Security. The husband is the only one over the age of 61.
	Q. A husband and wife both meet the age requirement. The wife completes and submits the application and she meets the occupancy requirement. The husband lived and worked out of state for more than 6 months. Will they qualify?
	Q. Ownership – Joint Tenants and Tenants in Common – What is the difference?
	Q. Ownership –A deed shows four owners, no Life Estate. The only one of the Tenants in Common who lives in the home is a senior who applied for exemption. Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?
	Q. Ownership – Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship (JTWROS) - A deed shows four owners, JTWROS, no Life Estate. The only one of the JTWROS who lives in the home is a senior who applied for exemption. Can the senior receive a 100 percent exemption?
	Q. Does a taxpayer qualify for the exemption program if their home is part of a Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)?
	Q. What percentage of exemption should an applicant receive when there are co-owners and the ownership type is not JTWROS?
	Q. Husband and wife purchased land together. The wife owns a mobile home as her separate property per the Division of Community Property. Neither spouse meets the age requirement. The husband meets the disability requirement. Can this couple qualify f...
	Q. A parcel was acquired via verbal, unrecorded real estate contract between a father and daughter in 2005. It was followed up by a Personal Representative's Deed in 2008, per probate, transferring the property to her as her separate estate. Her husba...
	Q. How can I tell if a trust meets the ownership requirements for the exemption or deferral programs?
	Q. A taxpayer is trying to refinance her home and has been advised that her income is too low to meet the refinance requirements. The perspective lender suggested that she add her son’s name to the parcel so she can include his income. The home is a d...
	Q. Can a person request an exemption on a residence that is not occupied as a principal place of residence at the time the application is actually submitted?

	Combined Disposable Income
	Q. Are premiums paid for Medicare Part D (the new drug benefit) allowable deductions for determining combined disposable income?
	Q. Is there an allowable deduction for hearing aids and batteries, Hoverrounds, memory foam mattresses, adult diapers, and other similar items?
	For tax years 2022 and after:
	Q. With the ease of new Tax software available to the public, how can we verify that the forms that are brought into our office for income verification are legitimate and have actually been filed with the IRS?
	Q. What is an annuity?
	Q. Should money received for care of dependent children be included in disposable income?
	Q. An applicant has won $272,000 in a lawsuit. Does it count as disposable income for the senior citizen exemption program?
	Q. If a claimant records a deed retaining a life estate, would we count the income of the “co-owner” if they live in the home?
	Q. How does a pre-nuptial agreement affect the calculation of combined disposable income?
	Q. What is a Section 1035 Exchange and should these amounts be included in the calculation of disposable income?
	Q. How do we determine capital gain on the sale of a residence when the distributions of the sale are invested in the construction of a new home?
	Q. What information should be requested to substantiate a claim of zero income?
	Q. How should we calculate combined disposable income when the applicant did not file a Federal income tax return?
	Q. On a Defense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS) “Retiree Account Statement” that shows “Gross Pay” and “VA Waiver”, which amount should be included when calculating disposable income?
	Q. On a 1099-R form, do we count the gross distribution or the taxable amount that would be part of adjusted gross income? How can you tell whether it is an IRA distribution or a regular pension? Are the 1099's different?
	Q.  What should I look for on IRS Form 4797?
	Q. When the Trust owns everything including the rentals and investments and the income is through the trust account and not reported on the personal account how are we to know these things? If an individual has set up a trust for their assets, does th...
	Q. What is FTC (foreign tax credit)?
	Q. How should foreign income amounts be converted to U.S. dollars?
	Q. Should housing allowance for clergy (or preacher, pastor, minister, or parson) be included in disposable income?
	Q. Should debt cancellation be included in disposable income – i.e. cancellation of student loans and other debts?

	Change in Status, Pro-ration, Segregation, and Mobile Home Advance Tax
	Q. An applicant who has not filed for six years comes into the office to reapply. His income has jumped dramatically over the six-year period. Do you require that applicant to bring past year information to the office to prove that they qualified at t...
	Q. How should advance tax on a mobile home be treated when there is a senior/disabled exemption and the claimant is moving the mobile home to another county?
	Q. If a senior citizen or person with disabilities, who is otherwise eligible for the exemption, owns a one-acre parcel of land on which the residence is located, and subdivides the one-acre parcel into three parcels of land, with the residence on one...

	Implementation of Legislative Changes:
	Q. Which zoning/land use classification applies – the current classification or the “grandfathered” classification?
	Q. In 2008 SSB 5256 passed. How does this bill affect the calculation of disposable income?
	Q. What steps should assessors take to implement E2SHB 1597?
	Q. If our office converts to a six-year cycle, does that mean we might have to make corrections for the five previous years when someone files a renewal and no longer qualifies?
	Q. In 2012, SHB 2056 passed, replacing the term “boarding home” with the term “assisted living facility”. Does this change which facilities are allowed as “temporary residences” for the tax relief programs?
	Q. In 2013, SSB 5444 passed, eliminating the requirement for assessors to annually value tax-exempt government-owned properties and eliminating the leasehold excise tax credit for tax amounts in excess of the amount of property tax that would have app...

	Documentation
	Q. Who must sign the “Proof of Disability” affidavit?

	Typical Residential Parcel
	Q. What is a “typical residential parcel” for purposes of the senior citizens and people with disabilities programs?
	Q. I have an applicant that seems to qualify for senior exemption on all criteria. Once I applied her exemption to her account, my appraisers told me her home has no value because of a fire some years ago, and she claimed she is not living in the home...
	Contacts for the Individual Benefit Programs covered in this manual:

	You can find a list of Property Tax Special Notices and links to the documents at the following web address.
	PROPERTY TAX ADVISORIES
	RECENT LEGISLATION AND RULE CHANGES RULE CHANGES
	RECENT LEGISLATION


